Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,540 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best decision I have made to join
Administrator Support Manager (Former Employee), Hampton, VAJuly 16, 2014
The Navy has helped to mode me into the individual I am today. I have learned and seen so much during my career. My management skills were taken to the next level due to the training and OJT in working with young individuals in a diverse environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone who likes being away from home.
Third Class Petty Officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 16, 2014
The military is ok if you can adapt to the constant deployments and being away from your family for long periods of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Aviation Structural Mechanic U.S. Navy (Former Employee), San diego, caJuly 16, 2014
-new and challenging day to day basis
-best place as a stepping stone
-job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A life changing experience that has allowed me to honorably serve my country.
Chief Information Systems Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: service to country
Cons: time away from my family.
From the age of 18, I have been given the privilege to serve our country. Early on we are taught to have a work ethic above all others. We are mentored by upper management and the diverse culture allows us to grow into well rounded adults. The most difficult aspect of serving our country is spending time away from our family. The most rewarding part – more... of our job is giving back to those junior service members whom will soon be in charge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity
Diesel Technician/Mechanic (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioJuly 16, 2014
A typical day at work would include 3M checks. Tire repairs, engine repairs. I've learned how to work on all types of military equipment and diesel engines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
NAVAL OFFICER (Current Employee), San Diego CAJuly 16, 2014
Working for the Navy is a challenging and rewarding opportunity. Work is fast past and intense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made friends to last a lifetime.
Boatswains Mate (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILJuly 16, 2014
In the military you learn how to make your bed so well that you should be able to bounce a coin off of it, properly wear the uniform, learn proper etiquette and manners, respect, and march in formation. But the best part is the morals and outlook the Navy gives you. The hardest part is being away from home, and the best is the family you make while – more... you're in the service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Coronado, CAJuly 16, 2014
In the Navy you are challenged to learn constantly. A person must strive for perfection, ever improving theirself personally and professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NAVY
NAVY (Former Employee), Eglin AFB, FLJuly 16, 2014
Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Department of Defense Joint Explosive Ordnance (Common Core) Explosive Ordnance Disposal Eglin AFB, FL OCT-2008/ AUG -2009 Description: • Select and utilize the best methods and procedures required to render safe, recover, evaluate and dispose of conventional ordnances, improvised explosive devices, detailed understanding – more... of weapons systems design used to deliver various ordnances. • Familiar with Joint Operations and working with various branches to meet a common objective. • Knowledgeable in organizing force protection perimeter set up for operational needs. • Experienced in designing improvised explosive devices and defeating such devices. • Familiar with using and reading the newest technology of portable X-ray machines. • Knowledgeable in connecting electrical wire to primers, cover charges, and able to calculate specified lengths of
delaying fuses in order to time sequences of explosions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Bremerton, WAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, the people i worked with
Cons: long hours
Working in the Navy was a challenging job but the rewards were great. Knowing that my job was to protect this great country of ours help me to work harder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing like military experience
Fire Control Technician (Former Employee), Groton, CTJuly 15, 2014
Great experience and learned a lot about myself and life in general. studied in many classes and got in great shape. The culture and the honor that comes with service is unbeatable and translates well to civilian life in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Buearuacratic
Naval Acquisition Development Program (Former Employee), Washington DCJuly 15, 2014
Extremely nice work-life balance but a lot of red tape to get anything done. Typical govt job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Aviation Fuel Specialist (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 15, 2014
Pros: free medical
Cons: leaving for months at a time
Fueling and cleaning pipe lines. The team was awesome we all pulled together and get the job completed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Corpsman (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAJuly 15, 2014
Great Place for advancement in both life and experience
Workout Prepare for the workday itself See patients and do any duties assigned for the day
Management depended on if you had a good LPO
You always make great friends that you can rely on for life
Most enjoyable part was the freedom to do what you needed to do by yourself
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly rewarding career
Department Manager (Former Employee), Willow Grove, PAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: environment, benefits, misson
Cons: long periods seperated from family
typical day involves assignment of work priorities and goals for each day, week and month. Taking in Data and analyzing for reports to upper management. Management was direct and very team oriented. success and safety were the priorities. Co-workers possessed several different personalities making the atmosphere well balanced but challenging. all team – more... oriented for success. Hardest part of the job was knowing that mission could not always end with success. But what made it enjoyable was the attitude to strive with teamwork for greater success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life experience filled with adventure, excitement, and hard work.
Disbursing Clerk (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 15, 2014
Great people, great pay, learned about discipline and hard work. Team work and adventure. Great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working outside
Builder (Former Employee), Columbus GaJuly 15, 2014
I was a Navy Seabee. I enjoyed working with a good bunch of sailors. They taught me alot about being a carpenter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Officer Candidates
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Sam Houston, TXJuly 15, 2014
Pros: co-workers/federal holidays
Cons: upper management/ layoffs
A typical day was not in our vocaublary. Our day to day duties changed on the hour. Our job was to process applications for prospective Naval Officers that were sent to the board for review. The board was held at certain times of the year depending on the program the applicant is applying for. It was a pleasure meeting candidates from around the region – more... the office was in. Helping them with their applications and getting them to the board takes hard work. Once they were selected is when we felt we accomplished our job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly adaptable in ever-changing environment
EXPLOSIVE ORDNANCE DISPOSAL TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Virginia BeachJuly 15, 2014
Worked in small teams of 8 men
engineering ways to overcome challenges and obstacles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Experience you can ever have
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Current Employee), USAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: travel the world, free health care, great people to work with, new experiences
Cons: away from family for long periods of time, in cramped spaces for long periods of time
A typical day in the Navy is to muster in the morning and be accountable for how your uniform looks. Then after the morning meeting we get assigned maintenance and put into teams to complete these tasks prior to being released for the day. I learned how to work on aircraft parts, sumbit the proper paper work for certain parts and for myself. I learned – more... about new cultures and how far i could push myself and to over come adversity and to train new personnel. I learned to be accountable for my tools, my work and my appearance. The hardest part of the job is being away from family for long periods of time and the toll it takes on your body. I loved to work on the aircraft parts and to tear them down to rebuild them from stratch, or test them until we found the problem and fix it. – less

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more