URS Federal Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was glad to leave.
Senior Wheel Vehicle Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXDecember 9, 2017
The Company had been bought and sold many time in my 25 years of working for them. The most recent was to URS. Along with the different sites I worked at, was the fact we had new management along the way. When I was at the Red River site in Texarkana, the management changed twice in the three years I was there and the HR people set me up to get rid of another long-term employee. So, I retired and moved back to South Korea.
Pros
Different work sites around the world
Cons
The buying and selling of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Subcontracts Administrator (Former Employee) –  Germantown, MDNovember 8, 2017
This is the ideal workplace for individuals the come to work to work. It's fast pace. I worked at the Germantown location and although I didn't like the commute, the site was ideal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work.
Hazardous Waste Operator (Former Employee) –  Stockton, UTOctober 27, 2017
The work environment was great. Temporary job destroying chemical weapons. Really wish it would have lasted another 20 years. A person really felt like they were part of something that mattered.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would pass on this organization
Master Supply Technician (Current Employee) –  APO/AESeptember 25, 2017
If you are looking for overseas work with low pay, terrible benefits, and the worst HR I have ever experienced, this would be the job for you. DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMENDED
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Tobyhanna, PAAugust 29, 2017
Great company to work for. great pay, benefits. Supervisors and management always treated you with respect. I would definitely return to the company given the chance.
Pros
Great pay, benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Safety Coordinator to the Safety Dept. (Former Employee) –  Stockton, UTAugust 9, 2017
Typical day started at 7:00 am, if not earlier, job site was located on a military base, therefore passing through military security was required.

Working within the Safety Department allowed for me to learn about OSHA requirements, building inspection requirements, and the Emergency Response Organization (ERO).

Most enjoyable part of the job was providing drill support services for ERO and administrative support services for the employee led Safety Action Team (SAT).
Pros
Great compensation program, great relocation program, and training program
Cons
Federal base was closed and mission was completed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People Doing Great Things
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dahlgren, VAJune 15, 2017
URS was a great place to work. The atmosphere is fun and motivating. The people are good, talented, and hard-working. Management treats their employees fairly and respectfully.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sub-Contracts and Procurement Expediter (Former Employee) –  Germantown, MD/Columbia, MDMay 18, 2017
Loved working there. Management was great in contracts and over all. my typical days ran 4-9 hours and 1 8 hour shift and off every other Friday which I loved. work place was easy and laid back but a lot of work to be done. they don't micro manage
Pros
Great work schedule
Cons
Germantown was too far to drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 16, 2017
Great place and awesome management, too bad they are not here anymore. This is a great place and company to work for definitely take care for f it's employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Supply Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Bragg, NCMay 4, 2017
Enjoyed my time with URS. It was a pleasure working with the U.S. Army and supporting their mission. The environment was relaxing and everyone seemed to care about the welfare of others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times
Plane Captain (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMarch 6, 2017
The job itself was fun, however I would not want to work for URS again. I enjoyed my time there but it started getting bad for employees right around the time I left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Stafford, VAFebruary 22, 2017
URS was a great place to work. I was able to excel while employed with URS with some great opportunities. I was always busy and there was never a dull moment. Awesome people to work with as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCDecember 21, 2016
Managers and supervisors do not care about their employees well being or work environment. Work conditions were unsafe and hazardous. Short staff with low pay results in a low moral throughout the company.
Pros
Steady Hours
Cons
Poor working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
EW Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Atlantic, NCNovember 23, 2016
Worked the MAEWR and enjoyed it. Usual issues as with any company. Good work environment, good people.
Most enjoyable part of the job was getting to help train pilots.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urs
Program Manager (LSS) (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALOctober 11, 2016
Great company. Flexible work schedule. Excellent benefit. World known. Rated as one of the beest places to work for several years in a row. This company hires more veterans than any other company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VAJuly 4, 2016
Planned and scheduled meetings and conference rooms.
Prepared and assembled binders.
Confirmed employee attendance.
Created name tags for employees and guests.
Checked and distributed employee parking passes.
Responded to facility maintenance requests.
Learned to focus on assignment and keep socializing to a minimum.
Management was supportive.
Co-workers were friendly.
Hardest part of job was last minute changes rearrangements.
Enjoyable part of work was data entry input.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Being laidoff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Business Element Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VASeptember 23, 2015
The company has a productive work environment with a professional approach to problem solving and providing the best solution to the client.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is great
Electronic Warfare Analyst (Current Employee) –  Crane, INAugust 13, 2015
The company is a great company to work for, but a typical work day is stressful due with having to deal with customer requirements. I'm the only one from the company supporting particular tasking therefore my co-workers are all government customers not fellow company employees.
Pros
Supporting the warfighter.
Cons
I don't feel like part of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok not much activity for the moral
Shop Technician/Purchaser (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAApril 21, 2015
I like what I do but Management isn't that great! Not much more to tell. Favoritism is great!!

There isn't anything hard about my job.
Pros
Pays is great
Cons
Not fair when it comes to hiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work environment
Engineering Technician III (Current Employee) –  Linton, INApril 9, 2015
Company lacks leadership and management skills from positions of power. typical government contractor environment. Little to no promotions from within the company and if they do, do not expect a pay increase.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at URS Federal Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 60 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8