Find companies:
UPS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,878 reviews

UPS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment with focus on results and where client is a vital element of the day to day life of any UPS'ers.
Global Implementations Supervisor (Current Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 28, 2014
Fast paced enviroment with focus on results and where client is a vital element of the day to day life of any UPS'ers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Pre Loader (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 28, 2014
fast paced work, early morning hours, but once you make an impression it pays off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed getting paid to workout while receiving good benefits.
Loader/Unloader, Sorter, Vehicle Op., Driver Asst. (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MISeptember 28, 2014
Pros: occasional doughnut or slider and hot dog reward
I learned a lot about the assembly process; truck arrival, loading/unloading, workpace, sorting of packages, all the way to loading and delivery. Following the the package from the truck to the customer was a neat process. Interesting aspects included proper teamwork and lifting procedures to avoid injury, the delivery delays due to weather conditions, – more... and the necessity of a fast work pace during peak season. Everyday we would have a safety meeting after break. During that time I would switch to incomp packages or sorting as needed. The variety of skills made the day fly by. I couldn't have been happier with UPS, hang a speaker in the truck zone in and get paid to workout. The benefits were good and if dedicated it was easy to climb to a higher experience level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Package handler (Former Employee), Long Island, NYSeptember 28, 2014
A typical day at work was coming early to the ups warehouse and doing my daily assignments at the job. I learned to scan packages and envelopes, I learned how to work the machines and learn the safety rules. The managers at UPS was helpful and very professional. My co-workers were always nice to me and so respectful. The hardest part of my job was the – more... time schedule. The most enjoyable part of my job was working and interacting with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and team work
Package handler and loader (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 28, 2014
Everybody work together as a team and we always get the job done. I enjoyed packing up the trucks so that the customers can have their things when requested. I love working with and making sure they are welcomed and pleased with anything they come for. mangers are always there when you need them and are motivating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
UPS RMP/Load Wall supervisor (Former Employee), Sunnyvale, CASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: good workout
Cons: short break, long nights, management, old equipment, hard work
Fast paced, Hard labor. Learned many things in safety and they put a lot of time into training me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your just another number in their system
Part-time Preload Supervisor (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: great exercise, decent pay for management, opportunities for advancement
Cons: most positions are part-time, company lacks overall care of your well-being, unrealistic expectations
Although I was probably in best shape of my life, UPS (management and HR) doesn't care about you as an individual or your overall well-being. All they care about is that you show up to work your butt off, and never make mistakes because not only will you be criticized by every manager that looks your way, but it will go in your employee file, just so – more... they look good on paper to corporate. I'm sure my situation is different from everyone else, but my ex-fiancĂ© is in management, and even though I had several supervisors tell me and members of the HR department that they felt I was qualified to take the part-time management assessment, HR would not allow me to take the test until I agreed to move out of my ex's house. However, even after I moved out and we continued to be friends, HR still limited me to the positions I could work because they felt it was a conflict of interest for my ex and I to work in departments that might have to share "air" at some point in time. They didn't seem to care when I was just a customer counter associate and he trained me to be his backup for when he was on vacation. Like I said, I'm sure my situation is different than others, but they do frown upon employee's seeing other employee's, management or not.
Honestly, this job is for the young and energetic, that just needs a part-time job and wants to save on a gym membership. Anyone that stays with UPS for anything longer than a few years is going to find that job is not only one of the dirtiest jobs, but one that will do more damage to your ankles, knees, elbows, shoulders and back in the long run. Their expectations are computer-based and not logical nor realistic if they cared anything about you as an individual instead of a number.
In all, what did I enjoy best about the job, the customers! It was rewarding to me to know that I could make a difference to the customers and try to go above and beyond the UPS standard for them. Although I couldn't fix every mistake the UPS system made, most customers knew that I took the time to listen to their issue/complaint and try to make it right. Isn't that how it should be? Shouldn't we all put ourselves in the customer's shoes and ask how would we want to be treated? I'm not saying the customer is always right and they are always honest, but for the customer's willing to give me a chance, I at least tried to make a difference. Isn't that UPS' saying "What can BROWN do for you?" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Workplace with great benefits
Merchandise management (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 26, 2014
High Volume, fast paced and challenging to the core. I learned how to work hard and get the job done. Complaining gets nothing done, and diligence is key. My co workers were "golden'. I loved them. The hardest part of the job I guess for me was the easiest part because I enjoyed the work out. The most enjoyable part was the fact that I didnt have to – more... go to the gym later on, because I got my exercise on the clock. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
marshaller (Current Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: no frebies
pass meds do treatments
new meds
workers were good to work with
hard when people called in
outings with patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive and stressful work enviroment
Frontline Supervisor (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: discounts from vendors are customers of ups.
Cons: part time work, little room for career advancement
UPS is a demanding place to work with millions of packages being processed every day. It is difficult to achieve the goals set by the company due to continued labor conflicts with the union and a poor communication network. It is almost impossible to know what packages will arrive every day so planning appropriate staffing to handle the work becomes – more... difficult. This results in a lot of down time while waiting for work so people are sent home or large influxes of work where there is not enough staffing to handle it making the work area run very unproductive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company ~
National Account Executive (Former Employee), Middleburg, OHSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: great company, wonderful pay, great benefits
Cons: wanted to focus on my new family
I loved working at UPS. I was in full-time management. However, I needed to balance my family life with my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: amazing people to work with.
Cons: pay is not that great, nor would i suggest it to someone other than a college student.
I handled shipping of packages, receiving payments, helping out with sorting mail, providing services such as printing jobs (large or small) to customers, and doing whatever job my boss asked to me do regardless if that meant I had to learn a new technique or not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
surrounded by great co workers but..
Processor (Former Employee), Bensenville, ILSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers
Cons: unstable work enviorment
The job is easy. The downside to this company is management. A typical day at work is complete chaos. Workers leaving before the mail is completed makes it difficult for those who stay til the end. There is no organization within the company. The only upside to this company is your co-workers. They are completely friendly and will help with any questions – more... you have. There are also times when fist fights break out, its a rather common thing you will see on a weekly basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, sense of pride to succeed here
Driver (Former Employee), Newington, VASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: feels great and end of day
Cons: never ends....more and more the next day
morning meeting at start time(90% of the time it concerns safety), go to your assigned package car, sort thru premium pkgs(time commited), pre trip the car(tires,windshield, mirrors,fuel...ect), head out to the route, using the DIAD(computer) you can access all address to deliver, how many pkgs and where they are loaded on the car.(which in the am, – more... is not easy)then at a certain times you will have to pick up pkgs from shippers on your route....once done with dels. and pu's, you head back to center – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CASeptember 25, 2014
Open and close the store, daily reconciliation, cash handling, and bank deposits. Sort mail; enter received packages into the database. Enter customer information accurately into computer programs for domestic and international shipping. Resolve customer concerns and questions through email and phone. Notarize Real Estate, Power of Attorney, and Passport – more... documents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UPS is a great place to work.
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), San Marcos, CASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay are good
I have been with UPS for 15 years. It has made me a better person on many levels. Met a lot of good people along the way. Its hard work, and demanding. The rate of work at UPS is like nothing I have ever experienced, but at the end of the day you feel like you accomplished so much.

