UMass Boston Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass Boston
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  CS DepartmentOctober 4, 2017
I'm glad to be a student employee here. Most of the staff are nice and friendly. Especially in Computer Science Department and my Professor. They have travel funding for PhD student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 14, 2017
Nice place to work for if you are work study student. Learned a lot and the managers were nice and willing to help students if needed. Will highly recommend.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Institute Workplace
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 13, 2017
AV Technician role.
Learnt how each classrooms are connected with the latest gadgets.
Was taught how to repair any technical glitch that may be faced during presentation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Building Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 26, 2017
It's a fun workplace, strongly recommended to work there. I love working there. This job give you the opportunity to meet some notable people.
Pros
Free food
Cons
can't recall any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting time in korea
Student (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 10, 2017
i had a lot of fun during my study abroad experience. i was able to learn about Korean art through the study abroad program and manage to visit different museums around Seoul.
Pros
easy transportation, costs of food.
Cons
language barriers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 12, 2016
I had a great experience in UMass Boston. The teachers and classmates are all friendly. With their help, my research has a good start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment and training
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 6, 2016
-A great group of people to work with
- Flexibility and it helped me since I was a student while working
- great training and teaching new skills
- highly convenient
- great management
Pros
salary
Cons
slow pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Building Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 15, 2016
best experience of my life. great place to work, made everything easier with school and work. help me grow as a person. I enjoy working there, great environment, great co-workers and overall best place. Friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for school
UNIX Operator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 17, 2015
Great job for learning and continuing school school. It will help improve your skills in a low stress environment.
Other words, more things, I apparently didn't put enough here so I guess I'll just keep writing.
Pros
Good for school
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Office Suite Receptionist - OSLCE (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA, USAOctober 17, 2015
Because I am a current student at UMass Boston, it is very helpful to have a job on campus in which I can be productive in terms of both school work and tasks for the job itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College job
Sports Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 22, 2015
This was a college job not really too hard just needed something to do over the summer. Pay wasn't really there but it was something to do over break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the University of Massachusetts Boston
Writer and Editor for Department (Current Employee) –  DORCHESTER, MAAugust 26, 2015
UMass Boston is an ever changing environment that constantly strives to better itself. Although the university is currently in a transitional phase as it undergoes its 25 Year Master Plan, its administrative team works around the clock to make sure that student experiences are the best they can be.
Pros
Fun, fast paced and progressive work environment located next to the beautiful Dorchester Bay
Cons
Due to construction, parking can be difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Arabic tutor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 12, 2015
i went to school here for 2 years, the school is beautiful but old, and the college advisors are terrible they do not do their job properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run state institution
mid-level supervisor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 26, 2014
Cronyism is rampant in management. Very little room for growth and advancement. Lives up to all the negative stereotypes of a state-run institution.
Pros
If you wish to cruise in your career, this is a great place to work.
Cons
Inexperience and insecure management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Administrative Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 3, 2014
The environment is quiet and somewhat laid back. I learned that working in a college, there are very busy days, especially when students need to see their advisors. A typical day at work consists of copying and transporting papers to different departments of the college, data entry, and filing student folders. The management and co-workers are very nice, but very dedicated to their jobs. They are comfortable for me to interact with. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to put my skills to use and learn new things as I go along to update my skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collected data and performed data analysis, including familiar with Bloomberg terminal
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 22, 2014
• Performed data analysis for the professor’s research projects, including familiar with Bloomberg terminal
• Collected data and analyzed various stock/bond’s reports with Excel skills

The hardest part of the job is that I always to make sure everything will be prefect, so that I require my works will be better than yesterday.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I can discuss my ideas and methods to better my works with my professor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning experience
IT support to students and faculty (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 3, 2014
I enjoyed this job very much because it was working with computers and that what I love to do. I learned a lot from my employees. The hardest part of the day was when there is downtime but when there wasn't i was always on the go.
Pros
Meet a lot of different people.
Cons
only an internship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's nice to assist Teaching and Learning Mission at school
Wheatley Media Lab Operator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 14, 2014
I learn how to assist Professors, Staff and Students of UMass Boston for their teaching and learning duty. I am very happy to think that i m a part of making a better and greater UMass Boston
Pros
Nice Supervisor, Nice co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment and helpful people around
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 30, 2014
Great Place to work at. I personally had a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at UMB
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 25, 2014
Work environment was great the boss was concerned about my daily life, concerned about me as a person. Enjoyed working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UMass Boston. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
4.3
Culture
4.3

UMass Boston Reviews by Location