Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,012 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build
Supervisor (E-4) (Former Employee), Norfolk, VaSeptember 5, 2014
Typical work day was very busy. Tended to many other sailors to comply with their needs, and the needs of the ship.

I learned how to track, document, and file different types of correspondence.

My co-workers were amazing.

The hardest part of the job would have to be the outages that would take place due to security reasons. So work would have to – more... be done manually, and then copy cats were done once everything was restored.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the workload. I never had a chance to get bored because I always had something to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is where the patients and the people mattered the most
Cardiovascular Technologist (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: camaraderie-type of work environment
Cons: slow advancement in pay raises
I have worked with the U.S. Navy since 1999 when I joined and ended up becoming a CVT in 2002. I then was exposed to all the responsibilities of a nurse, an X-ray tech, and a cardiovascular technologist combined since our Cath Lab did not have any nurses nor x-ray techs. We were definitely the epitome of a renaissance cardiovascular technologist. We – more... were tasked to give medications, handled drips, balloon pumps, scrubbed and assisted cardiologists and interventionalists and also managed the imaging systems. This cath lab also is the center of the Navy CVTs clinical program. All staff had to be a preceptor and most of my experience teaching students was on the Physiological Hemodynamic Monitoring rotation. I love my co-workers since they're an extension of my family. And of course, last but not the least, our patients comprising of mostly veterans, active duty service-members and their dependents have a very special place to my heart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace very good people
Aviation Ordnanceman (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: free housing and food
Cons: very long working hours on deployments 12 hours a day 7 days a week
Had to safely load, handle, and download various types of ordnance including bombs, missiles, rockets, and bullets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!!!
Department Head (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: excellent opportunities for education and career enhancement
Cons: a lot of time away from family
Overall outstanding organization to work for with great benefits that provided an excellent environment for professional and personal growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experance
Navagation (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 5, 2014
I really enjoyed my time and had the oppertunity to experance many diffrent places
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A life changing experience
LOGISTICS SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 5, 2014
Overall the U.S. Navy is an outstanding place to work. Not only do you receive immediate on hands training but nothing bets the experience of travel and learning about the culture. There is no typical day at work. Everyday holds something new and that's what made it exciting. You meet so many new and diverse people that it opens your eyes to the world. – more... Everyday is a challenge but with the good leadership and supportive co-workers things were always resolved. The most enjoyable part of my day is knowing that I did everything in my power to make sure the job was done well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving your country
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Everett, WASeptember 5, 2014
It was satisfying to serve my country. I was tasked with the supply orders, which is a very important job. A good amount of common ground amongst sailors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn a trade
Boiler Technician (Former Employee), worldSeptember 5, 2014
i think everyone should serve and learn a skill, trade or job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good career choice
Administrative Assistant/Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 5, 2014
During my four years in the military I learned to be strong, independent and hardworking. They gave my the stability I needed to get my education and see the world at the same time. I loved meeting people from other parts of the country, All in all joining the Navy was a very good decision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great life experience
Corpsman (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 5, 2014
Most work days begin around 6 a.m. for training exercises and followed up by patient visits around 7:30 a.m. Patient care ends around 5 p.m. Learned a great deal about different area's of the hospital and how different area's work. Our superiors are always available to help us and show how what the learned, either from nursing school or a specialized – more... field, can accomplish more difficult tasks. The environment in which I worked was filled with people who could make you laugh and help the day feel shorter. The hardest part of the job is the patient's who let their anxiety get too high. The best part is who you get to meet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to travel
Avation fueler (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: deployments, war
travel long hours and constant moving around the globe. lots of training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US/UN Defense Forces
Aviation Machinist school, NTC Memphis (Former Employee), Multiple LocationsSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: education, career skills, life skills, travel, exceptional benefits package.
Ideal employer for those that want to have the opportunity to make a positive difference in the world in which we live. Great chance to be an ambassador of good will to other nations and defend those that cannot defend themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Navy
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
All the stories are true, work hard, p lay hard. Some good people, some bad people. It is what you make out of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review of US Navy reflects the core values of what it stands for.
Health technician/Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: makes you face your toughest battles
The US Navy will give you an excellent experience in various ways such as a deeper cultural understanding, as well as a deeper understanding of what your military occupation is and how you can use it in civilian life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US NAVY
Recruiter In Charge (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: training, pay, travel, comradery, technology
Cons: deployments
Served in positions of increasing responsibility.
Educational Service Officer, Anti -Terrorist Watch Officer, Shipboard Security Defense Force Commander, Financial Specialist, and Quality Assurance Program Manager.
Held oversight of staff management and technical operations (strategic and tactical).
Deploying for 9 months
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military is a great place to start: work and see the world.
Cryptology Technician (Former Employee), Overseas locationsSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: ideal for a single person, travel and work.
Cons: long demanding hours, deployments and away from home. not ideal for a family.
Met people from all walks of life.
Travel around the world within four years and see places.
Good schooling and training.
Work long 12 hour shifts plus stand duty.
Rewarding if you do your job well.
Military teaches respect, teamwork, and integrity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviation Electrition
Aviation Electrician (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 4, 2014
Harassment was an issue.
Education and self development was great.
Vast resources to tap into for support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned how to get the best results when working with others
Gunnersmate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: competitive pay, health and dental benefits, military discounts
Cons: months away from family, overtime but no compensation, micro-management
I would often stand a twenty-four hour security watch once every four days out of the week while doing work related tasks. Have an off day that next day which I would sleep mostly and by the time I wake up wouldn't have time to handle all of my personal matters which I had to rush and try to do. The next two days I would work until 4pm. During regular – more... working hours we would do weapons maintenance and clean up workstations. There were sometimes breakdowns in communication. Overall I learned how to work under pressure at a fast paced with a wonderful team of co-workers. Ensuring that whatever customer group that arrived for their commands weapons pickup, was properly serviced and got what they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jobs, great work sites if you like travel
DTP3 (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great job training
Cons: be careful, the navy is changing and you have to realize that there are all walks of life in now, and all different faiths and religions.
My time in the Navy was my proudest point in my life. The jobs were exceptional, the places we went were beautiful. Then Navy can be a great place to get your career but be forewarned. If any work you do requires certifications or licenses, make sure you acquire them before you get out.
The job was amazing, the people made it hard. You are working with – more... all walks of life with all different belief systems, something to be considered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Electronic Warfare Technician (Former Employee), waSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: away a lot, team environment, decent pay
Cons: away a lot
great place to work, hard and challenging. Diverse coworkers

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more