Find companies:
Uncle Bob's Self Storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Uncle Bob's Self Storage Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Property Manager (Former Employee), Bedford TXSeptember 15, 2014
Primary role for facility manager, I assisted every customer with finding the right size unit needed. Following with application and billing process keeping in mind to up sale. I maintained at least a 93% capacity ratio facility in whole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Associate Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 11, 2014
renting spaces, preparing rental agreements, handling financial transactions and banking activities,
maintaining a working knowledge of all product and services, maintaining general curb appeal, cleaning spaces, other duties as assigned by the Store Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Associate Manager (Current Employee), Mableton, GAAugust 31, 2014
Typical day at work consists of showing storage spaces to potential customers, attempting to reconcile delinquent accounts, and general upkeep of the property. Management is great. They give you the freedom to learn duties on your own but still offer guidance when needed. Hardest part of the job would be following legal procedures regarding the auctioning – more... of delinquent units. If not done correctly, it can hurt the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate Manager (Current Employee), Jackson MissJuly 29, 2014
Pros: flexiable work schedule
Cons: no job advancement.
This job is very good place to work. I have currently been with this company almost three years but the job has no room for advancement. I been in the same postion I have been in since I got hired due to the managers being long time workers and not moving up themselves. ovreall I love my job because of my customer but because of me wanted to advance – more... I have to look for an better opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting customers and getting to know them
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Hollywood, FLJuly 19, 2014
Pros: work inside and outside and with customers
Cons: too many reports
Have worked at Uncle Bob’s self storage as assistant manager for 6 months gaining the experience of a 710 unit location with Truck Rentals and learning all facets of the business. Typical day consisted of making rounds checking the units, cleaning vacated units, selling customers storage space and additional products and general maintenance of premises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 7, 2014
Pros: freedom work solo
Cons: not much to do except for 1st and 15 moving days
Freedom. Not much to do except for 1st and 15 moving days. Great hour 9-6. Work solo.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Property Manager (Current Employee), Montgomery, AlJune 10, 2014
Pros: customer oriented
Cons: small staff
This is definitely a productive place to work. Overall I enjoyed my time with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay work place
Office Administrator/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Columbus,ohioJune 10, 2014
Management makes assistant managers work every weekend
management does a lot of complaining about the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good company
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 21, 2014
Pros: great team work.
Great team work. Had fun and got the job done., I had an opportunity to know my co-workers on a more personal level and found that we had a lot in common.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all cost.
Store Manager (Former Employee), RIApril 29, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: miserable management, lack of support
This company blantantly ignores state labor laws and retaliates against any employee who brings it to their attention. Do not let them get away with this. As an employee, know your rights and demand the company be in compliance. Consult your local department of labor, or federal if need be. They will answer questions anonymously and give you information – more... needed to proceed with a complaint if the company refuses to listen. Good luck. Only you can make this company a good place to work for as upper managment doesn't care. In fact, most of them hate their jobs due to severe cut backs in bonus structures and redistribution of responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALMarch 21, 2014
I really enjoy working for this company. We are all about business, but we still have time to socialize. I constantly make and receive collection calls, while multitasking on various computer screens at the same time. We are also required to clean out vacant units to prepare for the next move-in that we may have. In the office, there is plenty of paper – more... filing, organizing, and cash handling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work to interact with many different types of customers
Associate Manager (Current Employee), Farmingdale, NYMarch 5, 2014
My day start at 830 am ( half hour before open) I check cash draw and petty cash to make sure we have what is needed for this location. I run a customer paid report and make sure i remove any over lock we may have put incase customer didn't pay. I match bank deposit from night before, check email and voice mails from customers.Once 9am comes I call – more... back customer who left voicemail and answer any question they have. Open all doors and make sure gates are operational.
I learn how the storage business has many law and lots of detail documents and all it take to make sure customers items are stored safely and with clement control for better maintenance of the stored items.
Management in this location is straightforward , they give you your daily goals and make sure you meet them. My co-workers are great and we help out each other out with out hesitation.
