Find companies:
ULTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
509 reviews

ULTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DON'T DO IT
MANAGER OF OPERATIONS (Current Employee), Jackson MiSeptember 12, 2014
Company has a great core value, however the upper management hired. Works very unethically and treats all employees with disrespect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
straight forward and relaxing at times
Sales associate (Former Employee), Arlington Heights, ILSeptember 10, 2014
I would stock the products that would come from the trucks. The hardest parts were when we were understaffed and we would have a large shipment of products arriving. Dealing with my coworkers was the most enjoyable part
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting new retailer with growth potential
District Manager ; Pacific Northwest (Former Employee), Romeoville, ILSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: very fast-paced and allowed the use of many skill sets.
Cons: company grew too fast for corporate structure to keep up.
This was an opportunity to exercise my expertise in leadership of teams within a rapidly growing organization. I was able to work independently in the field with minimal supervision. Each day offered a myriad of opportunities to problem-solve, plan strategically, and refine communication with corporate office. I really enjoyed being able to make decisions – more... locally to ensure our profitability and stability.

The hardest part of the job was extensive travel and when the company went public in 2007, many of our entrepreneurial opportunities went away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work environment.
Prestige Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Blasdell, NYSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: little stress at work to sell.
Cons: lack of incentives to do better.
This is a nice place to work if you are new to retail. Sales associates don't have personal sales goals but are required to contribute to the goal of each department and line if working in the prestige department. Some heavy lifting is required if you don't work in the salon but it's not too bad. At times it may get hectic due to sales but nothing too – more... crazy. Good experience to see how every aspect of a store should be ran. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ulta
Stylist (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VASeptember 5, 2014
fun place to work. friendly people, lots of fun events. Flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun place but little hours
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Pinole, CASeptember 1, 2014
if your looking to have good hours try somewhere else. your mostly by yourself. you dont really work with coworkers only managemnt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive!
Hair Stylist (Current Employee), Springfield, MOSeptember 1, 2014
I love working in any salon, so ULTA is no different! I would just really like to better myself. A typical day is rather slow when building my business up. I get better everyday that I am working, it is just hard to better myself when business just isn't coming in. My co-workers are great! We all get along and work as a team. Its a good environment. – more... The hardest part is just getting the business in and staying busy. The most enjoyable part is that I am able to do what I love everyday! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
art and learning
cashier (Former Employee), Boise, IDAugust 30, 2014
Pros: meet all kinds of people
Provided excellent customer service.
Sterilization of tattoo equipment and shop.
Learned various tattoo techniques, as well as, researching art and artists.
Very competent in drawing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Operations/People Manager (Current Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLAugust 30, 2014
Pros: free product, fun work enviroment
Cons: no hours. part time less than 20hrs. full time never promised.
Ulta is a great company. Its a different approach on cosmetic retail, they really cater to all diversities. While working for the company the past four years I've really taken in a lot. Everything from skincare-cosmetics to hair and body. They even cater to MEN. The best part of the job is that you are able to network with so many different companies – more... and people there is always room for advancement. There's a fun and friendly staff due to ULTA taking pride in choosing the most bubbly approachable personalities to represent their company. The most enjoyable part of the job are all the freebies! You receive lots of gratis for trainings on new product lines and you are able to try the product in order to testify to it, how awesome is that!! I love the ULTA company and have shared many wonderful times as a member of management however my only suggestion is that the payroll for the company is something to take into consideration. The store is so set on opening new stores that they are not supporting the staff with payroll to deliver excellent customer service. Majority of the time when you walk into an ULTA store you notice the staff is very limited and for a cosmetic store you want to ensure that you have available help because make-up isn't self selling when you don't know how to use it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ulta salon hamburg NY
Cosmetologist, Conversion sales (Former Employee), Hamburg,NYAugust 29, 2014
Pros: 20% everything in the store. continued education.
Cons: management could have handled situations better.
Typical salon duties.
Learned sales conversions.
Management could have been ALOT better! (speaking as a manager myself)
co-workers were dramatic.. but friendly for the most part.
