Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,540 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, educational, enjoyable, Patriotic
Close In Weapon System Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: education, training, discipline, leadership/supervisory skills, travel, great people
Cons: lack of time with family
- Musters to ensure everyone is present and receive orders to determine what needs to be accomplished.
- Split to group work space and conduct maintenance on mult-imillion dollar weapon systems.
- Constant teamwork to ensure the security of our ship and base in Baghdad, Iraq.
- Co-workers were disciplined but also very fun and easy to get along with – more... (Some considered family).
- Multiple days without sleep while on alert.
- Most enjoyable part of my job was to witness my weapon system save countless numbers of lives and billions in Department of Defense Assets in Baghdad, Iraq engaging incoming rocket, mortars and artillery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job with opportunities to see the world
2nd class petty officer (Current Employee), virginia beach, vaJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, health care
Cons: working hours, overnight duty
I served 8 years in the United States Navy and there has definitely been some of the most challenging years of my life. I've traveled all around the world and met many different people and cultures. A typical day at work can vary between whether you're on a deployment or at home port. A deployment workday consists of 12 hour work shifts, but a day in – more... home port may only require a 5 to 8 hour work shift depending upon workload and routine inspections. I've learned the importance of teamwork and I've also learned the responsibility of being a supervisor and leading a team. My whole Navy experience as one was the most enjoyable part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Master-At-Arms/Police (Former Employee), Napoli, CAMJuly 22, 2014
I enjoyed working in the military. I loved the culture and the amazing people that I have met. Being in the military has grown my family. The only bad thing about it is some people slack and mistreat others because they are a higher rank.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job with free travel
AV/ARM Division Chief (Former Employee), Naval Air Station (NAS) Lemoore, CAJuly 22, 2014
Best job and experience that I have experienced in my adult life (46).
If you can be a team player and follow orders, then this is the job for you!! Can not be the job security or the benefits. The GI bill, and 100% tuition assistance for education are platinum benefits alone and it could all be yours for a little dedication, honor, courage, and commitment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), United StatesJuly 22, 2014
This was a great place to work.
The most enjoyable is the people you work alone side with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences!
In-Flight Avionics Technician (Former Employee), Around the world!July 22, 2014
Pros: the travel to many countries and flying every day!
Cons: the travel does wear on you every 3 years but it is fun.
The best 'career decision' I have ever made!
Traveled the world, acquired skills and was rewarded for my effort!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best thing I could have ever done was to serve my country
Leading Chief Petty Officer (Former Employee), various locationsJuly 22, 2014
Pros: different, there was always something new and different
Cons: not real healthy on relationships
Joined right out of high school and was given lots of training and advancement came routinely.
Through the Navy, I learned how to be a better leader, manager and mentor.
Lots of education and training to take advantage of
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Experience
Petty Officer (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILJuly 21, 2014
Pros: benifits, pto
Cons: time away from family
Gives you much needed life experience. Prepares you for the real world. Has wonderful job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding organization, very team orientated and rewarding.
Associate Director for Clinical Support Services (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDJuly 21, 2014
Pros: the say "yes" concept
Cons: joint military culture
Fast paced organization that offers outstanding healthcare to our Wounded Warriors and eligible beneficiaries.
I learned multiple skills sets that aided me in my career progression.
Staff was a great group to work with
Getting attached to patients
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing a Wounded Warrior walk out of the hospital after being injured – more... on the battlefield – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and diligent work place
Work Center Supervisor (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: deployments
A typical day consisted of arriving at work at 6:00AM Inspecting my division then getting them in formation for morning attendance and tasking. Our Department head would give out tasking for the day and I would ensure all tasks would be completed in the most efficient and timely manner. During my military service I learned how to be a fair but stern – more... supervisor when managing personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprenticeship to Mangagement
Communications Intelligence Collection Operator (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GeorgiaJuly 21, 2014
I saw the world and everything it encompassed. I learned all military to civilian transition practices. I trained all individuals from 8 months in to 23 years in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Aviation Support Technician (AS)/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Norfolk,VaJuly 21, 2014
Everything that you can imagine the military to be. Hard work and a lot of time away from family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy Overview
(E-5) Information Systems Technician Second Class (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 21, 2014
Over the past five years, I have had the opportunity to perform various IT duties as an active duty service member onboard aircraft carrier’s USS Carl Vinson and USS George H.W. Bush. Throughout my time in the navy, I performed duties such as; routine server maintenance, troubleshoot network connectivity, prepare status reports, and conduct general – more... office safety training. I have worked in call centers for crews of over 5,000 user, troubleshooting end users voice and data circuits, while recording and reporting status of circuits. Also, I have worked as helpdesk IT, monitoring and managing accounts within the network. As a result, I bring the knowledge and skills to work in a variety of office settings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get job experience
Biomedical Equipment Repair Technician (Former Employee), worldwideJuly 21, 2014
Pros: experience
Awesome place to work. meet new people. challenging but rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work after High School
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 20, 2014
After joining the Navy, I utilized this for the last 8 years for educational purposes and to hone management and teamwork skills. The Navy provides this and more to the cream of the crop. The most enjoyable part of my job was traveling to exotic places, helping others and gaining valuable experience working with a diverse workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with
Logistics Specialist in Lemoore (Former Employee), Lemoore, CAJuly 20, 2014
Enjoyed my time in the Navy, and wish it would not have ended so soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great expierience
Hull Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VA.July 20, 2014
A well organized and efficient branch of the military.

I enjoyed the structure and my job responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy Life
Utilities Man/Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 19, 2014
Place to learn and grow. Teaches you how to become independent and find your life direction if you keep an open mind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment and fun working staff
Culinary Specialist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, travel and advancement
Food preparation, line maintaining,and watch over junior sailors. Supervisors were very helpful in training in watch over sailors and galley. Co- workers were very well manor and good with following instructions form a trainee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 20 years of building skills for a civilian career
Management, Supervisory (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 19, 2014
Great Perks to include college tuition and 30 days leave a year along with a good salary and being able to travel the world.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more