Find companies:
US AIRWAYS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
238 reviews

US AIRWAYS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting change
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: air travel
Cons: hours
dealing with new people everyday, helping people prepare for ontime flights, ability to fly for free
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
SR. FLEET SERVICE LEAD AGENT (Former Employee), Richmond VaJanuary 25, 2014
Just enjoyed meeting new people. There is always something new that happens everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Agent
Operations Agent (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: health insurance and free flight benefits.
Cons: poor compensation
At the time I was employed the airline was America West Airlines. I really enjoyed my job and my management team was top-notch for the most part. I enjoyed the responsibility of making sure aircraft were safe and secure. Sadly it was one of those situations where I worked hard for an airline that chose to pay a sub-par wage and the decision to leave – more... was a difficult one. The people were great and we all worked hard with the dreams that the company would some day reward us for that hard work and dedication. I left after 13 years with a heavy heart. All in all the airline business a a great and unique work environment like no other! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flight benefits rock but pay is lower than other companies
Analyst (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: flight benefits
Cons: base salary
Great team environment, business casual, flight benefits are awesome but it is all about who you know... just like any other organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCELLENT
Fleet Service Agent (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 17, 2014
I love working with my co-workers. They are the most enjoyable people to be around. They are my second family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and exciting place to work.
Reservations Sales Representative (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great incentive packages for sales promotions for both the employee and the customer.
My review of this company is that they hire classes and classes of people. They keep the best and hire more. It is an exciting job. As a Reservations Representative I was able to talk and help people from all over the world.

The hardest part of the job was that the customer wanted to talk and tell you about their hardships and wanted your customer – more... service but the company wants the employee to quickly get them off of the phone. As I went to school and learned all about customer service and how the customer comes first this was hard for me. If I spent too much time on the phone, which I was told was more than three minutes I was talked to about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Airways Review
Fleet Agent (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: downtime
Cons: weather conditions
Working for this company has been great for 6 years. Great training, good people, and opportunity for advancement. If you're looking for a fast paced, hands on, job, this is the place to apply for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People oriented
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 6, 2014
A great place to work if you like working with people face-to-face. Management is always willing and available to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Provided professional service to customers. (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: rewards on a monthly basis.
Cons: some 10 hour days.
I love the hospitality industry and working with a diverse group of people on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career consious company
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: the company do crew program using employees.
Cons: call center severe time restraints
No day is the same.
All situations are their own.
You're continuously motivated for success.
Team environment encouraged and co-workers are team oriented.
Company involved in surrounding communities and employees have high visibility volunteering in many civic projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee), San Francisco, CADecember 25, 2013
Pros: relaxed environment
Cons: union dues
Great place to work. small station. relaxed environment. the work is easy and airbus 320 family is a nice aircraft to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCITING PLACE TO WORK
Customer Service Agent, BWI Airport, Baltimore, MD (Former Employee), Crystal City, VADecember 24, 2013
Pros: excellent travel benefits
Cons: no retirement benefits
SERVING THE PUBLIC DAILY, I LEARNED A LOT ABOUT THE WORLD OF AVIATION. WORKING WITH A LOT OF PEOPLE FROM DIFFERENT CULTURES WAS FUN AND EASY. ONE OF MY BIGGEST TASKS WAS TRYING TO PLEASE ALL CUSTOMERS. I WAS VERY HAPPY WHEN I MADE CUSTOMERS HAPPY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool laid back environment
Lav Driver (Former Employee), Pittsburgh PADecember 19, 2013
Pros: restaurants that you can take lunch at
Cons: weather
A typical day at work was pretty laid back and non rushed. I learned how to service airplanes and handle paperwork. Management was very nice and helpful of anything I didnt understand. My co-workers were respectful of others and very outgoing. The hardest part of the job was the sitting, waiting for your next plane to arrive. The most enjoyable part – more... was driving out to a massive plane and servicing it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working with people going on vacation
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 13, 2013
Job was good but I was ready to retire for a couple of years. The hours were changed every 3 months and had a difficult time getting adjusted to the different schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the flights
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 4, 2013
Pros: free flying
Cons: scraping from the bottom of the barrel to hire people
I would do it again as a supervisory or management level but for some reason US Airways not only has not hired me back but they dont even hire anyone else that applies that I know of. Perhaps the applicants werent ghetto enough. They have to be from Cobbs Creek to qualify for a position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and employees to work with
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PADecember 3, 2013
Pros: great working environment
Cons: short breaks
Working with aircraft parts receiving and putting them in stock. .Load and unload trucks using forklift , pallet , jacks , and heister for airplane motors and flaps
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment to work in
Costumer Serves Agent (Former Employee), Horseheads, NYDecember 3, 2013
Enjoyed the work relationships with the managers
Always fun to come to work and be around my coworkers
Was fast pace and made the day go buy faster
Wonderful company to work for
Great Flight benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Airways
Travel Consultant (Current Employee), Tempe, AZDecember 1, 2013
Pros: free flights
Cons: pay
Co workers help each other out. It is like working with family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POST America West Merger Review
Aircraft Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 25, 2013
Pros: good work environment, across the board benefits, under control unions, genuine training, aircraft environment, pretty darn good flying public
Cons: there will be those frustrating winter days
Make no bones about it you commercial aviation job seekers. This airline, on virtuslly EVERY conceivable level and over SO MANY DECADES, was the festering boil on the buttocks of both the flying public and its embedded employees. I assure you I could go on for VOLUMES with over 30 years of what this employer ONCE had to offer!

HOWEVER. ...

When this – more... airline merged with AWA in the mid 2000's, THANKFULLY the CEO Doug Parker literally completed the purging of the lunacy that still remained at the old US Air. Noticeably. ..and it felt like OVERNIGHT. ..the entire culture of this employer changed as the one "built in arrogance" of your daily tour of duty quickly diminished.

NOT knowing exactly what challenging this latest of mergers with AA will bring...but KNOWING the culture and good work environment of both entities in this case. ..I personally would not hesitate to recommend this combined airline for the future career hopes of all who wush to engage this industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handled refunds in revenue accounting
Sr. Specialist Clerk (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 25, 2013
Pros: my co-workers as well as learning the airline part of ticketing
Cons: not enough training
A typical day here would be refunds of tickets as well as international. There was no customer service in this position. It was a constantly learning position with a lot of research. Management was decent. My co-workers were great. The hardest pert of my job here was determining whether tickets were either refundable, or non-refundable internationally. – more... There were different fees that were incurred when traveling overseas, so you had to be extremely specific in this position. – less

About US AIRWAYS

US Airways Group takes wing as one of the nation's leading passenger carriers. Along with its regional affiliates, US Airways serves more – Read more

US AIRWAYS Photos