Find companies:
UPS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,311 reviews

UPS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competetive
Seasonal Driver Helper (Former Employee), 300 Oak streetDecember 16, 2014
I liked UPS because of the competitiveness and the work environment. Working for UPS helped me gain better social skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well structure.
UPS, Air Ramp Driver (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 16, 2014
Pros: good money, always overtime.
Cons: hard on a family man.
Arrive on job, receive flight and work sheet for your shift. Go to your crew for that shift, wait for sup. then wait for planes to land and unload or load the plane to the warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive work environment
Pre-Loader (Current Employee), Saddle Brook, NJDecember 16, 2014
Amazing work place with enthusiastic employees that work hard day in and day out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced Productive
Loader/ Sorter (Former Employee), Uniondale, NYDecember 16, 2014
Pros: short work hours
Cons: heavy work load in a short period of time
Pleasure to work for this company, I would love to work there again in the near future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and motivating co-workers
Package Handler/ Air Driver (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 16, 2014
A typical day at work is loading/unloading packages and interacting with your co-workers and supervisors. Management and co-worker help each other develop their skills and place where they will be very effective. Hardest part of the job would be lifting heavy boxes in a fast pace environment, and the most enjoyable part of the job would be the co-worker – more... and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stable job that provies great benefits.
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 16, 2014
Pros: tution assistance, paid vacations, benefits
Cons: high stress and physical demand
A typical day at work I lead a team from 8-14 employees and hold them accountable to work safe and produce the quality, service, and production standards. I've learned how to work with others and take ideas that are not my own into consideration whether they are right or wrong. I've learned how to bring the best out of employees. The hardest part of – more... the job is retaining new hires. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with my co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Front line manager (Current Employee), Portland, ORDecember 16, 2014
if you like hard work in a fast paced environment, you'll love Ups the people are great, the benefits are great, and you get a great workout. Itss like getting paid to workout with the benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst
Service Provider (Former Employee), Hammond, INDecember 15, 2014
I had terrible experience there, the management is strictly focused on firing ppl unless you are bottom kisser. It is a place where corporate greed and stealing time off of time card by management is allowed by IBT. Would not advise anyone to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workout
Local Sort and International Package Handler (Former Employee), Willmar, MNDecember 15, 2014
Pros: workout
Cons: part time
Fast pace with a workout built into a normal day of work. International codes and working with a diverse group of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced environment
Sorter/Packer (Former Employee), Media, PADecember 15, 2014
Lots of packages , but being in Small sorts was very interesting and gave a good understanding of how packaging gets around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job
Supervisor (Former Employee), Madison Heights, MIDecember 15, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: work enviroment
Great benefits, stress on performance made place a bit too much to deal with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working facility with little enjoyment
HUB SORTER/PACKAGE HANDLER (Current Employee), New YorkDecember 15, 2014
Pros: no dress code. must have boots
Cons: short breaks
UPS has helped me to build character and strength. It can be very stressful at times but getting over that stress just builds u up. the job is not meant for the mentally weak. my co-workers keep me sane
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work in the United States
LAN AND TELECOMMUNICATION TECHNICAL INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee), Mahwah, New JerseyDecember 15, 2014
Pros: great people, benefits and opportunities for advancement
Every company pales in comparison to UPS. They are dedicated to your success as an employee. They provide incredible training and really care about their people. It is a supportive, friendly environment and I wanted to go to work each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for STAFFMARK
Mail Processor (Former Employee), Windsor, CTDecember 14, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: breaks, breathing in dust, lousy managers
The staffmark division of UPS is very lousy. They get attitudes when you miss a day, as if you're whole life revolves around their mail processors. When you take a day off, expect to be taken off the schedule, FOR AT LEAST TWO DAYS. I knew that my time was worth more than $9.00 and I didn't deserve to be treated like a slave by these people, so I just – more... left. They even moved our breaks back an hour JUST TO INCREASE THEIR PRODUCTION. C'mon man, that was one of the best parts of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UPS
Package Handler/Sorter (Former Employee), Louisville, KYDecember 14, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: walking
I liked working for UPS. I learned how to unload and load bens and trailer trucks. Management team and the coworkers we're very helpful and caring. The hardest part about working there having to unload bens and putting packages onto a belt within a certain amount of time. I enjoyed working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
Sorter (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 14, 2014
Pros: good shift hourse and flexible with schedule
Cons: get dirty and bad for back if lift improperly
This was a temporary position.
It was very difficult to complete. You get very dirty. Lots of heavy lifting.
I learned how to stock boxes onto a big rig for delivery.

