Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,365 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Lead Instructor and Leading Petty Officer (Current Employee), Groton, CTOctober 28, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, leadership experience, technical training
Cons: deployments
Time served on the boat was tough. Long hours away from family are not for everyone. However, getting to go from the freshest E-3 on the boat to leading a division in five years was incredibly rewarding. Shore duty provided a much needed reprieve, felt more like a nine to five. The reward of getting to teach and lead new sailors on their way to submarines – more... doesn't get any better. Unfortunately, after three years it's back to a submarine. Overall, would not have traded my nine years for anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the Navy
Supervising Navy Career Recruiter (Current Employee), Dallas,TxOctober 28, 2014
Pros: paid for college, hands on job training, free travel
Cons: being away from home 6+ months at a time
I have enjoyed every day of my last 19.75 yrs serving, I have seen the world, expanded my job marketability, went to school, my kids used my education benefits, the medical & dental are outstanding and the special duty pay is lovely and clothing allowances yearly. I would advise every kid to serve after high school, it is very beneficial to a persons – more... future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passage into the Real World
Petty Officer 3nd Class, USS McFaul (Former Employee), Norfolk, VirginiaOctober 28, 2014
Pros: rapid promitionns, unique expiriences
Cons: lesser time working with what i had been trained for
I learned self reliance and leadership. I literally was "on the same boat" as my coworkers. This and other similar situations taught me adaptability to adverse situations and personalities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
military experience
Navigation specialist (Former Employee), little creek, VAOctober 28, 2014
very demanding and detail oriented, good learning experience overall when going overseas on mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Asset Protection & Security (Current Employee), Los Fresnos, TexsaOctober 28, 2014
Pros: travel
• Responsible for training transportation staff in Department of Transportation Rules and Regulations
• Responsible for the operational oversight of Training Department at the Port Isabel Detention Center.
• Manage 566 employees training files: 428 detention officers, 57 detention and transportation supervisors, 48 transportation officers, 22 food service – more... staff, 11 administrative support staff.
• Daily inspections and audits are conducted to ensure compliance of the performance based contract with ICE Performance Based National Detention Standards and the American Correctional Association Adult Local Detention Facilities Standards. Since 2010 the Port Isabel Detention Center has successfully passed three PBNDS formal inspections (2011, 2012 and 2013), two Office of Detention Oversight formal inspections (2010 and 2013), ACA Accreditation (2011) and NCCHC Accreditation (2013).
• Achieved meeting all ICE and ERO metrics by following the Quality Assurance Surveillance Plan utilizing the Performance Based National Detention Standards monitoring instruments for 42 standards.
• Communicate daily with the Project Manager, Assistant Project Manager, and Chief of Security to provide recommendations for policies and procedures updates based on developed best practices and operational requirements.
• Conduct liaisons with PIDC Training Department and PIDC Compliance Unit to ensure interactivity of the training program
• Develop training program for Detention, Transportation officers as well as for Lieutenants and Captains
• Oversight of 2 Training Officers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dental Clinic
Hospital Corpsman (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: working hours
Cons: pay
Help navy personnel to be deployable. A typical day at work is opening the clinic at 0630 start taking care of patients at 0700, work all day with a 15 minute lunch brake. I work with 11 military personnel and 28 civilians. The hardest part of the job is not the job is how people like to make things harder and dont want to look for a solution and they – more... became part of the problem. The most enjoyable part of my job is that im serving my country and help this people to get what ever they need to get done giving them the guides and orientation they need to accoplish it too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Engineman (Former Employee), San Diego,CAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: travel and healthcare
Cons: being away from family and short work break
A typical day at work would be having quarters at 0730 am on the ship. After quaters we would have cleaning stations from 0800 till 0900 every morning. I learn that you have to be a team player on the ship because you need everybody to do a job. The management on a ship is tough but fair in the navy. Also, management teach new sailor how things are – more... done on the ship. My co-workers were my best friends the ship and show me how thing were done. The hardest part of the job was being away from my family and friends. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with my hands and traveling the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Senior Manager (Current Employee), Fort Sam Houston, TXOctober 27, 2014
Exceptional benchmark organization, provides servicemembers the ability for further education potential, upward mobility, and retention. Challenges associated are the venues requiring time away form family/friends however the overall response to being able to serve our country is overwhelmingly positive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of classes and working out
Naval Recruit (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: learned about myself, learned life experience
Cons: away from my family
We went to a lot of classes about things we would need to know in the Navy and we also did a lot of work out exercises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Electronics Technician 3rd Class (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 26, 2014
Okay when you have no family. get to travel the world living on the ship is horrible. Living on base is okay if the barracks are decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned responsibility
Financial Technician (Medical (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAOctober 26, 2014
Great place to learn personal and professional responsibility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Military
Yeoman/Secretary (Former Employee), Everett, WAOctober 26, 2014
It's not just a job. It's a way of life. You live, eat, and sleep military. Your friends become your family. Work becomes home. I was taught how to be an adult. A wonderful learning experience. Learned how to be managed and how to manage. Everyone is from all walks of life. And no, one person is the same. The hardest part was working 18 hour days, every – more... day. The best part was being able to visit other countries with new family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding job with great learning opportunities
Engineer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 24, 2014
the job is very demanding , high expectations in matter of sales and customer satisfaction , a great learning experience in marketing and conflict resolution
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A keen and highly organized critical thinker with thirteen years of military service for the United States Navy.
Leading Petty Officer (Current Employee), Coraopolis, PAOctober 24, 2014
A keen and highly organized critical thinker with thirteen years of military service for the United States Navy. Strong ability to learn quickly, take action on team and independent work assignments, effectively communicates, internally and externally, through both written and verbal channels, and provide impeccable customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
seamen (Former Employee), dahlgren, vaOctober 24, 2014
Pros: work for my country
Cons: first time away from family
I worked at a clinic for a year at multiple positions ( lab tech, pharm. tech, rad. tech, check-in clerk, work on the ambulance crew, ) had a great experience there ( that is what made me want to become a pharmacy technician ). I also worked in a secure building with lots of paperwork. ( can't tell you anymore )
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achieve any goal or challenge that you strive for yourself and career.
LEAD QUARTERMASTER (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 24, 2014
Pros: free meals and lodging
Cons: long hours.
Training, travel, upward mobility, unlimited higher education is available, adventure while serving your country. What else can you ask for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training, experience, and pays for college, but the people leave something to be desired
Electronics Technician 1st Class (Former Employee), Bremerton, WAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: free college and training in technical fields
Cons: it's the navy
The navy provided two years of schooling in a highly challenging program developed by Princeton at an institution that no worthwhile college accredits.

I then spent the rest of my enlistment on a ship where the work experience gained was great and very useful in civilian life.

But the mentality of "My life was horrible when I was junior so I'm going – more... to make you miserable" is so perpetuated by those in charge that it drives many people to get out. There is no work life balance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Seaman Recruit (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisOctober 23, 2014
During my time in Navy Boot Camp I stood watch (Night Security and Roving) to guard the compartment.
Responsible for cleaning the compartment, carrying out various orders, and completing all tasks (evolutions) necessary for completion of boot camp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired 2003
Master -at- Arms (Former Employee), New London, CTOctober 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: hard to cross over into the civilian market.
Advancement was slow in the rate of my specialization.
The travel experience was and adventure, and seeing other parts of the world was a life time of memories. The close calls, and near misses made the crew count their fortunes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on your command
Aviation Mechanic (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 23, 2014
It really all depends on your first command in the Navy. You first command will mean the most to you.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more