Find companies:
UPS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,325 reviews

UPS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable experience
Driver Helper (Former Employee), Sylmar, CADecember 10, 2014
Typical day was jumping in the ups truck and looking back at your load. Learned a lot about receiving and shipping as well as finding small boxes in a truck full of boxes. My co-worker was a nice guy to work with. Hardest part of the job would be carrying a dolly full of boxes and having to go up or down a set of stairs fearing you'd drop all the deliveries. – more... Most enjoyable part of the job was enjoying driving around the city having conversations with the driver. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic work environment! Great pay and wonderful owners
Package Handler/Driver Helper (Current Employee), Riviera Beach, FLDecember 10, 2014
Clean, care for owners property and health care assistance for owners.
I have learned many fantastic things in regards to finances, cooking, home cleaning tricks in which I have taught my own children.
Hardest part of the job is the roads to the property are not the greatest which can result in issues making it to the property but I have always managed – more... to make it safely.
Most enjoyable part of the job is absolutely everything, no complaints! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constructive work with many tasks and responsibilities
Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort Wayne, INDecember 10, 2014
Pros: job security, great co-workers, and great employees.
Cons: highly unpredictable work hours, faulty communication among higher management, and having to come up with solutions with the whole management vs. union debacle.
UPS is a dependable employer who has many benefits to reap from while working for them. As a supervisor, your typical work day consists of arriving to work ahead of time to prepare your area for the day to come.Preparing paperwork and ensuring that the equipment needed to have a successful business day is critical. It's very fast paced all while requiring – more... sound judgement be made in order to operate smoothly and not cost the company any extra money, but rather save money. I've learned to keep an eye out for extremely small details inquiring trailer numbers so that way there are no costly mistakes to be made. The management is smooth for the most part; however, there is a problem within higher management and their communication abilities. My co-workers are extremely dedicated and determined to make the day theirs each any every single time they enter the facility. The hardest part of the job is adapting to each situation on a daily basis and finding a different approach to motivate the employees to work harder as each hour passes on. The most enjoyable aspect is knowing that you are helping citizens across the country in receiving their purchased goods that they worked for or so happen to get due to holidays, birthdays, or any given celebration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working job with good benifits
UPS Package Handler and Driver Helper (Current Employee), Forest Park, GADecember 9, 2014
The warehouse is very management heavy but nothing an average person cant handle. You do have to be a little flexible to work here though. Keep in mind the facility is not climate controlled. Stay safe and be on time. BOTTOM LINE.......Just do your job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take care of customers freight
Part time night crew (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSDecember 9, 2014
Pros: view interesting freight
Cons: part time
Unload freight from customers picked up from the day locally, and out of state, and deliver to next trailer for customer delivery the next day or next available day determined by mileage, repack if nessary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALDecember 8, 2014
a typical day at work consisted of entering time card information for fleet truck drivers. I learned how to be precise with employee hours worked. Management was great and extremely fun to work with, all the while getting the work done for the day. My co-workers and I had a good relationship and worked well together. The hardest part of the job, in – more... the beginning, was understanding the payroll system. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to learn more about the fleet trucks and what the drivers day consisted of, providing me with more respect for what they do – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Newark, OHDecember 8, 2014
Enjoyed working here. The only setback was that it is hard to get full time and they don't pay well enough for the work you do as a supervisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
Package Handler (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 8, 2014
Pros: long breaks
Cons: short
Since working for this company I have been trained to drive a tug truck, and a belt loader. Every night we load and unload planes until the last plane is gone. Great work environment and everyone helps each other excel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workout
UPS Package Handler (Former Employee), Garland, TXDecember 8, 2014
As dockworker, the hours are limited and does not enough hours during the week to support a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work when under the direction of a good supervisor
Loader (Former Employee), ILDecember 8, 2014
Pros: fast-paced setting
Cons: some supervisors were terrible
During my time at UPS I have was both a loader and an unloader. Most recently I was working as a loader in a fast paced outboud. My daily responsibilities included checking packages to ensure they are in the right place and then loading the packages. At UPS I did light loading, which is 70 – 100 pound packages. I also did heavy loading, which is 100 – more... – 300 pound packages. At UPS I learned many valuable skills that will help me in any position I am in. Some of those are collaboration, working in a fast-paced setting, multi-tasking, and communication.

