Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,783 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operated automotive, material handling, weight lifting and construction equipment involved in earth moving, road building, quarrying, asphalt batching
HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSDecember 25, 2014
Pros: great opportunity to serve my country.
Cons: n/a
U.S. Coast Guard and Navy are by far the best organizations, I have had the pleasure to work for. The management and staff were always professional to work with and for. I have enjoyed some many different facets throughout my career it is almost unbelievable sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed leadership and team efforts
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCDecember 25, 2014
Work was enjoyable because all those that I worked with. I learned how to work under pressure and to work as a team. My co workers brought the best out of me. The hardest part was the hours. The best was having a say and my opinion was respected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Boatswain Mate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 25, 2014
Pros: defending our great country
Cons: constatntly gone
A typical work day is driving and navigation of the US Naval ship.
While serving aboard USS Monterey, I was fortunate to learn how to navigate at sea, underway replenishment, waterway rescue, air traffic control and dealing with individuals across the globe.
The hardest part of my job is separation from family.
The most enjoyable part of it seeing the – more... world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most rewarding and amazing experiences while traveling.
Aviation Structural Technician/Plane Captain (Former Employee), Norfolk, VirginiaDecember 24, 2014
Pros: pride, tradition, medical, dental, thrift savings plan, guaranteed pay, traveling, job security, training in numerous job types.
Cons: away from family.
Daily morning workout, checkin with work center for a proper pass down from previous shift. Complete daily tasks as issued while maintaing military bearing and maintaining uniform regulations. Attend all training courses and complete qualification standards. Maintain medical and dental records up to date incase of deployment. Accept and prepare for – more... deployments in a timely manner and attend all briefings pre and post. Complete all missions and responsibilities. Practice safety procedures and train lower ranking individuals properly. Pay attention to detail and maintain physical readiness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What can you say it was the U.S. Navy loved every minute
Aviation Electrician (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 24, 2014
Tested installed and maintained a wide range of aircraft instruments and electrical equipment.
Responsible for up keep of generators, motors and lighting systems for aircraft.
Read electrical system diagrams and maintained aircraft compass systems
Performed electrical troubleshooting operations.
Used a variety of electrical measuring equipment.
Performed – more... micro-mini module repair.
Maintained automatic flight control systems.
Maintained inertial navigation systems
Performed as aircrew on various aircraft. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nuclear Electrician
Maintenance Electrician (Nuclear) (Former Employee), pearl harbor, HIDecember 24, 2014
The Navy was wonderful, the work was exciting, and I became a dedicated, motivated, and highly skilled operator of nuclear reactor systems, as well as electrical distribution systems. The attention to detail, and communication skills learned by me have remained, and constitute the better part of my skill set.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced, great experience
ELECTRONIC TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Various places, United StatesDecember 24, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits are at the top
Cons: long time away
Honored to have served in. Traveled around the world met great people and served with some of the finest people to walk the earth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 War Veteran,
Sonar Technician First Class, SS Qualified (Former Employee), VariousDecember 24, 2014
Pros: guaranteed income, teamwork, life long friendships.
Cons: massive time away from family.
Disabled Iraq War veteran, served during the Cold War, Desert Storm. I was recalled into active duty for Iraq and Afghanistan. I served 15 years in the Submarine Service, taught Electronics for 5 of those years. During Iraq I was assigned to a Mobile Inshore Underwater Warfare Unit doing Electronic Surveillance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the military
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 23, 2014
Pros: decent wage, free medical and dental, free legal counsel
Cons: good ol boy system, sometimes insane working hours, doesn't matter how old you are, they'll treat you like a child until you put on khaki's
Like a lot of things in life, you get out of it what you put in. It's not for everyone and only 1% of American's serve in all the military services put together. It can sharpen you and hone you, but it can also make you bitter and weary. Always look out for yourself, because you can't rely on your chain of command to do what's best for you.

You have – more... to be a real idiot to get yourself kicked out of the Navy during your first enlistment, but when you actually start getting time in they will look for reason's to kick you out (mostly high year tenure, PTS). They don't want to have to pay retirement for people, so they'll offer bonus's to people coming in to get large numbers, then say that they're overmanned and start cutting from the mid-level personnel so they don't make the retirement mark. This happens over and over again and you see a lot of good Sailors forced out while the good ol boys stay in and run the Chief's mess. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided me with vast amount of knowledge and character to build upon!
