Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,594 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Core values and base to learn about hard work
Electrical Technician/ Department Supervisor (Current Employee), FRCNW WHidbey IslandNovember 16, 2014
The US Navy has taught me to be a strong precise leader and ensure I share my knowledge and skills with my co workers to help them move up and continue to excel in their careers. As a maintenance supervisor and a technician I check the tools in our tool boxes, ensure my bench is working properly and fix it when it goes down. For instance if the bench – more... will not power up I have to pull out my schematics and figure out if it is as simple as a blown fuse or trace it to a microchip and see if there is a low or high not triggering and get it replaced and back up and running as soon as possible so we can continue doing maintenance and support the fleet in our mission.

I feel self gratification in knowing every time I supervise or as a technician resolve a deficiency on the test bench or a piece of gear I am ensuring that the Navy's missions are being satisfied and we are saving lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Ceremonial Guardsman/Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 16, 2014
typical day is training hard to get the job done. enjoyed serving my country, and working with those who sign that blank check.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive life of a Sailor Cook
Culinary Specialist (Former Employee), JPCNovember 16, 2014
A typical day would be preparing breakfast at 4:30am. It would be prepared by 5:30AM. Breakfast would be over at 7:15am and we would begin cleaning and prepping for lunch. Lunch would be cooked and ready by 1030 and served at 11. By 1230 lunch would be over at which time we would do a deep cleaning and making sure everything was cleaned and sanitized – more... at that point we would start on dinner around 2 and it would be finished by 530pm. I would serve and manage a team to clean and scrub a part of the kitchen not being used. After dinner is over at 5 I would instruct everyone a task clean pots and pans and to finish scrubbing the floor and after mopping. We would finish off around 7pm. I've learned to manage my time in a safe and fun way. I was in charge so I learned to manage my personnel as I wanted to be managed. No one person went home mad but happy to get up and work again. The hardest part of my job was the pressure of all military personnel on the ship and accommodating to there needs as well as in be in line with Navy Regulations. I enjoyed cooking and seeing faces light up after eating an amazing meal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for advancing in life
Hospital Corpsman/ Clinic manager (Current Employee), Various LocationsNovember 16, 2014
Pros: benefits, travel, skills attained
Cons: time away from home, dangerous situations at times
Great place to work at, some of the best co-workers in the world, great sense of team work and some of the best benefits in the world, travel for free and work to servie my Nation. Hard at times in and must be willing to travel long distances on short notice. strict rules to live by and not a lot of personal freedom in the first few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Hospital Corpsman (Current Employee), Corpus Christi, TXNovember 15, 2014
Pros: great pay, job security and pride
Cons: long work hour
The Navy is a great organization to affiliate with.Expecially if you like to travel and get exposed to the other side of life most people never get to see.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military environment with lots of fun that comes with it.
Military Police Officer (Former Employee), Honolulu, HINovember 15, 2014
Very strict but easy lifestyle. Able to provide a well life for family, great benefits and ok advancement depending on your rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), Port Hueneme, CANovember 15, 2014
good place to work dealing with co-workers the hardest part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging experience with many benefits as well as downfalls
Security Guard (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 15, 2014
Pros: medical/dental/education benefits
Cons: constantly working/deployed
Two out of four years I was deployed on an aircraft carrier. The hardest part of the job was constantly being away from home. I learned during my time in the navy how to be a better leader, team player, and mentor. There were many difference personalities in the Navy and because of that I enjoyed some co-workers but not all. The most enjoyable part – more... of the job was visiting countries such as; France, England, Spain, Dubai, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Manpower and Data Management Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 15, 2014
Pros: telework and flex schefdule
Cons: need innovation in several areas
Awesome employer. Great benefits. Friendly environment. Great culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 years first class.
NUCLEAR PROPULSION PLANT OPERATOR (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 15, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: gone from home a lot
It is truly what you put into it.
You control your own future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most amazing experience of my life.
Information Technology Technician (Former Employee), lemoore, californiaNovember 14, 2014
Pros: experience, great pay, travel, networking
Cons: long hours
Less than 1% of the American population volunteer to serve their country. My support goes out to all those who serve, as it was the greatest experience of my life, and taught me many lessons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Anti Terrorism Task Force Team Leader (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 14, 2014
Pros: multiple deployments, loved all of them
Loved my times served while on Active Duty. Even though I did multiple deployments i loved all of them. It was a good work environment and i made some strong friendships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
military treatment facility
Assistant Public Affairs Officer (Current Employee), San Diego, CANovember 14, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: deployments
great place to work in Public Affairs. Skilled professionals and eager to do great work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enviromen
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Former Employee), oak harbor waNovember 14, 2014
nice place to work. hardest part of job was working on the airplanes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience overall
