Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,822 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: organization, job satisfaction
Cons: limited promotion potential
This was a great job while I finished up my education. It allowed me the flexibility to work full time and attend school at night as well. My only issue with the position is the lack of upward mobility.

I am also at the center when it comes to patient care. All orders and medications pass through me, so I am more of a conductor of the orchestra. I – more... coordinated and synchronize critical patient care – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity and Experience
Petty Officer 1st Class, AZ1(AW) (Current Employee), Whidbey Island, WashingtonAugust 25, 2014
Pros: job security and benefits
Cons: time away from home and moving every 3-4 years
I respect the military and every service member who is or have served. A typical day would be challenging and rewarding when overcoming those challenges. I've learned respect, leadership skills, program management skills, effective communication, being a key decision maker, performing audits, networking, computer management, server maintenance and upkeep, – more... time and priority management. Co-workers were diverse in knowledge, culture, and backgrounds. The hardest part of the job was to be thrown into a demanding position with zero experience, but this was also the most enjoyable part because it gave me the chance to excel out of my comfort zone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being in the Navy was a great experiance to have.
Aviation Boatswain's mate, handler (Former Employee), San Diego, CaliforniaAugust 25, 2014
Pros: some pros would be traveling the world.
Cons: some cons is being away from family and friends.
Aviation boatswain's mates, handlers play a major part in launching and recovering naval aircraft quickly and safely from land or ships. This includes aircraft handling, fire fighting and salvage and rescue operations. Later in their careers ABHs can earn the advanced AB rating that requires supervision of all these individual specialties.[3]

The duties – more... performed by ABHs include:

Supervising the movement, spotting and securing of aircraft and equipment ashore and afloat. Often called "the salt of the deck", because they are the leaders of everyone, including officers, on deck.
Performing crash rescue, fire fighting, crash removal and damage control duties in connection with launching and recovery of aircraft.
Most of the work in this rating is performed outdoors on the deck of aircraft carriers, in all climatic conditions, in fast-paced and often potentially hazardous environments. ABHs work closely with others in aviation ratings.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experiences...Need More...
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: teamwork, health, fitness
Cons: cannot stay forever
Serving in the military is a very highly stressful job to do, but with training and teamwork it can be accomplished with more ease. In my more than 13 years in the U.S. Navy, I have led, been led, served as a primary adviser, managed decision, issued and updated policy and so many other management duties that have affected the lives of thousands of – more... my colleagues and their families. The most rewarding part of this journey and what I have learned the most is that a single person can make or break another's day. I pride myself, my colleagues, peers, leaders and subordinates to have a common mindset of respect to each and every individual and not to take issues that he or she may have as a personal attack. My most challenging part was my inability not have advance or advance my civilian General Service employees or my military men and women because they provided over 150% of excellence through dedication, perseverance and poise to everyone. My most enjoyable part of the job is just getting a random thank you from someone who required assistance from me or my team. A simple thank you reminds me of the impact that I left with that person and it takes a motivational thought and a bit time to deliver a personal thank you to someone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to "grow up" or extend your professional resume
Yeoman (Office Administrator) (Current Employee), Bremerton, WAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: deployments, diverse cultures, technical training
Cons: deployments, diverse cultures, technical training
As a Yeoman, your day will include clerical procedures such as: Typing, faxing, copying. Other duties include: Basic-advanced correspondence, basic-advanced military legal assistance, basic-advanced HR work. A Yeoman will start off as a junior Sailor (Clerk) and advance in their career up to a senior Sailor (Office Manager). The hardest part of the – more... job CAN be the deployments that come with being in the military. Conversely, the best part of the job CAN be all of the countries and experiences you will gain as a member of the finest branch of the military. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and dedication required
Airman Apprentice (Former Employee), Great LakesAugust 25, 2014
Pros: food, benefits, you become family with your peers.
Cons: none i can honestly say except its really boring when it is slow.
Highly recommend the military and if you do Air Force and Navy are the way to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
work center leading petty officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: deployments
I was an Aviation Electronics Technician in the Navy for 11 years, I loved the job and the travel, but eventually I wanted to see what else was out there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An outstanding organization to work for.
E-6 Supervisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 24, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: too much time away from family
Responsible for maintaining and upkeeping 40+ boats and ensuring for the safety and operation of harbor operations. Responsible for the safety and maintaining of the basin. Responsible for the prevention and containment of oil spills. Overall responsible for maintaining administrative and work output to over 60+ personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours but worth it
Machinist Mate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 24, 2014
had a good time while I was in the navy and even thought about joining back up again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overhauled enterprise
Airman (Former Employee), newport news vaAugust 24, 2014
overhauled enterprise i think everyone should join the military teaches values with alot of people dont have anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Navy Lieutenant (O-3) (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAAugust 24, 2014
My Navy experience was great, demanding, fun and unique.

