Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,783 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and proud to serve y country
Information System Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 22, 2014
Typical work day included troubleshooting phone, email, internet, and various other networking/help desk tickets.
MY co-workers have become life time associates/friends.
There was no hard part with us being able to constantly grow as US Navy sailors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we protect america
Yeoman E-4 (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 22, 2014
Pros: everthing
Cons: nothing
MY days were awesome in the Navy. I and many others wore the uniform proudly. There is nothing to say bad about the military we all served cause we wanted to not cause we were forced. It is the greatest feeling you can ever have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Culinary Specialist/ Training Petty Officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 22, 2014
Loved the militay
Loved the people I worked with
Great enviorment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Values
Supervisor (Former Employee), Pensacola FL, Sandiego CA, Fallon NVDecember 22, 2014
Pros: great healthcare benefits
Cons: can pull you away from your family
The high paced and meaningful culture that the Navy provides allows for many opportunities to advance and grow as a person as well as a sailor. You learn a lot about your job and being a leader. It gives you a great work ethic and values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for character building
Machinist Mate (Former Employee), Bremerton, WADecember 22, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of taking logs, cleaning and maintaining equipment. I learned leadership and communication while supervising other associates. The management were very capable at their position. My co-workers worked well as a group. The hardest part of the job was being away from my family when we left on deployment. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was being able to do my job without supervision from the higher ups. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not change a thing!
Maritime SIGINT Collection Manager (Former Employee), Various LocationsDecember 22, 2014
Can not say enough about the US Navy! The work experience and knowledge was second to none!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with very interesting people.
Supervisor (Former Employee), NAS Whidbey IslandDecember 21, 2014
Pros: great medical benefits and training
Cons: unpredictable breaks
A typical day at work revolved around completing the mission of the flight schedule. The one thing that I learned is to accept changes even if it meant upsetting someone. In management, I learned to be open minded but also strict. Circumstances arise and working with recent high school graduates was a great challenge. The hardest part of my job was – more... making the decision of disappointing a pilot that he or she would be unable to train due to a mechanical or technical malfunctions. The most enjoyable part of my job was having completed a full sortie set forth by maintenance control with no mishaps. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seabees Can Do!
Builder (Senior Chief) (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, North CarolinaDecember 21, 2014
Worked 26 years around the world as a navy Seabee builder. Spent my last three years supporting both Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting work environment.
Electronics Technician Second Class (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 21, 2014
Pros: travelling
Cons: strain on relationships
I enjoyed travelling the world during my enlistment in the Navy. Every country we visited was a new adventure and I loved to see the distinct cultural differences between each country. The only negative aspect of the Navy was putting your life on hold while you're gone for 6-12 months which puts a strain on interpersonal relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved serving my country
Personnel Specialist (Former Employee), NAS LemooreDecember 21, 2014
Pros: hour lunch breaks, health care
Personnel Specialist

I worked 8-10 hours a day in a professional work environment. It was a rewarding experience to work with DoD personnel. Payroll was very challenging at times but the dedication of the men and women I worked with motivated me to do more then I thought I could on a daily basis. Everyday was a new experience. I cherish the time I – more... spent serving my country in the Navy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, demanding but rewarding
Hospital Corpsman Second Class, USS CARL VINSON (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 21, 2014
Daily hours were 0630-1900. I was able to further my triaging, emergency care and assessment skills. I had a diverse day to include health promotion in performing yearly physicals, administering immunizations and health teaching. Acute/ambulatory care where patients would be triaged and seen accordingly arranging from upper respiratory problems, GI,psychological – more... and musculoskeletal problems and more. Assisted in pre-op, post-op and inpatient care for surgeries to include but not limited to appendectomy, cholecystectomy, and hernia repairs. During many of these situations a great deal of teamwork was required to keep the Medical department working efficiently. Co-workers had each others backs and ensured that everyone could perform to their fullest abilities to ensure mission readiness throughout the ship. The most rewarding part of this job was the patient care and taking care of people who were sick while away from their loved ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Navy
Lithographer Third Class (E-4) (Former Employee), Charleston, SCDecember 20, 2014
There is nothing I could ever say negatively about serving my country in the United States Navy.

Serving in the Navy was the best decision I have ever made. The experience I had while serving, and learning the skills of becoming a printing press operator aboard a ship, with forever be a part of me.

I learned discipline, leadership, teamwork and most – more... of all pride in my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy
Interior Communication Electrician (Current Employee), Bremerton Naval Station, WADecember 20, 2014
The job involves a lot of Hard work, deployments, and skills. You see the world and meet many different types of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with lots of adventure.
Building Manager (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VADecember 20, 2014
Pros: benefits, exciting, and job security.
Cons: can be way to political sometimes.
The days at sea (which are quite a bit) can become extremely redundant. However, pulling into other countries and exploring their cultures and scenery is worth all the days at sea. It can be rough on family life. Overall I loved my time in the Navy and I wouldn't change it at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Unfriendly work environment
SECURITY MANAGER/SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 20, 2014
Would not recommend working there for many reasons. After 29 years of faithful service, I was thrown under the bus for a mistake I made and corrected. A very crony-minded upper management with an emphasis on "yes" answers to those at the top rather than taking an analytical approach to problem-solving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 20, 2014
The Navy is great experience that allows people the opportunity to learn and grow in a desired field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good people
US Navy (Former Employee), San Diego, CaliforniaDecember 19, 2014
Get up at 0600 in the morning day shift starts at 0700.
Come in prepare lunch. Serve lunch from 10-1300. Secure from lunch and start preparing for dinner. Dinner is served 1600-1900.
In between time, I would be assigned into helping food handling or mail. To be a great leader you have to be respected give your people some moral, something to fight for. – more... Let them see that you are there for them. The hardest part of the job, is to deal with mistakes. As perfectionist sometimes we forget we are human but we live and we learn. Most enjoyable part of the job, were the people that you connect with on levels beyond measure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Life Changing workplace
Aviation Electrician's Mate (Former Employee), OKDecember 19, 2014
Wonderful place to work. Great group of men/women with great attitudes. A typical day would be check the workload from the day and receive information of current priorities from the previous shift. Check tools for accountability. Attend a meeting to be assign various priorities. Hold meeting for workers assigning each a task. Learned an extensive amount – more... of electrical components on aircraft and how to manage others. Hardest part of the job would be having a challenging problem on the aircraft and thinking outside the box to fix it. This is also the most rewarding part of the job as all the work put in to finding the problem is exhausted once the problem was fixed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Career Oppertunities
Aviation Warfare Systems Operator / Rescue Swimmer (Former Employee), WorldwideDecember 19, 2014
My rating required high levels of physical and mental aptitudes that was not commonly found in most Naval ratings. There was rarely a period of time where every day was the same as the day before. This requires great skills in adaptability and flexibility and being able to make critical decisions quickly. Flying in aircraft has been accurately described – more... as hours of boredom broken by moments of sheer terror and excitement. I proudly served with a highly skilled and motivated group of young men and women which had been thoroughly screened and weeded out. At one point of my career it was estimated that over 80 percent of those who started the career path never completed the training syllabus. I can say I feel that I served with the best of the best. There was more days away from home than being at home and that is tough on the personal level and a job field that did not relate well with anything in the career fields outside the U.S. Navy. If I had to choose to do it all over again I would not have changed a thing as all of the experiences I had made me into who I am today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Navy is a great service to be a part of!
Seaman Apprentice (Former Employee), Great Lakes, IllinoisDecember 19, 2014
Pros: regular pay
Cons: separation from family
It is the U.S Navy, it is an excellent branch of the military and I am eager to work there again.

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more