UBM Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking, smart, fun place to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJuly 27, 2016
Busy! This is a company on the cutting edge of the tradeshow business. Management if respectful and inclusive. Co-workers are driven and passionate about what they do.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting Company
Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 9, 2015
This is a company that travels throughout the States, helping contractors gain new Business. A fun and exciting company to work for. They have thrown several events in Las Vegas,L.A and New York.Management was supportive,my co-workers were team players. The hours were long but well worth it.
Pros
Free Trips
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very educated place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILMarch 13, 2015
A place that allowed me to continue to approve my skills, enhance my responsibilities and fulfill them. Hardest part of the job was working around hazardous conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to Work in beatiful Santa Monica
Account Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJanuary 20, 2015
Great people, great office, great work! Beautiful open seating office. Parties for all the holidays and birthdays. Close to the beach.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting jobs and people
Executive Site Assistant/Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 22, 2014
This was a general construction contracting company that worked on several renovation and expansion jobs in Chicago area. I learned a lot about bidding process, construction contracts and the hard work that goes into construction. The hardest part of the job is when the projects end and its contracted work so its on a job to job basis. The most fun part was seeing how nothing becomes something beautiful.
Pros
Working at the construction site and seeing the stages of progress
Cons
The down time if there not another project to work on.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dallas.Tx
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 28, 2013
housekeeping , clean and observe lobby quite workplace to power down.
Pros
indoors
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very responsible and pruductive
Janitor/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 16, 2013
A typical day at work would be being in charge of seven other persons and making sure they do their job right. What I learn about this job is that it takes a lot of effort to be in charge of other persons, but with the good knowledge and attitude you can accomplish anything. The hardest thing about my job was that it was a night-shift. Over all I did enjoy my job.
Pros
good healthcare
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a hazardous enviroment
Housekeeping / Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILAugust 10, 2013
Never got benefits or raises.

I worked at a refinery under UBM really hazardous place.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun hard working people
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Gardland, TXJune 12, 2013
-Busy atmosphere, keeps me on my toes.
-I learn how to keep my clients happy.
-Management is fair.
-co-workers are hard working.
-The most enjoyable part of my job is the people i work with.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
no breaks, no benifits, no 401K
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 30, 2013
The typical work day included building computers or laptops. Configuring and installing operating systems for each..
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer
Engineer (Current Employee) –  San FranciscoJanuary 20, 2013
Engineering, lots of hard work. UBM is mostly a media company. Tech is secondary to events.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible! A ton of turn over and no ethics
Sales (Former Employee) –  New JerseyDecember 7, 2012
This company seems great at first but once you start making a decent commission they will change your commission structure. If you continue to make good money they will then find an excuse to let you go. They still owe me tens of thousands of dollars in commission and beig that they are the third largest event corporation in the world it is seemingly impossible to get an attorney to go up against their large network of attorneys. Horrible horrible horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good "Mid-Career" Company, Not a Career Destination
Director (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 24, 2012
UBM subsidiaries offer sales professionals fantastic resume equity at lack luster compensation ranges. While the culture and leadership are a bit fractured and inconsistent, the upside of large revenue responsibility and key account face time make UBM subsidiaries a wonderful place to learn about the technology space on your way to more lucrative opportunities at true tech / Silicon Valley companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

See more UBM reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UBM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4