Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,829 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, fast-paced, and results oriented work place.
Interior Communication Electrician 2nd Class (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: free medical and dental care
Cons: long hours, separation from family
As an immediate supervisor I ensured that all trouble calls for equipment were completed in an effective and timely manner with priority given to ensure command goals were met. I learned to prioritize, ensure materials are available before they are needed, and to communicate effectively with subordinates. Upper level management was unfamiliar with equipment, – more... but very familiar with command needs. The hardest part of the job was keeping subordinates motivated on six month deployments. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that the command would be able to reach its goals because of the work I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to grow.
Second Class Petty Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits, sign up bonuses, and learning opportunity
Cons: away, at times, from loved ones(part of the job requirement).
I was so proud when I completed my training to be part of something bigger. Being a sailor in the United States Navy was something of great value to me and I do not regret a day that I spent being part of this great organization. I learned so much while serving in the US Navy and I also became more grateful of the sacrifices that others have made to – more... keep our country safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
Aviation Electrician (Former Employee), Whidbey Island, WAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: family seperation
Providing safe, functional aircraft for aircrew training/combat missions in support of Military operations abroad. Learned leadership/electrical systems/quality assurance. Management was tip-top in providing training for anything we may need, as well as constructive feedback when needed. Most difficult part of job is separation from family/loved ones – more... during combat deployments. Most enjoyable part of the job was the travel. Seeing places/countries one may not normally have the opportunity to see. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Aviation Ordnance Technician (Current Employee), Norfolk. VAAugust 27, 2014
I always goto work knowing what is expected of me. I am able to muster and then head straight to the job I have been assigned to for the week and complete it ASAP following all requirements.
I enjoy working for the crew I am with and them likewise.
The hardest part of the job is the time away from friends/family but at the same time I am with a second – more... family, so never alone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The military is good training ground not only do they teach discipline and structure, you also have a wide variety of traing to choose from.
Supply Clerk (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: my coworkers wre great to work with.
Cons: inspections
A military day for me would consist of inspections, delivering different items to different departments, inventory, issuing out items that have come in, stocking, picking up the daily reports, keeping track of receipts and exchanges, and data entry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and timely in completing tasks
Avionics Technician 3rd Class (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FloridaAugust 27, 2014
Pros: healthcare, job security
Cons: schedule
Learned how to work with various types of people to get the job accomplished. Had great supervisors who also helped out once needed to complete a task. Got to travel and see the world. Discharged Honorably after 4 years of service to further my education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience
Team Leader/Project Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee), Mayport, FLAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: limited schedule control
Exposure to diverse work environment and personnel, promoting growth and understanding within a wide range of project parameters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: organization, job satisfaction
Cons: limited promotion potential
This was a great job while I finished up my education. It allowed me the flexibility to work full time and attend school at night as well. My only issue with the position is the lack of upward mobility.

I am also at the center when it comes to patient care. All orders and medications pass through me, so I am more of a conductor of the orchestra. I – more... coordinated and synchronize critical patient care – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity and Experience
Petty Officer 1st Class, AZ1(AW) (Current Employee), Whidbey Island, WashingtonAugust 25, 2014
Pros: job security and benefits
Cons: time away from home and moving every 3-4 years
I respect the military and every service member who is or have served. A typical day would be challenging and rewarding when overcoming those challenges. I've learned respect, leadership skills, program management skills, effective communication, being a key decision maker, performing audits, networking, computer management, server maintenance and upkeep, – more... time and priority management. Co-workers were diverse in knowledge, culture, and backgrounds. The hardest part of the job was to be thrown into a demanding position with zero experience, but this was also the most enjoyable part because it gave me the chance to excel out of my comfort zone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being in the Navy was a great experiance to have.
Aviation Boatswain's mate, handler (Former Employee), San Diego, CaliforniaAugust 25, 2014
Pros: some pros would be traveling the world.
Cons: some cons is being away from family and friends.
Aviation boatswain's mates, handlers play a major part in launching and recovering naval aircraft quickly and safely from land or ships. This includes aircraft handling, fire fighting and salvage and rescue operations. Later in their careers ABHs can earn the advanced AB rating that requires supervision of all these individual specialties.[3]

