UNC Charlotte Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCDecember 21, 2015
I am a student who works part time as a research assistant. I have enjoyed working here, as every day is productive and innovative.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to Learn and Grow
Research Intern (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 10, 2015
Interning as a research assistant has been interesting and educational. It's a team based project with team meetings to share findings as well as continuous meetings with our mentor to monitor the progress. It is interesting working with a cross-functional team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at UNCC
Various Positions Held (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 23, 2015
I have worked in many places at UNC Charlotte, and it is an incredible place to work. It is usually easier to get a job through the Temp Pool, and it seems that many departments use this method.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once in a lifetime experience for college
Assistant Student Counsel (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 8, 2015
Fun work place, working with students to better the life of other students. More of an education experience than a work one but the value I received that can't be replaced.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College IT Assistant
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 29, 2015
We came into work, clocked in, and set up our online help desks. Throughout the day, students and staff would call and we would problem solve whatever technical issue that was being had.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and fun work environment
Research Assistant (Master's Thesis) (Current Employee) –  CharlotteApril 29, 2015
A well planned and well managed facility with more than thousands of people. I learned NPI, Stress analysis of an automotive part and managerial aspect of a typical mechanical industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facilities and professors
Team member on Senior Design (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 5, 2015
UNC Charlotte provided me with a great knowledge base in the field of Mechanical Engineering
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable learning experience but lacked variation.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCDecember 19, 2014
This was a valuable learning experience in the field of finite element analysis. Training was structured and conducive to learning. There was a lack of variation in tasks performed.
Pros
great learning experience
Cons
lack of task oriented work
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Showed a willness to work with employees during hard times.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCDecember 11, 2014
It was a great place to work. I left to go into the ministry. A day at work would include helping students and staff. The hardest part were the long hours, working 12 hour shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working place cool
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 12, 2014
Very relaxed atmosphere. Work was great. Enjoyed it very much.
Pros
relaxed
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with people of different background
Official for Intramural Volleyball (Former Employee) –  Belk GymOctober 30, 2014
I got to learn soft skills like man management, firmly sticking to my decision as an official if the rules are being broken, discipline and punctuality.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexiable for students
Student Caller (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 8, 2014
Its a great job to have. It is very flexible if you are currently in school. Your typical shifts are from 5pm-9pm, Sunday through Thursday.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Front Desk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 10, 2014
I truly enjoyed working here and would recommend this place of work to anyone looking for a stable job.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 26, 2014
The teachers work with the time that you have available. Great school, great location, good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The University ignores diversity among the students' body...
Adjunct Professor UNC Charlotte (Mathematics) (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 26, 2014
I was myself a student at UNCC, at the CS Department. Great co-workers. Nice coffee place.
Pros
rich institution
Cons
very few minorities...
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  charlotte,NCMay 14, 2014
Excellent place to work and study. Pay is fairly good. Work timings are fixed.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
not flexible timings
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and Educational Work Environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 29, 2014
I have gained so many wonderful experiences working for UNC Charlotte! No day is the same but every day is stimulating. I work for and with an excellent team of scholars and fellow students. I could not recommend it more highly!
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and creative work environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 18, 2014
My work as a research assistant is rewarding in that it is both creative and challenging. I learn new skills everyday and I find confidence in knowing that my work contributes to large larger community and regional projects and initiatives related to sustainability in urban design and planning.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 11, 2014
Good , worked for a short duration of time. Had better responsibility and as a student the right job to do
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university with lot of potentials
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  charlotte,ncJanuary 30, 2014
Business and career oriented program. Many programs tailored to meet current technological trends and practices
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture