Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,743 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Life Changing workplace
Aviation Electrician's Mate (Former Employee), OKDecember 19, 2014
Wonderful place to work. Great group of men/women with great attitudes. A typical day would be check the workload from the day and receive information of current priorities from the previous shift. Check tools for accountability. Attend a meeting to be assign various priorities. Hold meeting for workers assigning each a task. Learned an extensive amount – more... of electrical components on aircraft and how to manage others. Hardest part of the job would be having a challenging problem on the aircraft and thinking outside the box to fix it. This is also the most rewarding part of the job as all the work put in to finding the problem is exhausted once the problem was fixed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Career Oppertunities
Aviation Warfare Systems Operator / Rescue Swimmer (Former Employee), WorldwideDecember 19, 2014
My rating required high levels of physical and mental aptitudes that was not commonly found in most Naval ratings. There was rarely a period of time where every day was the same as the day before. This requires great skills in adaptability and flexibility and being able to make critical decisions quickly. Flying in aircraft has been accurately described – more... as hours of boredom broken by moments of sheer terror and excitement. I proudly served with a highly skilled and motivated group of young men and women which had been thoroughly screened and weeded out. At one point of my career it was estimated that over 80 percent of those who started the career path never completed the training syllabus. I can say I feel that I served with the best of the best. There was more days away from home than being at home and that is tough on the personal level and a job field that did not relate well with anything in the career fields outside the U.S. Navy. If I had to choose to do it all over again I would not have changed a thing as all of the experiences I had made me into who I am today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Navy is a great service to be a part of!
Seaman Apprentice (Former Employee), Great Lakes, IllinoisDecember 19, 2014
Pros: regular pay
Cons: separation from family
It is the U.S Navy, it is an excellent branch of the military and I am eager to work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Service
Petty Officer Second Class (Current Employee), norfolk, VADecember 19, 2014
Hard days work but still an enjoyable experience, you become as close to family as possible with all of your shipmates especially on a small ship like an FFG. the hardest part of the job is family separation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long and Tiring days.
Deck Seaman (Former Employee), Everett, WADecember 18, 2014
Pros: close comradery, unbeatable work ethic.
Cons: your best is never enough.
Work was never ending out at sea. In port days were normal and no stress or yelling superiors walking around all the time. The Navy was a good experience and I learned alot, however treatment varies widely even if your a hard worker. Through all of the things that we had to put up with I ended up getting discharged for hearing loss and am still fighting – more... with the V.A. to get the benefits that I should have recieved. Serving your country is great but there are definitely drawbacks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little education needed to make middle-class income.
Cardiovascular Technician (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 18, 2014
Pros: pay, healthcare, easy job
Cons: if you join early in life, you'll never appreciate how much harder it is being a civilian.
8 hr days in San Diego with every holiday off, free health insurance, and housing benefits. Pay with housing is about $50,000/yr for the lower ranks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great learning experience
Engineman (Former Employee), CaliforniaDecember 18, 2014
the best learning experience I have ever had learned new traits and did things I did not know I could
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable life for a military family
Maintenance Control Senior Chief (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VADecember 18, 2014
Pros: plenty of qualifications and places stationed during career.
Cons: long deployments
Had a great time working with various people throughout career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured and organized
Facility Manger (Former Employee), Niceville, FLDecember 17, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: micro management
I've very much enjoyed my time with the Navy. I came a long way since joining. I have been around the world and lived in many different places. While I value these experiences, I chose to go after a higher level of education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and life experience.
Aviation Machinist Mate (Former Employee), North Island, 32nd StreetDecember 17, 2014
I worked on multiple aircraft while in the military and loved every minute of it. I gained valuable experience in the area of aircraft mechanics and life, my service was worth every second I spent in uniform. It helped mold me into a reliable and responsible adult, and a valuable asset to any company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protect and Serve
Second Class Petty Officer (E (Former Employee), USADecember 17, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, traveling, team work
Cons: n/a
I really loved the military only for the traveling aspect because I know on my own I would not have been able to go to so many different countries without paying out of pocket. Plus he different people and cultures that you come across on a daily basis is awesome because it teaches you diversity and understanding. But it is a learning experience and – more... I do not regret any part of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital Corpsman
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), Illinois, North Carolina, JapanDecember 17, 2014
Pros: in addition to a yearly salary, housing, medical and dental needs, and food is all paid/provided for.
Cons: unpredictable living situations
Being apart of the Hospital Corps can be one of the most rewarding of all military occupations. Not only is it a great segway into the field of healthcare, it is probably the best way to learn what true teamwork is. Whether you serve with the Marine Corps, or whether you work in an ICU, nothing is better than sending you comrades back to duty. As perilous – more... as the job can be, it is met with motivation, and a few centuries worth of pride. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Work Center Supervisor (Former Employee), Bangor, WADecember 17, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: deployments
The US Navy was an amazing organization to be a part of. Structure, medical, outstanding pay and great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Navy
Engineering Aide (Former Employee), Sicily, Mississippi, GreeceDecember 17, 2014
Monitored multiple databases to keep track of base infrastructures. Prepared AutoCAD documents for construction projects around naval bases. Provided onsite training for a basic building site layout. Trained multiple sailors in the process of preforming a basic soils analysis. Improved a "Five-Year" Construction plan for Naval Support Activity Souda – more... Bay, Greece. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Nuclear Machinist Mate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MissouriDecember 17, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: away from family
Spent 6 years in the United States Navy and loved every minute of it. I was a nuclear machinist mate on submarines. Was the greatest experience of my life and would do it all again if I could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Navy smooth sailing.
Cryptological Technician Technical (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GADecember 17, 2014
The Navy taught me some valuable lessons in life, some days may be rough but you have to keep sailing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding career, some sacrifices required
Training Program Manager (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GADecember 16, 2014
Pros: good promotion and training opportunies, affordable family medical care, travel
Cons: long work hours, deployments away from family.
A day at sea normally starts at or before 6 am (known as Zero Six Hundred, or 0600). Breakfast, lunch, and dinner will be provided to you. For me, the workday started at 0700 and would end at 1800, 2000, or even 2300. At sea, it isn't unusual to work seven days a week.

In a career, you will have the opportunity to work on "shore duty",

I learned multiple – more... job skills, including personnel management, administrative skills, project management, and other fields.

Healthcare is provided. While it may take a while to get certain specialist care, the bill is totally covered.

The most enjoyable part of the job is making a difference, both for the country and in the lives of those we serve alongside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USN
Quartermaster (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 16, 2014
A good place to serve your country. The work was hectic and lots of it. All in all a very satisfying 5 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Mine Warfare Specialist (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 16, 2014
absolutely fantastic could not ask for a better experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Navy Corpsman (Medic) (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCDecember 16, 2014
Pros: work experience
Cons: hours
Days weren't typical. Anything could be going on. I learned how to work as a team because quite frankly that was the only way to work. I evaluated 9-12 personnel at any given time in the latter part of my Naval career. The hardest part of my job was deploying overseas, but even then I learned to persevere. The best part of my job was the people, the – more... military service members that I deployed/worked with. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more