Find companies:
US General Services Administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

US General Services Administration Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable, but limited upside
Facilities Manager (Current Employee), Washington DCSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules, decent compensation
Cons: bureaucracy, slow promotion potential, very political, real workers not necessary rewarded
Working for the Government is a blessing for many, but it's not for everybody. As a person who is serious about my career, I've come to a point in my life where I need to move on from the Government. But overall the experience has been good. I would take GSA over a lot of agencies. I was fortunate in that I had an amazing boss. Otherwise I would have – more... left a long time ago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Lease Contracting Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2013
Overall, GSA is a nice place to work. Great benefits. It has its problems like any other job. But I think you will enjoy it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Opinion
Program Analyst/Specialist, GS (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 3, 2013
Pros: free public transportation to/from work
I've worked in the Federal Government for 26 years and have to say GSA has been quite disappointing for me after having the opportunity to work for some really great agencies. The best Federal agencies for which I've had the privilege to work was OPM and Department of the Army. GSA is top heavy in my opinion and communication doesn't flow down to the – more... employees. Training and Development is another area that could use some work. Although I am the training officer for the Region, the funding is an issue.

I spend 3 tours overseas in Germany working for Department of Army and Defense Intelligence Agency and if given the opportunity, I highly recommend taking the chance and applying for an overseas tour. You will not regret it and the pay is wonderful. The culture is great and the people are great too. There is much to be learned from the culture and lifestyle by living overseas for a few years. It is absolutely amazing!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career move for experience and skill sharpening.
Administrative Officer (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 16, 2013
Working for the federal government is both challenging and rewarding. I enjoyed my time there and learned a great deal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Strict
Downtown Federal Bldg. Post Commander (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 14, 2013
Working with GSA was very rewarding and very strict atmosphere. The pay is great but teamwork is out the window.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a ton in a few years
Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 13, 2013
Worked with great people and learned tons of information on social media.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Guard with limited Police Powers
Federal Protective Officer (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJune 1, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits and good pay
Cons: primarily security guard duties
Excellent training and working conditions. But very little opportunity to gain usable Law Enforcement experience. Primarily security guard duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My observation of GSA
Contractor (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 27, 2013
Pros: convenient to shops
Cons: inconvenient to metro
GSA is offers a wide range of opportunities and very welcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fast food job for starters but will conflict with outside activities.
(GSA) Student File Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 26, 2013
They hired me on the spot which helped a lot being that I was in High school helping take care of my father who is in his early 80's. Although, after a while they became unfair with their hours. Work became a conflict with school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Agency to work for
Management Assistant/Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 20, 2013
The experience that I gained at GSA has allowed me to explore other opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Contracting Officer, Equipment Specialist (Current Employee), Riverdale, GAApril 19, 2013
Pros: great job
Management is good. Agency ensures training for job is done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Management and Program Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 15, 2013
Didn't work here long enough to give a substantive review. The few months I was there I enjoyed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and diverse place to work for
Pathways Program Intern (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 25, 2013
Pros: transit benefits
Productivity and diversity
Very diverse in its duties and departments
Every kind of professional is available and very helpful in mentoring
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSA Summary
Contract Specialist/Project Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 7, 2013
I have enjoyed working at this job, it has taught me a great wealth of information. I would recommend this career to anyone, especially to those just entering the work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable work environment
Building Manager (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 13, 2013
A typical day at work includes training, vendor management, contract management, procurement, site visits and on call responsibility. From this experience I have broadened my property management skills and increased my knowledge of leases. I feel that my team works well together. This job challenges me on a daily basis with valuable experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Relax workplace
Intern-Contract Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: upper management were easy to come up to for any help needed.
Cons: at times you had too many work to do with the same deadlines.
GSA is a productive and diverse company. They care a lot about their employees and make sure that they have all of their needs met. As an employee, you also were able to work any where within your building instead of bein stationed in one place. I truly enjoyed my time at GSA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging Work Atmosphere
Space Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXDecember 31, 2012
Pros: teamwork
Typical Day: Reviewing documents and processing tenant inquiries.
What I've learned: Work hard and your success will be your reward.
Management: Very encouraging
Co-Workers: Helpful when challenges arise
Hardest Part: There is no hard part just minor challenges
Enjoyable: Being able to work with very helpful people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work, and interacting with contractors.
Lead Contracting Officer (Former Employee), San Francisco, CADecember 6, 2012
Pros: good benefits, plus i worked for the federal government for 41 years.
It had its faults like any other job, but my co-workers made it all worth while. I am a retiree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Department - Run very well
OPAC Accounting Technician (Federal) (Former Employee), Downtown in the Federal BuildingNovember 16, 2012
Pros: good pay, and excellent benefits
Cons: being hired as a term employee and having to leave at the end of the term.
A typical day was coming in and doing routine work every day.

Cost Transfers

Management was good

Most of the Federal employees were very harsh towards the contract employees and made very rude comments.

Having our meetings with receivables and payable s and hearing the harsh comments that were read aloud about the contractor employees.

The most – more... enjoyable part of the job, when you received cash awards for a job well done from managers and fellow employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, except funding sucks.
Business Analyst/Project Coordinator (Current Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 25, 2012
Pros: you get to work with people who makes things happen in the back end.
Cons: funding sucks.
Great people to work with. The supervisors & managers are exceptional. Except federal funding really sucks. I wonder where's our country headed now?...