Find companies:
U.S. Xpress Enterprises, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
150 reviews

U.S. Xpress Enterprises, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production is challenging
Truck driver (Current Employee), Marion, INNovember 22, 2013
A typical day at work makes a man out of me. i cought on fast with the driving. The management was ok. I barely seem my co-workers.The hardest part of the job was to unload the rolltainers from the trailer. i enjoyed the driving part of the job its like im free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, bad pay
Seasonal dedicated Truck Driver local (Former Employee), Henderson,NCNovember 18, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: pay, favortism
you never know when you have to come in it is different every day, if they tell you to come in at lets say 10pm you still wait around unpaid for 2 hrs until you trailer is loaded and some times longer cause no truck is available until some other comes back from a route. You get paid for the miles and if you have 3 stops you get paid for 2 stops @$17.50 – more... each. Mileage pay is .36 a mile and the most miles you get in one day is if you are lucky RT 420 miles! 5 days a week pay for 14 hr work days each is $570 not worth it at all!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Over The Road Driver (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNNovember 6, 2013
Learned a lot while working here. Great company. No complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged and Underpaid
Account Supervisor (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNNovember 2, 2013
If you want to be underpaid and have no chance for advancement come to US Xpress!!! I started in this company about 3 years ago and have received a stellar review every year with no raise. A few of my co-workers have been here longer and have taken a pay cut. The account that I help run creates a large profit and yet they will not reward the employees. – more... As far as advancement goes it seems non existent and the executive managers don't care fix these problems, until they do they will lose valuable employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good compnay
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNOctober 27, 2013
good starter company to work for. if you want to work hard and make money goto the dollar tree account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Enough Home Time For The Driver
OTR Dry Van Driver (Former Employee), Shippensburg PAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: new trucks, directdeposit
Cons: pay, hometime, dispatchers, working on dot breaks
I am aware about being an OTR Truckdriver, been doin it for years. Hometime Once every couple months not good and you better be payin well if your keeping drivers out. Seven Day work weeks for 550.00 is pretty poor but common, Dispatchers don't have a clue how to dispatch trucks at this company because I have to call them everytime for a PU number when – more... I am getting loaded, You think that they could figure out that a PU number is important but they cant. I did Dollar Tree Dedicated for them for a while, let me tell you 170.00 for unloading an entire 53" trailer isn't that good considering of all you have to deal with. Talk about unloading on your ten hour DOT breaks and not sleeping. Hard work, Im not afraid to work hard at all but 900.00 a week working 16 to 18 Hrs a day is not worth it at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent of US Xpress
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNOctober 9, 2013
Fleet management
Driver negotiation/dispatch
Driver recruiting
Tracking/Tracing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greedy Corporations
Team Truck Driver (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: was able to continue my education.
Cons: corporations make record profits while still paying unfair wages
Load or unload, or assists in loading and unloading truck.
Maintained driver log according to I.C.C. Regulations.
Obtains customer's signature or collects payment for services.
Read bill of lading to determine assignment.
Worked as a member of two-person team driving tractor with sleeper bunk behind cab.
Obeyed traffic laws, and follow established traffic – more... and transportation procedures.
Present bills and receipts, and collect payments for goods delivered or loaded.
Read maps, and follow written and verbal geographic directions.
Verified the contents of inventory loads against shipping papers.
Inspect truck and trailer before and after trips and submit report indicating truck and trailer condition.
Reported delays or accidents.
Drove truck to weigh station before and after loading, and along route to document weight and conform to state regulations.
Copied, faxed, organized, completed paperwork.
Customer service.
Transport broker loads. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
President (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNSeptember 23, 2013
Cons: healt care
I drove all South East, North East and Central US States. Good and safe equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 days off 4 days of work per week
Customer Service Rep/ Dispatcher (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNSeptember 16, 2013
Great work/life balance. Great compensation. Too bad they closed down Colton terminal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They keep u busy with miles
Driver (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: gps unit
Cons: over booking
My typical day at work is driving or waiting to get loaded or unload.I learned how t use a GPS unit on the truck.Management will thay a ok.....thay sometimes over book or forget that thay send some one out there already. It is alls good to talk to your fellow drivrs. You can learn something you do not know an they might know something that is going – more... on with the comapany. I can not really say there is anything hard about my job.The most enjoyable part of my job is driving.....I like driving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High demanding, stressful, unrewarding
Heavy Duty Truck/Trailer Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Springfield, OHSeptember 11, 2013
Cons: work holidays, long stressful days, lack of management, no individualism, difficult to get time off, corporate structure slows gowth & progress, no weekend for personal life
Service coordinators shift starts from 5am-5pm split amongst four coordinators covering a 24/7 schedule. The 12 hours are non-stop requiring your constant attention. Strong organizational skills are a must. Drivers will come in to write up issues with their trucks. I will have to create work orders to assign to the appropriate technicians. Constant – more... flow of work requiring quick action and attention to details are a must. Management is constantly over ran with corporate reports & projects which the technicians take advantage of by taking their time on repairs. This creates unneeded stress for the coordinators. Corporate is constantly issuing out new standard operating procedures or reports that are both unneeded and a waste of time. They do nothing but hinder the workflow of getting units accomplished. Everytime these new procedures are issued they are followed for a week or two then are forgotten about. The schedule is the worst part of the job. It sounds nice working three and half days then having three and half days off, but don't let it fool you. Long 12 hours days full of stress takes a toll on your body and health. I am exhausted by the time I get out of work and can not find motivation to do anything. Saturdays are cut short because you have to get up so early Sunday morning to be alert and ready perform. Very difficult to schedule time with family & friends when they are all off on the weekends and Holidays. No potential for advancement, and advancement within the company comes with more unneed corporate stress. Technicians are stressed because they strive for more and do not get that here. The most enjoyable part of the job is quitting time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maybe Okay for Owner-Operators, NOT for Company Drivers
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee), NationwideSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: electronic logging forces legal operation
Cons: legal operation makes barely enough money to cover the cost of health insurance premiums.
"Southeast Region" means EVERYTHING east of Interstate 29/36, including Canada. Not exactly SOUTHEAST, is it?

