Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,797 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A particular kind of lifestyle
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 12, 2014
Its been a long fun 10 years but family is starting to come into perspective. Military life is about military first, family second. Plenty of good times to outweigh the bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A secure work environment where you feel like you really matter.
First Lieutenant Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAAugust 12, 2014
A typical day at work started with a daily meeting to discuss the workload between all workcenters involved. Each work center knew exactly what tasks they needed to complete, and how long they would have to get it done. Communication is key. No work center was better than the other, and no one left anyone out of the happenings of the day. When a new – more... shift came on, the off-going shift took the time to explain what work was left to be done, if any, before the next meeting. The hardest part about the job was training new sailors when they came in, and watching the older ones leave when their time was up. The most enjoyable part of the job was the chance to see just how much of a difference we made in the world with my own eyes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to see the world
US Navy Reserve (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great learning place.
Cons: dont get enough sleep.
I have learned how to be a adult and learned how to be respectfull to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go Navy
Information Systems Technician Chief, ITC(SW/AW) (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 12, 2014
My 21+ years in the US Navy were fun and exciting. Your typical work week might have you on a 6 month deployment to the Mediterranean where you would visit many countries such as France, Italy, Greece, or Spain. Work hours can be long in the Navy depending on your rate. My work hours were usually 12 hour rotating watches during deployment and 9 hour – more... work days while in homeport with weekend duties. The hardest part of this job is staying gone often from family and friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment to practice and utilize critical thinking skils.
Navy Reserve Critical Care Nurse (Current Employee), World WideAugust 12, 2014
Pros: professional caring, dedicated staff.
Cons: none.
Excellent professional work place with other likeminded staff. Being a nurse military and civilian is a calling and that makes it easy, fun, and worthwhile to go in to either establishment everyday. It's not a job, it's my life and my calling. I believe that I am where I need to be every workday.
A typical day is utilizing my skills, and I learn from – more... others as well as teach others. Time management is critical in the critical care environment as well as interphasing with management staff. Sometimes the hardest part of my job is commuting, but the job itself is an exercise of timgement, skills, compassion, and caring for those entrusted to my care during their acute phase of illness and/ injury. The most enjoyable part of my job is immediate gratification from utilizing my wisdom, skills, initiative, and collaborating with my fellow medical professionals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life experience
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), NAS Miramar, San Diego, CA and USS Carl VinsonAugust 12, 2014
Pros: over seas experiences
Cons: extended periods at sea can be.....trying.
Follow orders, do what you're told. Follow procedures. Safety first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A JOY TO INTERACT WITH DIFFERENT CULTURES
Petty Officer 1st Class (Former Employee), NORFOLK, VAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: meet new friends
Cons: work overtime
GREAT ADVENTURES AND MEETING NEW PEOPLE
ENJOYED THE FRIENDSHIP OR OTHERS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great practive
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 12, 2014
I worked for ambitions medical entrepreneurs that have instilled in me a great work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Team Leader/ Afloat TLAM Assessor (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: length of time away from home
Busy days with lots of oppurtunity to advance.
Lots to learne.
Makeing a diffrence in sailors lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was very extreme
Aviation Ordnance Technician (Former Employee), Lemoore Naval Air Station, CAAugust 11, 2014
The experience I got from this job will help me further myself in my leadership skills and my communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont know
Gas Turbine Mechanical Engineer/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Mayport, FLAugust 11, 2014
We work twenty four hours a day. I hold many jobs and I manage over fifty personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Angry at life
Petty Officer Second Class (Former Employee), FloridaAugust 11, 2014
Pros: free healthcare
Cons: healthcare
If you are angry at the world and want to spend some quality time with other people like you, then the US Navy is the place for you. A typical day of work consist of micro managers telling you what to do.
I learned that life is far too precious and being angry does not solve any problems. Coworkers are there to support you or make life even more miserable. – more... The hardest part of the job is indescribable, there are no words. The most enjoyable part of the job is traveling around the world and meeting new interesting people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life-time experience
Cryptologic Technician (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: job stability
Cons: prolong travel
Daily workdays are far from routine. You must possess the ability to stay flexible. The training is continuous and retention of all information may seem overwhelming at times. You must find a mean to organize training until it seems routine. Due to the fast pace environment you might have to make a critical decision and you must rely on the training – more... you received.

Service members will back each other when it comes to mission and unit sustainability. You are only strong as a team and not as a individual. Team player plays a vital role on mission success and unit ability to respond quickly.

The hardest part of the job is being away from family and loved ones.
Although we have a commitment to military service, we also have a commitment to our families. You will be challenged on how to make each balance out.

The diversity the military possess act as any eye opener to many Service members. This is beneficial for all members because some never left their home town and had the opportunity to interact with different ethnicities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but poor family values
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 11, 2014
Overall a great place to work with many opportunities to learn and advance but family values were understandably secondary to the overall mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Very Active Work Life
Boatswains Mate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: three meals a day, traveling the world, meeting people from all over the world
Cons: long work days, a lot of time away from family, sequestration
Ample opportunity to experience different jobs
Manage others
Coordinate training
Sometimes long work days
Great benefits
Diversity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work.
Assistant Program Manager for Systems Engineering (Current Employee), MDAugust 11, 2014
Flexible hours which included every other Friday off as part of the compressed work week schedule. Good compensation once you had been working for several years. Varied and interesting career paths open for exploration. Help with additional schooling and training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being an electrician on the aircraft. Could have done without the military part of it.
Aviation Electrician 2nd Class (Former Employee), Ridgecrest, CaliforniaAugust 10, 2014
Pros: travel and skills learning. earned college degree.
Cons: you do not need people skills to be a leader in the navy.
The Navy simply was not all I hoped it would be. I loved the job that I signed up for (Aviation Electrician). The biggest problem was that the job I signed up for was about 10% of the overall experience day-to-day. I did get to travel a lot and lived in another nation for part of my tour. I would not trade that for the world. However, the Navy made – more... me pay for it. I do not regret signing up and I do not regret my reenlistment. I am however, glad that it is over and I can use my talents and skills as a civilian and not put up with the military aspect of the job anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make it
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Lemoore, CAAugust 10, 2014
You are at the whim of the needs of the navy. You can hate that fact or make the best of it with new places to live and friends to meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest job you could love.
3M WCS US NAVY (Current Employee), USS John C StennisAugust 10, 2014
The military is hard to describe you love it sometimes and hate it others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well oil machine the Miltary
Petty Officer Third Class (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 10, 2014
Pros: good pay benefits
Cons: far away locations
A typical in Navy varies everyday it can range from training drills to actually real scenarios.

I learned to be independent hardworking dedicated motivated.

The chain of command I can always depend on at the end the day to have my best interest and the navy best interest.

My fellow sailors were part of my extended family.

Hardest part of my job – more... was being away from my family so far and long at times.

I love my job and the navy which made it easy at the end of day to do whatever task or goal came my way. – less

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more