Find companies:
ULTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
575 reviews

ULTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, hard to advance in the company.
Assistant Salon Manager (Current Employee), Northern, VADecember 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: unfair ways to advance
Stable work environment but managers are not qualified in their positions. It appeared that if you were not a part of the "clicks" you would not get any acknowledgment. Hours were constantly cut so there were not enough people to work. This problem left others to become overworked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Prestige Make-up Advisor (Current Employee), Hudson, MADecember 18, 2014
Pros: working with the newest products, work ethics
Cons: not enough hours
I actually have been employed when 2 ULTA stores were opened. First in Natick I was hired by Benefit to work on the Benefit Brow Bar. I enjoyed working there. Management was great. But the commute was intense.
Second, in Hudson I was late to apply for the prestige manager, esthetician or Brow bar expert. I am working as a prestige advisor. Once again, – more... management are extremely easy to work with. The hours are not there, I think they did not project it being a new store in a different geographic and what their market was. The company expected a higher volume. Thus cutting back on hours until the concept is truly understood in the area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Merchandise and service coordinator (Current Employee), Gadsden, ALDecember 17, 2014
It was great helping customers find new products and color matching them. I loved being in an environment where I was surrounded by what I loved. The hardest part would have to be how hard I would work. I am very young but my feet were swollen almost every day I would go home. My joints would hurt so bad also. You have to stand the entire time and it – more... catches up to you. Fun place to work though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Place Needs Peace and Serenity
Esthetician (Former Employee), Plano, TXDecember 17, 2014
Some of the management talks to you like your a child and your job isn't as important as theirs. The "check" point before you leave makes you, the employee, feel as if you need to walk in and out with NO clothes on b/c they search you like your a thief all the while they let the REAL thieves run out the door. Everyone seems to always be frustrated about – more... their job or life. They have high expectations for a low salary. Didn't end on a bad note, just needed a place to work where I could get more hours, and better pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall nice place to work
Associate Manager of Operations (Current Employee), Lafayette, LADecember 16, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: inconsistency and unbalanced quality of life
A typical day at Ulta requires patience, great problem solving skills, and the ability to be prompt and professional at all times. It is a diverse, fast- paced environment that is ever changing . Management is above mediocre but, as a whole, could benefit from some continued training and education in the forever evolving world of beauty and retail. – more... My co-workers are great people to work with but are stressed easily and require constant encouragement and support. Universally, our team does well supporting each other. The hardest part of the job is adjusting and adapting to rapid, consistent change with little to no warning while remaining positive and professional, keeping the team motivated and not overwhelmed and stressed. The most enjoyable part is being successful at the hardest part of the job and being appreciated for spreading the positivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ulta Review
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILDecember 15, 2014
Good place to learn how to properly handle customer service and get good experience with handling money. Management is easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed
Master Designer (Current Employee), garner, ncDecember 14, 2014
I worked at the one in Wilmington which has since closed due to the company going bankrupt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good career
o General Manager (Current Employee), slc, utahDecember 14, 2014
Good career; hard hours. .......................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service job
Guest Coordinator (Former Employee), Aurora, CODecember 12, 2014
