Find companies:
UMass Memorial Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

UMass Memorial Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greet patients, family ,friends when they arrived, smile and be ready to help
Ambulatory Services Rep (Former Employee), WORCESTER MAOctober 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches, learn about situations, treatments
Cons: short breaks, get in touch with very ill patients .
The work place is where we spend to most of our time during the day,so it's important to love what we are doing.
The most enjoyable part my job it's definitely the fact i get to connect with lot of people and use my knowledge in the way that i can .So that everyone who gets to meet with me will compliment me for doing such a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pediatric Intensive Care/student
Student in the Pediatric ICU (Former Employee), Worcester, MAOctober 29, 2014
• Pediatric Intensive Care, highly skilled using PB 840 ventilator
• O2 administration, asthma patient education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been with UMass for 11year and, the learning experience, benefits, the envioroment, the culture is great.
Nurses Aide (Current Employee), Worcester, MAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: getting paid to study.
Cons: short breaks
I get to work at 8am, swipe in, and check the board to see what I have to do for the day. My recent position at UMass is a coder trainee at their coding institute. We start our day by going over the previous charts that we coded for corrections. We take a coffee brake at 10am for 15 minutes the back to the classroom for 1 hour lectures. By 11am we start – more... going through new charts. Between reading charts and coding then, we manage to check work emails and do other stuff. Patients charts can have up to 150 pages and up to 30 codes. we take our lunch break at 12 noon and come back more coding till 4.30pm. I always take my coding book home to read the coding rules to prepare for the next morning.
I have learned a lot from this institute. My co-workers are great with team work. The hardest part of all is locating some of the codes are very difficult. Depending if every thing is documented well in the chart or not.
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with 3M billing and reimbursement. It's very fan, and can't wait to work full time with it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bone marrow registry
Donor Recruitment Services (Former Employee), Worcester, MAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: great cause
Cons: poor management resulted on closing
Escalation phone call management for volunteered donors who did not understand the explanation of benefits from their INs. company. Lots of followup to comfort donors for their participation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for someone with medical background
Sr. Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Worcester, MAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: free training and seminars for continued learning in the medical field
Cons: very busy environment and can be stressful at times if you are not used to alot of stress
UMass is a nice place to work with up to date technology and knowledge in the field of medicine. The training is ongoing and the environment and education is growing each and every day. A typical work day is from 8 to 5p along with temporary and part time positions. I learned how to work with all types of people and also I grew to be very caring and – more... personable with all I came in contact with. My co-workers were another reason why I loved going to work. We all worked as a team and supported one another. The hardest part of the job was the developing relationships with the patients and trying to not make it personal. I treated each person as if they were my family. The most enjoyable part of my job was the amount of friendships and seeing patients and co-workers happy. And knowing that my work was responsible for putting a smile on someone's face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Client Service Specialist (Former Employee), worcester, MAOctober 8, 2014
o Answered a high volume of calls and also made a high volume of calls.
o Reported Critical, Positive and urgent results to health care providers within the hospital and other health care facilities.
o Provided proper test codes and how to properly collect the blood for the test.
o Set up and scheduled pick up’s and drawers for our outreach clients.
o – more... Registration for some of the outreach clients. Inputting patient’s demographics and the proper testing that was needed.
o Added test on into the computer that doctors wanted.
o Did some scheduling. I would be charge when my boss was out of the office. Ordered all the office supplies.
o I have knowledge of MS office Suites, Sorian Medical program, Cosmocom phone system, Salesforce and Meditech.
o Trained new employee’s – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive pay, flexible.
Medical Office Assistant (Current Employee), Community Medical GroupSeptember 27, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job besides helping my patients is that every day is a new learning experience; it's never the same.
My co-workers are team players.
My typical day at work is very busy and always keeps me on my toes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bit stressful, but overall a nice place to work
Medical Technologist (Former Employee), Worcester, MASeptember 1, 2014
A very busy lab, unfortunately was bought out so lay-offs had to occur.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with very supportive and intelligent collegues!
RN (Current Employee), Worcester, MAAugust 4, 2014
Great hospital that provides a very good learning and teaching eniviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to expand your horizons
Observation Assistant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: expanding your knowledge to mamy different things
Cons: boring
Hospital setting providing one to one observation to patients at risk of injury to self or others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Financial Counselor (Current Employee), Worcester, MAJune 24, 2014
Umass has a different work enviornment. see other UMass memorial medical center review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place with wonderful staff
Registered Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Worcester, MAJune 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: sometimes short staffed
MY TYPICAL DAY...
Hit the ground running, we start the day at 8am, and when i get here there are already patients waiting to be roomed, in between the rooming of the patients i will check my task list with any triage calls
and try to call these patients in between, also do the refill line, and the constant stocking of the rooms and the immunization – more... room, we also have nurse visits, that have to be done, b12, depo, missed
immunizations, ppd plants. Also during the day I look ahead and
print all the labs for the patients coming and or call them to remind them to please get there labs done. During the day i get numerous calls from my established patients with many questions, and also the calls from the vna. We are also responsible for sending out all the lab letter to the patient with normal labs and further work up needed.The hardest part of my job is just trying to get it all done and to keep everyone happy and safe. The most enjoyable part of my job is the patients and helping them, I get alot of joy from that, i love that they call me and ask for me by name, I feel like that i really make a difference here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Affable, good interpersonal relationship
Finance Intern (Former Employee), Worcester, MAMay 21, 2014
Great place to work. Managers and Directors are affable and always willing to give a helping hand when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inpatient Case Manager/Emergency Room (Current Employee), Worcester, MAMay 15, 2014
Great Place/Busy Atmosphere
Dedicated Staff
Educational
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Process Improvement Intern (Current Employee), Worcester, MAMay 1, 2014
Great place to start your internship and career.
management is nice
senior leadership is always improving for the better of the organization
great coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fast paced
Transplant Financial Coordinator (Current Employee), Worcester, MA 01655April 28, 2014
Pros: helping people
Cons: too many deaths while waiting for organs
I love my job. I love working with patients and assisting them with securing insurance coverage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great experience
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAApril 22, 2014
it was a good environment to work in, the staff and the patients was very pleasant to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and developmentally rich place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE FELLOW (Current Employee), Worcester, MAApril 19, 2014
I work as a healthcare administrative fellow, and truly enjoy the flexibility of my work. I enjoy my co-workers and even the challenging assignments are rewarding when completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My years and experience at UMASS
Secretary (Current Employee), Worcester, MAApril 17, 2014
Pros: benifits are good and day hours
Cons: working everyother weekend and everyother holiday
I have enjoyed my job @ UMASS for approximately 34 years.
I enjoy the medical field because of the interaction daily of many people, and the skills that I have learned over the years. I work very hard to keep well organized and like to keep structure in my assigned duties. I have learned compassion and communication and expression through a positve – more... attitude helps daily.
My job can be very stressful at times and I have to know how to multitask and keep a positive enviroment around me, which can be difficult but possible...The hardest part of my job is the loss of a patient but we have support groups that help with that. The best part of my job is the sucesses that come back to visit us.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first Nurse manager hierd me out of nursing school
LPN (Former Employee), Worcester, MAApril 8, 2014
Pros: the benefits, the patients
Cons: no comment
From all my years at Umass were the best. I started as a CNA,Medical Assistant and worked my way up to becoming and LPN.

1 2 3 4 5

About UMass Memorial Medical Center

At UMass Memorial Medical Center, we understand your need to make a difference. To give your best to your patients. The opportunity – Read more