The UPS culture is a good one, and I have learned so much. UPS is always – more... looking and striving for the next thing, and with that we all grow and learn with UPS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job, good job.
Laborer and Freight, Stock, and Material Mover (Former Employee), Doraville, GASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: benifits package, advancement opportunities.
Cons: can't think of any.
This was my first ever place of employment. It is a good stable company to work for. With many opportunities to move up or advance. Also providing a good work out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Package Handler (Former Employee), Hodgkins, ILSeptember 25, 2014
its ok. i had the best coworkers. hardest part was the heavier packages
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Delivery Driver Helper (Former Employee), Middleburg Heights, OHSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: great pay, and excellent place to work
Cons: long hours, short lunch break, and no dinner breaks
A typical day a ups is meeting up with the driver and your on the road for a couple of hours making deliveries and then you stop for maybe 15-20 mins to eat and then it is back on the road again until your deliveries are done and then you sometimes may have to go and help the other drivers but the driver asks you if you want to go and help him help – more... the other driver. what I learned from ups was how to move in fast pace environment. Management is very polite and is willing to work with you. The hardest part of the job was learning how to use the signature pad. The most enjoyable part of the jobs was getting to talk to the driver and meet the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed traveling around town
Driver Assistant (Seasonal) (Former Employee), BradentonSeptember 25, 2014
Good job, good drivers, outside all day, busy and active all day.

1 2 3 4 5

About UPS

As a global leader in package delivery and supply chain solutions, UPS is passionate about innovating new ways to make business – Read more