Find companies:
UMass Memorial Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
78 reviews

UMass Memorial Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with very supportive and intelligent collegues!
RN (Current Employee), Worcester, MAAugust 4, 2014
Great hospital that provides a very good learning and teaching eniviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to expand your horizons
Observation Assistant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: expanding your knowledge to mamy different things
Cons: boring
Hospital setting providing one to one observation to patients at risk of injury to self or others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Financial Counselor (Current Employee), Worcester, MAJune 24, 2014
Umass has a different work enviornment. see other UMass memorial medical center review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place with wonderful staff
Registered Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Worcester, MAJune 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: sometimes short staffed
MY TYPICAL DAY...
Hit the ground running, we start the day at 8am, and when i get here there are already patients waiting to be roomed, in between the rooming of the patients i will check my task list with any triage calls
and try to call these patients in between, also do the refill line, and the constant stocking of the rooms and the immunization – more... room, we also have nurse visits, that have to be done, b12, depo, missed
immunizations, ppd plants. Also during the day I look ahead and
print all the labs for the patients coming and or call them to remind them to please get there labs done. During the day i get numerous calls from my established patients with many questions, and also the calls from the vna. We are also responsible for sending out all the lab letter to the patient with normal labs and further work up needed.The hardest part of my job is just trying to get it all done and to keep everyone happy and safe. The most enjoyable part of my job is the patients and helping them, I get alot of joy from that, i love that they call me and ask for me by name, I feel like that i really make a difference here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Affable, good interpersonal relationship
Finance Intern (Former Employee), Worcester, MAMay 21, 2014
Great place to work. Managers and Directors are affable and always willing to give a helping hand when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inpatient Case Manager/Emergency Room (Current Employee), Worcester, MAMay 15, 2014
Great Place/Busy Atmosphere
Dedicated Staff
Educational
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Process Improvement Intern (Current Employee), Worcester, MAMay 1, 2014
Great place to start your internship and career.
management is nice
senior leadership is always improving for the better of the organization
great coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fast paced
Transplant Financial Coordinator (Current Employee), Worcester, MA 01655April 28, 2014
Pros: helping people
Cons: too many deaths while waiting for organs
I love my job. I love working with patients and assisting them with securing insurance coverage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great experience
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAApril 22, 2014
it was a good environment to work in, the staff and the patients was very pleasant to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and developmentally rich place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE FELLOW (Current Employee), Worcester, MAApril 19, 2014
I work as a healthcare administrative fellow, and truly enjoy the flexibility of my work. I enjoy my co-workers and even the challenging assignments are rewarding when completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My years and experience at UMASS
Secretary (Current Employee), Worcester, MAApril 17, 2014
Pros: benifits are good and day hours
Cons: working everyother weekend and everyother holiday
I have enjoyed my job @ UMASS for approximately 34 years.
I enjoy the medical field because of the interaction daily of many people, and the skills that I have learned over the years. I work very hard to keep well organized and like to keep structure in my assigned duties. I have learned compassion and communication and expression through a positve – more... attitude helps daily.
My job can be very stressful at times and I have to know how to multitask and keep a positive enviroment around me, which can be difficult but possible...The hardest part of my job is the loss of a patient but we have support groups that help with that. The best part of my job is the sucesses that come back to visit us.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first Nurse manager hierd me out of nursing school
LPN (Former Employee), Worcester, MAApril 8, 2014
Pros: the benefits, the patients
Cons: no comment
From all my years at Umass were the best. I started as a CNA,Medical Assistant and worked my way up to becoming and LPN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly and patient focus work environment.
Phlebotomy Supervisor (Former Employee), Worcester MassMarch 20, 2014
A typical day was busy busy busy. I was the supervisor so normally it would start with making sure all staff was accounted for. Then any complaints or concerns that I needed to address. Report to management and give a hand in the phlebotomy stations as required.

My manager at the time was the best example I have ever experienced. She taught me so much – more... in the time I was there, but one thing stood out the most was when she said, "choose your battles".

The staff of phlebotomist had to be the hardest working phlebotomist I had ever seen. When ever I needed someone to stay over time I always had a volunteer. So ready to help. They were great!

The hardest part of the job was the travel, I lived almost an hour away. So if it was a long night that was not something you looked forward to.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the learning experience and professional environment. It did not get any better than that., – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be a productive place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Worcester, MAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: possible lay offs
Work is helping people on a daily basis. I've learned a lot about the way others live. Management is not bad basically that's all the same where ever you are working. Love my co-workers. The hardest part of my job is listening and reading story's of such abuse and sadness.The enjoyable part is knowing that patients are coming for help and they have – more... someone to turn to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Student Clerical Work Program (Former Employee), Worcester, MAMarch 6, 2014
Pros: gained experience in healthcare
Cons: limited responsibilities due to being highschool student
Building Brighter Futures is an excellent highschool program funded by UMASS which provides current highschool students summer job opportunities within the growing field of healthcare. This gives students the ability to perform basic clerical duties for an office setting in the hospital providing them with necessary experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. positive, friendly environment
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Worcester, MAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: luncheons provided by the surgeons, yearly summer gatherings
Cons: some days we did not get a full break because it it was so busy.
worked 8:30-5 most days, longer when needed. The nursing staff and administrative assistants were a pleasure to work with. The surgeons' clinics were extremely busy, however they remained a positive attitude toward the staff. They were always eager to teach about mri results,and answered the many questions regarding patient care in a friendly manner. – more... It was nice when there was down time so the staff could interact with each other. Every Christmas they took good care of the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work with excellent benefits
Administrative Secretary - Facilities Department (Current Employee), Worcester, MAFebruary 20, 2014
People very friendly. I receive numorous calls daily and try to resolve all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong medical teaching community
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Worcester, MAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: medical staff always willing to educate.
Cons: occasionally overwhelming patient acuity and census.
UMass provided a wonderful opportunity for me to grow as a provider. Starting as a new nurse in the ER setting, the management, fellow colleagues and nurse educators were all very supportive. This is a very busy Emergency Department and as a result during the typical work day when acuity and patient census would rise, assistance was not always available. – more... This challenge created a significant amount of stress on the typical employee which could be seen as a difficulty. However, I chose to view this as a challenge and appreciated the opportunity to succeed in a very high stress setting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Laboratory Support Supervisor (Former Employee), Worcester, MAFebruary 3, 2014
Little incentive for people to work hard and lack of productivity is tolerated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY GOOD
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Worcester, MAJanuary 28, 2014
• Collected blood specimens by venipuncture and capillary from patients.
• Labeled, centrifuged, splinted, and froze specimens as required by test order.
• Maintained all required records and documentation and performed electronic data entry.
• Patient preparation, Medical terminology, Medical and Surgical asepsis

1 2 3 4

About UMass Memorial Medical Center

Vanguard Health Systems wants to lead the way to better health care. The company operates 25 acute care and three specialty hospitals – Read more