Aviation Electrician (AW), Command Fitness Leader (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 14, 2014
A typical day at work I was running back and forth between shops getting/giving information on flight status, out to the flight line to fix discrepancies in all weather conditions for hours or whole shifts at a time, and performing emergency drill procedures. I learned to be quick on my toes and my thoughts while implementing a risk management thought – more... process. I supervised multiple people at one time while also training them in on the job skills and future leadership roles. The hardest part of my job was being away from my family during a deployment. The most enjoyable part of my job was building a bond with the people I worked with and creating a close knit, open communication platform to work in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Traffic Controller (AC3)
Air Traffic Control Specialist, Petty Officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 14, 2014
Compile information about flights from flight plans, pilot reports, radar, and observations.
Monitoring and reviewing information from materials, events, or the environment, to detect or assess problems.
Analyzing information and evaluating results to choose the best solution and solve problems.
Review records and reports for clarity and completeness, – more... and maintain records and reports as required under federal law.
Organize flight plans and traffic management plans to prepare for planes about to enter assigned airspace.
Obtained and issued air traffic control clearances, monitored automatic terminal information service, relayed pilot reports, transmited weather information, prepared data on flight progress strips, coordinated data on flight progress strips, operated flight data input and output equipment, prepared notices to airmen, maintained daily operations, position, and tower visibility logs.
Provided air traffic control services in air traffic control towers, radar air traffic control facilities, fleet area control and surveillance facilities, and air operations offices ashore and afloat, and operated ground and shipboard controlled approach systems.
Analyze factors such as weather reports, fuel requirements, and maps in order to determine air routes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Management quality
OPERATION SPECIALIST (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 14, 2014
A typical day at work was aggravating and unproductive. even though that is what it felt that way I learned a from the navy. Management was a big issue it seemed that no one really cared. My co-workers were great they helped me out a lot. The hardest part about my job was that I could not be myself I had to be what the navy wanted me to be. The most – more... enjoyable part about my job was getting to meet new people and seeing different places. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The US Navy taught me leadership, responsibility and efficiency.
Aviation Boatswain's Mate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 14, 2014
Pros: actively participating in us navy tradition.
Cons: dealing with the accidental loss of shipmates due to unavoidable mishaps.
A typical day would be a twelve hour shift consisting of executing all duties related to safety and management of sailors and equipment aboard ship both at sea and in port.
I learned leadership skills that surpass anything that could possibly be taught in a civilian setting.
My highly trained and experienced leaders shepherded me through the obstacles – more... related to my time working aboard the aircraft carrier.
My co-workers and fellow crew members were among the elite of the US Navy's fighting force.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the aftermath of unavoidable accidents which rarely occurred working on the flight deck.
The most enjoyable parts of my job was working along side many capable and proficient people, visiting exciting port-o-calls and learning other cultures which was educating and enlightening. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Information Assurance Manager, NAVAIR (Current Employee), Patuxent River, MDNovember 14, 2014
In my role as Information Assurance Manager I worked directly with program management for the gathering of requirements, design, and the deployment of a Wide Area Network(WAN) that processes data at the National Security Level. I have established working relationships with the Navy Cyber Security Directorate for the Certification and Accreditation of – more... the WAN and also for four separate legacy Local Area Networks that operate within Department of Defense compartmentalizes security requirements. I had responsibility to manage four system administrators and I was the liaison between program management, program security, and many different organizations to meet management’s goals. I maintain all documentation pertaining to all systems under my control including System Security Plans (SSP’s), Standard Operating Procedures, and other various government compliance documents.
Subject matter expert Government Cyber Security Compliance.

Information Assurance Manager Mar 2010 – May 2012
Office of the Secretary of Defense, Director Special Programs Office

Under the authority of the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition Technology and Logistics(AT&L), Government Program Management and team leads I was responsible for the IT/IA security of an enterprise national security environment and the systems that fell within the security domain. I applied discretionary access and mandatory access rules and policies to the systems and had responsibility for continuous monitoring of the systems. I was also a member of an inspection team that traveled to sites that processed data under our security domain and was the IT/IA inspector for those sites. I made recommendations to government management for the accreditation of the sites and the systems. Working with IT/IA staff at sites I helped with the remediation and mitigation of findings and develop plans of action and milestones for the accreditation of the sites and their systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding, challenging, REWARDING
Auxiliaryman (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VANovember 14, 2014
Every day consists of generating work authorization forms, danger tagout line items, preventive and corrective maintenance, troubleshooting, and schematics analysis. Some days include equipment repair and operation, trend analysis of running equipment via logs, and security watches.

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more