Find companies:
UniFirst
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
259 reviews

UniFirst Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible mangement
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee), Stockton, CASeptember 24, 2014
Cons: driving not paid for ot
Terrible place to work, so many inconstancy's constant turnover in management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST PLACE TO WORK
Route Salesman (Former Employee), New Kensington, PASeptember 24, 2014
LONG ,HOURS ,HOT, MENTAL EXHAUSTION
LEARNED HOW TO CHEAT ,LIE AND BE DISHONEST
MANAGEMENT LIES MAKE THINGS UP TO FIRE YOU DOESN'T KNOW HOW TO RUN THE PLANT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst
Production Worker (Former Employee), New Kensington, PASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great work hours, no weekends unless needed, paid major holidays
Cons: short breaks, too much work for an average day so lots of ot, should put in another shift to help balance work
Not too difficult of a job. Lots of moving around so it gets a little strain on your body. Most co-workers are great to work with but you have your ones that aren't so great. Management could use improvement. Overall not too bad of a place to work but not sure if it is a life time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest, hard working, adaptable.
Warehouse Laborer (Current Employee), Maryland Heights, MOSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: we have a good team environment
Cons: breaks
A typical day consists of unloading mats and other material from company vehicles and replenishing clean mats. I Understand the importance of working effectively with others. I have a good raport with fellow team members, leadership, and other departments. I am flexible with schedule changes. I Contribute to the cleanliness of the facility and surrounding – more... areas. I keep commitments and adhere to attendance and punctuality guidelines. I understand how my job interacts with and supports other areas of the property. I adhere to departmental and company policies and procedures. Performing job duties in compliance with all health and safety guidelines. Thursdays are our busiest and most challenging volume day. The most enjoyable part of my job is taking ownership and meeting deadlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job at unifirst as a production member
production member (Former Employee), corpus chrsitiSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: poor supervisors
ok job supervisors aren't too good but management is awesome so give and take job. work is tiring though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company, bad management
District Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), Landover, MDSeptember 16, 2014
Very good company and has all the benefit but bad management and very short staff this make work harder for other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informitive, honest, always willing to help
route sales (Former Employee), Huntington, NYSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: u interact with your customers on a daly basis
Cons: long hours on the road
the job requires driving and delivering, the best part of the job is u get to see and interact with your customers on a weekly basis,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Production Worker (Former Employee), Ontario, CASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
sloppy use of management do not know how to organize workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall the company is good, but very high turnover rate and don't give people a chance to build a skill set to succeed.
Sales consultant (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILSeptember 2, 2014
Management could have been more helpful. Saw people that didn't sell in their first 3 months and get canned without given a fair chance.
You're basically just a number there so if you plan on taking this job make sure you are ready to sell up to their standards immediately or you will not be given a chance to stay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very Productive Places to work?
Production Worker (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: every thing was cool, a great places to work?
Cons: the breaks was kind of short
Productive,I learned a lot about,sorting,and seperating,different. Types of uniforms,folding,pressing,bagging mop heads,hanger racks,unloading in coming trucks,management,was super,a great. Very understanding,and listen to what you have to say,are your ideals,co-workers was a great buch of guys to work with.it was not. A hard job,at all,I gases the – more... sorting red and white whiper was tuff at first.monday -Fridays week ends off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and creative office that comes up with creative ways to overcome challenges and close business.
Senior Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Harrisburg, PAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great support from management and co-workers
Cons: time constraints of contractual sales
A typical day at Unifirst could either be in the office for Sales Meetings and phone blocks or out in the field meeting with customers to conduct customer needs analysis, proposals and presentations, closing deals and assisting in the installation of new accounts. The management team is very hands on and available to assist in any and every aspect of – more... the selling process necessary in order to assure the closing of deals. The co-workers are an entertaining and creative group of people who are all talented in different ways, and we often brainstorm with one another as a means to overcome objectives and penetrate new accounts.

