Ultra Electronics Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at with basketball court
Software Test Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Severn, MDJanuary 12, 2018
Testing software through front end GUI and back-end database. Hands on experience with server and software testing. Great team and colleagues a fun place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management
Manager (Current Employee) –  USAOctober 4, 2017
Lack of leadership, vision or accountability is common within upper management. Solid work is produced by staff and the products developed by engineers & manufacturing are innovative and tip of the spear. Standard offices and cubes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Material Supply Management/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Columbia City, INAugust 31, 2017
even tho you work 10 hour days a week and on your feet the whole time, its a very fun and relaxed placed to work even tho its fast paced. having 3 day weekends was a bonus!
Pros
3 day weekends and decent benefits
Cons
standing on your feet for 10 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots and lots of work
Intern (Current Employee) –  Columbia City, INAugust 27, 2017
In general, I love my job. I never have "boring" days because things are very fast paced and constantly changing.

Many of the upper management under-value and under appreciate the people that are the life blood of the organization.
Pros
Not boring
Cons
Under-valued compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Engineering Work
Senior Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDAugust 20, 2017
Overall interesting work environment. Been allowed to expand my engineering knowledge and experience into other areas. Interacting will fellow employees due to multiple locations is a challenge. All in all a positive place to work with good people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJune 29, 2017
Repaired ID badge printers and took care of customers over phones for troubleshooting on customer printers . Repaired printers to component level . Small company here in states but owned by England
Pros
Excellant working conditions
Cons
did not pay very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Environment with great potential for advancement
Director of Information Technology (Former Employee) –  Omnitech Business Park, Victor, NYJune 27, 2017
Great Company to work for. The Staff are high energy, motivated individuals that work well together to create an excellent work environment. The company recognizes the value of its employees and go about and beyond to ensure adequate training and support are available to ensure continued productivity, and employee satisfaction.
Pros
Coffee / Snack Room, tuition assistance, great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent work environment with great benefits
Soldering Technician (Former Employee) –  Yaphank, NYApril 11, 2017
Everyday I was instructed on my task to complete in the morning upon arrival. Aside from the general lack of transparent communication and job advancement, Ultra Electronics was a decent company to work for. In my opinion the management could use better communication and workmanship. The workplace culture was typical and that of a calm and collective workplace environment. I learned lots about the reading and understanding of schematics and following proven systems. The hardest part of the job were the coworkers and dealing with workplace issues. In my opinion the most enjoyable part of the job was the knowledge of building for military grade vehicles.
Pros
Education advancement abililty
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for hard worker
Technician (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSMarch 10, 2017
This is a great place to work as long as your willing to work your shift and follow the rules. Too many people here like to complain about ICE, but people who quit usually try to get their job back because they go somewhere else and see how good they had it here.

The benefits are great, the work hours aren't unreasonable and the company is growing which means the wages are increasing. Most of the people who complain about this place have either a bad work ethic and have to be babysat, or just plain don't show up for work and want to be able to show up whenever they want with no repercussions. Grow up people, this is the real world!

I love my job here and can't wait to be a part of where this company is 5-7 years from now!
Pros
Upward mobility, raises every year and maybe even a bonus, 401K with employer match up to 4%, paid sick time and vacation time, tuition assistance
Cons
You have to not act like a millennial scrub (not a con for me, but apparently for the other person who wrote a review for this location)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is fast paced
Solderer/Assembler (Current Employee) –  Columbia City, INMarch 5, 2017
Very fast paced. Jobs are easy to understand. They give you a chance to aquire on the job training for soldering certificaton. Another great advantage is that they offer a four day work week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military quality with positive results.
Assembly production (Current Employee) –  Columbia City, INFebruary 13, 2017
Very productive with high quality products. Company gym available to all employees very nice place to work. Management is very hands on fast pace assembly.
Pros
Ergonomics required
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest HR and awful management
Electronic Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSFebruary 11, 2017
Wage, duties and benefits were all misrepresented during the hiring process. Company had been purchased by larger firm which focused on profits to the point that they overwork staff by requiring overtime, pay 25-40% below industry standard, and have deliberately falsified data in various stages of production and billing. Entire night crew was laid off and day shift was expected to perform the combined work of two full time shifts during mandated 50 hour work weeks. Local management had a combined zero years experience in the manufacturing of electronic components, and absolutely zero interest in day to day activities except for shipping quotas. To this point staff left in droves, from the lowest ranks to middle management.
Pros
Heathcare package is acceptable (assuming non-tobacco user)
Cons
Pretty much everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
FACILITIES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Victor, NYDecember 12, 2016
I would get there at 6:30 am and work until 3 pm. Everyone was nice and the company has a great balance. They would give you your birthday off. Great days off for the holidays.
Pros
Pay rate, hours I worked
Cons
nothing!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New owners for about 9 months
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 27, 2016
Good place to work. Owners were very helpful. Made thermocouples for industrial furnaces. Did TIG welding of MGO almost every day.
worked with many types of stainless steel pipes daily.
did assembly work and brazing. Management and co workers were easy to get along and work with. Put in many hours in each week.
Enjoyed working there for 30+ years.
Pros
New owners kept company intact. Business as usual.
Cons
Decide to move production to Texas. Could not relocate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Financial Analyst, Contractor (Former Employee) –  Braintree, MAJuly 12, 2016
i was only there a few months and was laid off. they did call me back once the work picked up. i already had a full time job but would have gone back there if i didn't
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company on the downhill side.
Senior Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Manassas, VAJune 29, 2016
This company can not get out of its own way to move past the handout status. Last I heard the doors were closing and work was being moved to other companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sr. Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 13, 2016
This was actually a very good place to work. I did not stay too long. The traffic was bad and I had issues with the type of work. Aside from that by boss was great and I enjoyed the co-workers.
Pros
Fruit bar, work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Manufacturer of Industrial Sensors and Equipment
Project Manager | Development Engineer (Former Employee) –  Round Rock, TXSeptember 25, 2015
Difficulty finding business and keeping employees. Work force is aging and not growing and educating younger employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team
Bookkeeper/Buyer II (Current Employee) –  Annapolis Junction, MDJuly 15, 2015
Such a fun team of people to work with, as work out with.

I am so sad to see that we have not managed to obtain any new work in the past 3-1/2 years, and that the two (2) DoD contracts that we had are coming to an end this month (July 2015).
Pros
Fun, professional team
Cons
No new work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an interesting and unique job
Machine Room Assistant/Operator (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJune 15, 2015
Its not a job for everyone, but it is unique and you learn many new things. You get to work with different departments and learn how to do many things if you're in the right position. Holidays and vacation time is great and it has decent benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ultra Electronics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 79 reviews
519
426
320
25
19

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture