Find companies:
ULTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
411 reviews

ULTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has so much potential!
Cahsier (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 13, 2014
Pros: parking garage
Cons: not a teaching evironment, no conversation aboutthe new things going on that are import to a cashier.
There's not much taught at this location because it is new.
The management has a lot to learn about running a store like this.
The employees are friendly and we try our best to teach each other what we know.
The hardest part is not being chatted in on what happened when you have not been on the schedule for weeks.
I am surrounded by what I love to do, – more... Makeup! The consumer wants people who want to show them how the product that they are planning to by works and I love to do that! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience in a rapidly growing company
General Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 12, 2014
Overall operations of the store. Rapidly growing company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Cashier and Sales (Former Employee), Denton, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: 25% discount on all store items
Cons: short breaks
I was hired on originally as a seasonal employee for the upcoming holidays in late 2013. I mostly handled the cashier and retail sales. A typical day would consist of checking guests out, answering questions about promotional offers, and restocking. The most that I learned in the short amount of time with the company was about the prestige cosmetics. – more... I learned proper application and technique as well as brand ingredients and information. All of my co-workers were upbeat and always in a wonderful mood. I always looked forward to a work day because of the pleasant atmosphere. The hardest part of the job I'd say was the standing for hours. At the time I was employed with Ulta, I was pregnant and the swelling of my feet contributed quite a bit to the stress of being on my feet for long periods of time, but I'm proud to say that I was able to perform my job with no complaints. What I enjoyed most about my job was the information I was able to learn about the products in the store. Helping customers find what was essential to their lifestyles helped me learn what people look for and what products I could recommend to help maximize optimum results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disfunctional enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rancho Santa Margarita, CAApril 9, 2014
Cons: no benefits
not a happy place to be, very stressful, Iwould not recommend this business to anyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and amazing customers.
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), North Olmsted, OHApril 9, 2014
Pros: make some amazing friends with employees, great discounts in the salon.
Cons: short 15 min. breaks on a 6 hour shift, unequal distribution of assignments.
I joined the Ulta team in 2013 for the opening of a new store. A typical day at Ulta consists of either opening or closing the store and in between interacting with customers and helping them find the products they need or services they wish to have done. Management seem to have a short sighted view on workplace relations and how the employees interact – more... with each other. But most of the time it is an amazing place with equally amazing employees that can make your entire day. The hardest part of the job would have to be accepting some of the decisions that management make, but it is part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEApril 9, 2014
if u love make up and customer service this is the js for you
very flexible for a high school student
caring managers
cool relaxed place except for when corporate comes to inspect lol
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love makeup this is the store for you
PRESTIGE CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Lake Forest, CAApril 8, 2014
I enjoyed the job. It was a retail sales position. I enjoyed the people I worked with. Not a lot of gossip going on in the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDApril 8, 2014
excellent place to work. You learn a lot about products. I loved working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment all surrounded by beauty
Cashier-Prestige Consultant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 2, 2014
There's nothing more satisfying than knowing you made an impact on someones day. Whether it be minimal or something big, it's still a heartwarming feeling. You learn to become very personable working so closely with co workers and customers. Lucky for me, we have such a bond between us it makes the hard times a little easier. A typical day can go from – more... simply cleaning and restocking your department that day to having makeup applications and wedding parties back to back, customers constantly calling for merchandise or complaints to having several customers wanting you to waltz with them down every isle throughout the store. And everything in between. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work, but poor management.
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), HanoverMarch 24, 2014
Pros: working with awesome brands and creative, talented people.
Cons: bad general manager
Obviously this job is going to be fun for any one that enjoys girly things like hair & make up, or working with people.. but management was horrid. Not all managers just the GM of Hanover, PA. She never considered any of the employees lives outside of work, she'd make last minute changes to the schedule all the time or give employees late notices of – more... mandatory meetings ON THEIR DAYS OFF, she'd treat unhappy customers like they did something wrong when it was a hair stylists mistake, and she'd never let the other managers handle things properly. She would also expect everyone to work on mandatory holidays, but would never schedule herself on those days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ulta
