Find companies:
ULTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
485 reviews

ULTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love makeup but bad management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Evansville, INJune 4, 2014
Fun fast paced environment with out dated registers that freeze. Most fun part is trying makeup on others making them feel beautiful. Management is sub par. I think it would be much more enjoyable with a more organized manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AM
Associate Manager (Current Employee), RIJune 4, 2014
Run sales floor
Makeup applications
product knowledge
payroll control
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience for a first job.
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Hanford, CAJune 4, 2014
Pros: good first job, learn alot
Cons: management lacks skills, and no constructive critisism
I learned a lot from this job, as this was my first real retail job. I learned a lot about merchandising and NPS. My coworkers were some of the best, I can honestly say we will be friends for life. The hardest part of my job is probably doing truck, and the fact that there is no feedback from management. You never really know if you are doing wrong – more... or right. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Hamburg, NYJune 3, 2014
normal day is stock/ cash and help customers. learn about different makeup and hair products. some issues with management/ lack of managers needed. nice coworkers. enjoyed helping customers and learning about makeup
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY Few Hours, Even seasonal hire, my hours got cut
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 2, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: hours, pay, communication
Now being hired on as seasonal, I expected to have few hours, but not so few that even when I was on my way to work, management would call me and say, we have to cut hours this week so don't bother coming in. Even on one of the busiest days of the holiday season (Black Friday) I went in at 3 A.M and when i got there, the floor manager says to me " we – more... were going to call you and ell you not to come in but we figured you were already on your way here...." meanwhile they were sending people home around 6 or 7 but I was there until almost 9....I'm not usually one to complain but I genuinely thought that this job was going to be very different than it was. Only a few people were friendly, mostly the prestige consultants... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Cashier (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARMay 29, 2014
Pros: associate discount, get to play in make-up all day
Cons: management, no hours, no job stability
Of course you'll still have a social life because you'll only get 5-15 hours per week. NO benefits. Associate discount is great, but there is no job security. They randomly let people go due to "budget cuts" and the pay is unreliable. One week your check will be $300, the next it will be $15. Not a job to have if you have bills. Its a teenager job at – more... best. The management is rude, condescending, and always on two different pages so if you do what one manager tells you to do, you will still get reprimanded by the next. Schedules are given out whenever management gets around to it so you can never make plans around work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but inviting workplace
Prestige Sales (Former Employee), Greenville, SCMay 27, 2014
On a typical day your interactions with customers are very demanding but extremely rewarding. Its unfortunate that there are not many advancement opportunities as it is a very small intimate environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume fast paced workplace. Very Demanding
Merchandise Manager (Current Employee), Ocala, FLMay 24, 2014
Pros: gratis for work accomplishments
Cons: low pay, benefits, schedule
Typical day includs interacting with various guests with all different wants and needs. Learned about beauty and fragrance and product knowledge. Most enjoyable is the challenge of being a man in a store more geared towards women and products and the obstacles to overcome to connect with the guest. Hardest part of the job would be the first hand knowledge – more... of how the products looks/feels from my point of view. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing People
Material Handler (Former Employee), Bolingbrook, ILMay 23, 2014
Cons: gates lock, and dogs
you meet new people you learn to overcome your fears and also you communicate more and learn more about the neighborhood
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best places to work
BEAUTY ADVISOR, MAKE-UP ARTIST & STORE CLOSER (Current Employee), Henderson, NVMay 22, 2014
Pros: free makeup
Cons: short staffed
learned alot in sales and customer services. This company does a lot of training in product knowledge with is good they like educating there employees on product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with great attitudes
Cashier/Task (Current Employee), Katy, TXMay 21, 2014
Overall I loved being the first and last person a costumer sees. I loved the smiles I was happy to see everyday and the many thank you's I got. Very fun place to work at. I had an amazing team that will always look out for eachother so that means I was NEVER alone. If I needed help I can always go to my co-workers. The hardest part of my job was the – more... hours were not always the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Beauty Adviser (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 21, 2014
Cons: better hours
I really like working here. Only complaint is that they need better hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work laid back job.
Cashier/ Sales Representative (Former Employee), odessa txMay 20, 2014
my day at work was go in greet every customer, cashiering, make sure everything was clean and organized, front face, and put up displays.
learned more on cashiering and being a good peoples person.
management was great was always on top of everything.
there's nothing really hard about working as a cashier or with people.
I loved the people I worked – more... with they were all s nice and It was good meeting the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Port Chester, NYMay 19, 2014
worst job ever. I recommend that no one ever applies for this job . This company should be closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite part of my job is developing, coaching, and mentoring people to their full potential.
Salon Market Trainer, Salon Manager (Current Employee), Lisbon, CTMay 19, 2014
Great, fun, fast paced environment.
Typical day is reviewing payroll for my home salon, and the 11 other salons in the district.
Coaching, developing, and mentoring staff
Exceeding in operational excellence
Train and onboard all new Salon Managers, and salon staff in new locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company whose focus is money and not people will not last long.
Prestige Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), USAMay 19, 2014
Pros: i love my fellow employeees. we have a great team. we get each other through the day.
Cons: it's a terrible place to work.
Ulta is a company that is very focused on the bottom line. There is no focus on customer service or employee training or satisfaction. I would never work for this kind of a company again or encourage anyone else to do so. I prefer a business whose focus is happy, fulfilled, well-trained employees and 100% guest satisfaction. Ulta has only one goal - – more... money. It is an incredibly oppressive and embarrassing place to work. In 40 years, this is the only bad company I can ever remember working for. I hope to be gone very soon! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very livley and fun
Cashier (Former Employee), Tukwila, waMay 17, 2014
Pros: gradis, coworkers
Cons: managment was iffy, not professional
It was a pleasure working at Ulta Beauty, There of course were some bumps in the road but at most jobs there will be, and I take what's given to me and work with it. it was fun, colorful and a pleasure to work there for as long as I did
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with creative minds
Esthetician (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEMay 15, 2014
I enjoyed working for Ulta and saw the advancements within the company. Its exciting to see people growing within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dedicated task team
Task Team, Customer Service (Current Employee), San Bruno, CAMay 14, 2014
hard working
dedicated
create positive environment
great management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspire beauty everywhere awesome business concept
Manager (Current Employee), South, FLMay 4, 2014
Pros: developing employees and watching their growth.
Cons: dealing with sometimes guests you can never please nothing is good enough
Great place to work, managing others and coaching and mentoring professionals for growth. While meeting guests and helping them make the right decisions for hair and skin care

About ULTA

Ulta Salon, Cosmetics & Fragrance wants to be every woman's ultimate beauty stop. The company operates┬ásome 450 stores in 43 states. – Read more