Hours were great.
Benefits and promotions are available if with company for a long period of time.

I was indecisive about my career, so being here temporarily allowed me to think and – more... get paid at the same time.

Very flexible hours and convenient to work my household according to my schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned and liked about my time at ups
retired (Former Employee), West Chester, PADecember 14, 2014
Pros: good salery, good benifets
Cons: keeping up all the time, you had to be fast and eficent.
organization skills to the max, where and how packages were loaded on my truck. to insure prompt delivery

working with other drivers on and off the delivery rout to give the best
service to customers.

Christmas time, getting the packages to the homes even very late at night sometimes, was a good feeling.

management could be tough at times, but ups – more... is a demanding job.

I liked my job with ups and enjoyed serving my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Driver Helper (Current Employee), Bristol, VADecember 14, 2014
You get to meet a lot of different people on your routes. It is a fast paced environment. They truly do care about your overall safety while on your routes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not necessarily terrible, but there are better jobs.
Seasonal Driver Helper (Former Employee), Maspeth, NYDecember 13, 2014
Pros: positions seem to be in constant demand, so if you apply, you should get hired quickly, it is a good opportunity to see what you can do and how much you can handle
Cons: long hours, relatively low pay, the driver may get on your nerves, your training will be on-the-job
A typical day began with a phone call notifying you that you were needed, typically giving you an hour and a half to arrive there. Though, if you know how long your commute is, chances are that you will already be gone. After waiting in the garage with the other drivers and helpers, you and your driver will leave, arrive at the first stop of the driver's – more... route and begin. Aside from a few deliveries that only the driver can do, you will be delivering packages with the driver, and by delivering, I mean as the drivers typically do. You will scan the package, receive signatures and post absence stickers if required.

The main downside to this is that you will learn how to use the scanning device (DIAD) on the job because despite there being an orientation that will inform you of ethical and safety guidelines, there is nothing that prepares you for the use of the DIAD, which while user-friendly, is not something that should ideally be learned on-the-job, especially when it's a job that requires you to be fast.

What I mean by fast, is that you will be doing this job at a time when drivers are overwhelmed by the large amount of packages, since it's during the holiday season, so depending on the driver you get, you could be constantly told to hurry up despite the lack of training you are given prior to being paired with the driver.

Another downside, depending on whether or not you want to call it one are the hours. Despite what the website may tell you, you will be working around 10 hours a day Monday-Friday, though it does mean that you will get overtime pay, you won't get home until late at night, So you will end up waking up early and getting home late, and at the amount that you are paid, unless you absolutely need it, I don't think it's worth it. Also you need to bundle up because the jacket and pants that UPS provides do not do much in the cold.

If I were to give a positive, it's that you are given the opportunity to see how well you can learn new things on-the-job.

I'm sorry that this review is wordy, but I wanted to give as accurate a description as I could, bottom line, if you need money, go ahead, but if you have room to negotiate, look for something else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Yard Hostler (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 13, 2014
I gained valuable experience working at UPS. I quickly became the go to person on getting the yard ready on Sunday night work.

1 2 3 4 5

About UPS

As a global leader in package delivery and supply chain solutions, UPS is passionate about innovating new ways to make business – Read more