Corrosion Prev. & Control Program Manager VFA-22 (Current Employee), Lemoore, CADecember 23, 2014
Pros: great overall experience for anyone undecided on what they want to do after high school
Cons: spend most of your time away from home
Typical days work consist of a daily maintenance meeting to discuss what the days and weeks objectives are and how we're going to accomplish them. After that, information will be passed down accordingly and managers/supervisors direct the completion of assigned task to subordinates in the most efficient, and safest way possible to meet production requirements. – more... Learned a vast amount of knowledge about the F/A-18 Hornet, and Recruiting as far as my jobs were concerned. Learned how to manage my work load in a fast paced work environment and how to lead and mentor people. The hardest part of the job for me was being away from my two daughters and my wife. Family is important to me and the backbone of my life. The most enjoyable part is the travel. I lived and traveled all over the United States meeting new people and making friends all over. Had the opportunity to trave the world as wel,l seeing countries i never would have gotten the chanve to see if it weren't for the Navy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military life is not for all
Petty Officer First Class (Former Employee), worldwideDecember 23, 2014
The military is great for some people and not so great for others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for leadership experience
Submarine Officer Advanced Course Student (Current Employee), Groton, CTDecember 23, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: time away from home, poor family life
The Navy is a great place for Officers to learn about leadership and the skills required to make the transition into the civilian sector. The amount of leadership that you are immediately submerged in is unmatched. Maintenance, human resources, training, operations and engineering are only a few of the things that are learned while serving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but rewarding work.
Aviation Electrician, Financial Advisor, Clerk (Former Employee), Florida, HawaiiDecember 23, 2014
When I was in there was not the job security there once was. The military was forcing people to resign.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding place to work
Quality Assurance Specialist (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 23, 2014
Pros: liberty at the end of the work day
Cons: standing watch
A typical day at work started with morning meetings to determine available aircraft for flight schedule determined by what level of maintenance had to be performed and what mission configurations were required.
I always learned something new everyday
Management was rewarding and challenging. The bottom line at the end of the day was to bring aircraft – more... and flight crews back in one peice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work experience
Engineer (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 23, 2014
Pros: a lot of benefits
Cons: leaving your family for deployment
I love everything about my job although it's challenging sometimes especially as a female in the military, there's nothing about it I would change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced and Learned many new things.
aviation maintenance administrationman (Former Employee), NorfolkDecember 23, 2014
In the Navy, I learned quite a bit about working with people from different backgrounds and leadership. It was nice to get a steady paycheck, but the whole job atmosphere is not for everybody. I have learned that although I need a steady paycheck, it can not buy me happiness. I want to keep pursing my career as a special education teacher, but I am – more... looking for work to help me with my transition. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Air Traffic Controller Supervisor (Former Employee), Key West, FLDecember 22, 2014
Pros: great experiences
Cons: unexpected travel
No matter what your particular job is in the Navy remember you are a sailors first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviation Ordnanceman
AVIATION ORDNANCEMAN (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLDecember 22, 2014
Inspection, warehousing, handling, and processing of airborne weapons, ammunitions, and magazines
Testing, arming, and disarming of aircraft-associated ammunitions
Supervised operations of aviation ordnance shops, armories, and storage facilities
Conducted scheduled and random maintenance safety compliance inspections
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress High Demanding job. but rewarding
Supply Clerk / Logistic Specialist (Current Employee), oklahoma cityDecember 22, 2014
Pros: health care, g.i bill, travel (if on a ship)
Cons: 40+hour work weeks, poor management and incentives, can only go on vacation if it fits your commands schedule
The military is not for everyone. since you are salary based expect to always work more than 40 hours a weeks with no extra pay, you can be called in at anytime, but at least I have been able to go and see a lot of the world and it's one of the only jobs in the world were you will be thanked by total strangers for what you have to endure. overall, most – more... of the time it pays off in the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service
Maintenance Material Management Team Lead (Former Employee), Mayport, FLDecember 22, 2014
The opportunity to serve my country and ensure its security was an honor.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more