Find companies:
ULTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
416 reviews

ULTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company
hairstylist (Former Employee), GAApril 19, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
bad store & salon management. discount is a joke. co-workers are pathetic. hourly pay is even worse & so are the hours. they treat you like a child.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative atmosphere
Lancome Prestige Lead (Current Employee), Lake Forest, CAApril 17, 2014
Pros: free product
Cons: poor management, low pay
This is job for great experience. Company does not like to hire within and have poor judgment on hiring managers. Easy to partner with your co-workers for more creative products and I personally enjoyed building relationships with guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always A productive day at Ulta
Stylist (Former Employee), New Hartford, NYApril 17, 2014
Pros: awesome bunch of girls to work with, awesome discount.
Cons: going on the sales floor to bring people to the salon.
Always something to learn about color, cuts, gel nails , the hardest part was filling your booking when you didn't have clientele.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is fun however.....
Associate Manager People/Operations (Current Employee), Madison, MSApril 16, 2014
Pros: changes
Cons: payroll
I love working for ULTA......However there is NO WORK LIFE BALANCE!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your first job- ever
Sales associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 15, 2014
Pros: fun place
Cons: very low wages for amount of work
Great for someone who does not have any experience and is fine with working for minimum wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has so much potential!
Cahsier (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 13, 2014
Pros: parking garage
Cons: not a teaching evironment, no conversation aboutthe new things going on that are import to a cashier.
There's not much taught at this location because it is new.
The management has a lot to learn about running a store like this.
The employees are friendly and we try our best to teach each other what we know.
The hardest part is not being chatted in on what happened when you have not been on the schedule for weeks.
I am surrounded by what I love to do, – more... Makeup! The consumer wants people who want to show them how the product that they are planning to by works and I love to do that! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience in a rapidly growing company
General Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 12, 2014
Overall operations of the store. Rapidly growing company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Cashier and Sales (Former Employee), Denton, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: 25% discount on all store items
Cons: short breaks
I was hired on originally as a seasonal employee for the upcoming holidays in late 2013. I mostly handled the cashier and retail sales. A typical day would consist of checking guests out, answering questions about promotional offers, and restocking. The most that I learned in the short amount of time with the company was about the prestige cosmetics. – more... I learned proper application and technique as well as brand ingredients and information. All of my co-workers were upbeat and always in a wonderful mood. I always looked forward to a work day because of the pleasant atmosphere. The hardest part of the job I'd say was the standing for hours. At the time I was employed with Ulta, I was pregnant and the swelling of my feet contributed quite a bit to the stress of being on my feet for long periods of time, but I'm proud to say that I was able to perform my job with no complaints. What I enjoyed most about my job was the information I was able to learn about the products in the store. Helping customers find what was essential to their lifestyles helped me learn what people look for and what products I could recommend to help maximize optimum results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disfunctional enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rancho Santa Margarita, CAApril 9, 2014
Cons: no benefits
not a happy place to be, very stressful, Iwould not recommend this business to anyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and amazing customers.
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), North Olmsted, OHApril 9, 2014
Pros: make some amazing friends with employees, great discounts in the salon.
Cons: short 15 min. breaks on a 6 hour shift, unequal distribution of assignments.
I joined the Ulta team in 2013 for the opening of a new store. A typical day at Ulta consists of either opening or closing the store and in between interacting with customers and helping them find the products they need or services they wish to have done. Management seem to have a short sighted view on workplace relations and how the employees interact – more... with each other. But most of the time it is an amazing place with equally amazing employees that can make your entire day. The hardest part of the job would have to be accepting some of the decisions that management make, but it is part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEApril 9, 2014
if u love make up and customer service this is the js for you
very flexible for a high school student
caring managers
cool relaxed place except for when corporate comes to inspect lol
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love makeup this is the store for you
PRESTIGE CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Lake Forest, CAApril 8, 2014
I enjoyed the job. It was a retail sales position. I enjoyed the people I worked with. Not a lot of gossip going on in the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDApril 8, 2014
excellent place to work. You learn a lot about products. I loved working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment all surrounded by beauty
Cashier-Prestige Consultant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 2, 2014
There's nothing more satisfying than knowing you made an impact on someones day. Whether it be minimal or something big, it's still a heartwarming feeling. You learn to become very personable working so closely with co workers and customers. Lucky for me, we have such a bond between us it makes the hard times a little easier. A typical day can go from – more... simply cleaning and restocking your department that day to having makeup applications and wedding parties back to back, customers constantly calling for merchandise or complaints to having several customers wanting you to waltz with them down every isle throughout the store. And everything in between. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work, but poor management.
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), HanoverMarch 24, 2014
Pros: working with awesome brands and creative, talented people.
Cons: bad general manager
Obviously this job is going to be fun for any one that enjoys girly things like hair & make up, or working with people.. but management was horrid. Not all managers just the GM of Hanover, PA. She never considered any of the employees lives outside of work, she'd make last minute changes to the schedule all the time or give employees late notices of – more... mandatory meetings ON THEIR DAYS OFF, she'd treat unhappy customers like they did something wrong when it was a hair stylists mistake, and she'd never let the other managers handle things properly. She would also expect everyone to work on mandatory holidays, but would never schedule herself on those days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ulta
Skin Therapist (Former Employee), GretnaMarch 24, 2014
Pros: pros were working with wonderfl people in an upbeat and friendly atmosphere
Cons: cons are that it was part time and not enough money for being a licensed professional.
This company has such high hopes but failed to understand the location of this particular store is going to struggle. I enjoyed being with my co workers very much. We all got along so well. We were all a team no matter what department you worked in. Beings I have previous warehouse experience it was nothing for me to help them stock the shelves when – more... I didn't have any clients and they appreciated it very much, so much that I received recognition for going above and beyond by job title to help them. The hardest part of the job was learning the salonbiz system for appointments but I caught on very quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and co-workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMarch 21, 2014
Fast paced work environment. Co-workers became lifelong friends, good money and fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Sales Associate /Prestige Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Southaven, MSMarch 20, 2014
Cons: not enough hours
Ulta is a nice to work and a amazing place to shop there can be some changes within the store that could be made but its not a horrible place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a nice place to work. I really enjoyed the relationship that I had with my clients. It was a joy to assist them with their skincare concerns.
SKin Therapist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 18, 2014
Pros: able to utllize ulta's retail customers as possible clients, using great skincare with excellent equipment.
Cons: a reat deal of discounts on services make it extremely difficult to make the 43% commission.
A typical day for me was preparing my facial room for my appointments. Helping clients select appropriate skincare. It was like having my own spa, as I was left on my own to take care of my spa business.
The major challenge was keeping a steady flow of appointments booked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
CASHIER AND STOCK (Current Employee), Horseheads, NY 14845March 18, 2014
Great place to work. You are able to learn so much about the products. Very educated.

1 2 3 4 5

About ULTA

Ulta Salon, Cosmetics & Fragrance wants to be every woman's ultimate beauty stop. The company operates┬ásome 450 stores in 43 states. – Read more