UMMC Employee Reviews

Found 38 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJanuary 3, 2017
Working with the patients was interesting and talking with the families was fun. Being able to help the elders who couldn't help themselves. Even though the pay was not excellent it was about helping the someone who couldn't themselves
Pros
food, patients
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place had unprofessional people and limited supplies.
Discharge Attendant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 11, 2016
Was not able to do my Job efficiently because of lack of supplies. I loved my job but the management and my co workers were unprofessional. Wen never had the supplies needed to do the job properly and I like to do my job to it's fullest.
Pros
I could pickup overtime when I wanted.
Cons
Staff and supplies. Also people that didnt care about doing the job assigned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Employment
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 25, 2016
UMMC has given me the opportunity to show my skills and knowledge. I would like to continue employment with UMMC if a social work position becomes available. But, because I have changed profession, I am seeking employment to begin my new journey and fulfill my goals in life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large teaching facility
Admin Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 14, 2016
Few departments are nice, others are very stressful and have awful management/supervisors. Advancement often depends on who you know, not what you know.
Pros
Some job security
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fun place to work but was a very unsafe place as well
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York StateJuly 14, 2016
to preform all temps,bp,pulse;to help with all request form nurses,change dresseing,bathroom,showers,pt,.To record all results in computer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 23, 2016
The only downside is parking at the stadium. This is a deal breaker for me and the reason that I am looking for another job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Physician Scheduler II (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 18, 2016
The most enjoyable part of my job is to make sure patient are happy when making there appointment. I have learned a lot while working for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained Clinical Experience as a student
Clinical Experience (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 6, 2016
This company was nice to obtain clinical experience to, I would enjoy being a part of the team and gaining more knowledge as a respiratory therapist. The staff overall was friendly and communicated well, they were also encouraging. This was fast paced and very informative.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
surgical tech (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSNovember 27, 2015
I spent five years working for UMMC, It was good while it lasted. The money was good but the stress was more. My health was more important to me and since I have left my blood pressure has decreased & I have more time at home with m son living a happier life.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
Unfair management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful Environment
Portfolio Team Member (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 6, 2015
The atmosphere all over the UMMC Campus is very serious yet friendly at all times you can tell everyone here understands their purpose and enjoys to work especially the nursing staff......"i actually found out that the Nurses are the real CEO of the hospital and without them they would perish" GO Figure DR.Whooo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Medical Secretary (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MASeptember 30, 2015
Working in the Cardiology clinic was quite interesting to me. The technicians performed EKGs, monitors, treadmilll tests and pacemaker checks. My job was to type reports, take phone calls and schedule appointments, handle the medical records, filing, etc.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
At times we needed more staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a setting where you are able to make a person with cancer's day better
Patient Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  MDJune 7, 2015
A very diverse center of employees and physicians willing to help those with life threatening diseases. To know that you are making a difference in someone else's life and to see a smile on their face is such a rewarding experience
Pros
Helping those with a life threatening disease
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment
Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSDecember 18, 2015
This is definitely a job for someone with extreme patients. I was responsible for the physical activities for the patient.
Pros
only morning shifts
Cons
need patience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great facility to be employed with the staff
Placement placement Coord 11 (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 12, 2015
worked nights 11p-7a
medical placement descision making for the need of patients.
cruel and unfair at times
great co-workers
need beds for the patients when none was avaible when facility was full
placing all patients in beds for medcial needs.
good place to work with the right people and staff.
Pros
good place to work with the right people and staff
Cons
need to be family oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic center
Clinical Nurse II (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 25, 2014
Hours are flexible...work 4 9-hour shifts, no weekends, no holidays.
I have learned a great deal about anesthesia management of patients undergoing surgery and have the flexibility in my day to learn about different procedures, disease processes and management by looking them up online. The hardest part of my job is functioning in a management role while still carrying a full workload. The most enjoyable part is interacting with staff to collaborate care for pre-op clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people is what had me hooked
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 5, 2013
Working at Ummc was a blessing I never seen so many people from all over the world til I work there. I learned so much that words cant explain. The hardest part of my job was when you make friends, with some of the people who are illness and they pass on. The most enjoyable part about Ummc is when we was able to help or even save a person life.
Pros
Feel Free
Cons
Love ones lost
Was this review helpful?Yes27No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very face paced environment
Billing Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Clinton, MSAugust 24, 2015
Great work place.
Opportunities to advance in the company.
Very good benefits.
Wonderful incentives.
Great retirement program along with educational programs.
Pros
Great leadership
Cons
software problems and issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and Productive, Best place to work
Medical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MarylandMay 17, 2014
UMMC is a great place to work. Diverse culture and every employee is acknowledge for making UMMC a caring and excellent place to work. Helpful and awesome coworkers make work flow smooth. Great place to learn and advance.
Pros
cafeteria discount, shuttle to your parking, nice pay and good benefits.
Cons
For me, there is none
Was this review helpful?Yes45No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to expand Knowledge in Sonography
Cardiac Sonographer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 27, 2015
Enjoyed working as Cardiac Sonographer at university, great team of cardiologist, fellow and sonography students .great place to see new technology cardiac related, LVAD's TVAR, and many more.
Pros
10hr shift
Cons
No raise
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and teaching environment.
Phlebotomy Internship (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMay 12, 2015
I had a great experience working and learning at UMMC. They provide great thorough training. The work environment is very friendly.
Pros
Best teaching facility in the state and rated highest nationwide.
Cons
employee parking
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UMMC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7