Waaaay too much driving in the Northeast on roads that were not designed for 53 foot trailers, especially if they're being pulled by a huge oversized Peterbilt with a turning radius too big to avoid hitting curbs, signs, and parked cars. They – more... need to put a "Northeast corridor" terminal up there and equip it with shorter trailers and day cars before every driver in their fleet is disqualified from getting too many tickets! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive overall
Diesel Mechanic / Assistant shop supervisor (Former Employee), Nokomis, Fl.September 5, 2013
Family oriented work environment positive a joy to come to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Driver (CDL Class A) (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long driving, short home time
I had a great time working here, it's just hard being away from home all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place
Dedicated Driver (Former Employee), dollar tree acctSeptember 1, 2013
Pros: always had runs
Cons: home long enough for reset
Had a good time while working there plenty of work the pay could of been better but had to leave to many issues at home that I couldn't take care of cause I was just home long enough to do 34hr reset
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many hours not enough pay
driver (Current Employee), Macungie, PAAugust 22, 2013
Pros: home every night and off on weekends
Cons: pay
You work more hours and don't get paid as much as you should! when u get to certain stops you may have to wait and not get paid delayed time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Lease driver (Former Employee), chattanoogaAugust 16, 2013
Great Company typical work day, Learned how the lease program works
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Xpress
Owner operator/ Driver (Former Employee), Tunnel Hill, GAAugust 16, 2013
Pros: nice new truck's, clean truck terminal
Cons: bad nasty management
US Xpress was my first over the road job and of course this company has a special place in my heart. My first week out of training was just short of a nightmare due to having to go to NJ and New York city after requesting a new route, I was given Chicago definitely help with my learning curve. I was told one week out I would get one day off so I decided – more... to stay out on the road for seven weeks so I would be able to take a full week off after taking off my week I was recommended and written up for that day on I didn't was to be a company driver for this company and found a way to buy my own truck.I would say the most enjoyable time this company was learning how to drive with my trainer and seeing part's of the county I've never see in my life for the first time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY,WISH I COULD DRIVE FOR THEM NOW
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNAugust 8, 2013
GREAT TRUCKING COMPANY,FRM SHOP TO DISPATCH ALL IN BETWEEN. REALLY LOVED US XPRESS...WOULD LOVE TO DRIVE FOR THEM AGAIN

About U.S. Xpress Enterprises, Inc.

U.S. Xpress Enterprises hopes customers find it x-ceptional. The company's truckload transportation units, led by flagship U.S. – Read more

U.S. Xpress Enterprises, Inc. Photos