Find companies:
US General Services Administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
62 reviews

US General Services Administration Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very different environment than the private sector.
Supervisory Building Management Specialist (Former Employee), ChicagoNovember 7, 2013
Difficult to navigate through as an outsider. Top driven organizational change only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard issue Government work
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), New York, nyNovember 1, 2013
Pros: challenging & enganging work
Cons: raises are far and few inbetween
Worked to ensure timely and accurate billing for federally owned and leased properties throughout the Northeast and Caribbean. This position has increased my analytical skills from having to thoroughly check lease documents to validate rent rates. Managed a small team of three people who successfully managed to exceed program goals by over 7%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and enjoyable
Registrar (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 21, 2013
A typical day at work consisted of greeting the friendly security staff and opening my office in preparation for a day filled with future and existing federal employee encounters. I learned the exciting new technology and techniques to fingerprinting. Working alone was challenging and character building. I learned to converse respectfully and positively – more... with multiple agency staff members as we worked together to troubleshoot the difficult task of getting all employees processed by agency and federal deadlines. Encounters with different hard working, loyal, and generally friendly people was rewarding, interesting and educational. As I closed my office for the day, I would smile as I remembered all the original personalities I met that day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is a place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 19, 2013
Pros: stability
Cons: lack of promotion potential
The company is a place to work. There is nothing more to tell within my review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Product Researcher & Technical Writer (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 15, 2013
Pros: great views of manhattan, telework most days, no overtime.
Cons: no travel, slow growth potential, low pay for manhattan.
The United States GSA is a great place to work. The work is interesting, and there are a lot of outstanding people from different backgrounds, be it military, the public, or private sector.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career but interested in a transition
Personnel Security Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: alternative work schedule
Cons: staffing issues
My career at the US General Services Administration has been challenging, yet rewarding. I have grown professionally and have done all that I could in this position. Moving forward in my career, I like to take all my skills and apply them to something I could really excel at. I am looking for a position that is always growing and changing and that allows – more... for me to grow and prosper. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Data entered into spreadsheets
Transportation Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: good place to work
I enter data into spreadsheets. I do accounts Receivable for Fleet sales. I close out vehicle sales by ensuring everything balances and all the documents are in the package. My co-workers are great and often call upon me for guidance and assistance. Communicating wi th my co-workers and researching data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSA's business lines include the Federal Acquisition Service (FAS)[4] and the Public Buildings Service (PBS).
Subject Matter Specialist / Acquisition Analyst (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: gsa manages and support the basic functioning of federal agencies.
Cons: located in south kansas city instead of downtown with other government facilities.
The GSA supplies products and communications for U.S. government offices, provides transportation and office space to federal employees, and develops government-wide cost-minimizing policies, and other management tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable, but limited upside
Facilities Manager (Current Employee), Washington DCSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules, decent compensation
Cons: bureaucracy, slow promotion potential, very political, real workers not necessary rewarded
Working for the Government is a blessing for many, but it's not for everybody. As a person who is serious about my career, I've come to a point in my life where I need to move on from the Government. But overall the experience has been good. I would take GSA over a lot of agencies. I was fortunate in that I had an amazing boss. Otherwise I would have – more... left a long time ago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Lease Contracting Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2013
Overall, GSA is a nice place to work. Great benefits. It has its problems like any other job. But I think you will enjoy it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Opinion
Program Analyst/Specialist, GS (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 3, 2013
Pros: free public transportation to/from work
I've worked in the Federal Government for 26 years and have to say GSA has been quite disappointing for me after having the opportunity to work for some really great agencies. The best Federal agencies for which I've had the privilege to work was OPM and Department of the Army. GSA is top heavy in my opinion and communication doesn't flow down to the – more... employees. Training and Development is another area that could use some work. Although I am the training officer for the Region, the funding is an issue.

I spend 3 tours overseas in Germany working for Department of Army and Defense Intelligence Agency and if given the opportunity, I highly recommend taking the chance and applying for an overseas tour. You will not regret it and the pay is wonderful. The culture is great and the people are great too. There is much to be learned from the culture and lifestyle by living overseas for a few years. It is absolutely amazing!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career move for experience and skill sharpening.
Administrative Officer (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 16, 2013
Working for the federal government is both challenging and rewarding. I enjoyed my time there and learned a great deal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Strict
Downtown Federal Bldg. Post Commander (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 14, 2013
Working with GSA was very rewarding and very strict atmosphere. The pay is great but teamwork is out the window.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a ton in a few years
Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 13, 2013
Worked with great people and learned tons of information on social media.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Guard with limited Police Powers
Federal Protective Officer (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJune 1, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits and good pay
Cons: primarily security guard duties
Excellent training and working conditions. But very little opportunity to gain usable Law Enforcement experience. Primarily security guard duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My observation of GSA
Contractor (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 27, 2013
Pros: convenient to shops
Cons: inconvenient to metro
GSA is offers a wide range of opportunities and very welcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fast food job for starters but will conflict with outside activities.
(GSA) Student File Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 26, 2013
They hired me on the spot which helped a lot being that I was in High school helping take care of my father who is in his early 80's. Although, after a while they became unfair with their hours. Work became a conflict with school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Agency to work for
Management Assistant/Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 20, 2013
The experience that I gained at GSA has allowed me to explore other opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Contracting Officer, Equipment Specialist (Current Employee), Riverdale, GAApril 19, 2013
Pros: great job
Management is good. Agency ensures training for job is done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Management and Program Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 15, 2013
Didn't work here long enough to give a substantive review. The few months I was there I enjoyed it.