Find companies:
UPS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,893 reviews

UPS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter job!
Laborer (Former Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 29, 2014
This was a tough job but helped to shape me into a better worker.The money and benefits was great for a student.It was well organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Temporary/Seasonal (Former Employee), Denver CoSeptember 29, 2014
Ups is a face paced environment. It promotes within and has excellent benefits, good pay, and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatch Supervisor
Supervisor (Current Employee), Portland ORSeptember 29, 2014
On a typical day I am responsible for dispatching and supervising delivery of EAM (Early AM) delivery packages in the Portland Metro area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed emotions
Package Handler (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: free benefits and pay rate
Cons: management team is awful
About 80% of the management team is people who are 26 and younger with no people skills. They play favorites and harass employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work. Tough hours.
Preloader (Former Employee), Nashville, TNSeptember 29, 2014
Non-stop the whole time you're there. I learned how to load package trucks and move a lot of packages fairly quickly. I liked the management. They were helpful and understanding. You don't really have time to talk to your co-workers. The hardest part of the job is getting to work at 3 every morning. Going home is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scanned outgoing packages for tracking
Truck loader (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALSeptember 29, 2014
Loaded trailor trucks for delivery to local distribution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional yet exciting place to be.
Mail Sorter/Customer Support (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 29, 2014
UPS is a very fast paced environment but it is enjoyable. You learn a lot working there..you learn coordination, how to multitask and also teamwork. The managers are all professional and very helpful when you need it and they always listen and work together to make sure everyone is working hard and getting the type of help they need. All my co-workers – more... are all team oriented. We work as a team if someone see's someone else struggling with something there ready and willing to lend a hand. I actually don't feel like there is a hard part to this job once you learn the objective of the job it eventually comes natural. The most enjoyable part is interacting with different people and knowing I'm helping and satisfying a customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Package Handler (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: breaks great pay
Cons: part time
part time job loading and unloading delivery trucks 4 to 5 hours a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but I loved it
Facility Supervisor (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: job security/benefits/people
Cons: no breaks for part-time/unavailability of full time positions
The job was challenging and exciting. Lots of great people working hard in an extremely fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee), Hartford, CTSeptember 29, 2014
Hard but enjoyable work. Pay was okay. The hours weren't the best but a job is a great thing to have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment with focus on results and where client is a vital element of the day to day life of any UPS'ers.
Global Implementations Supervisor (Current Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 28, 2014
Fast paced enviroment with focus on results and where client is a vital element of the day to day life of any UPS'ers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Pre Loader (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 28, 2014
fast paced work, early morning hours, but once you make an impression it pays off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed getting paid to workout while receiving good benefits.
Loader/Unloader, Sorter, Vehicle Op., Driver Asst. (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MISeptember 28, 2014
Pros: occasional doughnut or slider and hot dog reward
I learned a lot about the assembly process; truck arrival, loading/unloading, workpace, sorting of packages, all the way to loading and delivery. Following the the package from the truck to the customer was a neat process. Interesting aspects included proper teamwork and lifting procedures to avoid injury, the delivery delays due to weather conditions, – more... and the necessity of a fast work pace during peak season. Everyday we would have a safety meeting after break. During that time I would switch to incomp packages or sorting as needed. The variety of skills made the day fly by. I couldn't have been happier with UPS, hang a speaker in the truck zone in and get paid to workout. The benefits were good and if dedicated it was easy to climb to a higher experience level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Package handler (Former Employee), Long Island, NYSeptember 28, 2014
A typical day at work was coming early to the ups warehouse and doing my daily assignments at the job. I learned to scan packages and envelopes, I learned how to work the machines and learn the safety rules. The managers at UPS was helpful and very professional. My co-workers were always nice to me and so respectful. The hardest part of my job was the – more... time schedule. The most enjoyable part of my job was working and interacting with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and team work
