U.S. Vision Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to generate sales
Optical Technician (Former Employee) –  Palmdale, CAJuly 2, 2017
Bad location so hard to maintain sales. Hours cut if sales drop no matter how long you have been there. Get 3 bad shops and you're out. Don't really take care of emplyees.
Pros
coworkers and doctors can be nice
Cons
can esily get hours cut
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work
Sales Associate (Contractual) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 19, 2017
I did promotional sales and telemarketing for this company during their annual event sale as an independent contractor. The management and staff were friendly and pretty professional.
Pros
Decent pay.
Cons
Needed more work annually.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful no job security
Licensed optician manager (Former Employee) –  Toledo ohioDecember 18, 2016
I worked for the company for 10 years and was fired for not selling enough two Pairs of glasses to each and every customer. No training from senor management
Cons
No training from corporate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright.
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Glendora, NJOctober 28, 2016
Not bad for a product associate.
If you're sent into coating, be prepared to be blamed and criticized for rejects created by a machine (ask to try out a new position).

-Supervisors could be a bit more confrontational or aggressive to those who make mistakes and errors, sugar-coating things isn't the way to go.

-If a temp gets fired, please directly tell him/her the reasons why, not another co-worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will compensate you for job well done
Apprenticing Optician (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 31, 2016
This is a company that works out of JcPenny's optical department. Optician is a job that begins as an apprentice and ends with a State test in the state of Ohio. There are a lot of tedious important things to know and learn. You work one on one with clients and their prescriptions. Only two - three people per store so you will be given plenty of work hours.
Pros
If you hit the correct number of sales, bonuses are given
Cons
Little room for error-- you are working with someone's vision
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 27, 2016
the turnover in senior management very high, stability and job security very low. Job culture changes too frequently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to work for
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Blackwood, NJApril 11, 2016
This company does not care about its employees! They will let you go in a heartbeat and not think twice about it. Expect the world out of you for peanuts!!!! Tons of Nepotism within company and your job is in jeopardy if one family member or married spouse hints at dislike!
Pros
None
Cons
Anything you can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Blackwood, NJOctober 10, 2015
Management was able to solve problems professionally. Unrealistic quotas had to be made. Other employees are easy to get a long with. The do not pay there employees enough for the amount of work that they are required to do
Pros
Free lunches. Heath benefits
Cons
Short breaks, unrealistic quotas, Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my manager
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Blackwood, NJAugust 10, 2015
My manager was the best, always taught me something new and worked herself not just sat at desk. Co workers were also amazing and all worked well together. This by far was my favorite job.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Not much advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great selection of glasses for the clients
Optech/ Optician Trainee (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 30, 2015
The selection and prices of the glasses went hand in hand when it came down to the final cost of purchasing and the sales were a great way to attract the clients in and show them the new styles with-in the selection
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging and interesting field
Optician (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAMay 26, 2015
The opportunity to work with a supportive and knowledgeable group of people.
Challenging and interesting but also very satisfying in the knowledge of knowing that i am improving the quality of life for every patient i come in contact with.
Pros
relaxed environment
Cons
traveling to different locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the job but i do not appreciatew the company
Optical Technician (Current Employee) –  Media, PAMarch 22, 2015
I have worked for this company for some time now and I haven't been able to move up at all. This company does not appreciate their workers and take us for granted. I am currently still here because I need to pay my bills
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice
Optical specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 24, 2015
Management is selfish employees are underpaid. Stress levels are high. Upper management lazy and "uppity" they aim to intimidate. Commission pay is low and delayed you have to wait a month to get your pay for it, Stores closed in JCPenney locations leaving people jobless and upper management did not seem to care. CHOOSE WISELY NOT U.S.Vision
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok but no loyalty
lab tech (Former Employee) –  glendora njOctober 14, 2014
i worked for 7 yrs for this company. Worked as a supervisor in lab without supervisor pay trained new people only to find out I was training a new supervisor. When asked why I didn't get the position my pay rate would have been over the cap.
Pros
Daycare on site
Cons
management sucks no loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours initially and a good starting point for management growth.
Certified Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAMay 21, 2014
I enjoyed the sense of control I had on the day-to-day process. Being able to make decisions for the office, hiring associates, and making the schedules. Also, inspecting the finished eyewear and being able to remake something that didn't pass standards. My first district manager was an amazing support system for me. Moving to a new district and state was a disappointment however. The company eliminated a brand entirely therefore many people were laid off including myself. It was done immorally & unethically. Giving none of us a two week notice nor a reason for being cut. I was told it was nothing I did, just the company downsizing. What their formula was, I don't know. Nonetheless, I have many great memories and wish to just move on to a new environment that rewarded employees and kept the lines of communication open!
Pros
Commission
Cons
We didn't get great commission, especially when a months' goal wasn't met. Even if individual goal was.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Optician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 15, 2014
always loved going in to work, learned and accomplished being a optician, you can move up in this field, co workers are great, making sure your measurements are accurate, the people and experiences
Pros
great people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started a store for them and was replaced by someone whom I trained for less money.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Tiffany Springs, MOOctober 7, 2013
Not much of a review to write. Worked for the company back in the 90s till early 2000s, It was a good place to work. I was invited back to open a new store. When management changed hands above me, it became a circus with bad management ideas, I had to comply with. I over came them and had the highest profits in the area for the store and than was fired for no reason given that would comply with a company policy of termination. It was due to jealousy and bogus ideas of upper management. Ive never written a bad review for a company , but this one is well deserved.
Pros
not many
Cons
upper managment doesnt care about its people, only cares about what makes them look good in the eyes of their superiors
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help people with their sight
Optician (Former Employee) –  COMay 14, 2013
With four locations, I got around on the bus very well. The doctors were wonderful and the customers were great. Teammates worked together and long hours with no breaks. Customers came first. One big happy family.
Pros
The Doctors
Cons
Long bus rides
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Optician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 26, 2013
Good place to work if your going to school. They are flexible with your hours and the location i was at was located within a mall so the hours weren't too bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
incredible potential for higher production if changes in management
Optical manager (Former Employee) –  MiamiApril 4, 2013
US vision had recently changed the computer system. Former employees said it took 3 months to train. I learned the system on about one month however I was switched to another store to learn the insurance.The person training me did not know how to teach. Certain learning comes through repetition and I was constantly belittled by being told " remember" I was left with my customer for over 30 min while the others made multiple sales and commissions. I was labeled a non acting manager until further notice. I was hired at a time when sales were dropping, even the Doctors appt book was declining in appointments and for some reason it was my fault the goals were not met. I was told to move to a third location for a "personality" trial. I felt pressure when the optical got very busy with two ringing phones people would spontaneously walk in with orders, repairs, and to pick up glasses. they would notice and actually comment "you need a helper" but instead I felt pressure and single out that I can't handle it and basically felt forced to quit. The customer receipt system should be more transparent to the customer, the frame quality should be better, the training should be professional, and headquarters should allow the employee training to send an anonymous report if they feel their training is just, proper, and that they are being treated with respect. It is more important to make a sale to reach goals, than providing other optic issues that are important.I was hired at 35 hrs then cut to 30 hrs , many other seasoned employees hours were cut back as well, some did get raises but these  more... were the non licensed.  less
Pros
health insurance 401k store discount vacation
Cons
poor training, short lunches, called on your day off
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Vision. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.5
Culture
2.7