I woke up every moring and went to work to have a different person do my hair, make up, and nails. Then I would call customers to remind them when to come in and if they needed to change it. I would make sure every customer was giving something to drink while they waited. I would also go on lunch runs if we where to busy. I loved this job so much and – more... there wasn't anything I didn't like, just the day I had to say goodbye to move to Texas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Salon Coordinator (Current Employee), Goodyear, AZDecember 10, 2014
Pros: none!!!
Cons: horrible place to work!!!!
RUN from this place, management will work you to the bone and want to pay very little, also management will stab you in the back as soon as they can to make themselves look better. They will also promote unqualified people over people with degrees, I don't understand their policies on how they can do this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For those who love makeup and beauty
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 10, 2014
Your day would be to generally cater to the customers who visited. Help the customers with selections that would better fit the skin type and color. I learned about many different skin care products, makeup, etc.. The team that we had was very respectful,loving, and helpful. The hardest part was to not to try to spend you whole pay in the actual store. – more... This store has lots of goodies for the women. I enjoyed going to work to meet new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can not keep a manager
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNDecember 9, 2014
It was good and bad. When I was employed, they were unable to keep a descent and professional manager. I did hear they have a new lady working there;however, I went in there as customer. She treated me like she had no time for me. She was very rude and was more concerned about getting me "out of her hair" then actually taking five minutes to inquiry – more... about a specific product!I've since moved on with a better company.I realize "World Class Customer Service". She treated me like "below class customer". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I get to work with people, and I had many responsibilities.
Beauty Associate (Former Employee), Gainesville, GADecember 9, 2014
Pros: i get to work with the public, and the team of people were very hard-working and reliable.
Cons: i did not recieve breaks on most days, and i did not make enough money to live off of.
I love working with people. I am currently obtaining a bachelors in Speech Communication with an emphasis is public relations; therefore, interaction is the base for my professional future. I was the lead over fragrance, and I was responsible for stocking, labeling, updating, and maintaining the fragrance section. I also delegated tasks to two individuals – more... who also worked in fragrance. I loved my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), chambersburg paDecember 5, 2014
enjoyed working with coworkers. good hours managment was a little behind
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big-box beauty retail store and salon
ASM, Operations Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 3, 2014
Supervise and oversee a $10+ million stores’ operations to drive store performance, superior guest service, and maintain operational excellence to meet or exceed established budgeted sales, control expenses, and achieve productivity goals; Hire and train new and existing staff; Motivate and coach staff to exceed daily goals on a pathway to advancement; – more... Manage the sales floor and drive both retail and salon sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upscale environment
ARCH EXPERT/ESTHETICIAN (Current Employee), BaltimoreDecember 2, 2014
Pros: great coworkers!
Cons: inconsistent income
Upscale environment, high-end products and services. Opportunity to use all aspects of my license.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ulta needs a lesson in Retail 101
Co-Manager (Current Employee), NJNovember 29, 2014
Pros: benefits begin on day 1 for management< generous discount
Cons: read my review
Where to begin? This company has the potential to be great. A beautiful store filled with wonderful products and a salon. It's a one stop beauty shop. Most of the employees share a love of makeup artistry, skin and hair care products which makes it a fun environment, That's where Ulta will come along and take the wind right out of your sails.

