Find companies:
UPS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,793 reviews

UPS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CREATIVE IDEAS TO IMPROVE MORALE, ENHANCE PRODUCTIVITY,
ups (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 14, 2014
Load and unload freight under the direction of the lead dock worker or 
                                 dock supervisor
                                           Strip trailers and move freight using appropriate freight handling equipment to appropriate trailers to be loaded according to specifications on manifests or other paperwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
security (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 14, 2014
Pros: great ours and people
Cons: couldnt leave the building for lunch
typical day for me was to greet associates as they came into the parking deck between 630-9am. 9-2pm I worked in the loading dock, taking packages and signing in venders to have access to the building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Shipping and Receiving Clerk/ Dockworker (Current Employee), Morrisville,NCSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: great job and awesome people
Cons: work long hours
Its a good job but it requires long hours and short finish times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job
Material Handler (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 14, 2014
Day at work is great this start off with what must be done. Wait on the team you work with. Manager give the team a time when everything must be done and other important information. I learn how to write the info on the paperwork, drive the tug at fedex, and look up information on fedex computer. Manager show me or made sure I was traning properly. – more... Co-workers worked as a team. I enjoy the people and manager I worked with. Manager understand and work with his team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours.
Package Sorter (Former Employee), Alexandria, LASeptember 13, 2014
Not enough hours and it takes a long time to be promoted. Sorting packages at a fast pace is not a bad job but could be very stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place not so good
Unloader/Loader (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 13, 2014
A typical day at work was good on sum day and bad on sum. it just depends what kind of trucks you come across. you might get a truck with all bulk that takes all day its stressful sometimes and they still want you to work at a fast pace. Or you could get a nice truck that's all amazon boxes which is very light normally. The brakes are only 10 minutes – more... also the management is not so great either. The hardest thing is bending over repeatedly its hard on your back. The best thing of it all is when you leave the end of the day to go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long time ago
Package Handler (Former Employee), Forest Park, GASeptember 12, 2014
This was a very long time ago, but an intense working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working for UPS
Package Handler/ Loader/Sorter (Current Employee), North Brook, IllinoisSeptember 12, 2014
A typical day is fast paced moving all day long...I love my co workers everyone is fun to work with. It is a demanding Job but when you work with good people it makes the job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Package Handler (Former Employee), Des Moines, IASeptember 12, 2014
Cons: 10 minute break for a 4 hour shift
Every day was tough. I learned how to properly pick up and move heavy boxes. The hardest part was definatly the lifting some days we had to lift boxes up to 90 pounds and in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Package Handler (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 12, 2014
overall it was ok didn't like the overnight shift at the time and the small payrate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UPS
Shipping Associate (Former Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: worked alongside good hard working people
Cons: poor morale and management
It was difficult working there because you are made to feel like your opinions did not mattered and would not really be even considered to help better the morale in your work area with that being an issue it was a hard place to work because you need to be in an environment where you can at least smile and be happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Bad Management
Package Handler (Former Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: job security via union, decent benefits
Cons: weak management, have to wait for a year before benefits kick in
I personally was okay with the company. The work is easy enough to learn and is a great way to stay in shape. The co-workers are diverse in every sense of the word. The only way you will do badly is if you act badly (e. g. showing up late and not calling in).
My only complaint is the management. They are not as well respected since they do not have – more... the Union to back them up. As a result, they have this aura that radiates lack of authority. I also had a VERY bad experience with them passing on information up the chain when it came to me taking a class prior to work. Long story short, I told these people a week before school started that I was going to be a little late due to a morning class and the term was 2/3 over before the manager that needed to know that information knew about this.

Would recommend as a starter job but the management needs to work on leadership skills. The employees know you cannot bite back but you need to let them know that you cannot walk over you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but rewarding work.
Package Handler (Current Employee), Cerritos, CASeptember 11, 2014
Difficult workload, but I take pride in saying i work for UPS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for people who love outdoors and meeting people
Air Driver to Cover Driver (Former Employee), Gardena, CASeptember 11, 2014
Worked outdoors delivering packages to friendly customers. Learned about the courier business. Delt with all types of managers and supervisors, some good and some not so good. I worked well with most of my co-workers. Hardest part of job was the peak season, October thru January. That's the busiest time of the year. Most enjoyable part of job was working – more... outdoors and meeting people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but you need to work hard.
Supervisor (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits, tuition assistance, career advancement
Cons: heavy workflow, occasional overtime required
UPS is a good place to work when starting out. It can get overwhelming sometimes with the workflow, but it's something that you can adapt to. Great Benefits, tuition assistance available for the employees and opportunities for advancement into higher positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at times it was productive and fun.
Route Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: being able to have very long career.
Cons: having people in position that had no clue how to deal with the people doing the job
Could be a great place to work if people did not have ego issues. Typical work day was long and sometimes very stressful. I really enjoyed the opportunity to learn how to deal with people and hold them accountable for their actions. I love dealing with customers and vendors learning when people were trying to scam you and how to deal with them without – more... degrading them but giving them the opportunity to do the right thing. It was really rewarding watching customers and vendors change while allowing them to maintain their dignity. The hardest part of my job was dealing with upper management that had no clue as to what was going on or how thing were suppose to function in order to accomplish company objectives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very excited place to work
Transportation Manager (Former Employee), McDonough, GASeptember 11, 2014
I will continue to learn and work harder to get to my Goal.
• Work effectively and efficiently in high energy, high stress, challenging environments
• Ability to develop and effectively implement field operational processes
• Ability to work productively in a team environment or individually
• Ability to mentor, coach, and act as a knowledgeable resource – more... for other employees
• Extensive knowledge of concepts, practices, and procedures used in field operations and transportation regulations – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Company
Outbound Loader (Current Employee), Chelmsford, MASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: health benefits, employee recongnition, work around your schedule
Cons: working only 4 to 5 hours a day unlessfull time
UPS is a good place to work while you're going to school. The company will pay for your classes. Ups provides benefits for just about everything. Its a fast pace company especially for the outbound loaders. we need to load the and have them delivered by the drivers to other UPS facilities across e country in a timely fashion. It's interesting to see – more... who the people and companies are that ship products out everyday. At the Chelmsford, MA facility, Thursday tend to be the busiest day of the week. I would have to say the best time of year to work at UPS is November to January which we like to refer as peek seaon. This is because of the number of hours you work is high. Normal hours are 20 to 25 hours a week. burin peek its like 30 to 35 hours a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Package Handler (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short breaks
I don't really interact with ma co-workers as much but it is very hot on the back of the trucks always stay hydrated while working. A typical day would be loading the back of trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ups
Sorter (Former Employee), Cerritos, CASeptember 11, 2014
fast pace, very physical, low pay, great benefits, good people.

1 2 3 4 5

About UPS

As a global leader in package delivery and supply chain solutions, UPS is passionate about innovating new ways to make business – Read more