I learned more about myself and others through my diverse work experiences than most will ever know. I have more than just experience making new friends to become a part of a community and a family which is more difficult to explain than it was to live it.

The best part is the person next to – more... you is a stranger yet is your brother or sister when you need something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Command
Safety Officer Assistant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: positive work environment with great people
My tour at this place was great. While my tour here was short, I did enjoy making sure that all of the personnel worked in a safe and rewarding work center. Everyday something different. Some tasks were redundant, but learning environmental health and OSHA guidelines was quite interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities await!
Senior Chief Petty Officer (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 24, 2014
Pros: job security, challenging leadership situations
Cons: deployments
The United States Navy gave me the opportunity to lead the best people our country has to offer. You are trusted and entrusted to lead people into harms way, manage equipment worth millions of dollars, and given significant levels of responsibility. Our core values of honor, courage, and commitment are the heart of our Navy and serve as our compass – more... as we navigate through our lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere, friendship
Culinary Management Specialist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: travel, memories
I love the US Navy because it allowed me to travel the world and see things and places other people will never get a chance to see. The Navy allowed me to meet new brothers and friends and friends that i will always talk to all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a great environment.
Aviation Ordananceman (Former Employee), Great Lakes, Norfolk VA, Jacksonville, FLAugust 24, 2014
Pros: travel, people, pay.
Cons: i have none.
I had to be at work a 6 am off by 2 am while in port while out to sea 12 hours on 12 hours off. i learned how to be a man on this job grew up as a person went in at 19 and received a honorable discharge at 27 and enjoyed every minute of it wish I would've remained there. I have had great leaders and very good coworkers some that I still know as my shipmates – more... for life, nothing was hard to me except being away from the family for months on end but at the same token the travels that I was able to experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great adventure.
Fire Controlman (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great experiences, the closest friends a person can make in life, the amazing sights to take in traveling overseas.
Cons: overly fast paced, rules and regulations can become a burden at times, the lack of control of scheduling.
It's a challenge at times but for the most part it's a great experience that I would recommend to anyone. As a Fire Controlman which is one of the more rewarding careers to have in the Navy, a person gets to work with the most technologically advanced equipment in the world. Also the benefits for retirement as well as the bonuses available make it worth – more... while staying in the Navy for the long run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avaiton was the way of life!
Avation Boatswans Mate (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 22, 2014
I was in the aviation field. Started off as "Chock and Chain Crew" also know as a blue shirt. I was then moved to an elite crew of only 12 guys known as "Crash and Salvage". We were first response medical and rescue team to any flight deck emergency. We trained on proper aircraft start up and shutdown and we also had to know the "cook-off'" times of – more... live ordinance. I was a fun and exciting job and I served my country proudly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Auxiliary Machinist Mate Second class-Submarines (Current Employee), NationwideAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great pay, security, decent benefits
Cons: long hours, lots of traveling
The US Navy is a great place to work to gain experience and technical knowledge to ensure you a can a promising future in any industry you're interested in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to travel to new destinations, all while meeting various cultures and people.
Signalman (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 22, 2014
Each day offered something new. It always presented unique opportunities for learning and growth.

I learned to be a team oriented thinker and player.

Management as well as subordinates all worked together for the common good of our country and our survival with the number one goal being "To protect and serve.

The hardest part of the job was boredom – more... out at sea (on occasion)

The most fulfilling part of the job was learning, and advancing up in the ranks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment and fast paced.
Information Systems Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CaliforniaAugust 22, 2014
Pros: free travel (deployment), full benefits while active as well as separated, free food, free housing (barracks)
Cons: time away from family
During my time in the Navy, a typical day at work was very high-energy and you are constantly busy with multiple tasks. I gained an abundant amount of knowledge in customer service, managing my own workforce and administration. The Navy is one of the most diverse communities I've ever been a part of. I've made many life-long friends through the Navy. – more... The hardest part of the job would be going on deployments and unexpected underways, which takes you away from your friends and family. Although, there are many hardships that come with going on deployment, there are also many benefits from it. I've traveled the world and seen many diverse cultures of the world. All in all, the Navy has made me the person I am today. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more