Find companies:
US Foodservice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
201 reviews

US Foodservice United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
RECEIVING CLERK (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 15, 2013
Pros: constantly busy
Cons: the clique between management and a few workers
Scheduled and received numerous shipments daily. Processed purchase orders, researched and filed them. Management had a "clique" with some workers. That made it hard sometimes because you had to do their work while they were off with the supervisor having lunch for 3 hours. Loved meeting and talking to new drivers and dispatcher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work with.
Manager of Equipment and Smallwares (Former Employee), Fort Mill, SCJuly 12, 2013
Took calls from Outside Sales People and Customers to quote Equipment and take orders. Processed and Billed all non stocked equipment and smallwares. Also took care of walk-in Customers.
The hardest part of this job was getting 75 to 150 Food Sales People to sell equipment. However these were a great bunch of people and willing to learn. I enjoyed travling with the salesmen and helping them with a sale of equipment or furniture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
#2 Supplier of food services.
Accounts Payable Processor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 10, 2013
Pros: free breakfast every friday
Amazing place to work.
Absolutely the best job I ever had.
Great work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Career Mistake of my Life
Category Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 7, 2013
Pros: salary, benefits
Cons: management, travel schedule, work/life balance
I would highly advise any applicant to steer clear of this company especially when applying for a management position in the field. Forget about work/life balance. There is none. Be prepared to travel 70% of the time and work 7 days a week. There Is no training at the Billion dollar company. They look at you strange when you want to get trained on something you never worked on before. You also MUST have Foodservice experience (they won't tell u that ).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't pay much for what I do. Different company will pay more.
Order Selector (Former Employee), Centennial, COJune 19, 2013
Pros: really easy job.
Cons: don't pay enough
Work 8 hrs. a day with no overtime. Break down machines and put it back together. Operator 4 machines every night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful work place
Freezer selector (Former Employee), Fairburn, GAJune 17, 2013
great company but management could be better. It is a fast pace environment with a real team work atmosphere it just get crowded with the workflow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Fort Mill, SCJune 5, 2013
Pros: all
Cons: non
i miss working here, great place to work, great team management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the first year there, but after a major acquisition, I was forced into a union which was not a pleasant or productive environment.
Driver (Former Employee), Englewood, COMay 28, 2013
Pros: fun family type atmosphere
Cons: i don't like working in a union shop.
My duties at U.S. Foodservice included delivering food product to various customers, while operating equipment in a safe, professional manner, and ensuring a productive relationship between the company and the customers on my route. Additionally, I assisted the transportation manager with administrative duties for approximately nine months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Foodservice
Territory Manager, Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 23, 2013
Started Career, flexibility,, great line of products, management is positive and cares about employer. History is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support from Sr Management
Load Coordinator (Former Employee), RosemontMay 20, 2013
Pros: pays well
Cons: backstabbers and finger pointing
Company pays well although there is no support or guidance from upper management. The environment is one of finger pointing and back stabbing to get ahead.Supervisors instruct one way to resolve issues and get the job done all the while knowing upper management wants something different just to place blame on you and keep their position safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Albany Status Update
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), Albany, NYMay 6, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: poor upper management
Was at one time a great place to work. New President brought in a culture of in fighting. There is no longer any team work with every member of staff striving for one goal....increased sales!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXApril 19, 2013
Inspecting Cargo and truck. Hard working co-workers form top to bottom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I went in optimistic and came out a pestimistic!! If you family oriented, have a life stay away from this place. Money isn't everything.
Warehouse, picker (Former Employee), Plymouth, MnApril 18, 2013
Pros: pay, weekly checks.
Cons: long hours, physical work, bad management, disgruntled employees.
Good starting pay at 18.50 hr. Partimer is expected to work 10.5 hour shifts plus mandatory overtime, sometimes twelve hours plus a night. You are also required to work fours day, sometimes five. Very high turn over rate. Nothing but negative energy when you first start. Employees aren't friendly to you, they feel why get to know you when you might not last long. Management tells you right off the bat, people don't make it one, two, or three days. The longest most last is two weeks. This is a red flag, why tell people that? That's why they can't keep people. They become intimidated right away and quit. Union teamsters local 120, the most corrupt union and local. You can't sign up for direct deposit until after ninety days probation. Another red flag. Weekly pay, good benefits only if you get fulltime. Management and human resource are useless, even the hr lady didn't know, or claimed she didn't know when you can sign up for direct deposit. Come on human resource didn't know this. Very physical work. They fire you if you don't keep up your percentage rate. Cant fall below 85%. Top out pay 25.00 hr for picker, warehouse. If you have a life, family look for something better. Money isn't everything. If you like working your but off, no life, family, and like money then this is for you. My opinion look for something better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont do did terrible management
selecter (Current Employee), livermoreApril 14, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: kiss your life goodbye
Hate your life wanna do nothing but work and get treated worse.come work here. never been treated so bad my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place if you can....
Credit Coordinator (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLApril 10, 2013
Pros: leaving....
Cons: being there....
After several months of on going lay offs, and my work load tripled, no compensation what so ever. Management is just as bad,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do work hard. I am an optimist. This place is as bad as they get.
Delivery Driver (Busy Season)/ Warehouse (Winter) (Current Employee), MNApril 2, 2013
Pros: pay ok. benefits ok. union.
Cons: pretty much everything about it. (doesn't get much worse).
US Foods will take honest, hard working and good intentioned employees and run them to death. They will not hesitate to fire anyone if they fall below 97% efficiency. Pick rates are fast and high. The hours are very long and the work is extremely physical. You will have to go to the gym and the chiropractor on a very regular basis in order to "keep up the (expected) pace". The only redeeming trait is that it is union. So although you will be eventually fired, the union will get you your job back. Keep something in savings as that usually takes up to 30 days. I hope I can find a different job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Warehouse / Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee), Twinsburg, OHMarch 23, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: hours
Good company to work for. However your ability to advance as far as you would like will most likely depend on your willingness to transfer to another division.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feels like your in jail
oorder selector (Former Employee), minnesotaMarch 15, 2013
Pros: people you worked with
Cons: mmanagement.working conditions
Worked there over 2yrs,very fast pace,they want alot from you,your work comes before family.I. hurt my back lifting,blew out 2 disks in my back,and they said it didnt happen working here,money was ok, but remember money isnt everything,and it will never get me a new back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self staring street sales
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: monday through friday. work from home
Cold call local restaurants, caterers, schools to sell food, paper and janitorial products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place too work
Order Selector /Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Centennial, COMarch 9, 2013
very fast pace job. learned how to operate a cherry picker. management is really good. hardest part of this job is the frezzer. nice thing about this job is the pay.

About US Foodservice

Many restaurant-goers in the US can thank this company for the food on their plates. US Foods (formerly U.S. Foodservice) is the – Read more

US Foodservice Salaries

Territory Manager
$50,000 per year
Delivery Driver
$60,000 per year
Driver
$52,000 per year
Order Selector
$17.00 per hour
Truck Driver
$50,000 per year