Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,551 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job in the world!!!
Ship Serviceman (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: lessons learned
Cons: sea duty
Simple! The US Navy!! Nothing could be better than serving your country and meeting new people while your doing so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive. patriotic no matter what your job title was.
Mastered Arm / Culinary Specialist (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 14, 2014
I have no regrets serving my country. United States Navy gave me the ability to see the worlds beauty while defending it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work pays off
Eng ineer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: food provided at each eating period, health benefits and vacation time
Cons: the uncertainty of the ships schedule
Arriving at work before 7, we clean our designated spaces then conduct our maintenance on the ships equipment. Once our job is finished, we go home unless on duty. I learned to manage my time wisely within the day and to work efficiently. Management was very understandable and worked with us if we had issues personal or professional. The hardest part – more... of the job is leaving family at long periods of time at sea. The travel and experience was the best part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable time / professional
Watch Stander and Supervisor of the Watch (TS/SCI) (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 14, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
I enjoyed my time in the Navy..........................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Military
Seaman (E3) (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 14, 2014
I grew as a worker and as a person because of this job. Learned a lot about responsibility, how to manage people and how to trouble shoot complex systems. I enhanced my abilities to multitask, as well as advance planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 14, 2014
Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain some experience. Great place to gain – more... some experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military is not for everyone
AT (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: you go where the military tells you
The military is full of the same kind of people in the civilian world. Patience is key
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hull Tech
Hull Technician (Current Employee), Honolulu Hi Naval Shipyard and IMFJuly 13, 2014
Pros: gain a hard to learn trade.
Cons: hard labor time consuming and hazardous.
Hull Systems Technicians do the metal work necessary to keep all types of shipboard structures and surfaces in good condition. They also maintain shipboard plumbing and marine sanitation systems, repair small boats, operate and maintain ballast control systems, and manage the Quality Assurance Program; installing, maintaining and repairing valves, piping, – more... plumbing system fittings and fixtures, and marine sanitation systems; repairing decks, structures and hulls by welding, brazing, riveting and caulking; examining, testing welds and various shipboard structures; using radiological, ultrasonic and magnetic particle testing equipment. Fabricating with light and heavy gauge metal such as aluminum, stainless steel, sheet copper and brass, steel, sheet and corrugated iron; heat treating, hot and cold forming of metals; pipe cutting, threading and assembly; repairing installed ventilation ducting; repairing metal, wood and fiberglass boats; installing and repairing insulation and lagging; operating marine sanitation systems These technicians are expected to perform work independently and mentor Hull Systems Maintainer(s) with very limited supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Builder 1st Class for United States Navy
Construction Builder (Former Employee), Pt. Hueneme, CA.July 13, 2014
Pros: serving my contry
Traveled the world performing construction humanitarian services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military life
Nuclear Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Silverdale, WAJuly 13, 2014
Working in the US Navy was a completely different lifestyle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience of a life time
Machinist Mate 2nd Class Petty Officer (E-5) (Former Employee), United SatesJuly 13, 2014
My typical day in the Navy was at sea, either driving a submarine, practicing shooting torpedoes or sending special warfare operations out for training or real life missions. I learned how to manage my time, how to quality at any job/task or obstacle. I learned how to take components apart and put them back together. I learned about process work controls – more... and safety adherence. The hardest part of the job was being away from my wife and family. The most enjoyable part of the job was being with a group of men working together for a greater good, defending freedom and democracy around the world. We believed in a common goal and we worked together to get it done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun traveling to different countries
Hazardous Control Management Technician (Current Employee), sasebo, japanJuly 13, 2014
Hard being in the us navy but i have had fun learning.
I've learned so many things; muti-task a lot
managed to handle personnel, inventory, direct, and organize all things that have come my way.
different personalities of races and age brackets but we got alone.
the hardiest part of my job was nothing; i knew how to handle it.
the most enjoyable part – more... of my job is having a job to come to and helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics and equipment specialist
Team logistics and equipment team member (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: loved being relied upon to make good decisions
Coordinated between foreign militaries/companies to ensure I could get the specific equipment required by my team for operations overseas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was the military.
Aviation Ordnanceman Third Class Petty Officer/E-4 (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 12, 2014
Pros: got to see different places around the world.
Cons: it was very political
If you want a review of the Military join it yourself i just need a job and want to work why must you make it so hard for veterans to find work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went to deferent islands every year
Missile Technician (Former Employee), Charleston, SCJuly 11, 2014
Pros: traveling to deferent countries
Cons: drills almost every day
Maintenance on everything in your division. Got alone with all that was in my division and some in other divisions. Hardest part was the drills. The most enjoyable part was the traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Night Shift Supervisor, Collateral Duty Inspector (Former Employee), Oak Harbor, WAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: health care and dental free. constant pay check
Cons: long hours some times
A typical day at work was busy. Getting the workload and tasks that need to be done for our aircrafts. Making sure our programs are on track. Standing 8 hours of watch (looking over jets making sure the area is secure and challenging any person in the vicinity.) Hardest part of the day was working more than 12 hours on some days. The most enjoyable – more... part was just being around those who has the same ambition, the same mentality as me. Being able to work on these multi-million dollar jets was an honor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Aircraft Director (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 11, 2014
The Navy is a great place to work. You get to set a lot of things first hand that not many people will have the chance to. The skill set you learn as a sailor is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open Doors to Oppurtunity.
United States Corpsman (Former Employee), BRANCH HEALTH CLINIC JACKSONVILLEJuly 11, 2014
Pros: healthcare, room and board if necessary, food allowance, allowances for family
Cons: the term "navy needs", disorganized, no guarantees
As a Corpsman in the United States Navy, I was able to work in both hospital setting and field setting with the Marines. Ive learned many skills ranging from paper work to treating trauma based injuries. The Navy was a great place to develop who I am as a person, and it gave me the confidence and the resources I needed to help me move on out of the – more... military. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Cryptologic Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Schofield Barracks, HIJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benefits, gi bill
Cons: no cons
Cryptologic Administrative Assistant
Duties: Responsible for over 1000 personnel records; updated, organized, and created a system for effective retrieval of records. Typed letters, interoffice correspondence, memoranda; prepared awards and reports; maintained highly confidential documents; managed inventory of supplies for the department, saving $200 – more... per month due to increased efficiency; interacted with military officials. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good experience
Gas Turbine Electrical Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great bennefits
Cons: lack of time to take care of personal issues
everyday in the Navy is a different experience. Balancing fire, toxic gas, and flooding drills along with daily gas turbine and auxiliary equipment maintenance keeps an individual on his/her toes.
Management is extremely micro-managed but can be very efficient if done properly.
Hardest part of the job was going on seven or eight month deployments and – more... trying to take care of family at home.
traveling around the world was a very enjoyable part of the navy also having a sense of pride in what we do for America. – less

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more