Find companies:
Union College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Union College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Security Officer (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYOctober 9, 2014
Great people, great community, great students. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Position, no advancement.
Nighttime Supervisor (Current Employee), Schenectady, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: great helthcare, free education, free food and young working enviornment.
Cons: no advancement.
While the college has a great benefit package, advancement and base pay, especially for hourly employees, leaves much to be desired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated me as if I was family
Work Study Student (Current Employee), Barbourville, KYApril 6, 2014
Pros: long breaks, allowed to leave early when work was completed
Learned how to use Microsoft Excel and computer better. Would say this was the hardest part of my job
Was treated like I was wanted every day
If I made a mistake management didn't give me a hard time.
Was greeted well everyday I walked in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly work environment
Graphic Designer (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEApril 3, 2014
Pros: laid back environment
Working here is great because I get to work with fellow students. There is always something new to learn from supervisors or workmates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
community setting
Assistant Coordinator (Current Employee), Laguna, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: community oriented school
Cons: no over time pay
community oriented setting of the school, fun and one must posses strong personality to cope of life in the school setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and Great People
Academic Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Barbourville, KYJanuary 24, 2014
Overall one of the best places I have ever worked for they always make you feel like part of the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enjoyed time with co-workers
Network Technician (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEDecember 20, 2013
Pros: very flexible time schedule
Cons: short breaks, low pay
I have enjoyed working for Union College mainly because of their very flexible time schedule, they knew I was trying to finish school so they understood when I needed to get off on some days. My co-workers i enjoyed very much, everyone was was, helping me with questions I ever had. Hardest part of the job was being sent out on a job and not having the – more... full knowledge I needed to complete the job, I also worked by myself most of the time, so it took longer to do most jobs. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to finish a job and having the satisfaction of seeing it work. I learned how to be productive with my time, not being ashamed to ask questions when I don't understand something, and I feel I received more knowledge from working than I did actually being in class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
cook / house keeping (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYOctober 11, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: shortbreaks
There was always something to do no idle time which was good made the time go by faster. I learned team work. Management was always there for you needed help on or off the job.My co-workers were the best we all worked as a team we helped each other out if we needed it.The hardest part for was when we were sthrt handed and had to do extra work. Which – more... ment you had to rush to get it done.Which ment oyu could not do quality work. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people i worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life enriching
Assistant Women's Ice Hockey Coach (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYOctober 7, 2013
Union College is a tremendous institution. The people and values associated with this fabulous school are top rate. This experience provided me with significant professional and personal growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Associate Dean of Admissions (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYJuly 1, 2013
Pros: working with good people
Cons: work on most national holidays
Very busy
intimate office
good leadership
room to move around
can spread out to other offices
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee), Barbourville, KYJune 28, 2013
Everyone feels like family. Co-workers are always there to help in your time of need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience overall
Campus Activities Board Student Assistant (Former Employee), Barbourville, KYMay 15, 2013
I really enjoyed my time at Union College as a student assistant with Campus Activities. Our popular phrase "work smarter, not harder" will stick in my mind for a long time. Working with CAB improved my organization and time management skills, and I had the privileged of working with great co-workers and had leadership I could learn from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun at times
Runner/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYApril 20, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: didn't have social life
Liked the job,but the management didn't really care at all about people's social lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very different, College Atmosphere
Senior Consultant (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYApril 2, 2013
Pros: environment, staff
Cons: limited growth
There were pressures to get he work done, as well as to be involved with the college as a learning institution. Taking classes and furthering your degree were of importance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union College
Associate Head Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), Barbourville, KYFebruary 22, 2013
AWESOME place to work!! Great people and even better students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Dining Hall Supervisor (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYSeptember 7, 2012
My first foray into the corporate world. Learned tons. Found what it takes to run a dining hall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work study, focused more on work than studying. Independent work.
Equipment Assistant (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYSeptember 6, 2012
Not really worth the time put into it, but for a college student it helps tremendously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A super fun working environment with supportive staff
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Barbourville, KYAugust 1, 2012
Pros: fun, laid back atmosphere, and flexibility
Cons: part time position
From this experience I learned a lot about time management considering the type of position this is I had to complete my duties and responsibilities while enrolled full time in classes. I learned a lot about leadership styles and how to react in certain situations. The hardest part of the job was juggling it while taking classes. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was developing relationships with others and proving care and support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay in a welcoming environment
Student Research Fellow (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYJuly 26, 2012
Able to self-pace work.
Great equipment and funding available to do research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union College provides great benefits in a family oriented atmosphere.
Business Office Assistant (Current Employee), Barbourville, KYJune 14, 2012
Pros: benefits, paid 2-week christmas break and free tuition
Cons: collections
A typical day is to receipt any tuition or transcript fee that we might receive and basically just whatever might happen across my desk depending on the need of the student whether it be communicated through the telephone, email or an office visit. Students needs range from making copies to sending faxes, reviewing/explaining their student accounts, – more... or assisting them with their insurance claims.

When not helping a student, I do filing and make collection calls on past due accounts.

I'd definitely say the hardest part of my day is making those collection calls. It's always enjoyable to make a call and have it end with a long over due payment, but those calls are few. – less