Find companies:
ULTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
529 reviews

ULTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trendy, Fun, Motivational
Stylist (Former Employee), Holmdel, NJOctober 16, 2014
Pros: great interactions, great team
Cons: not enough hours, management wasn't very proactive
A typical day at work would be running around busy with multiple clients at a time all with color on their head. I learned how to work with a team very well and how to multitask, as my job had many different duties. I got along with my co-workers and many of them are still very close to me, we were a tight team. The hardest part of the job was around – more... the holidays when the salon and store would be slammed, but we always made it work. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with people, sales, and making women feel confident. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
skin care and makeup training
Ulta/Beauty Adviser (Former Employee), Huntington Beach, CAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: gratis, great work enviroment
Cons: not enough hours
I loved working for Ulta! The Managers and Co workers were a great group. We had advance training in Skin Care and Makeup. It was a great way to help people who needed help with questions about makeup and skincare that I would not otherwise be able to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Ulta
Aesthetician (Former Employee), Holyoke, MAOctober 13, 2014
Working at Ulta Beauty was very different from working in a Salon in that the potential clients are coming in to shop and try new products. I made new friends with the clients who came to see me regularly. The results that we were able to achieve for their skin concerns was rewarding to them and to myself in being able to assist them with their skin – more... care goals. Ulta Beauty wants their employees to succeed. They work with you to achieve personal and financial goals. I left only on account of moving to another city. I would work for Ulta again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wasn't satisfied with this position.
sales-stylist (Former Employee), Greenville, NCOctober 9, 2014
Pros: new company.
Cons: new company working out kinks!
I came into this company with many years experience. I worked part time for the company. I would be happy to work full time. There wasn't room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
receptionist (Former Employee), GAOctober 7, 2014
had a blast working at this salon and spa. great benefits. too bad they closed down
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very successful and busy company
Salon Manager/Master Designer (Current Employee), Rockville, MDOctober 3, 2014
I am in charge of staffing, budgeting, goal setting, event planning, guest complaints/concerns, as well as, maintaining a full clientele.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits that is all
stylist (Former Employee), Coon Rapids, MNOctober 3, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: retail managment, hrs, negative atmosphere
taking care of guests. answering phone calls doing the order, cleaning, making coffee, great benefits that is all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIOctober 2, 2014
Love working with people who share the same desires as me. Ive always been into makeup so to be able to sell it was amazing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New, exciting, and fun!
Prestige Consultant (Current Employee), Conroe, TXOctober 1, 2014
I had fun meeting new people every day! I also enjoyed playing in the make up and skin care products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse places to work
prestige (Former Employee), Culver City, CASeptember 30, 2014
Pros: cosmetics
Cons: management is horrible no work life balance
The first month I started working seemed pretty nice but they don't train you on anything before they throw you on that floor! With crazy customer's who steal and belittle you all day no payroll to hire cleaning crew so they slave you to do the job they hire you to do plus all the extra like a house maid the worse part the salon and the benefit girls – more... had to work double people would interrupt all the appointments they had because no one would be on the floor to help the customers who were shopping for cosmetics I rarely get hours so every prestige sales person works like two days for abour four hours ..........and are very random days they do change the schedule with out notice ... the management at my location was horrible the GM was so rude to the employee's and never was leading by example she actually would be late take extra long breaks have a nasty grumpy face all day never wore make up and her dress code never looked porefessional she then never corrects everyone on policy or procedures only the staff that she didn't like ...... I started noticing a pattern on the all the woman she had let go they were all beautiful bubbly personality kind a gals! The other managers just kinda don't say anything or do anything because they all kiss butt to her and agree with her to stay in good circumstances ......... they lack foundation so the store as a whole is a mess favoritism through management causes the employee's to lose interest in the work place hardly any incentives ...... no where to grow no motivation no raise ..... no hours ......dead end job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment!
Cashier (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: gratis
I greeted and assisted customers daily in purchasing items. I learned about the great variety of cosmetics, fragrance, and styling products. My managers were very down-to-earth but professional to work with. I enjoyed looking forward to going to work because I had a more positive outlook on life interacting in that type of environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products and discount but little else to offer
Cahsier/consultant (Current Employee), Macedonia, OHSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: good discount, great products
Cons: have to ask for your breaks, little to no hours, pay sucks!
No hours. Co. over-hired for grand opening and now has no hours to give their people. 3-5 hours a week isn't worth the time or gas to go to work. We were told to apply at Charmin Charlie's next door if we want more hours. Its terrible the way people are disregarded and the schedules come out at the very last minute as in the day before the work week – more... starts! Very unprofessional place. I feel used. Looking for another job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work. I got along with everyone.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 25, 2014
Came to work at four am, and would begin unloading pallets. I learned how to work with others at a fast pace while still having fun and being professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer service (Current Employee), Holly Springs, NCSeptember 25, 2014
I love working here there is just not enough hours to give out and little room for advancement in the company. The managers and co-workings are great and you learn a lot of lessons and builds your selling ability
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Professional Customer Service Based
Beauty Advisor, Sales Associate (Current Employee), Gainesville, GASeptember 24, 2014
Exciting and productive.
Customer Service
Excellent Management.
Excellent Co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caucasian individuals only
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), North Port, FLSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: discounts on products, services, flexible shifts, great pay
Cons: not an equal opportunity employer
this is a wonderful place to work if you love makeup , applying make up, and beauty products. You learned alot about new products and services. There are various shifts and great perks of working for ulta. Unfortunately the managers at this location got rid of everyone who is spanish or had a bit of color to their skin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Stylist (Former Employee), Ocala, FloridaSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: environment, management, employees
Cons: short breaks, long hours
I loved working there i had a lot of great experiences i wish i never had to leave. I actually had a child at the time and focused my attention on him so after my maternity leave i didn't come back to work. They were very understanding and wish i could work for them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plesant atmosphere
Licensed Hairstylist (Former Employee), Williamsburg, VASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: nice employee discount
Cons: no room for advancement
Over all the job itself was fulfilling but the compensation benefits and Management was terrible. Opportunity for advancement was poor they had their picks even though you had the experience and outstanding job performance was good they picked who they wanted to move up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with ambitious sales goals
Benefit Brow Bar Lead Arch Expert (Former Employee), Brentwood, CASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: occasional vendor gratis
Cons: healthcare, no training
My experience with Ulta helped me fine tune my skills in sales drive, and long term customer loyalty. Customer service has always been important to me, and my department not only excelled because of this, but I allied with other department managers to inter-personalize each client's experience. I inspired others to connect with the client, and created – more... an atmosphere of excitement and fun. Management was rarely cohesive, and this affected overall sales and store morale. The company has high expectations for hourly employees without any real incentive, a paltry benefits package and no training. The most wonderful part of this job were my clients, from educating them about products and services, to putting into their hand something they feel good about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First designer position
Skin Care Specialist (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: co- worker and the company
Cons: downsized right after 9/11
I like working for this company, this was my first design job. I was very excited and was really trying to do my best to achieved all goal they had set for me.

1 2 3 4 5

About ULTA

Ulta Salon, Cosmetics & Fragrance wants to be every woman's ultimate beauty stop. The company operates┬ásome 450 stores in 43 states. – Read more