Find companies:
ULTA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
414 reviews

ULTA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive Enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 18, 2013
Maximize sales, while performing guest merchandise checkout
Handle sales, returns, and exchanges.
Inform guest of current promotions, event and services within the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job.
Stylist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 17, 2013
I had fun styling at ULTA. My clients did not ever complain, but were not unhappy when I decided to move to a more advanced and established salon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you have great managers then it will be the best place on earth.
Sales Assocaite (Current Employee), FLDecember 15, 2013
i love going to work everyday sometines it doesnt feel like work at all. BUT! when we recently got new management it kinda went down hill. But as a team were making the best of it and i love these guys their all my family we take care of each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great co-workers.
Cosmetologist/Receptionist (Former Employee), Longview, TXDecember 14, 2013
Pros: work get togethers, rewards for be of and beyond work/behavior
Cons: problems with management that affect the whole team
A typical day at work for me at ULTA was opening the store ready to start the day, getting my station ready for clients, meeting clients and making sure they walked out with a smile on their face from the experience, manning the register when needed, and helping anyone around the store. I learned a lot from the company and my co-workers. We all worked – more... well together and were able to quietly and quickly fix any problems between the team. My immediate management was fantastic and kept everything & everyone working smoothly. The hardest part of this job or previous jobs was making sure that the customer was happy, and although I pride myself in that area, some clients/customers are never happy. My goal in every area of my life is to see everyone in a smooth running flow with everyone in a good/productive mood! What was most enjoyable to me working for ULTA or anyone is to be heard by also being respectful to those above me. One thing I've learned from the beauty industry is it is important to make people smile, have fun within the boundaries of work, and staying cool, calm and collected. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job in part-time beauty retail
Prestige Consultant (Former Employee), Naperville, ILDecember 12, 2013
Pros: great training by vendors
Cons: too much task oriented
This company has a great presentation of beauty products.
The hardest part of this job is that it started out as doing makeup on guests and ended up doing tasks because of cutbacks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service, cashier, and train new cashiers.
LEAD CASHIER (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXDecember 11, 2013
Greet customers, check customers out, process returns, assist with closing or opening of store. Train new cashiers. Enjoyed working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast paced environment, tons of knowledge!
Esthetician- Benefit Brow Bar (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 4, 2013
Pleased to work with amazing people in a great environment surrounded by a wonderful clientell looking for new makeup!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macon Store #350: Theft & Internal Conspiracy from General Manager & Prestige Manager
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Macon, GADecember 3, 2013
Pros: great customer service from part-time associates & benefit brow artists.
Cons: poor management by general manager & prestige manager, lack of customer service by general manager & prestige manager, favoritism by gm & prestige manager, theft & conspiracy by gm & prestige manager.
The Prestige Manager is currently & has been stealing products from the Prestige Department of ULTA at the Macon Store #350. As soon as other employees began to notice the theft The GM & Prestige Manager began to devise how they could eliminate the employees who were on to their illegal behavior. The GM has been covering up for/concealing the Prestige – more... Manager's illegal behavior. After 2 employees shared their concerns (including proof stolen items by the prestige manager) with the GM, both of those concerned employees were fired without reason, warning or explanation. Payroll has been manipulated by the GM & Prestige Manager, though the Prestige Manager, as outlined in the ULTA Policy Handbook does not have access to the office nor does she have access to payroll. The GM is giving her keys to the manager over the prestige department, thus allowing the 2 of them to sit in the office and manipulate employees' time worked; therefore, employees and other parts of management are not receiving full pay nor benefits including paid time off and 401k. Loss Prevention has been contacted and the store is currently under investigation for illegal activity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been a great job
Merchandiser (Former Employee), North Port, FLDecember 3, 2013
Pros: free items upon starting
Cons: very vague about job
Loved learning about the product and seeing how many different items they had to offer. They give you coupons for free items to try which is great. Management was friendly and had high energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Stop Beauty Shop
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Apple Valley, CADecember 2, 2013
