Find companies:
UC San Diego
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

UC San Diego Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Member of Accounting Projects (Former Employee), La Jolla, CAAugust 30, 2014
Productive and educational
Productive and educational
Productive and educational
Productive and educational
Productive and educational
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job with great benefits
Staff Research Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 2, 2014
Pros: benefits, retirement, stable
Cons: pay, work enviornment
The best thing about working at the University is the benefits. The pay is so-so, but they make up for it with great insurance and retirement benefits. They have everything covered: health, dental, vision, legal, life, disability, I'm sure I'm forgetting something because the list is so long. They provide health insurance once retired for myself and – more... my spouse. And if I die before my spouse, he will keep getting retirement pay and health coverage without me.

It is also hard to get fired or laid off. Being in research, we ran out of grant money and my boss had to lay me off. It was easy to move internally within the University to another research position. I did not go a single day without work.

As far as work environment, it is hit and miss. Each group is compartmentalized with their own "boss" and staff. They each have a different way of doing things. This can be good or bad. Also, with the University being so large and spread out, it can be hard to get to know people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working at the unversity
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 25, 2014
I have learned a lot in each department. I enjoy working with customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Volunteer Researcher (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 28, 2014
As a Ta :

I learned how to communicate with people, improve my speaking skills . How to manage little projects for students

As a Researcher:

The most valuable thing I learned was how to deal with conflict when the lab members had different opinions on an issue. I also learned how to be independent and do things on my own at times when members were – more... not interested in doing their part in a project completely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great environment to learn and grow.
Marketing Assistant (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 20, 2014
The University of California, San Diego is a great place to work, the ability to learn while actually preforming job functions. Collaboration with other departments and co-workers was highly encouraged and effective. Introducing new ideas was received with support and guidelines to bring the ideas to reality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clinical (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 17, 2014
This is a great place to work. They provide continued education, they are supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR (Former Employee), La Jolla, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: friendly and supportive staff, flexibility in scheduling
A typical day at work consisted of assisting students, staff, and parents with any questions related to enrollment and registration. I was able to multitask by handling a multiple lines and incoming students. I was also able to assist other staff members in the office with any ongoing special projects. I learned that going above and beyond will get – more... you far and also help you present a great image of the entire university as a whole. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun goal oriented job
Research Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: making my own hours
Cons: short term gig.
I was an intern working to help a professor compile resources for a book project. She was wonderful to work with and I learned a lot in regard to the process of book research. I didn't work with anyone other than my professor, but interacted quite a bit with the staff in the Literature department and they were all very kind and accommodating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching hospital.
Procedural Gastroenterology RN (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 1, 2014
Intelligent people coming together with varying backgrounds and intense research to generate the best outcome for patients!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical woman mismanged organization
Student (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: healthcare fraud and other healthcare related crimes are rampant due the the presence of pfizer inc.
UC San Diego is the typical woman mismanaged organization where person's of color are given special opportunities so that employment opportunities for white males can be reduced and white females can thrive in the absence of competition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job with a reputable employer
Event Coordinator (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 12, 2013
Pros: benefits package, staff appreciation events, job stability
Cons: career/compensation growth (especially if it is a union position)
UCSD has a great benefits package, but beware if you are in a union position, which is a majority of the positions in the UC system. It's a great stable job with a reputable employer. My position allowed me to speak with UCSD employees from dozens of departments and the underlying theme is if you want to advance in position or salary, your best course – more... of action is apply to higher classified jobs in different departments. Advancement within a department is oftentimes challenging especially if the department is small. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant / office location with a view
Secretary (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 6, 2013
Pros: great location
Cons: office politics
As receptionist, I provided secretarial support to the technical publications editor and then was promoted to secretary to the assistant director.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work with enthusiastic students and highly knowledgeable professors
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 9, 2013
My task is to answer students questions on various topics and it helped a lot to gain knowledge in various area and its wide variety applications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent place to work
Early Childhood Interventionist (Former Employee), La Jolla, CAOctober 5, 2012
I enjoyed working here was so beneficial that I hope to work in another lab at UCSD. The lab that I was working at ended so a review on it would seem pointless. Sorry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, low morale
Administrative Analyst (Current Employee), La Jolla, CAAugust 22, 2012
Pros: nice campus, pension plan (pays off if you work 10+ years)
Cons: parking is difficult for staff (and you have to pay $1k/year for it), no raises, below marketplace salaries, working more to make up for less staff
Staff morale is very low here. No one has had raises for 4-5 years and there is no end to the crunch in sight. There is more and more work and responsibility as staffers leave and their positions are not refilled, or work is shuffled from one closed office to another that still operates. It feels good to work for an institute of higher learning and – more... be dedicated to education, but at the end of the day, I am struggling to pay bills and see no opportunities for advancement, as much as I would love to make my career here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant III Facilities Management (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJune 19, 2012
Pros: great wheater, hiking, beaches
Cons: n/a
I worked as student worker where i spend most of my day in a office to do data entry. The supervisors were very helpful and understand that school come first so they let us take day offs during exams. the hardest part is to stay in front of desk for hours. but I enjoy talking with my coworkers and talking walk. UCSD has a very big community and it is – more... a great place to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge bureaucracy, but great supportive structure
Sr. Director of Marketing (Former Employee), La JollaJanuary 10, 2012
Pros: teamwork, benefits, campus resources
Cons: moves at a glacial pace, decision made by consensus
There is a huge respect for knowledge. Most decisions are made by committee. The university moves very slowly, but most people are very dedicated to their jobs and to each other.