Find companies:
UMass Medical School
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

UMass Medical School Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAAugust 24, 2014
So much fun and you learn so much. You can develop your skills a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Project Assistant II (Current Employee), Worcester, MAMay 12, 2014
Pros: i am able to take time off for doctors appointments when needed.
Cons: parking.
I work for two Principal Investigators (PI'S) in the department of Medicine. I am the Project Assistant to both and work on each of their scientific grants, a U19 and a P01 respectively. My job entails, monthly financial reports, meeting with them to go over spending on said grants. Purchasing of supplies and other miscellaneous Administrative work – more... as they come.

My co-workers are very good, knowledgeable individuals.

The unfortunate part of my job is being laid off. Without grant funding I will be laid off once again. This is nerve wracking and I just want to work someplace where there is no fear of being laid off, I would like to retire in the same place.

The hardest part of my job is dealing with PI's who just do not listen and just think things can get done last minute which constantly puts more and more stress on an individual. I work without complaint and do the very best I can.

What I enjoy doing best is the Administrative assisting. I like booking travel arrangements, reimbursements, scheduling faculty/visitors.

My background is not accounting and this is the part I do not like. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workday with team oriented people like myself :)
Senior Data Analyst (Former Employee), Shrewsbury, MAMarch 25, 2014
I get to work say hello to everyone and get started with my day. I learned Data Entry and the manager was very informative. I didn't have an interview I just went to this job and started working and I did very well I must say. My co-workers there were very helpful and friendly. The hardest part of the job was leaving after getting to know people there. – more... I enjoyed going to work everyday working independently and getting the job done. I really enjoyed working for Umass Medical and would go work there again if I had the opportunity in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Veterinary Technician I (Former Employee), Worcester, MAFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: good compensation
Cons: poor working atmosphere
Worst management in my entire career, poor work environment, the employees are very downcast and discouraged
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptionally kind, professional colleagues
CGI Consultant (Current Employee), Quincy, MAJanuary 29, 2014
I feel very fortunate to work for CGI, as it is the best culture of any company that I have worked for. My colleagues are all very professional yet so very friendly and kind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company - Small Department feel
Project Coordinator/Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Shrewsbury, MANovember 25, 2013
Pros: working on a very important project, which allowed my to multi-tasking and utilize the majority of my skills.
Cons: frequent change in upper management. eliminating consultants.
Initially, I enjoyed the culture of the company. However, after upper management changed 3 times, so did the culture. I was however, part of a small group of individuals that made the organization feel like a small company, which was nice. Although the company was very large, being part of the 'small' group I could see where I had an impact on the company. – more... I enjoyed being part of the project I was working on. Everyday I experienced something new and was continuously multi-tasking, which I enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. Application Database Developer, Tech Lead (Current Employee), Shrewsbury, MAOctober 17, 2013
Interesting and challenging workplace. Joined UMASS as a contractor and was hired as full time employee and have been very satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, cutting edge
Assistant Professor/Principal Investigator (Current Employee), Worcester, MAOctober 3, 2013
Pros: great resources, lots of really bright people
Cons: little support for junior, non-tenure track faculty
For scientists, UMass is a great place to work if you become tenure track faculty with a start-up package. For those who work their way from post-doc to faculty the road is much more difficult, the job security far less stable, and promotion quite difficult. In large part this is because without a start-up package you do not immediately generate the – more... papers required to get the first grant.

My co-workers have always been great, but my supervisor has shown incredible lack of professionalism, clarity of expectations, and absolutely no mentorship. I know this is an aberration, as I have many friends and colleagues who really appreciate their mentors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
LPN (Former Employee), Shirley, MASeptember 13, 2013
Pros: cheap lunches
Cons: working with inmates
was a great place to work, with great staff. good team work shown
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAAugust 1, 2013
• Administering and proctoring several exams throughout the academic year, typing correspondence, memoranda, reports and minutes, filing, and maintain filing system, etc.
• Responsibilities included coordinating travel arrangements, travel reimbursements, telephone appointments, and meetings
• Office Management
• Assist with other duties/projects as – more... assigned – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work environment that was small that allowed me to learn many aspect of the department.
Project Assistant II- (Former Employee), Shrewsbury MAJuly 9, 2013
The entre department consisted of 4 personnel that utilized 130 personnel schedules to service the medical schools with Massachusetts. I had the pleasure of working with many interesting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass Medical School
Administrative / Financial Assistant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAJune 18, 2013
Pros: diverse department always changing leadership
Cons: no career advancement
I started in 1985 as a medical secretary working for 2 extremely busy orthopedic surgeons. My responsibilities were all medical transcriptions from clinic visits. Travel Reimbursement
In 1990 I changed from Orthopedics to urology as the division secretary. In 6 months I was promoted to the Division Manager responsible for budgets, recruitment of faculty, – more... residents and secretarial support. This position was eliminated in June of 1995.
I temped in Human Resources from July of 1995 to May of 1996, at which time I was hired as an administrative assistant for Facilities Management. During my time there I was promoted to a financial analyst IV and then to an Administrative Assistant III. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMass Medical School
Full Time Medical Assistant (Former Employee), FraminghamApril 8, 2013
An exciting and rewarding career. I gained many valuable skills and knowledge while working for UMass Medical School. However, lack of staff, having to stay for double shifts, and the long commute time were a few of the drawbacks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse job I ever had
Technical Coordinator (Former Employee), Charlestown, MAFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: plenty of vacation time, holidays, sick time. easy job.
Cons: high turnover rate, too much drama, poor management, hr always sides with management, lack of leadership and direction from up top, poorly structured organization
UMASS is divided up into many smaller units each with their own structure and culture. There's a lack of leadership guiding the units so the directors of each unit does whatever they want without repercussion from upper management or human resource. If you're fortunate enough to fall into the correct unit then the job here should be fine, but if not, – more... run. Run and don't look back. This place is a career killer. Job advancement and movements within the organization is nonexistent. Gossip, drama, and backstabbing is high and encouraged. The turnover rate is high, I've seen half my unit fired or quit in 2 different instances in 2 years (a unit of 15 people). I wouldn't wish employment here on my worse enemy. – less

February 23, 2013

Let me guess. Provider Compliance Unit in Charlestown?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Care Partner (Former Employee), Fitchburg, MAJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules and i learned a lot.
Cons: it was only a grant so it had to end.
I loved working with different families and learning about their cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be better
Administrative Assistant I (Current Employee), Worcester, MADecember 14, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: salary, too much work, shuttleing, pay to park
Too much work and employees are underpayed. To many inconveniences.,., pay to take shuttle, pay for retirment, pay for union,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 hours of traveling to and from work a day
Regional Centralized Scheduler (Current Employee), Shrewsbury, MADecember 12, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: traveling
I have enjoyed working for this company but the traveling is taking its toll on me and am looking for something that would be closer to my home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to gain experience
Health and Safety Associate (Current Employee), Worcester, MADecember 11, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: poor salaries
Job is difficult at times but rewarding, learned many new aspects of an academic environment, some good some bad. Very difficult to implement new programs for researchers but makes you think outside of the box.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Service Provider Coordinator (Former Employee), Shrewsbury, MAOctober 24, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: some managers need more training.
Some managers are not well organized and don't know how to support hard working employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for research
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee), Worcester, MAOctober 16, 2012
Enjoy the research enviroment.

A typical day starting with many experiments. What I learned is to well arrangement of your work. Think more and do in a correct way.
Cooperation is really helpful for the progression of projects.
The hardest part is you found the projects have no way to go.
The most enjoyable part of the job is you can write the paper – more... to publish. – less