As a – more... seasoned retail manager of 12 years before joining the Ulta team, I was excited to work in such a successful high volume location. I thought it would be a challenging, fantastic learning experience. Challenging being the operative word here... I received minimal training. From Day 1 it was a scramble from upper management to get me "trained" quickly so they could pull my GM from our location to go and help the district as they were short a DM. There seemed to be NO CONCERN WHATSOEVER for the fact that I was not familiar with Ulta's day to day operations. In addition, I was trained for exactly 3 hours in the salon, which uses a complicated system that requires at least 2-3 days to grasp and is a completely separate entity from the store with their own procedures, sales goals, management etc.. The training program that Ulta has in place is through their Intranet system. It is actually very impressive with video clips, a manual, quizzes etc. Too bad I was given 3 days to learn 10 days worth of material. I was encouraged by my GM to "take the quizzes anyway" so that HR would think I had actually had time to complete the training. WHAT?! I have worked for several retailers. Good and bad...At the very least they all afforded me the ability to familiarize myself with their policies and procedures and take the time to train me. That NEVER happened here. In fact I was told they they did not factor in 40 hours a week for me to train so that would have to be cut from their budget by cutting someone else's hours. Baffling.

A typical work day was for me to come in, count the safe and set up the cash drawers, check email and previous days metrics and spend the remainder of the day ringing sales. Why? you ask? Because CUTTING PAYROLL should be Ulta's middle name. I had some incredible talent that was willing and able to work. However, I could not give them hours. The managers however, were expected to stay 10-12 hours per day, work during their lunch breaks or not take their breaks at all, give up days off etc. in order to pick up the slack.
For a company that promotes a high level of customer service and giving "WOW" experiences, they certainly do their clients and employees a disservice by never providing enough help for them on the selling floor. By spreading their managers so thin they they cannot effectively do their job..and by having absolutely unprofessional, out of touch regional managers who barely visit the stores, let alone actually take the time to converse with a store manager or co manager to get feedback. It was completely mind-blowing to me how this company stays in business. Oh wait, that's right..it's because they take back 10 year old blow dryers and accept coupons, Something that none of the high end retailers I have worked with EVER did. Why do those stores still have clients you ask?? Because clients appreciate good service, a clean fun atmosphere to shop in and knowledgeable associates that give them great advice. You don't necessarily have to be bargain basement to make a buck Ulta.
I am thankful for all the wonderful people I have met while working at Ulta. It made me realize never to take a good situation for granted again...I wish I could take them all with me as so many of them were frustrated and disheartened. Shame on you Ulta for your shady practices and for your lack of care or concern for your employees. A word of advice, with all the new openings slotted for the next year, you may want to take the opportunity to actually TRAIN them to become great associates...maybe post their schedules 2 weeks in advance so they can have a work/life balance? How about paying for exceptional talent rather than finding 3-4 sucker managers who will pick up the slack for your entire store team and work non stop for you? It;'s incredibly transparent what your business model is..and it's really disgraceful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing and fun work atmosphere!
Skin Therapist (Current Employee), Wheaton, ILNovember 24, 2014
Pros: awesome co-workers, fun atmosphere, amazing clients, decent breaks
Cons: minimum wage, traffic of customers/potential clients is slow
My typical day at work involves greeting customers and trying to convert them into getting a service done (facials, microdermabrasion or power resurfacing peels) as well as making sales within my stores main focused skincare brand called Dermalogica. I've learned how to gain clientele and to keep my clients coming back for more. The management is great, – more... my GM and all other managers are so kind and caring to every one of us. As for my co-workers, they've become family to me and they are always willing to help you out with anything at work. There is nothing but all smiles and laughter throughout the work day. Everyone is so outgoing and fun to work with, there is never a dull moment. The hardest part of my job as a skin therapist is making sure I get as many rebooks with my clients as possible. What I do enjoy most about my job is the smile a client gets on their face after looking into a mirror and the gain of confidence in themselves after they've had a service. They're always amazed by how much of a difference they see in their skin. It's an amazing feeling seeing how much of a change you've made to an existing clients skin and watching how much progress has been made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company with empty promises and under qualified management
Senior hairstylist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 18, 2014
Pros: open schedule
Cons: poor management and no way to move up
i started out very happy with ulta moving up in the ranks and making good money but when i inquired about management training all i got were empty promises and never ending expectations while continuing to fill the positions i was being promised so there was never a position open for me. instead they chose to hire those that they could pay less such – more... as people who had only been in the salon industry for a short period of time or maintained a cosmetology license while working other jobs in other industries and had not been in a salon in several years. management is over worked and under payed so no one stays for long i saw 5 managers in 5 years. clients recieve an expierence similar to walmart with people shopping all around them and kids screaming yet they pay prices that are the same as high end salons with a more relaxing personal expiereice. stylists are treated like retail employees instead of licensed professionals they are often asked to help at cash registers when not with a client and are not allowed time off from november to january. ulta does not do any marketing they believe in growing through word of mouth so it \is up to eac stylist to do their own martketing themselves – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a life in the beauty world
task (Current Employee), Hodgkins, ILNovember 18, 2014
Pros: free 15 min break, good discount
Cons: overnight shipment is hard, not enough hours, constantly cutting shifts
Working at Ulta is a great experience. Beauty, skin, hair, and appearance is something many women seek out to improve or to try new trends with, assisting and giving advice about products and boosting confidence is a great job.

A typical day at work for me is usually arriving before the store opens to do planograms. Planos is my main job, and fun also. – more... A plano is rearranging shelves, prices, graphics according to new items that brands come out with. It's basically following a map of the shelf and putting things in the right spot accordingly. I am also trained on register as backup for long lines but typically not my job.

Once a week I do an overnight shift from 9pm to about 3am which can be hard and tiring, not for everyone.

My co-workers are trendy, fashion forward, nice, and kind. Management is okay, but communication between them can be improved.

The hardest part is of course, a retail setting, and keeping a smile on at all times even if being mistreated. Keeping up with constant mess of the store. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About ULTA

Ulta Salon, Cosmetics & Fragrance wants to be every woman's ultimate beauty stop. The company operates some 450 stores in 43 states. – Read more