Find companies:
UniFirst
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
226 reviews

UniFirst Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...
Production/Dock Worker (Former Employee), Lebanon, NHJanuary 6, 2014
Every day was the same routine: get a cage, pick the products, set it on the dock. After all orders were filled we load them onto the trucks. Also, we had to unload trucks as well. Co-workers are great and so isn't management.

The hardest part was selecting the products and moving the cage. It gets very heavy towards the end of an order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stepping stone.
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 18, 2013
Pros: good pay, weekends and holidays off.
Cons: dirty back breaking work. no upward mobility
company is ok, pays decent but its long hours,almost always 50 hours a week,. got to be careful of warehouse staff who build the loads for your route or you will go on your route with alot of the stuff you requested missing. most customers can be mean and they will smile to your face and soon as you leave, call the office and complain about you. they – more... have a super high turnover rate, every few months.there is really nowhere to go in this company, good stepping stone if you need a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job...
RSR (Former Employee), Panama City BeachDecember 17, 2013
Pros: off weekends
Cons: plant manager is lazy, and a sorry excuse for a "plant manager"..
Not a great job, honestly. It all depends on management. If it sucks, then your job will suck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
District Service Manager (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILDecember 9, 2013
Pros: payed car allowance and gas
Cons: favortisim towards managers and employees
Management works as a team but the diffrence is they have too much favoritism towards certain managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company composed of great individuals, overall friendly.
Management Trainee (Current Employee), Charlotte, North CarloinaDecember 8, 2013
Pros: free lunches, paid time off, holidays off
Cons: poor pay, not fulfilling
Currently I am training to be the stockroom manager at UniFirst. My days consist of making sure our workers are assigned to the appropriate tasks for the appropriate time in order to get all of the work done for the day. I help process orders, submit orders, manage the stockroom employees hours, and accommodate requests made from elsewhere in our facility – more... (special orders for certain customers, special workload, etc.). I have honed my skills and become a more complete supervisor after working for UniFirst. There is no particular hard part of the job, i suppose just remembering to do everything that needs to be done, but then again i have created a check list to alleviate that. I truly enjoy the people i work with, we laugh and have a good time but get down to business when necessary. All in all , great place to work, i have since refined my skills as a supervisor. But overall the pay could be better and i could be happier elsewhere as this particular job does not give me a sense of helping individuals thus leading to a lack of fulfillment/level of happiness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
MD (Current Employee), Landover MdDecember 4, 2013
Days at work are not hard. The work environment is fun and safe. Since I have been at Unifirst i have gained a wider knowledge in Commercial maintence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Sales Consultant/Route Sales Representative (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NevadaNovember 29, 2013
Freedom to create my own work schedule. I get to meet lots of new people from small business owners CEO's in major corporations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture in a fun work environment, lots of opporunity and room for career advancement
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 26, 2013
Pros: flexibility, earning potential, 401k, vacation, healthcare
UniFirst is a great company to work for! Strong regimented training is paid and provided with an excellent hands on approach. Field study with current representatives both in office and in the field. Wonderful office and staff and culture throughout the organization with an emphasis on success and advancement. Message me to findout more!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many hours
Route Sales Representative (Current Employee), Kentwood, MINovember 21, 2013
Pros: decent benefits, no weekends or holidays
Cons: 60+ hours a week, worked to the point of exhaustion.
Upper management pays you salary, so they can expect you to work 60+ hours a week. The co-workers at my branch were great. You really do feel like a slave working here. Their answer to everything puts more work/hours on to your all ready long day. Both of my managers have quit. They do not promote within, and if you get hurt on the job, they fire you – more... when you come back from medical leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales 101
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Melrose Park IlNovember 21, 2013
Setting appointments and hitting the streets

How to run a sales meeting

Great

A lot of fun guys

Weekly quota

Freedom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced sales opportunity
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Stratford, CTNovember 20, 2013
Cold call on 15-20 businesses daily in person or on the phone in a given territory. I learned how to plan and execute my day in an efficient manner as well as implement an effective sales process. Managers are always available for guidance and expertise on any situation throughout the day. Weekly review sessions help with improvement on the day to day – more... operations. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to close deals on your own and seeing the hard work pay off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst
Corporate Banking Analyst (Current Employee), Wilmington, MANovember 18, 2013
Typical Corporate Finance Middle Office Role. Not alot of exciting things, pretty much be a zombie and succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional, unfair and dishonest
Picker (Current Employee), Owensboro, KYNovember 18, 2013
Advancement opportunities, well you can forget that, unless you are in the clique, promotions are based on friendship not merit. Supervisors have a God complex, and if they don't like you they will try to have you terminated, or make problems for you. A lot of favoritism at this location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic place to work
Labor Worker (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCNovember 6, 2013
I wash and maintain the fleet of route trucks. Paint rims, check oil, keep the parking lot clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall upper management not sales team focused
Sales Account Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 6, 2013
Continuously raising quotas and expectations without providing the tools or means to reach the quotas

Constantly hiring on new rookie reps at lower pay and reducing the number of senior consultants.

Upper management sacrificed lower management and employees to insure there own job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, mentally and physically tough work place with good coworkers.
Dock Hand (Current Employee), Meadville, PANovember 6, 2013
Cons: work hours
The typical aspect of the job is to unload and load the trucks for the next days deliveries as they return. I've learned the importance of having your work space organized to increase productivity. Management honestly doesn't care about what goes on with the dock, it's just numbers to them. I'd have to say the toughest part of the job would be the manual – more... labor and the time it takes to organize my work area. And last but not least the part of the job I enjoy the most is the satisfaction the customer has for the product they receive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
o.k. place to work
Route sales (Former Employee), Greenville, SCOctober 27, 2013
o.k. place to work. did not like being away from home more than 2 days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"none"
Loading Dock (Former Employee), DORCHESTER, MAOctober 22, 2013
• Loading & Unloading Trucks
• Perform Variety of Task
o Separate Items
o Maintain Work Environment
• Maintain Time Management
• Organization
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 14, 2013
Company computer software out dated and they do not promote from within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PHYSICAL AND PPRODUCTIVE WORKPLACE..
DRIVER (Current Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 6, 2013
Pros: short work days, having help at certain stops
Cons: not having help, long nights, long drives
WORK DAY CONSISTS OF PHYSICAL ACTIVITIES AND LONG NIGHTS. AT THE JOB YOU WILL LEARN HOW TO LOAD AND UNLOAD CLOTHES OFF OF LINES AND BUGGETS.. MANAGEMENT IS OK BUT EVERYONE HAS THEIR OWN FAULTS. CO-WORKERS ARE OK.. REALLY DONT HAVE TO WORK WITH THEM CAUSE IM NOT IN THE WAREHOUSE AS MUCH.. THE HARDEST PART OF MY JOB IS LOADING/UNLOADING. WHAT I LIKE BOUT – more... MY JOB THE MOST IS SOME DAYS YOU HAVE SHORT DAYS AND YOU GET TO GO HOME EARLY TO RELAX.. – less

About UniFirst

UniFirst, a leading supplier of uniforms, workwear and related products to businesses big and small since 1936, provides a wide – Read more