Find companies:
UniFirst
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
310 reviews

UniFirst Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry Level With Opportunities for Advancement
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Liverpool, NYAugust 21, 2014
Good entry level job with benefits, and room to grow a career. The industry is about as mundane as it gets though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Stockton, CAAugust 17, 2014
Cons: healthcare
Company that Cares about customer service and has many tools into providing as such
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst
Embroidery Operator (Former Employee), Owensboro, KYAugust 8, 2014
Pros: you get paid holidays.
Cons: healtcare prices continue to rise.
Unifirst is a good place to work. You have a variety of jobs in the plant. If you don't like your first placement, then you can move to another and find something that fits you. I did not have that problem. I worked in direct embroidery for 7 years. I got along with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job in embroidery is you have to learn a lot, and that you have to work in a group of 3 . If you are easy going this is not a big issue. Unifirst is always trying to improve things. Safety is important to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in.
Assistant Office Administrator (Former Employee), Stratford, CTAugust 4, 2014
Positive, energetic culture dedicated to teambuilding and productivity. Overall, a great company to work for with solid benefits and opportunity to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life/work balance if you have numbers
Sales Representative (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: all about the numbers
Great training program. Must maintain good numbers to maintain a job. Management is easy to work work. Difficult part is dealing with getting merchandise on a timely manner. Such a large corporation which may be cause for poor merchandise delivery times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's work
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 27, 2014
Pros: birthdays off, work hours(unless needed to come in early)
Cons: short breaks(or no breaks at all), pay, lack of explanation
Work doesn't really hit hard till the afternoon. Then, its a full steam ahead. No air conditioning--so stay hydrated and take breaks if needed. Not much supervision by the supervisors. Co-workers are friendly..some. If done with a task, you move to another totally different one. I should've added this earlier: when you start, its like being thrown into a blazing fire without instructions to put it out. You're minded where items go even though you weren't given precise direction on what, where, when, and how things go. There's a lack in explaining the task(s) by management. The co-workers are the ones who do the best they can to tell you how to do things there. The pay sucks! But at least there is pay. Yet, if a person can catch a disease from this line of work, why didn't they mentioned it before during orientation or through the interview process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid, professional company focused on growth and profitability through excellent customer service
Production Manager (Former Employee), Pontiac, MIJuly 24, 2014
Utilization and implementation of many proactive processes to achieve customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The current requirements at UniFirst Corporation for an outside sales consultant are as followed:
Territory Sales Consultant (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: uncapped commision, rolling bonus, company culture
Cons: n/a
The current requirements at UniFirst Corporation for an outside sales consultant are as followed:

• 125 phone calls (mix of prospecting and follow up)*
• 12 face to face VIP consultations*
• 10 seeding packets to large prospects*
• 1 follow up visit to a new account*
• 1 sold account*
• $110.00 sales avg.*

*minimum weekly requirements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a route driver
Sales (Former Employee), Clarksburg, WVJuly 9, 2014
I was a route driver, i charge of getting people there uniformes, keeping track of orders and talking with the publick
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job review
Dock Worker (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 2, 2014
Pros: i get off early enough to do whatever i need to do during working hours.
Cons: i am able to receive medical benefits plus dental
My day begins at 3:00 am, I clock in on my job at 4:00 am and begin doing the unloading of the trucks that are on the dock area. I normally assists other workers when needed and enjoy interacting with my co-workers.
The hardest part about the job is the heat that comes from the hot weather, it does get hot!
I learned from my management how to do other jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putting my managerial education into practice
Production Manager (Former Employee), Stratford, CtJuly 1, 2014
Pros: hiring, training, budget management, etc
Cons: lacking true teamwork concepts
Making sure all daily productivity and customer needs are met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment for individuals with a hunter mentality
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 1, 2014
Plan your work, work your plan. Great job. Excellent training. Friendly working environment. Several cold calls and phone calls to prospects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security but everything else horrible
Route Sales Rep (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 28, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: low pay, long hours, little appreciation
Here is the brutal truth. This is a horrible industry. It doesn't matter if you go to work for Unifirst or one of their competitors, the industry remains the same. Customers are unreasonable and demand the most ridiculous things. You will work from around 6 am Mon-Fri, until you're done. That could be 5,6, 7 or 8, maybe later. You will never get the kind of money you're promised. If they paid by the hour you'd make a good living but they don't because it would bankrupt the company. You'll either get a commissioned route or a salary. They pay 7% commission on routes but not all routes meet the threshold of commision so they pay a flat salary of $600 a week on those. And that's before taxes. What that means is that you'll work 10-12 hours a day and only get paid for 40. Some RSRs make really good money but they've been on their jobs for years and are home by 2 or 3 o'clock every day. But those are the exceptions. The majority of RSRs have long, miserable days, go home frustrated and exhausted only to have to get back in the next morning to do it all over again. There is very little incentive to seek a career with this company. Most of the vehicles are old and worn out, the AC units never work and your truck will break down constantly, stranding you in the middle of nowhere for hours. The managers are just as frustrated as the route drivers and it's just one seriously giant mess. The sales team oversells the service because competition between companies is fierce. They'll sell something that is completely unreasonable and you'll be responsible for making sure you do what the sales – more... person promised. There is nothing you can do but comply because sales means everything. You'll have to be a flexible person and have infinite patience to do this job. I only recommend applying if you desperately need a job. If you take this job in order to get into managment then you're going to be in for a disappointment because the next step is being a service supervisor. That is a far worse job than route sales because the supervisor runs routes constantly, is used as a gopher and makes very little money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok pay worst sales job
Outside Sales Rep (Current Employee), Mesquite, TXJune 25, 2014
look at title. Maybe its just my location but it is a revolving door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 22, 2014
Pros: got to meet many costumers
Cons: too many hours of work
This job demand too many hours, most of the time I would start around 6:00 am and wont be done until 7 or 8 pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Functioning disfunction
District service supervisor (Former Employee), Enid, OKJune 19, 2014
Pros: it paid decent money
Cons: management was very difficult to work with
The management here always threatens the employees jobs and it puts stress that doesn't need to be involved each day. The hardest part was the random hours that I would work some days it was 8 am or the others it could be 3:30, it made it very difficult to find balance in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work to be done, enjoyable company to work for
Mechanic (Current Employee), New Kensington Pa.June 16, 2014
Days start early and normally run late, I've learned time management and how to multitask quite well, management will do all they can to help you out, coworkers are enjoyable and make the days better, hardest part of the day is the last 5 minutes , enjoyable part of the job is the diversity of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Stratford, CTJune 10, 2014
Horrible work environment. Expected to do the majority of your paperwork at home on your own time. Focused on the process not the end result. Quantity over Quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UniFirst
Professional Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Albany, GAJune 5, 2014
Stressful but good solid company. Great to meet various new people and travel. Hard on family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unifirst had a great training program.
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Whippany, NJJune 3, 2014
Unifirst was a valuable asset in the training mechanism to better understand basic concepts of the sales process.

About UniFirst

UniFirst, a leading supplier of uniforms, workwear and related products to businesses big and small since 1936, provides a wide – Read more

UniFirst Salaries

Outside Sales
$68,425 per year
Route Sales
$46,478 per year
Sales Representative
$46,952 per year
Client Services Manager
$51,354 per year
Customer Service Supervisor
$38,588 per year