Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,678 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and Challenging work environment and career
Quality Assurance Division Manager (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAApril 15, 2014
Assist the Maintenance Material Control Officer in squadrons in carrying out production responsibilities. Provides liaison between Maintenance Material Control Officer and the Production Division Supervisors. Performs managerial functions in the areas of operational commitments, aircraft status, workload requirements and personnel assets. Coordinates, – more... prioritizes and monitors all production division maintenance efforts. Assigns material priorities and monitors overall material and logistical support, ground support equipment usage and cannibalization of assets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced environment with guaranteed job security
Satellite Communications Operator and Maintainer (Former Employee), USAApril 15, 2014
If you want to see the world on the government's dime, join the United States Navy. However, be prepared to put in long hours, complete job tasks that you may not necessarily want to do, and work under management that may or may not care about your opinion. All in all, the benefits can't be beat, the traveling is a huge plus, and it's next to impossible – more... to get fired. Just learn to follow the rules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Load
Physical Therapy Technician (Current Employee), Napoli, CAMApril 15, 2014
I love my job and I love doing physical therapy. I get a chance to work with amazing patients and I want to make this as a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment
Airman E-3 (Former Employee), Everett, WAApril 15, 2014
Learned a lot and became a better person because of the military discipline.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Boatswain's Mate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 15, 2014
great job if you want to see the world and have chance to choose your career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Times are changing
Aviation Ordnanceman (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 15, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: no familiy consideration (work/ life balance)
The Navy was a great career in the beginning. It offers unlimited advancement potential and great benefits. Times are changing and the military is leaning towards forcing out strong and intelligent workers leaving many people who are just there to collect a pay check.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go Navy, beat Army!
Petty Officer First Class (Former Employee), Coronado, CAApril 15, 2014
Long hours with decent pay. If you can get up in rank quickly, it's not bad. Beware poor mid level management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Motor Vehicle Operator--Weapons Department (Former Employee), overseasApril 15, 2014
wonderful experience

was able to travel the world and gain invaluable knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding experience
First line supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 15, 2014
Pros: seeing the wrold
Cons: being away from family
serving in the U.S. Navy allowed me to interact with all kinds of people. it helped me to advance my communication skills. also being in charge of a vast amount of sailors allowed my management skills to flourish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly changing atmosphere
Maintainer/Supervisor (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 15, 2014
Pros: medical coverage, job security, leave days
Cons: 13 month deployments, long periods away from family.
In the military you never quite know what to expect day by day. So it allowed me to build upon my time management skills while prioritizing daily production work loads. The Navy has taught me a great deal on basic leadership, team organization, as well as many other quality traits. The comradery I have experienced is like no other place else I have – more... seen. You form strong friendships and come to highly respect those appointed over the sailors. We learn and had to be able to depend on each other due to the fact that it truly is life or death situations we deal with. We have to strictly practice safe working procedures. Implement training and proper certification/licensing programs so that we can ensure that any maintenance is done properly and with the right knowledge of expertise. It ultimately has been a great honor to serve my country. I am proudly looking forward to a bright future with the technical experience I have gained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly demanding career
Electronics Technician (Supervisor) (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 14, 2014
Pros: provides valuable skillsets through high stress situations
Cons: limited family/personal time, extremely high stress, constantly changing management
A typical day at work would include meetings discussing daily tasks or deadlines, then engaging in the supervision of required repairs or system maintenance. The day may also include counseling a subordinate on performance evaluations.
I've learned to be patient and understanding while dealing with people from many different lifestyles and cultures. – more... I have also learned to stay calm in highly stressful situations, which promotes clearer thinking and usually a safer environment.
Management has varied greatly. I have had the pleasure of working with and learning from outstanding managers, and at the same time learning how not to manage from the not so great managers. I have made it a goal to learn from those I work with/for to better myself.
I have had worked with some excellent co-workers who have become great friends. I couldnt ask for better co-workers.
The hardest part of the job would have to be the long deployments away from family. The unknown in scheduling had the potential to cause excessive stress.
The most enjoyable parts of this job are learning new things and while the deployments were hard, seeing countries that I would have otherwise never traveled to was a great reward. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and proactive atmosphere.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 14, 2014
Pros: opportunities to advance.
Cons: a lot of time away from home during deployments
I have served 11 years in the Navy, and I have managed divisions and offices of 75 to 100 personnel throughout the course of my career in the military. My commitment to being a proactive member of the United States Navy has granted me the ability to learn all of the necessary requirements to manage, administrative skills, and provide great customer – more... service. Enlisting into the Navy has been by far the one of the greatest achievements thus far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Petty Officer Third Class (Former Employee), norfolfk, vaApril 14, 2014
During my time in the navy i was fortunate enough to learn time management, technical skills and most importantly leadership skills. My typical day included making sure all maintenance was complete correctly, verify all systems up and running.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Navy
Hydraulic systems maintenance technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 13, 2014
Many pros and many cons to being a sailor but overall a very good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paralegal Specialist
Paralegal Specialist (Former Employee), VAApril 13, 2014
Paralegal Specialist for the US Navy JAG Office at Pentagon Code 13.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way for anyone just out of high school to start their career
Aviation Electricians Mate (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAApril 13, 2014
Pros: free healthcare
Cons: lots of time spent away from family
I would recommend the Navy or any other branch of the service to anyone just out of high school. It teaches respect discipline and a good trade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best decision I ever made
SE Asset Manager/ Avionics Technician (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 12, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: hours/ little to no advancement (in navy)
I would recommend everyone join the military. Tough job, but worth every dime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's what you expect from a career in the military
Personnel Officer - 'HR Generalist (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLApril 12, 2014
promotion tight.
good for 20 years, then get out and make your way in the civilian world
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exhilarating experience
Boatswain Mate Active Reserves (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 12, 2014
Pros: traveling
Cons: leaving my family for a long period of time.
Technical and industrial enviroment on a daily basis while building a good working relationship with others. While gaining an immense amount of professionalsim, attention to detail, and work ethic in the Navy. The hardest part about the job is being away from family. The most enjoyable part about being in the Navy is the gratification I get from making – more... a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good opportunity to serve with great people.
Fire Control Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 11, 2014
Pros: healthcare, meals covered, paid vacations (leave), espirit de corps.
Cons: extensive deployments, extremely long working hours, long periods of time separated from family and friends.
This position was very challenging both physically and mentally. The work/life balance could be quite taxing at times. It was also very rewarding, I take pride in having served my nation alongside some of the finest men and women that I have ever met. Being a Sailor in the US Navy imbued me with discipline, leadership skills, mental fortitude, and patience. – more... It was a life changing experience and I am thankful for having had the opportunity to serve. Describing the typical day in the Naval service is difficult, because so often things were so different from day to day, a myriad of factors would dictate our operational tempo. Most days I would perform extensive maintenance, and manage other Sailors in the execution of these and many other tasks. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more