I love working at ULTA. Everyone is so nice and friendly. Basically when I get there I clock in and we have a chat in which lets us,the employees know what is going on in the store fore that day. Throughout my shift I engage with customers providing them with beauty knowledge as well as restocking,updating vestcom strips, and facing products. Once I – more... know what I am supposed to do for my shift every part of work is enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family, terrible hours
Prestige Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Issaquah, WADecember 2, 2013
Pros: great environment, good perks
Cons: no hours
They hire more people than they need so there's no hours to go around. But everyone's like a family and they're great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't like strong work ethics or rule followers
Associate Manager (Current Employee), NO WHERENovember 30, 2013
It is fun place to work, but there is always drama. I don't think they like people with a strong work ethic or employees that follow the rules. My direct manager is a joke, and even though I have complained numerous times, they just sweep everything under the rug.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and fun workplace
Cashier/Prestige Consultant (Former Employee), Modesto, CANovember 29, 2013
Pros: awesome staff
Cons: part-time
I loved working for ULTA and was very sad to leave. The managers and all other staff are super friendly and always helpful. They work around your other job schedules and are very understanding. You also get a great employee discount!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work communication needs works
Redken certified stylist color trainer stylist (Current Employee), N/aNovember 27, 2013
Pros: great product and good discount
Cons: not enough hours hardly any atta boys over worked and way under paid
Ulta is a great company with lots of goals and getting there hours are minimal and work is hard but it can be a great company to work for ... There needs to be better communication in management to many hands in one pot ...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't waste your time applying for this job
prestige consultant (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 23, 2013
Pros: free products sometimes
Cons: no breaks, pay, hours
working for ulta was a JOKE. the hours were scarce your hired on as one thing but end up doing another. It was so frustrating working for a company where there store hours determine if you will get hours the nest week. one week i would get 29 hours the next week id have 15 because i was been sent home almost everyday. The pay is alright but if you wont – more... work enough hours its not point in driving in! i spent most of my checks putting gas in my tank. I did like the management for the most part and the employees but i didnt do my job. i was stuck either on the register or doing things in the back but we were expected to meet a very high sales goal every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work besides a few disappointing things.
Prestige Makeup Artist (Current Employee), Minnetonka, MNNovember 23, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: difficult scheduling, lack of communication throughout management and associates.
Associates are required to be very flexible, as you will be working positions other than what you were hired for. Management is friendly, but could improve their communication amongst each other and staff. The most enjoyable part of working at Ulta is the one on one time you get with customers. They appreciate your help and are typically very loyal – more... customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience I've ever had!!!!
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLNovember 22, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: everything
Opened as salon manager and brought "stylists with a book " I've been in the beauty industry for 28 years owning my own salon and looked forward to bringing my experience to grow ultas salon .our GM was a 28 year old Control freak , who in reality new nothing! the salon market trainer was a joke who actually insulted me verbally in meeting (she was – more... the furthest thing from trainer ive ever seen )
my life is to short to be so miserable I'm so glad to be out of there!!!
WOW – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beginners Beauty Store
Prestige Lead (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZNovember 20, 2013
I enjoyed organizing, booking, and facilitating in store events. The events were great for the client's and gave vendors great sales opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive busy job, not all management is on the same page
Retail associate (Current Employee), Plano, TXNovember 20, 2013
Pros: employee discount, guest servicing
Cons: short staffed, bitter attitudes between coworkers, not all the staff is on the same page
Basic day of work, come into the store. begin working as soon as you get there, even if its a few minutes early.
Not all the employees, including management are on the same pages, with current ads, or with procedures.

I have learned a lot working here, and I love it. Yet at the same time there are a lot of things I disagree with.

The hardest part – more... of the job is coming into work, and dealing with disgruntled, negative co-workers.

The most enjoyable is spreading beauty for each and every individual personality. The appreciation you receive from the little things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Ulta Beauty, Syracuse, NYNovember 19, 2013
Ulta was a fun place to work because employee's got to test out all of the latest products.

The one thing that I didn't like about Ulta was that they lacked diversity.

About ULTA

Ulta Salon, Cosmetics & Fragrance wants to be every woman's ultimate beauty stop. The company operates┬ásome 450 stores in 43 states. – Read more