Find companies:
UPS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,802 reviews

UPS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UPS in Cleveland horrible place to work.
Senior Customs Brokerage Representative (Former Employee), Middleburg Heights, OHSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: pay is horrible, workloads are crazy, bad managment
Bad Management. High turnover rate. This was a great place to work until the managers created a hostile work environment. when problems are brought to them they say "Figure it out but you can't leave until it's done." They will lie to your face and then deny they ever said that. They don't follow through on anything. They will do anything they can to – more... hold someone back so they don't have to give them a yearly raise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast working paste
Warehouse Worker unloading/packing (Former Employee), Ontario, CASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: free workouts
We unloaded air containers all night long. A great workout at work was fun. I learned differnt zip codes and how long it takes to deliver them. I mostly worked by myself. I enjoyed a great work out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Driver Helper (Former Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: hours
was able to meet new people and at the same time loss a li wight
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Package Handler (Current Employee), Forest Park, GASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at UPS consists of sorting packages, loading and unloading trailers, as well lifting packages over 70 lbs. My coworkers are somewhat motivated.The hardest part of this job is dealing with the management trying to talk to you any kind of way. The most enjoyable part is the interaction with your coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Excercise.
Lead Sorter (Former Employee), Davenport, IASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: not alot of wasted time.
Cons: could of used more hours sometimes.
I loved the physical work of this company it always kept me in shape, very fast paced and the time would fly when we were working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't worth the pay
Sorter (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 15, 2014
The majority of this job was great, however the pay wasn't worth the stress or the drive to and from work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Job
Cashier (Former Employee), Carmichael, CASeptember 15, 2014
Nothing very special. You sell things, check-in packages, and occasionally organizing all the stuff in storage. The holiday season gets really hectic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CREATIVE IDEAS TO IMPROVE MORALE, ENHANCE PRODUCTIVITY,
ups (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 14, 2014
Load and unload freight under the direction of the lead dock worker or 
                                 dock supervisor
                                           Strip trailers and move freight using appropriate freight handling equipment to appropriate trailers to be loaded according to specifications on manifests or other paperwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
security (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 14, 2014
Pros: great ours and people
Cons: couldnt leave the building for lunch
typical day for me was to greet associates as they came into the parking deck between 630-9am. 9-2pm I worked in the loading dock, taking packages and signing in venders to have access to the building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Shipping and Receiving Clerk/ Dockworker (Current Employee), Morrisville,NCSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: great job and awesome people
Cons: work long hours
Its a good job but it requires long hours and short finish times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job
Material Handler (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 14, 2014
Day at work is great this start off with what must be done. Wait on the team you work with. Manager give the team a time when everything must be done and other important information. I learn how to write the info on the paperwork, drive the tug at fedex, and look up information on fedex computer. Manager show me or made sure I was traning properly. – more... Co-workers worked as a team. I enjoy the people and manager I worked with. Manager understand and work with his team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours.
Package Sorter (Former Employee), Alexandria, LASeptember 13, 2014
Not enough hours and it takes a long time to be promoted. Sorting packages at a fast pace is not a bad job but could be very stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place not so good
Unloader/Loader (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 13, 2014
A typical day at work was good on sum day and bad on sum. it just depends what kind of trucks you come across. you might get a truck with all bulk that takes all day its stressful sometimes and they still want you to work at a fast pace. Or you could get a nice truck that's all amazon boxes which is very light normally. The brakes are only 10 minutes – more... also the management is not so great either. The hardest thing is bending over repeatedly its hard on your back. The best thing of it all is when you leave the end of the day to go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long time ago
Package Handler (Former Employee), Forest Park, GASeptember 12, 2014
This was a very long time ago, but an intense working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working for UPS
Package Handler/ Loader/Sorter (Current Employee), North Brook, IllinoisSeptember 12, 2014
A typical day is fast paced moving all day long...I love my co workers everyone is fun to work with. It is a demanding Job but when you work with good people it makes the job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Package Handler (Former Employee), Des Moines, IASeptember 12, 2014
Cons: 10 minute break for a 4 hour shift
Every day was tough. I learned how to properly pick up and move heavy boxes. The hardest part was definatly the lifting some days we had to lift boxes up to 90 pounds and in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Package Handler (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 12, 2014
overall it was ok didn't like the overnight shift at the time and the small payrate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UPS
Shipping Associate (Former Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: worked alongside good hard working people
Cons: poor morale and management
It was difficult working there because you are made to feel like your opinions did not mattered and would not really be even considered to help better the morale in your work area with that being an issue it was a hard place to work because you need to be in an environment where you can at least smile and be happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Bad Management
Package Handler (Former Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: job security via union, decent benefits
Cons: weak management, have to wait for a year before benefits kick in
I personally was okay with the company. The work is easy enough to learn and is a great way to stay in shape. The co-workers are diverse in every sense of the word. The only way you will do badly is if you act badly (e. g. showing up late and not calling in).
My only complaint is the management. They are not as well respected since they do not have – more... the Union to back them up. As a result, they have this aura that radiates lack of authority. I also had a VERY bad experience with them passing on information up the chain when it came to me taking a class prior to work. Long story short, I told these people a week before school started that I was going to be a little late due to a morning class and the term was 2/3 over before the manager that needed to know that information knew about this.

Would recommend as a starter job but the management needs to work on leadership skills. The employees know you cannot bite back but you need to let them know that you cannot walk over you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but rewarding work.
Package Handler (Current Employee), Cerritos, CASeptember 11, 2014
Difficult workload, but I take pride in saying i work for UPS.

1 2 3 4 5

About UPS

As a global leader in package delivery and supply chain solutions, UPS is passionate about innovating new ways to make business – Read more