US Foods Employee Reviews

Found 1,022 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I made a career working in the food service buisness
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 22, 2017
I called on independent restaurant owners and helped them
to improve their business. The company I worked for was
2nd to None. We were a large national company that furnished
restaurants with all their needs. Fresh,Frozen,Disposals, Equipt
and Supplies. I retired at age 62. 75% in Sales - 25 % Mgnt.
I enjoyed my career in the Food business. It's been 10 years
since I retired but I wish to remain active and busy helping
others in finding happiness.
Pros
Love People
Cons
Very Long Work Days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Deliver Driver (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAFebruary 22, 2017
The managers are all morons who have little or no knowledge as to how to smoothly run a business. The only reason it is as successful as it is, is the drivers
Pros
Great pay, great benefits, and weekends off.
Cons
Managers are morons, warehouse stacks pallets terribly, mechanics don't fix trucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it pays good but the work is hard and the management is even harder to deal with
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  MSFebruary 22, 2017
Over all its a good job the money is good but the work gets old after a while.Its a fair place to work it takes a long while to move up people do not leave often after a certain point.
Pros
Money
Cons
management is hard to deal with tells you one thing does another you do not get much respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic benefits most large companies offer
Employee (Former Employee) –  United StatesFebruary 22, 2017
Basic benefits most large companies offer. Conveniently located near the expressway and Blue Line CTA with a free shuttle from the station. Health insurance was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feeling my impact on many types of customers
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Bensenville, ILFebruary 17, 2017
THe job at US Foods was different every day. Some days would start very early heading to see customers before dawn and others were spent in the office. I learned how to manage myself. The workplace culture was very supportive focusing on training and development. The hardest part of the job is that you are never really off the clock. In 11 years I only had one vacation that I didnt have to do any work. On the posative side is the flexability. You can work from anywhere.
Pros
Benfits, flexability, pay
Cons
Never being off
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Manassas, VAFebruary 16, 2017
Grab orders, select items, stack and organize items accordingly, load orders on truck. Very fast pace and dangerous. However the money and hours were good.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and team work encouraged
Procurement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTFebruary 16, 2017
I have learned the skills that make a good buyer. I have been encouraged to learn as many different aspects of the buyer position in order to advance. I have watched the management team change for the better.
Pros
Great team work with all departments
Cons
Can be over stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Logistics Load Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILFebruary 16, 2017
Overall this is a good comany to work for. Culture, people, pay, benifits good. However, can be stressfull at times due to always being short staff. Senior Leaders and Managment leadership is poor Managers are very disengaged.
Pros
Good pay and benifits
Cons
long hours, short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business casual atmosphere, friendly co-workers
National Credit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILFebruary 15, 2017
I had opportunities to work with Credit Managers & Sales Reps across the country, and it was easy to establish positive working relationships with the people in the corporate office and other locations. However, I lost respect for the CEO when he announced right before the holidays that the company was restructuring and 10% of the workforce would be downsized, while at the same time saying that the company was doing well and preparing for future growth.
Cons
Advancement and self-improvement opportunities were very few & far between.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Part time front desk receptionist (Former Employee) –  twinsburg, ohioFebruary 14, 2017
I was the front desk receptionist. I was also the personal assistant to the CEO receptionist. I enjoyed working for this company and the work i did for them
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about US Foods?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company great leadership.
Beverage & Chemical Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 13, 2017
I had a great time working here. Very forward thinking company, with a great sales staff. Great at training their salesforce to improve their potential.
Pros
Always on the cutting edge of the food industry.
Cons
I can not think of any!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Product Sales and Support Administrator (Former Employee) –  Zebulon, NCFebruary 13, 2017
very busy place, friendly environment. Good place to work. Management need to take anger management class.Employee's are not always heard need management to listen sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for people new to the workforce
Sr. Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDFebruary 12, 2017
Great Management. Had fun hard working people to work with. Was fairly new to the workforce and was placed with senior people that really took the extra mile in helping me shape my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racist Division, be careful
Selectir (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCFebruary 10, 2017
If you are a person of color do not go there. Human Resources in on the discrimination. Benefits are good tho. Coworkers are good people for the most
Pros
Free food somtimes
Cons
Good old boy South Carolina mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working evniorment
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 9, 2017
equipment inspection preshift meeting the safety topic distibution of orders and safe attention to detailed work of loading various foods fr vendors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Competitive
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALFebruary 8, 2017
Good company, good structure. Lots of bonus potential for a go getter.

Big company, out of town trips for training as well as rewards
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skewed ideals
Lead Analyst, Client Technologies (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILFebruary 6, 2017
Generally good intentions, however perception on what employees do is often very far off the closer you get to the top. There are a number of leaders who treat employees with very little respect. The problem is some of them are within 2 levels of the top. Not very motivating if your leaders are rude or disrespectful people.
Pros
good pay
Cons
diminishing benefits, lack of career growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Help!!
Fueler (Current Employee) –  Centennial, COFebruary 5, 2017
A day at the office usually contains of everyone needing your help.
But most importantly no manager or any sorts of boss even cares about what is going on,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay. Lots of work. Poor management
Part Time Garage Helper (Former Employee) –  Streator, ILFebruary 5, 2017
Worked in the garage for 6-7 months part time. Management is very poor and very "cost effective" cut corner disregarding safety in many ways. And even forced me to stay later on an optional day causong ke to be late for a funeral..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALFebruary 3, 2017
Worked short time in Decatur supervisor was awful was yelled at and cussed at numerous times while in training worked similar jobs for years never any problems was let go after scheduling doctors appointment and approved then called at 9 o'clock night before and told be at work or fired loads awful routes terrible good money but treated bad
Pros
None
Cons
Most of job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at US Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,026 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3