Skin Therapist (Former Employee), GretnaMarch 24, 2014
Pros: pros were working with wonderfl people in an upbeat and friendly atmosphere
Cons: cons are that it was part time and not enough money for being a licensed professional.
This company has such high hopes but failed to understand the location of this particular store is going to struggle. I enjoyed being with my co workers very much. We all got along so well. We were all a team no matter what department you worked in. Beings I have previous warehouse experience it was nothing for me to help them stock the shelves when – more... I didn't have any clients and they appreciated it very much, so much that I received recognition for going above and beyond by job title to help them. The hardest part of the job was learning the salonbiz system for appointments but I caught on very quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and co-workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMarch 21, 2014
Fast paced work environment. Co-workers became lifelong friends, good money and fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Sales Associate /Prestige Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Southaven, MSMarch 20, 2014
Cons: not enough hours
Ulta is a nice to work and a amazing place to shop there can be some changes within the store that could be made but its not a horrible place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a nice place to work. I really enjoyed the relationship that I had with my clients. It was a joy to assist them with their skincare concerns.
SKin Therapist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 18, 2014
Pros: able to utllize ulta's retail customers as possible clients, using great skincare with excellent equipment.
Cons: a reat deal of discounts on services make it extremely difficult to make the 43% commission.
A typical day for me was preparing my facial room for my appointments. Helping clients select appropriate skincare. It was like having my own spa, as I was left on my own to take care of my spa business.
The major challenge was keeping a steady flow of appointments booked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
CASHIER AND STOCK (Current Employee), Horseheads, NY 14845March 18, 2014
Great place to work. You are able to learn so much about the products. Very educated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would give 0 stars if I could
Makeup Artist (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COMarch 17, 2014
Worked there for lil over a year and did everything from truck, cashier task and prestige makeup artist. Horrible management who only looked after each other (all 7 of them .....yes 7 managers) , very deceitful making a lot of promises that were never kept. Thought that it's ok to schedule girls who've worked there for over2 years only 8 hours a week – more... and always saying corporates makin them cut hours. Then when getting a second job (cuz no one can live off that) manager bluntly says I don't work with other jobs ...
Then they're completely shocked that they have such a high turnover rate. But hey if you're desperate they'll take anyone anytime but don't be surprised when you think omg those reviews online were right this place is terrible. Just to be clear Idk what others are like but for the love of god save yourself and do NOT apply to Colorado Springs store 133. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ulta
Cashier/Customer Service/sales asscoiate (Current Employee), Abilene, TXMarch 17, 2014
Pros: discount, laughters, always room for learning
Cons: managers are not understanding, loose hours, not enough pay or hours to pay
My usual day at Ulta is nothing like any other job I have had. I do enjoy it very much. The people are great, I was able to make men and women feel confident again when walking out the door. I have had my difficult days with customers but they do come back knowing all of us at Ulta are trying our best to make every experience a great one. The hardest – more... part about my job is definitely the work schedule. It constantly changes, or you loose hours because the company doesn't have enough sales to pay you. To be honest, it truly does not pay the bills. All of my co workers are all one of a kind and there is good communication. We have lost a lot of good management within the last month. So this has made everyone else very stressed and wondering where the company is going. Over all, I will admit, to work here is way too much fun. The people are great and the environment overall is good, but I would like to find something that will pay more and help support my family's needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Sales Associate/Salon Receptionist (Former Employee), Naperville, ILMarch 17, 2014
great place to work, management great, cares, fun working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a girly girls utopia
Cashier (Former Employee), Florence, SCMarch 17, 2014
Greeting guest, advising guest, checking guest out
Restocking inventory
Keep work are organized and neat
Cross selling magazines
Most enjoyable part of the job were the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Educational, Practical
Prestige Manager (Former Employee), San AntonioMarch 14, 2014
Pros: lots of free cosmetics & education
Cons: the pay is light with little to no experience.
You Have to be a real self starter, you will not be recognized for advancement if you do not go above and beyond. Company would prefer an open schedule, but will work with you.

The hardest part of the job is pleasing clients and maintain corporate standards you are to be stretched thin as possible. Not a good fit for the faint hearted. Must be able – more... to avoid politics at all costs. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About ULTA

Ulta Salon, Cosmetics & Fragrance wants to be every woman's ultimate beauty stop. The company operates┬ásome 450 stores in 43 states. – Read more