Find companies:
UniFirst
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
251 reviews

UniFirst Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Work For
RSR (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 16, 2014
UniFirst is a place where you are given the tools to suceed. A typical day begins at 5 A.M. and goes till 5-7 P.M. The thing I like most about UniFirst is the variety that the job allows me to see everyday. I love the people I work with. The management gives you everything you need to complete your duties. The hardest part of the job is dealing with – more... unreasonable customers at times. Keeping the calm collected manner to better service the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
Loading dock attendant (Former Employee), Uvalde, TXJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: healthcare, respectful work environment, and great incentives.
Cons: low compensation and physically demanding labor
UniFirst is an enjoyable place to work with great employee benefits. They offer affordable health care, have great incentives, treat employees with respect, and always have employee's interests in mind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
RSR (Former Employee), Jackson MsJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: all cons
This company is a joke. They do not promote within and there is no room to move up. There managers are cons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communicate well, manager and office staff are very knowledgable
Independent Contractor (Current Employee), Clarksburg, WVJanuary 13, 2014
Concise with requests, communicate well their needs and timeline for product turnaround, and provide prompt payment for services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Springfield, ILJanuary 8, 2014
Unifirst has unrealistic goals for their employees. You have about 7 months to get things going and its contract sales. All uniform companies have you sign 3 to 5 year contracts and you cant get out of them. Do your research before committing to this company. If you are in a Aramark or Cintas dominated area good luck start looking for your next job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...
Production/Dock Worker (Former Employee), Lebanon, NHJanuary 6, 2014
Every day was the same routine: get a cage, pick the products, set it on the dock. After all orders were filled we load them onto the trucks. Also, we had to unload trucks as well. Co-workers are great and so isn't management.

The hardest part was selecting the products and moving the cage. It gets very heavy towards the end of an order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stepping stone.
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 18, 2013
Pros: good pay, weekends and holidays off.
Cons: dirty back breaking work. no upward mobility
company is ok, pays decent but its long hours,almost always 50 hours a week,. got to be careful of warehouse staff who build the loads for your route or you will go on your route with alot of the stuff you requested missing. most customers can be mean and they will smile to your face and soon as you leave, call the office and complain about you. they – more... have a super high turnover rate, every few months.there is really nowhere to go in this company, good stepping stone if you need a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job...
RSR (Former Employee), Panama City BeachDecember 17, 2013
Pros: off weekends
Cons: plant manager is lazy, and a sorry excuse for a "plant manager"..
Not a great job, honestly. It all depends on management. If it sucks, then your job will suck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
District Service Manager (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILDecember 9, 2013
Pros: payed car allowance and gas
Cons: favortisim towards managers and employees
Management works as a team but the diffrence is they have too much favoritism towards certain managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company composed of great individuals, overall friendly.
Management Trainee (Current Employee), Charlotte, North CarloinaDecember 8, 2013
Pros: free lunches, paid time off, holidays off
Cons: poor pay, not fulfilling
Currently I am training to be the stockroom manager at UniFirst. My days consist of making sure our workers are assigned to the appropriate tasks for the appropriate time in order to get all of the work done for the day. I help process orders, submit orders, manage the stockroom employees hours, and accommodate requests made from elsewhere in our facility – more... (special orders for certain customers, special workload, etc.). I have honed my skills and become a more complete supervisor after working for UniFirst. There is no particular hard part of the job, i suppose just remembering to do everything that needs to be done, but then again i have created a check list to alleviate that. I truly enjoy the people i work with, we laugh and have a good time but get down to business when necessary. All in all , great place to work, i have since refined my skills as a supervisor. But overall the pay could be better and i could be happier elsewhere as this particular job does not give me a sense of helping individuals thus leading to a lack of fulfillment/level of happiness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
MD (Current Employee), Landover MdDecember 4, 2013
Days at work are not hard. The work environment is fun and safe. Since I have been at Unifirst i have gained a wider knowledge in Commercial maintence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Sales Consultant/Route Sales Representative (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NevadaNovember 29, 2013
Freedom to create my own work schedule. I get to meet lots of new people from small business owners CEO's in major corporations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture in a fun work environment, lots of opporunity and room for career advancement
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 26, 2013
Pros: flexibility, earning potential, 401k, vacation, healthcare
UniFirst is a great company to work for! Strong regimented training is paid and provided with an excellent hands on approach. Field study with current representatives both in office and in the field. Wonderful office and staff and culture throughout the organization with an emphasis on success and advancement. Message me to findout more!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many hours
Route Sales Representative (Current Employee), Kentwood, MINovember 21, 2013
Pros: decent benefits, no weekends or holidays
Cons: 60+ hours a week, worked to the point of exhaustion.
Upper management pays you salary, so they can expect you to work 60+ hours a week. The co-workers at my branch were great. You really do feel like a slave working here. Their answer to everything puts more work/hours on to your all ready long day. Both of my managers have quit. They do not promote within, and if you get hurt on the job, they fire you – more... when you come back from medical leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales 101
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Melrose Park IlNovember 21, 2013
Setting appointments and hitting the streets

How to run a sales meeting

Great

A lot of fun guys

Weekly quota

Freedom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced sales opportunity
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Stratford, CTNovember 20, 2013
Cold call on 15-20 businesses daily in person or on the phone in a given territory. I learned how to plan and execute my day in an efficient manner as well as implement an effective sales process. Managers are always available for guidance and expertise on any situation throughout the day. Weekly review sessions help with improvement on the day to day – more... operations. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to close deals on your own and seeing the hard work pay off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst
Corporate Banking Analyst (Current Employee), Wilmington, MANovember 18, 2013
Typical Corporate Finance Middle Office Role. Not alot of exciting things, pretty much be a zombie and succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional, unfair and dishonest
Picker (Current Employee), Owensboro, KYNovember 18, 2013
Advancement opportunities, well you can forget that, unless you are in the clique, promotions are based on friendship not merit. Supervisors have a God complex, and if they don't like you they will try to have you terminated, or make problems for you. A lot of favoritism at this location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic place to work
Labor Worker (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCNovember 6, 2013
I wash and maintain the fleet of route trucks. Paint rims, check oil, keep the parking lot clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall upper management not sales team focused
Sales Account Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 6, 2013
Continuously raising quotas and expectations without providing the tools or means to reach the quotas

Constantly hiring on new rookie reps at lower pay and reducing the number of senior consultants.

Upper management sacrificed lower management and employees to insure there own job security.

About UniFirst

UniFirst, a leading supplier of uniforms, workwear and related products to businesses big and small since 1936, provides a wide – Read more