Some of the most challenging aspects of the position were dealing with contractual sales and the constraints on those contracts, even when prospective customers were willing to make a switch with you, but after tenure in my territory, I was able to turn this challenge into a strength due to the long term rapport I was able to build. The most enjoyable part of my job is always creating the lasting relationships with the clients that I work with, and being able to help my customers improve upon their current services and also to help them reduce their overall costs of ownership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great beginner career job, pay is good. The downside is excessive hours.
District Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 22, 2014
Pros: good pay, decent benefits
Cons: guaranteed 60 hour weeks
As a Route Salesman at Unifirst, you start your route at 5 a.m. Route drivers deliver and pickup uniforms for local businesses. When driver finishes their route, they return to the shop and report their daily route to the District Supervisor who collects the account receivables for every route.
The hardest part about working for Unifirst in the long – more... hours worked. I am supervisor that works usually over 60 hours. As a salaried employee I do not receive overtime for the long hours worked. I am also in college which makes it hard to find time to study after work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry Level With Opportunities for Advancement
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Liverpool, NYAugust 21, 2014
Good entry level job with benefits, and room to grow a career. The industry is about as mundane as it gets though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Stockton, CAAugust 17, 2014
Cons: healthcare
Company that Cares about customer service and has many tools into providing as such
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst
Embroidery Operator (Former Employee), Owensboro, KYAugust 8, 2014
Pros: you get paid holidays.
Cons: healtcare prices continue to rise.
Unifirst is a good place to work. You have a variety of jobs in the plant. If you don't like your first placement, then you can move to another and find something that fits you. I did not have that problem. I worked in direct embroidery for 7 years. I got along with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job in embroidery is you have to learn a lot, – more... and that you have to work in a group of 3 . If you are easy going this is not a big issue. Unifirst is always trying to improve things. Safety is important to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in.
Assistant Office Administrator (Former Employee), Stratford, CTAugust 4, 2014
Positive, energetic culture dedicated to teambuilding and productivity. Overall, a great company to work for with solid benefits and opportunity to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life/work balance if you have numbers
Sales Representative (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: all about the numbers
Great training program. Must maintain good numbers to maintain a job. Management is easy to work work. Difficult part is dealing with getting merchandise on a timely manner. Such a large corporation which may be cause for poor merchandise delivery times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's work
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 27, 2014
Pros: birthdays off, work hours(unless needed to come in early)
Cons: short breaks(or no breaks at all), pay, lack of explanation
Work doesn't really hit hard till the afternoon. Then, its a full steam ahead. No air conditioning--so stay hydrated and take breaks if needed. Not much supervision by the supervisors. Co-workers are friendly..some. If done with a task, you move to another totally different one. I should've added this earlier: when you start, its like being thrown into – more... a blazing fire without instructions to put it out. You're minded where items go even though you weren't given precise direction on what, where, when, and how things go. There's a lack in explaining the task(s) by management. The co-workers are the ones who do the best they can to tell you how to do things there. The pay sucks! But at least there is pay. Yet, if a person can catch a disease from this line of work, why didn't they mentioned it before during orientation or through the interview process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid, professional company focused on growth and profitability through excellent customer service
Production Manager (Former Employee), Pontiac, MIJuly 24, 2014
Utilization and implementation of many proactive processes to achieve customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The current requirements at UniFirst Corporation for an outside sales consultant are as followed:
Territory Sales Consultant (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: uncapped commision, rolling bonus, company culture
Cons: n/a
The current requirements at UniFirst Corporation for an outside sales consultant are as followed:

• 125 phone calls (mix of prospecting and follow up)*
• 12 face to face VIP consultations*
• 10 seeding packets to large prospects*
• 1 follow up visit to a new account*
• 1 sold account*
• $110.00 sales avg.*

*minimum weekly requirements

About UniFirst

UniFirst, a leading supplier of uniforms, workwear and related products to businesses big and small since 1936, provides a wide – Read more