Hardest part of the job? With the hours I was working.. they wanted me to be part of their "path to abundance" program.. which was IMPOSSIBLE, due to the fact that the entire – more... program was specifically designed for full time staff.. Not part time.
Best part of the job... Seeing the joy on a clients face and in their voice when they left my chair 100% satisfied! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Task/Cashier (Former Employee), Marietta, GAAugust 27, 2014
poor management. Hired over 40 people & did not tell employees they did not have hours available never when store opened. Employees laid off with no discretion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, lively, and overall a great experience
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Lynnwood, WAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: discount on store products, frequent breaks
Cons: hours on a weekly basis random and sporadic, schedules occasionally change throughout the week without notice
Working as a beauty advisor for Ulta taught me the significance of team work, communication, and customer satisfaction in a customer oriented industry. The coworkers I have are overall fun and bubbly people, the managers prove to be understanding and open to any thoughts or concerns, and the overall treatment of the employees fair and pleasant. Since – more... this is my first job, I couldn't tell anyone how much better or worse this company is compared to other stores, but my only complaint is how absolutely inconsistent hours are. Some weeks I worked 15+ hours, others none at all. Also the schedules are occasionally changed without employees knowing. I've been "late" when my shift was bumped up two hours earlier and no one even bothered to call. I've also missed days I thought I had off when managers decide to once again change the schedule on me and didn't call. I don't know how common this is in retail, but it's honestly my only complaint otherwise. Just a bit more communication as far ahead as possible would suffice! Working in retail requires flexibility, but communication helps. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love being a part of a team that give customers hope of looking their best
Beauty Advisor/Skin Therapist (Current Employee), Memohis, TNAugust 24, 2014
Pros: access to new makeup and skin care products
Cons: n/a
I love being in an atmosphere that allows me to be in a position to help and educate customers on how to properly apply makeup and suggest products to fit their everyday needs. Most importantly, I love to educate them about skincare because if their skin is not in its best condition, then no amount of makeup can or will change their look.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ulta tracy california
leadership (Former Employee), go to back door u will seeAugust 23, 2014
Cons: no breaks, belittled constantly, no room for growth, you dont matter
company and especially this district (sacramento, tracy, stocktn) has the most horrible upper management ever. they have fired and replace every manager in that store for fake excuses. if they dont want you or like you they Will chase you out or fire you on some bogus reason. they have done it to every mngr in tracy as well as 75%of the staff. they – more... always say thet you are doing all this stuff wrong but then when you ask for help they wont lift a finger. plus they give promises that you work your behind off for and then turn around an give it to someone who didnt even lift any fingers. u will get no hours or benifits. they work u 4 hrs every 2 weeks thats all they wanna do. definetly DO NOT even try to work there if u wanna stay happy . o forget about breaks barely youre lucky if you get to take yours. the team in the store is fantastic but the district mngr and area mngr as well as the lp treat each associate like horrible so TAKE MY ADVISE DO NOT WORK THERE YOU WILL HATE IT nad B SORRY, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here.
BEAUTY ADVISOR/SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Sparks, nvAugust 19, 2014
No hours and no respect from anyone.You just work on the cash registers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gratis, cosmetics, and hair care
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Mesa, AZAugust 15, 2014
Pros: cosmetics
Cons: upper mgmt
It was a great atmosphere with all the cosmetics around. The upper management was not very discreet with confidential info. The designers should have been paid more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ULTA
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), Okemos, MIAugust 12, 2014
Ulta was great with helping customers and it taught me a lot on different brands of makeup.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Covington, LAAugust 12, 2014
great decent place with poor management. I worked as a cashier and as a stock associate, making sales of makeup and cosmetics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Educational Work place
Salon Manager and Master Stylist (Former Employee), Wellington, FLAugust 8, 2014
Great and equal advancement opportunities! the company is a great system and concept. With every corporation, there are bad seeds(co-workers) that may get hired, but overall I had a great experience with the company. I advanced at a rapid rate!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXAugust 8, 2014
Awesome place, loved my co workers, loved my management team. I did not get a whole lot of hours but all in all it was great working there.

1 2 3 4 5

About ULTA

Ulta Salon, Cosmetics & Fragrance wants to be every woman's ultimate beauty stop. The company operates┬ásome 450 stores in 43 states. – Read more