Find companies:
US General Services Administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
72 reviews

US General Services Administration Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work/life balance & job security
Rocky Mountain Regional Public Affairs Officer (Current Employee), Denver, COMarch 3, 2014
Pros: flexibility, pay, variety, international, benefits, job security
Cons: leadership, management, strategy
If you are a go getter that can take the ball and run with it, this is a great place to grow and learn. This federal agency covers a lot of ground so there's never a lack of being able to learn new products, services, or programs. Networking, negotiating skills and being politically astute are key in navigating these waters. You may be surprised to – more... meet a talented group of hard-working government workers who really know their stuff. GSA is family friendly and supportive when life throws you a curve ball. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was very productive and thorough with my job performances
Packaging Specialist (Current Employee), Stockton CaliforniaFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: excellent work environment
Cons: position and job requirements were abolished
This is a highly rated professional environment with highly skilled and motivated individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Project Manager Lease Project Management Division (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: telework
Cons: poor upper management
after 3 years and 6 successful projects 3 of which sent commendation letters of my performance. my contract was cut, I was let go by the director the reason being low performance ??????
GSA has very poor upper management who do not know what the construction PM's do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stable government job.
NA (Current Employee), Region 3January 28, 2014
The management is OK. Keep in mind that this is a government agency. The management is more relaxed on its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Building Manager Specialist Internship (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 18, 2014
The leadership and culture in this agency stands out above the rest, and was a pleasure to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Agency with positives and negatives
Program Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 29, 2013
Great work life balance, a lot of promotion potential. The downside is that the work can feel meaningless at times, and a lot of the people aren't interested in working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shrinking Government - Limited Growth Potential
Buildings Manager (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 10, 2013
Pros: paid lead, insurance, job security
Cons: limited upward mobility, non-performance based
Budget cuts and a overall shrinking of the agency, has limited the opportunity to advance, and investment in employee training. Without an emphasis on workforce cultivation, I am concerned the agency is heading the wrong direction. I enjoy the work, but I am looking for an environment that encourages forward thinking, and creativity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and keeper of tax payer properties
Project Manager/facility Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 30, 2013
I learned team work is the bet way to get work done every individual has own strengths and add to a end result in todays declining budgets.Work has to be done in an intelligent way to save money and meet customer expectations My job was challenging due to the fact budgets were tight, co workers were great ,the job had its perks working on Historic buildings – more... and engineering challenges to retrofit with new technology the structure to run more efficiently Knowledge is the most gratifing you learned new technologies everyday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the Government
Office Automation Clerk (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 13, 2013
Pretty good job, no complaints. The government is not secure like it use to be. Overall working for GSA has been a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Program Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 12, 2013
Challenging work, learning opportunities. Federal government experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very different environment than the private sector.
Supervisory Building Management Specialist (Former Employee), ChicagoNovember 7, 2013
Difficult to navigate through as an outsider. Top driven organizational change only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard issue Government work
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), New York, nyNovember 1, 2013
Pros: challenging & enganging work
Cons: raises are far and few inbetween
Worked to ensure timely and accurate billing for federally owned and leased properties throughout the Northeast and Caribbean. This position has increased my analytical skills from having to thoroughly check lease documents to validate rent rates. Managed a small team of three people who successfully managed to exceed program goals by over 7%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and enjoyable
Registrar (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 21, 2013
A typical day at work consisted of greeting the friendly security staff and opening my office in preparation for a day filled with future and existing federal employee encounters. I learned the exciting new technology and techniques to fingerprinting. Working alone was challenging and character building. I learned to converse respectfully and positively – more... with multiple agency staff members as we worked together to troubleshoot the difficult task of getting all employees processed by agency and federal deadlines. Encounters with different hard working, loyal, and generally friendly people was rewarding, interesting and educational. As I closed my office for the day, I would smile as I remembered all the original personalities I met that day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is a place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 19, 2013
Pros: stability
Cons: lack of promotion potential
The company is a place to work. There is nothing more to tell within my review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Product Researcher & Technical Writer (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 15, 2013
Pros: great views of manhattan, telework most days, no overtime.
Cons: no travel, slow growth potential, low pay for manhattan.
The United States GSA is a great place to work. The work is interesting, and there are a lot of outstanding people from different backgrounds, be it military, the public, or private sector.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career but interested in a transition
Personnel Security Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: alternative work schedule
Cons: staffing issues
My career at the US General Services Administration has been challenging, yet rewarding. I have grown professionally and have done all that I could in this position. Moving forward in my career, I like to take all my skills and apply them to something I could really excel at. I am looking for a position that is always growing and changing and that allows – more... for me to grow and prosper. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Data entered into spreadsheets
Transportation Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: good place to work
I enter data into spreadsheets. I do accounts Receivable for Fleet sales. I close out vehicle sales by ensuring everything balances and all the documents are in the package. My co-workers are great and often call upon me for guidance and assistance. Communicating wi th my co-workers and researching data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSA's business lines include the Federal Acquisition Service (FAS)[4] and the Public Buildings Service (PBS).
Subject Matter Specialist / Acquisition Analyst (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: gsa manages and support the basic functioning of federal agencies.
Cons: located in south kansas city instead of downtown with other government facilities.
The GSA supplies products and communications for U.S. government offices, provides transportation and office space to federal employees, and develops government-wide cost-minimizing policies, and other management tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable, but limited upside
Facilities Manager (Current Employee), Washington DCSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules, decent compensation
Cons: bureaucracy, slow promotion potential, very political, real workers not necessary rewarded
Working for the Government is a blessing for many, but it's not for everybody. As a person who is serious about my career, I've come to a point in my life where I need to move on from the Government. But overall the experience has been good. I would take GSA over a lot of agencies. I was fortunate in that I had an amazing boss. Otherwise I would have – more... left a long time ago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Lease Contracting Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2013
Overall, GSA is a nice place to work. Great benefits. It has its problems like any other job. But I think you will enjoy it.