Find companies:
UIC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

UIC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy afternoon officiating various sports and teaching new officials.
Intramural Supervisor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 9, 2014
Pros: convenient since it is on campus
Cons: very short breaks and little time to eat lunch
Work does not start until 4 pm to allow students to get out of classes. Intramural games last until about 11 pm. The work environment is very energetic and friendly as you get to meet many new people, who also enjoy playing sports. I have never had a problem with any coworker and many have become very close friends, which I spend time studying and going – more... out for lunch with. The hardest part of the job is dealing with participants who like to argue and do not have good sportsmanship, because they can injury our other participants, who would just like to enjoy the game and have fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Psychology research scholarship
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 6, 2014
Research Assistant—Undergraduate Research Scholarship
 Research study in Exercise Psychology with a focus on triathlon training
 Presented research results and theoretical conclusions in a university research forum
 Performed data and visual analysis of research outcomes on Mental Skills Training
 Conducted literature review on Mental Skills Training – more... articles
 Acted as the subject of the pilot study to obtain better perspectives of future participants – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Research Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), chicagoMay 28, 2014
coworkers are efficient. typical day is productive and efficent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is on campus research, made my knowledge more solid and more capable.
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago,ILApril 14, 2014
In this paid research job, I learnt how to conduct a research, what's the procedure and most importantly I learnt the right attitude which is strict and serious to do the academic research.
What's more, my programming skills get well developed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Portuguese visiting lecturer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 15, 2013
I have learned a lot working at UIC. People there are very professional and friendly. The students are great and enthusiastic about learning Portuguese and Brazilian Culture. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I am with my students. We have so much fun while learning and discussing each topic presented on class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Rated State University
Instructor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 21, 2013
I have worked as a Teaching Assitant and Instructot at UIC's School of Design and I have been extremelt fortunate to get this opportunity.
It gave me a chance to exhibit my skills and develop additional skills at the same time. I managed a class 15-25 students for 2 years and feel very confident about pursuing teaching as as Career option.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very public oriented
patient care customer service (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 22, 2013
Pros: helping those in need
Cons: seeing babies having babies
was able to help people with health care meet good people made me aware of teen pregnancy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Clinical Research Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 26, 2013
Learned so much from the management. The flexibility in work schedule is great. The people are great and work very hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A team work environment.
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 16, 2013
Pros: location, environment, and duties
Cons: hourly pay
My position at the University is very enjoyable. I process payroll for over 300 employees daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UIC
Senior Assistant to Director of Laboratories (Former Employee), UIC Chemistry DeptJanuary 10, 2013
It is a great place to work. Management looks after their employees and values their contributions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Always busy
Extra Help Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 4, 2012
Pros: free lunches
I learned a whole lot working at this clinic. My co-workers were very easy going and very informative. A typical day at work would definitely be described as a busy workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Web Developer/Analyst (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 12, 2012
I was working as a developer at UIC during my Master's degree. My responsibilities includes developing, building, content management, enhancing and maintaining the sites for the department. Management was nice and provided me help whenever I needed it, whether technical or personal. The hardest part of the job was I had to cope-up my studies along with – more... my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational job
(MERRP), Mathematics Instructor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 14, 2012
- tutored peers in Mathematics
- learned to teach others how to understand complex ideas
- managed all the tutors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 3, 2012
Pros: supportive
Cons: no insurance
Everyone was supportive, great place to network. always busy, able to work with children and parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Job i've ever had.
Parking Student Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 2, 2012
Cons: once you are no longer a student, your employment will be terminated
The whole experience was great and the compensation was even greater.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monotony
Staff Supervisor Facilities/Security (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 10, 2012
Pros: work at leisure
Cons: senior staff is disconnected
Lots of facilities work, senior staff doesn't agree on anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast-paced year that I will never forget!
President (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisApril 15, 2012
It was so interesting, inheriting the Presidency after the President left. I was voted in as Vice President. There were a lot of issues on the table, and I had to hire new assembly members; it was an extremely trying time! Some of the assembly members are very good friends to this day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse University
Research Assistant, Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 4, 2012
My experience is very diverse. Some people are nice to meet and you don't want to meet some of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee), 1309 S Halsted St Chciago ILMarch 8, 2012
Pros: u can be occupied all the time
Cons: its just the winter weather....
Couldn't have ask better than this...
had amazing fun
learnt a lot...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cadre de travail propice
Professeur Permanent (Former Employee), casablancaFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: horaires flexibles
Cons: manque d'avantages sociaux
un environnement sain pour travailler et progresser rapidement;
des conditions de travail convenables;
l'interaction et la transversalité des personnes et des fonctions