Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,852 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specialized work
Supervisor (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 30, 2014
Working in the military provided me with knowledge in different areas of the supply department. I was able to advance pretty quick and get to the supervisor level. I was in charge of 4 of the biggest programs in the command and was in charge of a whole work center. at various times I was delegated with other types of jobs outside of the command because – more... of my work ethic, knowledge and responsibility. higher ranking individuals had trust in my work and displayed it up until the end of my naval career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to take from beginner to well experienced.
Safety Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: excellent makers of quality leaders
Long work days but with enough time to have to catch up on things for yourself. Learned how to be a leader and work in difficult situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best time of my life.
AIRCRAFT STRUCTURAL MECHANIC (Former Employee), NAS LEMOOREAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great training and people.
Cons: long time away from home and the family.
I learned a lot of life lessons in the Navy. Not just about working hard, but about life and what it takes to be a man.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to be a USN Airdale
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAAugust 29, 2014
I very much enjoyed being in the navy. I did 5 years active service and and currently going to stay reserve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Yeoman/ Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Millington, TNAugust 29, 2014
Proudly served in the greatest branch of service on earth for nearly 12 years. I served honorably and proudly. Very happy of my accomplishments. The US Navy paid for my undergraduate degree as well as paying for some of my MBA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital Corpsman
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), VirginaiAugust 29, 2014
Pros: learning everyday
Cons: military life
working in areas of Emergency Room, Medical Records, Family Practice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around great!
Aviation Boatswain Mate- Fuels (Former Employee), Norfolk Naval Station, VAAugust 29, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my enlistment in the United States Navy. The military gave me the tools I needed to seek out what truly motivated me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fosters growth and intelligence
Program Manager/Project Manager (Current Employee), Frederick, MDAugust 28, 2014
Everyday is different and challenges. Able to build a foundation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the Navy
Corpsman (Former Employee), San Diego, California.August 28, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: stationed further away from family
I love and miss everything about the military. I made great friends and obtained excellent real world/work experience. I would recommend the military to anyone who is willing to take a chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience of my life! (Equipment Operator)
Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Gulfport NCBC, MSAugust 28, 2014
Pros: travel and experience.
Cons: deployed for long periods of time.
-A typical day at work as a EO (equipment Operator) is performing pre maintenance checks on all kinds of heavy construction equipment. After the pre check are completed, be sent to a construction site to operate, supervise, and train personnel on how to perform certain construction techniques.

-I learned how to operate Graders, Scrapers, Dozers, Front – more... End Loaders, Forklifts etc. Also how to manage and supervise a construction crew while maintaining safety as the highest priority.

-Management was good, always something to learn. Tons of experience passed down to make you a better manager.

-Co- workers were outstanding! I have never worked with a more hard working force. Team oriented and always willing to help. We could all count on each other, and worked hard every day.

-Hardest part of the job was being deployed for long periods of time away from your family.

-The most enjoyable part of the job was the travel and of course the operating. It felt great to be done at the end of the day knowing you worked hard and were satisfied with the product you produced for the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Military Police Officer (Former Employee), Charleston, SCAugust 28, 2014
It is hard to describe a typical work day in the navy, in Maryland I was the physical security officer for Uniformed Services University and a work day for me there was checking into my office, checking emails and answering questions about physical security instructions. Keeping up with the key control system and participating in section training and – more... ceremonies. As well as monitoring and maintaining the CCTV systems for the entire school on a regular basis. My favorite part of the job was all the knowledge I gained about physical security and even about intelligence information release procedures for the area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: great benifits and friends
Cons: being away from family for long periods of time
Doing maintenance on the equipment, construction projects and line hauling. Worked with a great group of people, learned how to come together and work as a team in tough situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Customer Service Cashier and Depositing Agent (Current Employee), virginia beach, vaAugust 28, 2014
educational work place with a lot of hands on training. higher ups willing to teach you a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding
Fire Controlman Leading Petty Officer (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: travel, education benefits, pay/healthcare
Cons: long deployments
Performed several different duties and had excellent opportunities to advance myself professionally and personally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great times spent here.
Hospital Corpsman (Optician/Instructor) (Former Employee), Orlando, FloridaAugust 28, 2014
Great group of people to work for and with. Had a great time for approximately 21 years and wish I was still serving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Entry Level Supervisor (Former Employee), Gulfport MSAugust 28, 2014
Yeoman perform administrative and clerical work. They receive visitors, answer telephone calls and sort incoming mail. They type, organize files and operate modern office equipment such as word processing computers and copying machines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The U.S. Navy is an incredible organization
Construction Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Lemoore, CAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: plenty of tavel opportunities
Cons: finding balance between family and work takes some time to get adjusted to
The U.S. Navy is an ideal organization which promotes a healthy work environment, one in which there is plenty of growth potential as well as promotes cohesion and equal opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift supervisor
Watch Captain (Current Employee), Everett, WashingtonAugust 27, 2014
Pros: providing a valuable service to my shipmates
Cons: no day off for weeks/months on end
My work day went from 5 AM to 6:30 at night. My 9 junior cooks and I prepared 3 well balanced meals for the crew of the USS Shoup.

My co-workers varied in ethnicity. It was a pleasure to work in such a diversity. it was always rewarding.

The hardest part of the job was when we were underway and had very little time to relax.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, fast-paced, and results oriented work place.
Interior Communication Electrician 2nd Class (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: free medical and dental care
Cons: long hours, separation from family
As an immediate supervisor I ensured that all trouble calls for equipment were completed in an effective and timely manner with priority given to ensure command goals were met. I learned to prioritize, ensure materials are available before they are needed, and to communicate effectively with subordinates. Upper level management was unfamiliar with equipment, – more... but very familiar with command needs. The hardest part of the job was keeping subordinates motivated on six month deployments. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that the command would be able to reach its goals because of the work I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to grow.
Second Class Petty Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits, sign up bonuses, and learning opportunity
Cons: away, at times, from loved ones(part of the job requirement).
I was so proud when I completed my training to be part of something bigger. Being a sailor in the United States Navy was something of great value to me and I do not regret a day that I spent being part of this great organization. I learned so much while serving in the US Navy and I also became more grateful of the sacrifices that others have made to – more... keep our country safe. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more