US Xpress Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNSeptember 19, 2017
Big company they pay well but it's hard to communicate with other people who don't drive the truck Dedicated account dollar tree was a good account fast pace
Pros
Good pay
Cons
No home time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NCSeptember 18, 2017
low pay,no incenitives,no bonus,7 day work week,no vacations pay,young inexperienced drivers. In a work week you're only off 34 hours to reset your hours.You don't get pay for coming to work and your load isn't ready,and you have to sit for hours waiting for your load to get ready. No help on Health care.
Pros
a job
Cons
no insenitives, no life outside work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Cash Applications (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNSeptember 15, 2017
A decent company to work for; however, it could stand improvement. The pay needs to be increased and there seems to always be the looming potential of layoffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement
Driver (Current Employee) –  Tipp City, OHSeptember 11, 2017
There is no room for advancement. Once you learn the runs on the account you will be stuck at the same wages forever. You get a one cent raise every 3 years after two years of service. Takes 5 years to get to .40/mile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability
Commercial Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 10, 2017
Great place to work for improvement .got lots of miles an new trucks less than a year old.nice terminals located all over the United states.great benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucking
Driver Orientation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 7, 2017
I was overworked and underpaid. I was forced to take on three separate jobs at once. All this company cares about is their drivers and not corporate employees. Management is horrible!
Pros
I loved my coworkers and drivers
Cons
no lunch breaks, overworked, underpaid, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but productive work environment with several stress relievers at your disposal
Operations Manager / Load Planning Manager (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNSeptember 6, 2017
Worked closely with the CSR's & load planners to ensure all freight across the United States was planned accordingly, all reports sent to our customers in a timely manner, assisted with any planning issues or customer concerns via e-mail or phone. Assisted all employee's with an questions or concerns.

Was fortunate to learn almost every aspect of a major trucking company from the bottom to the top. Had strong management for the most part but there were a couple aspects where leadership was lacking or not correctly utilized. Very enjoyable place to work about eighty percent of the time. Occasional outburst from an employee or someone in management that could make it uncomfortable.

When short staffed it could be difficult & very stressful for the employee's. Really enjoyed the people I worked with & everything they brought to their respective positions. Very tight night group that enjoyed each other's company.
Pros
Good benefits, free gym & very nice snack/lunch station
Cons
Long nights & would be understaffed badly when sick or vacation time arose
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for regional job
Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 1, 2017
I left here due to needing more home time, rather than being OTR most of the week. They are a great place to work but could use a little more organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place tho work
CDL Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Tunnel Hill, GAAugust 31, 2017
my typical day to work was ok ,I have to make my plan to my trip.I learned to be patience and my long way to drive special the weather and the traffic. the management was okay sometime, the culture ok the hardest part of the job be on time to the destination my most enjoyable part of the job was meet new people see different place and drive end be responsible.
Pros
good place to work
Cons
they promsed more tha 2000 o more miles but i never have it the number
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous
Account Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Shippensburg, PAAugust 30, 2017
HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This place is a cancer wouldn't recommend to anyone. Very cut throat employees. Drivers are amazing but office staff is hoerible
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you live in a apartment or home with no maintenance required
Dedicated Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNAugust 29, 2017
I enjoyed driving for usxpress. But I was never home, having a wife and 2 year old, plus acer's of land to take care of we were not a good fit. The main thing that actually made quit USX was the Dollar General account. Dispatcher's do not care about your needs as in a shower, finding somewhere convenient for you to sleep for the night. Pretty much every night I slept in a Dollar General parking lot. Also dealing with the angry managers of Dollar General got frustrating. In that being said Dollar Geneal I did not like. But USX I loved a great trucking company.
Pros
USX its self
Cons
Dollar Geneal
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready to go
Class A Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Shippensburg, PAAugust 28, 2017
Big lack in communication, and the were too many departments which lead to a lack in accountability, everyone wants to pass your problem off to the next department which is something no driver wants to hear in a stressful situation
Pros
Take you right out of school to get the experience
Cons
Not a good experience went you wait more then you drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Alone
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  TennesseeAugust 28, 2017
Like being dispatched on the east coast with my teammate easy access to home and great eateries.

Great if you can get your dispatcher to keep you on this run which is the east coast.
Pros
Time off
Cons
Sometimes equipment was an issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company owner's want to keep $.
Orientation Instructor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 26, 2017
Owned by one family who will cut your job to put more money in the owner's pocket. You can get cut even if you are loyal to the company. New director in department never lead a department like this and a lot of employees ready to resign.
Pros
Some good people
Cons
Job can get cut Over 100 just were.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience with out of school training
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Shippensburg, PAAugust 22, 2017
I would give U.s Xpress another change in the future with the right compensation and with adequate amount of home time. Over the road is a rough life and I feel it's worth more then any beginners pay they offer along with other companies.
Pros
Terminals have Showers, Laundry facility & drivers lounge.
Cons
Low paying salary on most accounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Truck Driver cdl class (Former Employee) –  xxxAugust 18, 2017
n/a dont have nothing to say , it was a good experience will tell friends of friends that are going into the driving world that it is not all what you think if you dont really want to travel, but i enjoyed it
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working for US Xpress INC.,
Safety/Compliance (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHAugust 18, 2017
The day was stressful and time limits on everything to complete all in an 8 hr day.
I have learned I like office work and the cleanness it provides.

The management was at the corporate office I never seen them just communicated of the phone or on the computer.

The hardest part of this job was to hire the most qualified truck driver per DOT.

I enjoyed making myself learn time management and completing all the required task that were provided
Pros
I like the company at Christmas time they were always giving free things to the employees
Cons
Stressful all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
diesel technician 11 (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL 32257August 17, 2017
Usxpress is a good place to work. I only have experience with the jacksonville shop so I can not speak for other locations. The pay is good, good work enviorment however they did just change the pay scale making raises smaller and harder to get.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNAugust 17, 2017
Nice people an management would recommend them to other's. The company keeps truck's in top condition running well never any problem with anything all good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Driver (Former Employee) –  TennesseeAugust 17, 2017
good to work for and would return in the future dater. a good learing exprence. it is high paced. good work. it depends how long you whant to be on the road.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at US Xpress. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 614 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0