The duties – more... performed by ABHs include:

Supervising the movement, spotting and securing of aircraft and equipment ashore and afloat. Often called "the salt of the deck", because they are the leaders of everyone, including officers, on deck.
Performing crash rescue, fire fighting, crash removal and damage control duties in connection with launching and recovery of aircraft.
Most of the work in this rating is performed outdoors on the deck of aircraft carriers, in all climatic conditions, in fast-paced and often potentially hazardous environments. ABHs work closely with others in aviation ratings.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experiences...Need More...
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: teamwork, health, fitness
Cons: cannot stay forever
Serving in the military is a very highly stressful job to do, but with training and teamwork it can be accomplished with more ease. In my more than 13 years in the U.S. Navy, I have led, been led, served as a primary adviser, managed decision, issued and updated policy and so many other management duties that have affected the lives of thousands of – more... my colleagues and their families. The most rewarding part of this journey and what I have learned the most is that a single person can make or break another's day. I pride myself, my colleagues, peers, leaders and subordinates to have a common mindset of respect to each and every individual and not to take issues that he or she may have as a personal attack. My most challenging part was my inability not have advance or advance my civilian General Service employees or my military men and women because they provided over 150% of excellence through dedication, perseverance and poise to everyone. My most enjoyable part of the job is just getting a random thank you from someone who required assistance from me or my team. A simple thank you reminds me of the impact that I left with that person and it takes a motivational thought and a bit time to deliver a personal thank you to someone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to "grow up" or extend your professional resume
Yeoman (Office Administrator) (Current Employee), Bremerton, WAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: deployments, diverse cultures, technical training
Cons: deployments, diverse cultures, technical training
As a Yeoman, your day will include clerical procedures such as: Typing, faxing, copying. Other duties include: Basic-advanced correspondence, basic-advanced military legal assistance, basic-advanced HR work. A Yeoman will start off as a junior Sailor (Clerk) and advance in their career up to a senior Sailor (Office Manager). The hardest part of the – more... job CAN be the deployments that come with being in the military. Conversely, the best part of the job CAN be all of the countries and experiences you will gain as a member of the finest branch of the military. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and dedication required
Airman Apprentice (Former Employee), Great LakesAugust 25, 2014
Pros: food, benefits, you become family with your peers.
Cons: none i can honestly say except its really boring when it is slow.
Highly recommend the military and if you do Air Force and Navy are the way to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
work center leading petty officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: deployments
I was an Aviation Electronics Technician in the Navy for 11 years, I loved the job and the travel, but eventually I wanted to see what else was out there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An outstanding organization to work for.
E-6 Supervisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 24, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: too much time away from family
Responsible for maintaining and upkeeping 40+ boats and ensuring for the safety and operation of harbor operations. Responsible for the safety and maintaining of the basin. Responsible for the prevention and containment of oil spills. Overall responsible for maintaining administrative and work output to over 60+ personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours but worth it
Machinist Mate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 24, 2014
had a good time while I was in the navy and even thought about joining back up again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overhauled enterprise
Airman (Former Employee), newport news vaAugust 24, 2014
overhauled enterprise i think everyone should join the military teaches values with alot of people dont have anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Navy Lieutenant (O-3) (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAAugust 24, 2014
My Navy experience was great, demanding, fun and unique.

I learned more about myself and others through my diverse work experiences than most will ever know. I have more than just experience making new friends to become a part of a community and a family which is more difficult to explain than it was to live it.

The best part is the person next to – more... you is a stranger yet is your brother or sister when you need something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Command
Safety Officer Assistant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: positive work environment with great people
My tour at this place was great. While my tour here was short, I did enjoy making sure that all of the personnel worked in a safe and rewarding work center. Everyday something different. Some tasks were redundant, but learning environmental health and OSHA guidelines was quite interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities await!
Senior Chief Petty Officer (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 24, 2014
Pros: job security, challenging leadership situations
Cons: deployments
The United States Navy gave me the opportunity to lead the best people our country has to offer. You are trusted and entrusted to lead people into harms way, manage equipment worth millions of dollars, and given significant levels of responsibility. Our core values of honor, courage, and commitment are the heart of our Navy and serve as our compass – more... as we navigate through our lives. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more