Find companies:
ULTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
575 reviews

ULTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity
Prestige Consultant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 17, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: nothing
A back-to-school event involving styling various models in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beauty Fads
Cashier (Former Employee), Medford, ORNovember 17, 2014
Pros: product knowledge and information
This company is a great place to learn of all the new trends and makeup techniques. The wide verity of brands allow you to choose the right make-up raging from price and category variations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I help consult skincare/beauty inquiries and transactions.
Prestige Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCNovember 17, 2014
A typical day at ULTA as a Prestige Beauty Advisor would consist of helping customers find exactly what they want when it comes to cosmetics and/or skincare. I also help with financial transactions and maintain a clean work environment. I help customers match thier skin with a satisfying foundation, concealer, and/or other beauty product to fit their – more... need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 15, 2014
Pros: fun envirement
Cons: short breaks
decent place to work. fun envirement. I worked as a cashier mostly even though my job title is beauty advisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major cosmetics chain of retail stores
Stocker / Cashier (Former Employee), Tyler, TXNovember 15, 2014
Working for ULTA, Inc. was an enjoyable experience in a fast-paced retail environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun working with so many products
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Longmont, CONovember 15, 2014
I love helping customers out with products I know and being able to sell what they want to them or have them upgrade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working AT Ulta.
Master Stylist (Former Employee), Asheville, NCNovember 14, 2014
Pros: education provided, career advancement, and clients.
Cons: management unstable.
I enjoyed working at Ulta. Work for Ulta was a different matter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job has incredible potential, my manager is just horrible
Prestige Beauty Consultant (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALNovember 12, 2014
Pros: being around beauty products, discounts, some education
Cons: bad management
I feel this is a decent company. Excessively high goals that are just used for motivation, but still are highly running and making a profit. I think this job would be better if I had a better manager. She distributes hours HORRIBLY. She gives them all to her friend (Manager-like hours for a Part-Time employee), while last week I got 6. The discount – more... is okay. 25% regularly and 35% (was 40%) for the holiday discount. Also get 50% off at the Salon which is awesome. But this job could be better if I had a better General Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Manager (Former Employee), ohioNovember 12, 2014
Growing company, still haven't worked out all of the technical kinks, no work life balance for Salaried employees. Quick to let retail level endure complaints and not help to resolve important issues. Co workers are wonderful and want to move into upper management but no training is offered for internal movement. Hard to balance all of the checklists – more... etc. on a daily basis. Deadlines are not clear and no support or recognition from a DM level only corrective action before knowing situations, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed this Job
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Deptford, NJNovember 11, 2014
I enjoyed the customer service I was able to bring to our customers here. I enjoyed the people I worked with. We worked as a team and got things completed in a timely manner. I learned as hard as it is the customer is usually right, even though they are not. The hardest part of my job was knowing when someone was in the store stealing and there is really – more... not much you can do about it. Keep your eye on them, yes somehow get a manager out there or get them on camera.
My work day consisted of organizing and setting up planograms and ad sets. As well as making sure on a delivery truck day that the inventory coming in was organized and assigned to employees to be put out on the floor asap, and in the most effective way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too MUCH DRAMA
Associate Manager (Current Employee), Garner, NCNovember 9, 2014
Upper management tried way to hard to get rid of previous manager's employees. Didn't appreciate what they had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Job
Administrative assistant (Current Employee), Atlanta gaNovember 7, 2014
Great job if you like makeup and customers. Lots of great products to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly customer service oriented position
Arch Expert / Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Silver Spring, MDNovember 6, 2014
A typical day at Ulta Beauty is to meet and greet our customers and answer any questions or concerns that he/she may have about makeup and skincare needs. Also performing eyebrow and face waxing when requested.

The hardest part of this job is not being able to please everyone all of the time. However, the most enjoyable part is when are able to satisfy – more... someone and send them away with a grand smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good fit for a professional
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Seattle,WANovember 3, 2014
Pros: great health benefits
Cons: too many to address
The upper management at Ulta is not equipped to handle the position they hold.
The system put in place doesn't do what they preach…. Team work really? I hardly think so.
Cutting hours ,taking clients away and not having the correct time to coach.

Ulta is growing too fast and doesn't have the right people in place to make it happen.
Good luck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Albany GaOctober 30, 2014
Pros: great team and managers
Cons: not enough hours to make it work a 30 minute trip 2wice a week for.
I loved working at Ulta it was an ideal place of business that i was lucky enough to get hired at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Stylist (Former Employee), Humble,TXOctober 29, 2014
Pros: benefits, managemant, advancement, and compensation
Cons: store hours
This could be a great place to work but the hours are crazy!! Advancement is good but not hard to get. The drama was little to none, but that has a lot to do with management.overall a great place to work if you can work there hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Associate Manager (Current Employee), new york, nyOctober 29, 2014
Typical retail, not much too it. A lot of focus on selling and numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
schedule all in obund freight
Receiving/Scheduling Clerk (Former Employee), Chambersburg, PAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: new building
Cons: pay rate
work closely with receiving supervisor, assist in running the department. Resolve all receiving issues through SAP system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Clinique Counter Manager (Current Employee), Gilroy, CAOctober 27, 2014
great place to work very fun and satisfying. great people to work closely with and get ideas from
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not your average salon
Stylist (Former Employee), highland indianaOctober 27, 2014
Got hired to work full time with benefits but was never told if salon budget was not met then hours would be cut. Minimum wage was hourly pay and no benefits were given.

About ULTA

Ulta Salon, Cosmetics & Fragrance wants to be every woman's ultimate beauty stop. The company operates¬†some 450 stores in 43 states. – Read more