UMMC Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment
Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSDecember 18, 2015
This is definitely a job for someone with extreme patients. I was responsible for the physical activities for the patient.
Pros
only morning shifts
Cons
need patience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
surgical tech (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSNovember 27, 2015
I spent five years working for UMMC, It was good while it lasted. The money was good but the stress was more. My health was more important to me and since I have left my blood pressure has decreased & I have more time at home with m son living a happier life.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
Unfair management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful Environment
Portfolio Team Member (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 6, 2015
The atmosphere all over the UMMC Campus is very serious yet friendly at all times you can tell everyone here understands their purpose and enjoys to work especially the nursing staff......"i actually found out that the Nurses are the real CEO of the hospital and without them they would perish" GO Figure DR.Whooo
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Medical Secretary (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MASeptember 30, 2015
Working in the Cardiology clinic was quite interesting to me. The technicians performed EKGs, monitors, treadmilll tests and pacemaker checks. My job was to type reports, take phone calls and schedule appointments, handle the medical records, filing, etc.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
At times we needed more staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very face paced environment
Billing Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Clinton, MSAugust 24, 2015
Great work place.
Opportunities to advance in the company.
Very good benefits.
Wonderful incentives.
Great retirement program along with educational programs.
Pros
Great leadership
Cons
software problems and issues
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a setting where you are able to make a person with cancer's day better
Patient Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  MDJune 7, 2015
A very diverse center of employees and physicians willing to help those with life threatening diseases. To know that you are making a difference in someone else's life and to see a smile on their face is such a rewarding experience
Pros
Helping those with a life threatening disease
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work with current coworkers.
Certified Surgical Technician (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSMay 27, 2015
Very fast pace with short of staff but have great teamwork with coworkers. It's a good place to start at when fresh out of school.
Pros
No holidays or weekends
Cons
short of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to expand Knowledge in Sonography
Cardiac Sonographer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 27, 2015
Enjoyed working as Cardiac Sonographer at university, great team of cardiologist, fellow and sonography students .great place to see new technology cardiac related, LVAD's TVAR, and many more.
Pros
10hr shift
Cons
No raise
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and teaching environment.
Phlebotomy Internship (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMay 12, 2015
I had a great experience working and learning at UMMC. They provide great thorough training. The work environment is very friendly.
Pros
Best teaching facility in the state and rated highest nationwide.
Cons
employee parking
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great facility to be employed with the staff
Placement placement Coord 11 (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 12, 2015
worked nights 11p-7a
medical placement descision making for the need of patients.
cruel and unfair at times
great co-workers
need beds for the patients when none was avaible when facility was full
placing all patients in beds for medcial needs.
good place to work with the right people and staff.
Pros
good place to work with the right people and staff
Cons
need to be family oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Family Nurse practitioner (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSFebruary 24, 2015
Busy day that is a great learning experience. There is always something to learn. Everybody is nice and easy to work with. Definitely the best place to work around.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Alumni Affairs Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJanuary 13, 2015
Excellent benefits and satisfactory compensation, opportunities for advancement. Great working environment.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSNovember 25, 2014
It is an ok place to work for what it is. You come in and work and leave. It leaves you feeling and thinking about your life. It is a stepping stone to learn more skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and Balanced with good people
medical records technician (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSSeptember 24, 2014
What I learned he most about this position is how to manage my time better and how to stay organized. And working with a diverse group of people every day and learning new things.
Pros
discount food
Cons
lunch break to short
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 7, 2014
The UMMC was one of, if not the best, jobs i have ever had. while working there, i have learned my way around hospitals, the meaning of different signs,and much more. The mangers and co workers were like family i have grown to love. The job itself wasn't complicated at all,and it was enjoyable as a whole.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great people to be around.
Nurses' Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 14, 2014
I learned to to roll with the punches and how to not let one bad day get to me. The hardest part of my job was letting my babies go in peace. The most enjoyable part was putting a small on their faces.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and Productive, Best place to work
Medical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MarylandMay 17, 2014
UMMC is a great place to work. Diverse culture and every employee is acknowledge for making UMMC a caring and excellent place to work. Helpful and awesome coworkers make work flow smooth. Great place to learn and advance.
Pros
cafeteria discount, shuttle to your parking, nice pay and good benefits.
Cons
for me, there is none
Was this review helpful?Yes45No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad business
Food Prep Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSMay 14, 2014
nasty workers included managers. people don't wanna come in when they schedule no discipline or authorities
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic center
Clinical Nurse II (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 25, 2014
Hours are flexible...work 4 9-hour shifts, no weekends, no holidays.
I have learned a great deal about anesthesia management of patients undergoing surgery and have the flexibility in my day to learn about different procedures, disease processes and management by looking them up online. The hardest part of my job is functioning in a management role while still carrying a full workload. The most enjoyable part is interacting with staff to collaborate care for pre-op clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people is what had me hooked
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 5, 2013
Working at Ummc was a blessing I never seen so many people from all over the world til I work there. I learned so much that words cant explain. The hardest part of my job was when you make friends, with some of the people who are illness and they pass on. The most enjoyable part about Ummc is when we was able to help or even save a person life.
Pros
feel free
Cons
love ones lost
Was this review helpful?Yes27No9

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture