Find companies:
US Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
201 reviews

US Foods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
Mechanic (Former Employee), Las vegasDecember 7, 2013
Pros: payed every friday
Cons: everything about the company
Worst job I ever had. Superviser was a corporate mush head.watch your back!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Approach with real caution!
Director of Innovation & Product Development (Former Employee), Rosemont, ILDecember 6, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: awful culture awful benefits 0 work life balance.. do not work here if you have a family
Senior leadership team is all from Canada on a short term basis wit hthe goal to make the compnay look profitable at any cost and then sell in 2014.

Takeing large stock options and then heading back north. The big change hgappend 2 years a go after a whole new leadership team came in.

do not be fooled by the great looking Scoop info and Food Fanatic – more... marketing... it is all fluff covering for a work till you drop future. 12 to 13 hour days are the norm. As told to me on my firt day... "The management style we have is to push developers to the brink and hold them there.... getting everything possible until they leave" YES that was said on my 2nd day!!

I was offered the option t leave after 90 days and took a buy out to get out of there... litterly made me sick to go to work everyday in rosemont... very good pay... terrible benefits ($6000 deductible) also be careful when you negotiate they say there is a pension..after you sign on is only when they give you the information on I.. and not everyone is eligible if you make to much money....

6 peopel who started after me lasted only a week before the quit... there is a reason they have so many openings..... RUN... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unproductive company
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Severn, MDDecember 5, 2013
Cons: too many hours
I worked 60+ hours a week and was poorly compensated. The senior management team at this company was poor at best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job was an overall great job, I enjoyed my co-workers and it provided me with financial stability.
Night Time Selector (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 29, 2013
Pros: fridays and saturday's off
Cons: working in the very cold temperatures
I would love to find a career like I had at US. Foods. It provided me with great co-workers, it was a fun job. I enjoyed the hustle and bustle of trying to get my orders out in a safe and timely manner. My supervisors were great. They assisted me in every area possible. The work schedule was the best Sunday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. until all work was complete. – more... The hardest part of the job was working in the freezer where it was extremely cold but as long as you were hustling you could warm up due to working hard. I learned how to be more self sufficient and to be more reliable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family at US Foods
Director of Business Development - fuel good(TM) (Current Employee), fort mill, scNovember 27, 2013
Due to the obstacles we face everyday at US Foods. We work together as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice environment
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Rosemont, ILNovember 25, 2013
nice culture...very good company to gain exposure

Need to upgrade systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Plymouth, MNNovember 25, 2013
Prepare to be on call all hours. Great benefits. Good People.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cool company to work for
IT Client Associate (Current Employee), Tempe, AZNovember 24, 2013
Pros: cafeteria with reasonable prices for employees
Cons: healthcare not that great
Install and perform repairs to hardware, software, and peripheral equipment. Oversee the daily performance of computer systems. Set up equipment for employee use, perform or ensure proper installation of cabling, operating systems, and appropriate software. Maintain record of daily date communication transactions, problems and remedial action taken, – more... and installation activities. Read technical manuals, confer with users, and conduct computer diagnostics to investigate and resolve problems and provide technical assistance and support. Very challenging environment, upbeat, but very professional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but no procedures in place.
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 23, 2013
Pros: meeting new people was the great thing about working there.
Cons: not following through your company mission statement by management .
every day it was a challenge doing multiple jobs but one job title, and it taught me how to handle situations on my own if need be, the management was so un professional, and the co workers felt it, and thats what i believe led to our building shutting down soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little insight to US FOODS
warehouse (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 22, 2013
US FOODS is an OK company. Great pay with some down side. Productive driven so you have to work at a fast pace. Management don't know what they are doing so the place is always a mess.Its hard to balance your life and work working at might and the V.P will tell you that work is more important than family. So if your a family person this may not be the – more... job for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
NET Developer (Current Employee), Rosemont, ILNovember 19, 2013
Pros: productive
Cons: productive
Productivea typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lead Receiver (Current Employee), Perth Amboy, NJNovember 19, 2013
Responsible for overseeing a 30 bay receiving operation including verifying quality of incoming product for one of the top food service companies in the country. Check incoming trucks (odor, temperature, product damage, count, etc.). Oversee unloading by Driver or by known outside services. Document any refused product. Also oversee compliance with – more... OSHA and EPA rules and regulations.

Assist other Receivers with overseeing more timely, sensitive or escalated issues, and function as a receiving resource for this site.

Train, mentor and contribute to evaluations of all receiving personnel. Member of the Safety Team.
• Selected to transfer receiving operations from a smaller location (Englewood, NJ) to a much larger facility (Perth Amboy, NJ) because of proven range of capabilities and general managerial skills.
• Recognized for superior organization, communication and interpersonal skills.
• Commended as an excellent problem solver who recognizes, defines and resolves a broad range of issues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCNovember 16, 2013
UsFoods is an excellent company to work for, however, if you wish to move any higher than sales, it is very difficult
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The teamwork amongest the different department was great.
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 15, 2013
Pros: family friendly schedule.
Cons: had to work every other sunday.
The job was fun and laid back, but we were still held accountable for our daily assignments.

We had many different team sales competition, which promoted a little friendly gamesmanship.

You had to manage your time very wisely to ensure all customer got their order for the next business day.

Learned how to work with many different departments to service – more... the customers.

Successful mastered seven different proprietary operation systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest Part of the Job
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Lenexa, KSNovember 14, 2013
Pros: being your own boss
Cons: no job security
The travel and being away from family. USFoods demands accountability and this job was tough, when family is my first priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Receiving Clerk (Current Employee), ILNovember 12, 2013
Pros: healthcare
Cons: changes in operations
It depends on which location you are employed. Some branches have a larger more upscale branch, others are run on a small profit, therefore small budget.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Territory Manager
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Los AngelesNovember 6, 2013
Pros: gas & car paid
Cons: no brakes traffic
Territory Manager charged with securing new business opportunities, and expanding sales distribution within existing businesses and territories. Additionally was tasked with several on premise special assignments for event coordination and National Accounts contract reviews. Accountable for increasing profitability by opening new business accounts, – more... expanding product lines in existing businesses by relationship building, marketing programs, presenting exclusive brands, new product innovation, and representing 15,000 stocked items. Responsible for all customer’s Accounts Receivable payments and deposits directly. Coordinated AR detail with credit analysis to maintain customers credit terms status. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company needs some help!!!
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Wixom, MINovember 6, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: no expenses paid, ever.
Nice people, but it is hard to provide customer service when your delivery trucks are 3-5 hours late on a daily basis. I learned how to overcome obstacles and resistance, and developed a thick skin for sure working there. The best part of the job is working with customers on a daily basis. The hardest part was fixing the companies mistakes while trying – more... to open new business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience not the right experience
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), Norwich, CTNovember 5, 2013
Learned about how to operate "my" own business. Was able to develop lasting relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career
Sr. National Accounts Coordinator (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 4, 2013
Pros: on site cafeteria
Cons: company has been closing divisions across the us for a the last few years.
A great place to work. They give regular pay raises and there are a lot of opportunities to advance.