Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,111 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best ever
Ship's Serviceman (Former Employee), WorldwideSeptember 24, 2014
World travel
Excitement
Pay
Benefits

Excellent place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Sailor
Hospital Corpsman 3rd Class (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: benefits
too much learned to list here, great people, great work environment, great benefits, hardest part of job - deployments, decent leadership, advancement opportunity were ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn a lot of things and got to go to a lot of different countries
Aviation Ordnanceman (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: great friends
Cons: 6 months away from faimly
Long work hours out to sea. Lots of reading about what you are doing for your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, meet new people with different expirences.
Production Control Manager (Current Employee), Everett, WASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: lots of time away from family
Normal priority of assets or components that where need by customer. Balance priorities for test equipment that needed required maintenance while meeting requirements to produce equipment/ components ready to go back to the customer. Train on Six Lean Sigma to improve different areas within all areas of the company. Dealing with 9 different departments – more... that averaged around 250 per department. Train employees on equal opportunity,harassment and assault, basic knowledge on avionics equipment, safety, time management and various other topics. I mentored my employees to achieve every possible qualification to better they knowledge and professional growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
engineer mechanic (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: seeing other countries
Cons: some long hours
i learned a lot from my job with the U.S Navy. how to work with others, time management, meet dead lines, very productive, eager to take on new challenges. Had the opportunity to managed and teach uprising mechanics in the navy. My hardest part of the job is sitting back and letting my subordinates do the job. I'm a hands on person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serveing my counrty
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Former Employee), San Diego CA.September 23, 2014
Wake up and find out what you have to do for the day.
I learned a great trade.
Management is micromanagement.
Co-workers you ether love them or hate them.
The hardest part of the navy is being away from your family all the time.
The most enjoyable part of the Navy is "PORT CALLS".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Detail Oriented Workplace
Logistics Specialist, Chief (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long periods of absence away from family
A normal day in our hangar is never normal. The speed of the day can sometimes cause my younger Sailors heart ache. It is my place to manage their work activities and help guide them through their day. The hardest part of the job is not seeing the full potential of a young Sailor on display due to a myriad of possible reasons. The best part of the job – more... is talking to my Sailors and them feeling free to open up to me about any issues they are having personally or professionally. I enjoy being able to mold Sailors properly and having them understand what it is to live out the mantra of 'Honor, Courage and Commitment.' – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Aviation Machinist Mate (Former Employee), NAS Norfolk, VASeptember 23, 2014
During my years in my military, I always felt my hard work was rewarded accordingly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of working hours.
storekeeper (Former Employee), bremerton, waSeptember 23, 2014
overall, it was a good decision. got to see a lot of nice places.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Assistant Research Professor (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDSeptember 23, 2014
I really enjoyed working at the Naval Academy.I really enjoyed working at the Naval Academy.I really enjoyed working at the Naval Academy.I really enjoyed working at the Naval Academy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Machinist Mate 2nd Class (Former Employee), san diegoSeptember 22, 2014
My work experience is based on my opinion alone, everyone is different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to get job experience for a new career
Sonar Technician (Former Employee), Pearl Harbor, HISeptember 22, 2014
Traveling around the world was fun, you meet and work with alot of people, and learn all types of job training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life starter
Aviation Structural Mechanic/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FlSeptember 22, 2014
What can i say it was the Navy, hard but highly rewarding and I value everything about my time in the Navy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and little pay
AC&R tech/workcenter supervisor (Current Employee), San diego, CASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great job securinty and great benefits.
Cons: long hours low pay.
a typical day at work, while inport waws from 0700 till 1600 monday through friday. manging the book \s and getting personal and equpment ready for deployment.
while underway work day was 0700 till 1800 unless a unit would go down on multiple occosions would work 24 hours straight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times
Regional Limited Duty Coordinator (Former Employee), Corpus Christi Naval Air station, TXSeptember 22, 2014
I enjoyed the Navy life. I really enjoyed being an Independent Duty Corpsman. Thanks for the ride.....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work and gain knowledge
Organizational Defense Travel System Clerk (Former Employee), Nofolk, VirginiaSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: personnel
A normal day would consist of interaction with personnel, assigning schools, writing cost and no cost orders for personnel. Managing the Defense Travel System and writing reports for my supervisors. Tracking account system for the personnel. I learned how to be a better supervisor and manage personnel, having open line of communication with subordinates. – more... The management was helpful and supportive with training and advancement within the organization. My co-workers were helpful and we all worked together for the common goal of the organization. The most difficult part of the job was having to leave because my naval career was ending. The most enjoyable part of the job was the daily interaction with personnel and assisting those who needed help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to start a career
Senior Engineering Enlisted Propulsion Manager (Current Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: medical and dental benefits, and job security
Cons: the long deployments
A typical day at work here is never the same because each day brings different challenges.You are required to put in long hours, both at sea and in-port.
I have had to opportunity to work on diesel engines, gas turbine engines, air condition and refrigeration, steering systems, small boats, pumps, valves, distilling plants, high and low pressure air – more... compressors, and other equipment.
There are many different types of managers here. You have the opportunity to review each.
You have the opportunity to work with a variety of people from different parts of the country.
I think being away from home is the hardest part of this job.
The most rewarding part of the job is getting the opportunity to travel and see other parts of the world while you learn new skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the Navy.
Machinist Mate Senior Chief Petty Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, Ca.September 22, 2014
No complaints about the Navy. Loved what I did and the Sailors that I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting Point
IT3 (Former Employee), Everywhere worldwideSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: 3 hots and a cot plus pay
Cons: everything else.
Ship life is awful, but if you can get past that its pretty awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Seaman/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 22, 2014
overall great experience. best benefits. advancement is limited to rate.

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more