Package handler and loader (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 28, 2014
Everybody work together as a team and we always get the job done. I enjoyed packing up the trucks so that the customers can have their things when requested. I love working with and making sure they are welcomed and pleased with anything they come for. mangers are always there when you need them and are motivating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
UPS RMP/Load Wall supervisor (Former Employee), Sunnyvale, CASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: good workout
Cons: short break, long nights, management, old equipment, hard work
Fast paced, Hard labor. Learned many things in safety and they put a lot of time into training me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your just another number in their system
Part-time Preload Supervisor (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: great exercise, decent pay for management, opportunities for advancement
Cons: most positions are part-time, company lacks overall care of your well-being, unrealistic expectations
Although I was probably in best shape of my life, UPS (management and HR) doesn't care about you as an individual or your overall well-being. All they care about is that you show up to work your butt off, and never make mistakes because not only will you be criticized by every manager that looks your way, but it will go in your employee file, just so – more... they look good on paper to corporate. I'm sure my situation is different from everyone else, but my ex-fiancĂ© is in management, and even though I had several supervisors tell me and members of the HR department that they felt I was qualified to take the part-time management assessment, HR would not allow me to take the test until I agreed to move out of my ex's house. However, even after I moved out and we continued to be friends, HR still limited me to the positions I could work because they felt it was a conflict of interest for my ex and I to work in departments that might have to share "air" at some point in time. They didn't seem to care when I was just a customer counter associate and he trained me to be his backup for when he was on vacation. Like I said, I'm sure my situation is different than others, but they do frown upon employee's seeing other employee's, management or not.
Honestly, this job is for the young and energetic, that just needs a part-time job and wants to save on a gym membership. Anyone that stays with UPS for anything longer than a few years is going to find that job is not only one of the dirtiest jobs, but one that will do more damage to your ankles, knees, elbows, shoulders and back in the long run. Their expectations are computer-based and not logical nor realistic if they cared anything about you as an individual instead of a number.
In all, what did I enjoy best about the job, the customers! It was rewarding to me to know that I could make a difference to the customers and try to go above and beyond the UPS standard for them. Although I couldn't fix every mistake the UPS system made, most customers knew that I took the time to listen to their issue/complaint and try to make it right. Isn't that how it should be? Shouldn't we all put ourselves in the customer's shoes and ask how would we want to be treated? I'm not saying the customer is always right and they are always honest, but for the customer's willing to give me a chance, I at least tried to make a difference. Isn't that UPS' saying "What can BROWN do for you?" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Workplace with great benefits
Merchandise management (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 26, 2014
High Volume, fast paced and challenging to the core. I learned how to work hard and get the job done. Complaining gets nothing done, and diligence is key. My co workers were "golden'. I loved them. The hardest part of the job I guess for me was the easiest part because I enjoyed the work out. The most enjoyable part was the fact that I didnt have to – more... go to the gym later on, because I got my exercise on the clock. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hub full of egotistical managers
Data Center (Former Employee), Mahwah, NJSeptember 26, 2014
Cons: unhelpful management, no team work, unrealistic expectations, no reward
The UPS Data Center in Mahwah appears to be a hub for egotistical managers that are too good to speak to you without an appointment. The people managing the departments in this facility do not have any concerns about work experience. You MUST have a degree, and that is final.

Even with more work experience than a degree can amount to, they will write – more... you off as unworthy. If you do some fancy talking, you might get yourself hired, though.

On top of this, they will throw the work at you without any willingness to assist where needed. Do not expect training, as they'll expect you to figure out their system on your own.

Overall, this company has its head in the clouds with no real relation to the real world.

If you decide to work for UPS, you will have to be content with the fact that the company sees you as a machine and NOTHING more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
boxline unloader (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 26, 2014
united parcel was an okay job for a first gig it was quite the experience.

1 2 3 4 5

About UPS

As a global leader in package delivery and supply chain solutions, UPS is passionate about innovating new ways to make business – Read more