Unimin Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place
Accounts Payable Administrator (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTOctober 16, 2017
Nice atmosphere, great managers, okay pay.

8am-5pm work day, hour lunches. Great benefits, friendly staff and community. Room for growth and decent pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Technology Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesOctober 16, 2017
Great place to work with great people. Like working with everyone. There are good days and of course there are bad days but we get through it together as a company.
Pros
Environment
Cons
No growth in position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Caring, and Safe
Mechanic/ Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Voca, TexasOctober 8, 2017
For me a typical day at work is staying busy, and working towards my goals. I have learned how to fix equipment I never knew I would be around and how to do my job in a safe manner, something many jobs do not practice. Management is very helpful when it counts the most and they make our job enjoyable. The hardest part of my job would be working with the snakes coming near me. The best part of my job is the crew I work along side.
Pros
Health benefits, safety standards, and the free meals to show us appreciation for our hard work.
Cons
24 hour shifts to fix belt when it breaks, being understaffed at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Transload Operator (Current Employee) –  Roff, OKSeptember 28, 2017
Overall not a bad place to work. Unimin needs help with management. Management has day shift and night shift fighting all the time to see who is better when we all should be working as a team.
Pros
Pays good
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Freight Specialist (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTSeptember 22, 2017
I worked at Unimin Corporation through a temporary agency as a contractor in the Freight department. I was not involved in the overall process of going to meetings, decision makings or getting paid through Unimin so I cannot comment on their interview process, benefits etc.

I know that the Freight department was very busy, all carriers had to be paid on time. We also had happy hour on a regular basis. The most enjoyable part of the job is being recognized by your manager or a vendor.
Pros
Happy hour on a regular basis and getting free items from time to time.
Cons
Working as a contractor for over a year
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Technical Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTAugust 17, 2017
Management is poor. It is a toxic place to be and the environment is depressing. The employees are great to work with, but the Help Desk was not taking care of.
Pros
location
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good work life balance
TBD (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTAugust 2, 2017
Pretty good place to work. Work life balance is pretty good. If you are happy with a 9 to 5 and are not seeking advancement in your career, then this is the place for you.
Pros
Decent work life balance
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old School company with new changes coming
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJuly 10, 2017
Most of my day was spent entering orders and making sure the customers and plants had the correct products set up. Most people were fun and out going who enjoyed the little things in life.
Pros
healthcare and people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Analytical Chemist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ILJuly 5, 2017
This is a team oriented company. It's focused on continually making improvements in its processes without sacrificing safety. This job was for me the most satisfying job of my career. Management listened and constructively critiqued.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work just watch out if they close a plant you will be gone with no chance at getting recalled.
Plant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sibley, LAJune 20, 2017
They were great, great benefits and great hours, great pay. the company just purchased the resin coated frac sand plant. And had another built in Arkansas near its sand mining plant. And when it got slow the facility out in LA was to be shut down. This was 1 week before xmas telling us we will have a big meeting Monday, which was to tell us we are closing this plant bye good luck.
Pros
great pay great hours great benefits
Cons
Bad upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was good place to work.
Dry Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Brady, TXApril 11, 2017
UNIMIN provided me and my family with great benefits and a competitve salary to make a living on. They were a very understanding and family oriented company.
Pros
Lots of overtime was available
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Sibley, LAMarch 3, 2017
I loved working for Unimin Corporation. I liked the work schedule as well as my co-workers. The only reason I do not work there now is because the corporate office shut down the plant I was working at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and engaging work environment
Human Resources Summer Associate (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJanuary 22, 2017
My internship spanned over two summers, both involved aiding the human resources department. My first summer was a focus on recruitment. On a typical day, I would scan resumes, as well as enhance the applicant tracking software to streamline the recruiting and hiring process.I also conducted preliminary phone interviews and engaged in active recruiting on sites like LinkedIn.

After being asked to return for summer of 2016, my focus shifted to more of a general focus on data reconciliation, as well as aiding the labor relations department.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Unimin and the HR department's willingness to allow me to do complex and rewarding work as just an intern.
Pros
Subsidized lunches and gym memberships
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off
Operator (Former Employee) –  Le Sueur, MNNovember 19, 2016
Favorite job so far... until I(and a lot of other guys) got laid off. Lots of hours. Lots of opportunity for overtime. Pay and benefits were superior to any other job I've ever had. Met quite a few nice people there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Company with Employees in mind
Mining Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Utica, ILOctober 27, 2016
Unimin is one of the few remaining privately held companies which allows itself to focus on company needs rather then stock holders. Good company to work for with great pay and benefits.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and many oppurtunities
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Hephzibah, GAOctober 25, 2016
8-12 Hours a day
how to load productive safely
management is helpful and al3ays listens to concerns
hardest is time adjustments when needed to stay over or come in at a later time
best part of the job always room to work more hours when you desire them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like working for this company good guys
Utility Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, MNSeptember 13, 2016
always have something to do enjoyed the people I worked with and also the supervisors. We bring are own lunch but a few times a year they would bring in lunch or breakfast
Pros
pd lunch
Cons
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Positive
Procurement Agent (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTAugust 15, 2016
Nice people, difficult management. Not much room for growth. Relatively easy job, limited stress. Decent work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Dividing Creek, NJAugust 8, 2016
nice people great company busy and a lot of overtime close to home
Very safe pace work and they care great pay.
Supervisors a great wel trained and the task training is very well done,
Pros
salary
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for serious long term employment.
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Guion, ARAugust 6, 2016
Job pays well and has good benefits.
Learned metal fabrication while here so that is a bonus.
Enjoyed the co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was frankly...days where there was no real work to do or having to repair outdoor things during the winter.

Looking for other employment because of the following.
Management needs improved on.
Dislike working outdoors in winter.
Work day can typically be too sedentary for me.
Don't see real opportunities for self improvement and advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Unimin Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6