Hardest part of the job is many time you see customers that can't left or pull items out of their cars/ trucks that they are storing and by company policy I can not help them with their property, its very hard telling a customer that i can't help them due to policy.
I love customers interaction and helping them with their needs. I enjoy listening to them and how the paint a picture to better help them. Building a report with them. Just knowing my personality can make a difference in a customer outlook on a company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk
Clerk (Former Employee), Pensacola FloridaDecember 24, 2013
Best Job I ever had!
Awesome work schedule. Would love to return to this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Store Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 20, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is dealing with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Jjob with good benefits
Store Manager (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNOctober 29, 2013
I loved working for Uncle Bobs it was a great learning experience. I would honestly say it is one of the best companies I have ever worked for. I would recommend this job for anyone. Its hard work and must be very detail oriented with good customer service skills but a fantastic place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company For Growth
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), VirginiaOctober 24, 2013
Pros: they love to promote from within, and they have a great system and very organized
Cons: no dental insurance, pay is mediocre
Wonderful company to work for! Upper management are always open to ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot from this storage, met some wonderful people
assist/manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 14, 2013
Pros: very nice co-workers, and clients
Cons: no affordable insurance
banking, cleaned property,faxed over all deposits, reports, cleaned office daily along with unit's,so they would be ready for clients, marketing on Fridays ,collections, auctions, went the extra mile for all my clients, word of mouth brought me lot's of new clients,,made stores and other people aware of our location when they needed a storage, and told – more... them to visit our property. always letting people know we are there to serve them, with a winning smile and friendly attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Labor with a Low Budget
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Delray Beach, FLOctober 9, 2013
Pros: learned with more experience.
Cons: pay, labor with lack of needing extra hands, no bonus due to budget
Typical Day at work consisted of prepping the property & office for customers and Random Audits. Pick up trash around the property, a lot of cigarette buts and boxes or items of things left behind sometimes even dead animals, lock checks, sweep up ALOT of leaves/glass etc., clean or refresh units, sweep hallways, Take care of customer transactions as – more... well as up keep with customer folders, kept organized. Answered phone calls and answered or helped out customer. Rented out units. I learned how to manage and multi task for a property, also learned more customer service skills, and what it takes to run and up keep a property from budgeting to maintenance. Management was good. Hardest part of the job was the consistent running around and lack of extra hands on the property. Dealing with the customers for the most part, organizing the office and making transactions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Site has much improvement needed ie.,roof leaks,ashphalt needs paved,bugs in climate building.
Property Manager (Former Employee), Batavia, OHAugust 19, 2013
Pros: free storage space.
Cons: rude area manager who does not call customers back, after they leave ergent messages also no rewards for long time employment.
Needs better marketing from home office,and site needs much improvement. Too much local competition. Poor upper management from area manager's. Many marketing ideas are done without more research,which causes unneeded expense to company and investors. Many threats of job termination if all move ins don't buy $20 worth of boxes or other unneeded packing – more... supplies. Low moral and little help from assistant managers and associates. Learned company does not care for family concerns since merge with another company. Not a place where you can feel safe about job security. Pay is very little for work done on and off the clock. Constant calls after hours from call center to assist customers questions. Site is very old and run down. Poor security on site. Constantly being threatened for not selling add on's including termination if items are not sold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this job.
ASSISTANT OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCAugust 6, 2013
Pros: uhaul bonuses
Cons: my boss was a perfectionist
This was my first job where I was left alone, usually all day, and I really enjoyed it. Most days, I got along with my boss. I bounced around to two locations to give the other manager a day off, or if there was personal things that she needed to do. I would work either the full day, or work half days. I would answer the phone, take payments from customers, – more... and help lease storage units to them. I loved that part of my job. The hardest part about my job was cleaning out the units when the tenants did not take everything, so it was up to us to remove whatever was left. – less

About Uncle Bob's Self Storage

Sovran Self Storage may not be the ruler of all storage companies, but it does have the power to store your goods. A self-administered – Read more