Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,988 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Administrator
Assisting military personnel (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCSeptember 8, 2014
I work in the chaplain office and I love it. I was train in the military as an administration personnel. So my admin skills is great. There was always task daily that keep me busy and I enjoyed. I was also train in local security, small arms and the supply field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an adventure
Machinist Mate (Former Employee), USS Brooke FFG-1September 8, 2014
Pros: see the world
Cons: time away from home.
you have no say so in where you go. Yes you have a dream sheet but, they put you where they want you.
you get to meet all kinds of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Powerplant Superviser
Powerplant Work Center Supervisor (Former Employee), Kaneohe, HISeptember 8, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: late hours
work was enjoyable to do, and the experience is awsome.
great professionalism, and just being involved with aircraft was awsome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working aS a Team. Getting the Job done.
Administrator, HSC (Current Employee), Naval Base, VASeptember 8, 2014
Working envirnoment is very hard working. always getting the goals for the day done. Learned how to multi task and set goals. Get work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Sonar Technician (Former Employee), Damneck, VASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: the life experiance
Cons: choices to do in the military
operating sonar systems, deployments to other places and operation of Ships

Learned a lot of the world and sonar equipment

Management was great excellent leaders

Co-workers were great team players

hardest part of the job was the deployments

places I went was the most enjoyble
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours, Competitive Work Centers, Motivated Team Members
Avionics electrician Technician O level (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours, and weekend duties
Getting too work early everyday, with no set time of getting off. Performing stressful tasks inside time windows. Everyone is expected too look out for each other regardless of position. Repair and troubleshoot maintenance on multiple aircrafts a day. Daily, Weekly, and Monthly inspections performed with "by the book" expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Away from home
Surface Warfare Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 7, 2014
Good place to learn leadership skills. Too much time away from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing
Master at Arms (Former Employee), Sioux Falls, SDSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: pay
Enjoyed my time with the Navy. Showed me alot of defferent things and changed my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work for little pay
Nuclear Propulsion Plant Operator (Former Employee), Charleston, SCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: 16 hour days, no such thing as overtime in the navy
You're on call 24/7 and they can send you anywhere they want to anytime they want to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, loved the traveling.
Weapon System Manager, Trainer and Evaluator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: travel, benefits.
Cons: spend months away from family.
The training is non-stop. I saw parts of the world I would have never seen if I had stayed in my home town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone.
Cryptological Technician Technical (Former Employee), Bremerton, WASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: -great people -lifestyle -structure
Cons: - limited chances at retention - advancement -stress on family
Great group of people with large ambitions with a hindered ability to advance due to circumstantial limitations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Experience
ADMINISTRATOR/WEAPON SYSTEM TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Bangor, WASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: outstanding benefits, with unbeatable vacation time, job stability, consistent pay, routine, and great travel opportunity
Cons: not enough pay for the work you actually do, taxing if your boat goes through a major maintenance period, long deployments, rather monotonous when underway, inconsistent leadership
The upper management played a huge role in my growth when i first came to the boat, however, when i left the chain of command was completely different. That's the thing about the navy. Everyone rotates and you'll never know what kind of person you'll get to replace them. I don't have any advice to the upper management because they could've never prevented – more... the kind of predicament the Navy as a whole put our boat in. My advice would be to the navy and fix the recruitment and retention process to ensure quality personnel maintain in the workforce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, Loved it!
Bachelor Enlisted Housing (BEH) Manager (Former Employee), Bremertonn, WASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: great pay, benefits, travel, advancement, adventurous
Cons: away for family long periods of time, long hours
The best experience I have ever had. I would go back in a minute. Everyone should Enlist and do at least the minimum tour. You can experience everything you want a more. Travel, great work environment!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful benifits and training.
Machinist mate 2nd class navy submariner (Former Employee), Bremerton, WASeptember 6, 2014
Pros: military benefits
Cons: low pay
Work day started bright and early. Typical military fashion. I learned many different trades and leadership skills. My commands were always fair and personable. Workers were mostly happy and pleasant to work with. At sea time was the toughest due to time apart from wife and children. Getting a job done right, on time, and with great workers made the – more... work environment fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy was my guide to travel?
Disbursing - Payroll - Seaman (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: travel
Just going to places and seeing the world. Fun and exciting?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding job.
Electronics Technician Chief Petty Officer (Current Employee), Tamuning, GuamSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits. ability to see the world.
Cons: tiime away from family.
The U.S. Navy has provided me with opportunities that I otherwise would not have been able to have. I have travelled all over the world and have worked with amazing people. It has instilled in me a strong work ethic and a great sense of heritage. It has also built up my managerial and supervisory skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operational specialist
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), VASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: health benifits
Cons: over worked and under paid
Some days are better then others. I have learned to become a leader and be affective with communication. My Co Workers were wonderful and other times we argue. Always was able to get over it and move forward and get the task given done in a timely manner. Hardest part is leaving my family on deployments. Most enjoyable is meeting new people from different – more... background. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build
Supervisor (E-4) (Former Employee), Norfolk, VaSeptember 5, 2014
Typical work day was very busy. Tended to many other sailors to comply with their needs, and the needs of the ship.

I learned how to track, document, and file different types of correspondence.

My co-workers were amazing.

The hardest part of the job would have to be the outages that would take place due to security reasons. So work would have to – more... be done manually, and then copy cats were done once everything was restored.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the workload. I never had a chance to get bored because I always had something to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is where the patients and the people mattered the most
Cardiovascular Technologist (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: camaraderie-type of work environment
Cons: slow advancement in pay raises
I have worked with the U.S. Navy since 1999 when I joined and ended up becoming a CVT in 2002. I then was exposed to all the responsibilities of a nurse, an X-ray tech, and a cardiovascular technologist combined since our Cath Lab did not have any nurses nor x-ray techs. We were definitely the epitome of a renaissance cardiovascular technologist. We – more... were tasked to give medications, handled drips, balloon pumps, scrubbed and assisted cardiologists and interventionalists and also managed the imaging systems. This cath lab also is the center of the Navy CVTs clinical program. All staff had to be a preceptor and most of my experience teaching students was on the Physiological Hemodynamic Monitoring rotation. I love my co-workers since they're an extension of my family. And of course, last but not the least, our patients comprising of mostly veterans, active duty service-members and their dependents have a very special place to my heart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace very good people
Aviation Ordnanceman (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: free housing and food
Cons: very long working hours on deployments 12 hours a day 7 days a week
Had to safely load, handle, and download various types of ordnance including bombs, missiles, rockets, and bullets.

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more