US Xpress Employee Reviews

Found 568 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deliving freight
Driver (Current Employee) –  Markham, ILJune 26, 2017
Nice place to work for if you want to be over the road. Company i drove for ,you drive east coast, west coast. You have a joyous if you like to drive solo or team.
Pros
Steady work.
Cons
Not being home much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do NOT work here
Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Tunnel Hill, GAJune 26, 2017
They let the drivers abuse you and do nothing about it. It's a horrible job that requires medication just to cope with day to day. Nothing matters but if the drivers are happy even if they are the worst employees on the planet. I cannot recommend against this place enough.
Pros
Good Salary
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is work to be done
Driver Meijer dedicated. (Current Employee) –  Tipp City, OHJune 25, 2017
This is a job that can reward you one day and punish you the next. It is like going to the casino everyday and pulling the job leaver. Seniority is meaningless here you are just a guy at the window with a cdl every day. Management does the best they can they are polite and listen well. I feel bad for them because a lot of drivers are not seeing the big picture, they get a lot of flack for things beyond their control.
Pros
Steady work lax enviroment
Cons
no vacation mandatory six day weeks on holidays high insurance costs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Extended Coverage Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN 37421June 23, 2017
Extended Coverage Dispatching is not for everyone it is extremely fast paced. Good management. Very busy workplace culture. The phone call volume is high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newer Equipment
OTR Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJune 19, 2017
Good place for new drivers fresh out of school to start their career in driving. Management tends to come up with rules and don't inform the driver of the changes. I may have changed since I was there.
Pros
Not a lot of sitting.
Cons
Not enough time off and driving the east coast
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USX dedicated driver ( Cleveland, Ohio )
Dedicated Driver (Current Employee) –  Ashley, INJune 19, 2017
I'm a USX dedicated driver on the Family Dollar dedicated account out of Ashley, Indiana. To my knowledge it's one of the best accounts USX has. Pay is excellent. Be prepared to work. I've seen people come and go. This is no picnic
Pros
Pay, hometime, atmosphere, equiptment
Cons
Not home daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, can see people furthering themselves with them
Driver (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVJune 17, 2017
As with every driving job, do everything by the book and you are set. You start as teams and then solo driving unless you qualify to become a trainer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Shippensburg, PAJune 16, 2017
This company would be the best company if they decide to pay the driver a lil more money i was running 2,500 miles a week and was not even getting a decent check. But i love the system they treat you nice. And always have a load available
Pros
Nice equipment
Cons
No vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent learning experience
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJune 13, 2017
As hard as it was for a solo driver to learn the ins and outs of the road, tis was a good company where I feel like became stronger as I learn the trucking industry.
hardest part was learning the road, how to get to and from a place to either deliver or pick up.
I enjoyed the most the fact that I could drive a big semi truck all alone.
Pros
I learned the trucking indstry
Cons
Time away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Descent place
OTR Driver/trainer (Former Employee) –  Tunnel Hill, GAJune 13, 2017
This company treated me pretty fair and made me a driver trainer. I think the school needs to train the students a bit better though before sending them on the road with a trainer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report

Want to know more about US Xpress?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay far away
Account Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NCJune 9, 2017
Stay far far away from this company. The pay is good, but when you complain the will get rid of you for any reason. Cannot get rid of the whiniing union guys who complain all the time about minor things such as moving a box on the dock.
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks, higher healthcare than OTR carriers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent miles
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHJune 9, 2017
got me home when I needed. never failed to get me a load. runs were short for solo drivers. nice fleet manager. have called and emailed a lot since I quit
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Truck Driver Class A OTR (Former Employee) –  Tunnel Hill, GAJune 8, 2017
Friendly people. Works hard but pay is low. Not many jobs for experience drivers for anything local. Bonus is the only good quality of the pay. Finally have a veterans program
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pet policy
Driver (Former Employee) –  Austell, GAJune 5, 2017
Get into my truck and head to my customer for p/u of freight. Pretty much all trucking companies are the same when it comes to how they operate. The is pretty much the same everywhere to. And the waiting is hardest part of the job. the traveling to places you never been is cool.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad comunication between driver and mgmt
Driver (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaJune 5, 2017
Pay is decent. Good starter company. No communication and it's very hard to find empty trailers. Better benefits would be nice. Miles are hard to come by sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, lousy upper management
Parts Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJune 4, 2017
Former Parts Coordinator Irving Tx. Upper Management Sux. Coworkers friendly, but will throw you under the bus to protect themselves.
Decent Job, if you can stay away from the fakes and drama.
Techs will order wrong part and then blame you.
In short, Just do your Job and go home.
Don't get sucked into fake friendships, they will stab you in the back 1st chance they get.
Toxic work atmosphere created by Upper Management.
Pros
Work, 40 years experience in Parts industery, I know my Job
Cons
Upper Management, and Lies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Shippensburg, PAJune 3, 2017
It was so long ago it would be unfair to review but it was a good start for me no complaints here money wasn't great but like I said it was a good start
Pros
Terminals
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Over the Road Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJune 2, 2017
Not for drivers who want or need to be home regularly. I had to go to a different company to get away from training. Even if you fail a student. USXP will employ them anyway. This is a waist of good training.
Pros
Decent terminal facilities.
Cons
Treated as a number
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks when you dont have a load and you sit for nothing.
Logistics Driver (Former Employee) –  Berwick, PAJune 2, 2017
Lifestyle is a drag. Management sees you as a number; get in the mindset of it and things are dandy. Pay is OK too. Didnt get too know to many people cause my work ethic dosent make me stop to conversation, delivery, drop trailer, pick up new paper work, pick up new trailer, off to next destination.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good understanding in time of making delevier. Haveing good commucation.
Over the Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMay 26, 2017
A typical day was being out on the road daily in a different place.
Keeping up with your time of making your delivered on time.Dueling
pre and post trip of the truck. Being safe is number one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at US Xpress. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 571 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0