The worst part of the job was some of the supervisors. Many times the men who work at UPS, myself included, are taken advantage of by the supervisors. UPS has both men and women working in the same outbouds together. Often supervisors will play favoritism towards the woman and let them slack off on their work and make the men make up for the women slacking off.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working in a fast-paced setting. I like to stay busy while at work. At UPS I was always busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seemed like a good place to work
Preloader (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 8, 2014
It was an ok environment I guess. I wasn't there long enough to form a real opinion about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at UPS
Package Handler (Current Employee), Louisville, KYDecember 8, 2014
Pros: the benefits
Cons: work outside, 3rd shift, not enough hours
Typical day at work for me is unloading and loading airplanes.

I've learned that if you just think of the job as getting paid to work out then it isn't so bad.

Management is okay, depending on who I had. Some of them would work with us and treat us as equals, while others only used us to advance their own careers.

My co-workers have always been a – more... mix of hard-working ones and lazy ones.

Hardest part of the job is learning to drive new equipment. And the weather.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the job itself. Working around airplanes is pretty cool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver helper
Driver Helper (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCDecember 7, 2014
drop off packages, call everyday for work, a lot of stairs to walk up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast Paced Workplace
Package Handler (Current Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 7, 2014
Pros: healthcare, paid vacation, job security
Cons: short breaks, physically demanding
Working at UPS entails non-stop manual labor. The job is physically demanding but it makes time fly. At the very least it provides a decent full body workout. I learned how to be very productive at a job while working here. The upper level management seems to know what they are doing, but entry level management is often confused and very incompetent. – more... All of the co-workers are friendly, and everyone seems to get along. The hardest part of the job is exerting so much energy to load packages. The most enjoyable part of the job is feeling part of something greater than myself because the union makes it feel like I'm in a family at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Driver Helper (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCDecember 7, 2014
I had a whole of fun work at UPS and I learn a lot about UPS, if you want a job while in college or you need a part time job UPS is the place to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very stressful strenuous work environment but if you have a good work ethic then you should do fine.
UPS Package Handler (Current Employee), Hackettstown, NJDecember 6, 2014
Working at UPS is not what i would call fun, it is a great place to work to get in shape and to make good money while doing it but it is not fun at all. The people re good the benefits are great. the only problem I have with this company is its failure to stay organized . I had to wait three weeks to get a check that is suppose to come weekly.I doubt – more... anyone would want to go through that. Other than that Its a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UPS is a great company to work for.
Package Handler (Ramp) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYDecember 6, 2014
Pros: flexible, paid for school, benefits
Cons: unpredictable work hours, outside in challeneging conditions
My schedule at UPS was at night Monday-Friday. UPS was great at working with my schedule while I was in college. They offer a great program for students called Metro College. I made lifelong friends and all my co-workers were friendly at all times. The most difficult aspect of the job was that it took place at night and that I was outside in challenging – more... conditions. The enjoyable aspect of the company was the energy that everyone brought to work every night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
dockworker (Current Employee), IrvingDecember 6, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: short breaks
it is a great place to work. i enjoy working for ups freight. the work environment is warm and friend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced factory work environment
Package Handler/Sorter (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 5, 2014
Come in to work clock-in and report to dock. Place charts with names of trucks behind for labeling. Use trained methods for picking packages from box line. Co-workers are usually younger. The most enjoyable part of the job is the 10 minute breaks. The hardest is maintaining a speed for transferring packages from the box line to its correct truck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace job
Warehouse package handler (Current Employee), Rockford ILDecember 5, 2014
I like the work. I load packages into big bins. I wasn't very happy with the training. They gave us a lot of information in a very short amount of time.

About UPS

As a global leader in package delivery and supply chain solutions, UPS is passionate about innovating new ways to make business – Read more