Find companies:
UMFS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

UMFS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes you get to eat food there
Food Service Member (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 5, 2014
Pros: free food (every once in a while)
Cons: no cons
I have learned to work fast but efficiently, even though we don't get organization right when it comes to delivering the food bins. A typical day at work would be walking in and writing your name and the time you arrived on a piece of paper then you follow directions on what the manager has to say (such as breaking down the boxes that were left over – more... from unpacking food and bringing food out of the refrigerator to pack them into the bins, sweep and mop the floors, etc) I don't recall doing a really hard task, everything there was easy to do. Overall the job was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Agency
Social Work Intern (Former Employee), South Hill, VAOctober 27, 2014
This agency works with foster children which means you will be working mostly after school hours. Not bad if you like those hours. The management is somewhat disorganized but tolerable. You are given a great deal of freedom (i.e. the ability to work from home if you need to).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to raise funds
Consultant (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 15, 2014
Great work atmosphere. Added to the Planned Giving Program with annuities, wills and trusts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place is work
Cottage manager (Current Employee), 3900 West Broad St Richmond Va 23230October 6, 2014
Typical day at work for me is seeing the clients and engaging in fun activities like painting. I can only spend a limited amount of time with the clients because I have meetings and supervisions to complete. I have learned how to process with clients and collaborate with our youth when problem-solving. The hardest part of the job is when you have a – more... staff who doesn't have the similar beliefs and values as the company. Overall the most enjoyable part of the job is watching the client grow into their own and leaving the program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great environment
MSW Clinical Intern (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 9, 2014
Comprehensive clinical internship where I gained experience with individual and group therapy, working on an interdisciplinary team, and in an agency that provides an array of various services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Very Best of the Best
**confidential** (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 22, 2014
This organization is the very definition of "top notch". All of the staff are generally nice and willing to help you if you have a question or problem. Communication is a huge essential with this organization, it is always evolving with the communities it serves in order to provide the very best quality in services. Whether you're part time, full time, – more... temporary, or even an intern, this organization treats you like a valued employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work at.
Youth Counselor (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: when the youth trust you.
Cons: shifts for the full-time staff
As a single person with no children, I look forward to going to work in the evening asking the youth how was there school day and listening to each of them tell me what happen throughout the day. I have learned how to appropriately work with at-risk with disabilities. The hardest part of my job is seeing the youth avoid dealing with there trauma. The – more... most enjoyable part of the job is when the youth has successfully completed the program and has a home to return to or a foster family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Service Agency
Behavior Support Counselor (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 13, 2013
Providing support for youth with behavior and emotional needs within the classroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the most ethical workplaces I've experienced
Counselor (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 15, 2013
Pros: great colleagues
Cons: hard to get time off
While the workers are ethical, the jobs aren't great. The pay is on the lower end and the management level is horrible- they act as if work is the only thing you have going on in your life. And getting time off is next to impossible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Agency to work for.
Therapeutic Foster Parent (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 5, 2013
Pros: very thorough training
Cons: more support is needed for parent to transition when child is adopted.
As a foster parent with UMFS is was a wonderful experience. I have experienced other foster care agencies and none have been as exceptional as UMFS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Organization
Treatment Foster Care Mentor (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAMarch 28, 2012
Wonderful Organization. Dedicated to helping youth and families. Wonderful mission and values that guide their practice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace excepting of growth and change when appropriate
Family Systems Coordinator (Program Manager) (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAMarch 15, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no job security
Looking for an environment that recognizes talents in their staff, motivated grow and expand, accepting of change, and willing take appropriate risks.

About UMFS

UMFS is an unwavering champion for high-risk children and families, collaborating with communities to help them reach their full – Read more