Union College Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn how to work in a laboratory environment
Summer Research Internship (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 23, 2017
Union College does not possess a graduate school in chemistry and thus all research is done by undergraduate students and the professors. This provides a great environment in which the undergraduates learn directly from their professors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Challenged enough
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 11, 2017
I am currently not being challenged enough - no room for growth. We have a beautiful campus and all of us are like family. We have a fitness center right here for us to use, with state of the art equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Student Worker/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barbourville, KYJune 25, 2017
Loved working here and would recommend to friends and family, great environment and people to work with on a daily basis, would definitely recommend if you are in a job search.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Custodian
Custodial worker (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJune 7, 2017
I cleaned the girls dorm lobby, bathrooms and stocked closets. My supervisor was very nice. I felt pretty independent . My schedule was very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people helpful
Cook (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMay 17, 2017
Good in many ways job training happy involved with management students are very happy and pleasant human resources is on top of there job top ten college to.be a part of
Pros
Great team
Cons
Little summer work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Their Athletic Training program was a great program to be involved with.
Student (Former Employee) –  Barbourville, KYMay 8, 2017
With the Athletic Training program through Union, it helped me to achieve many things, as well as requiring me to log over 500 hours in the Athletic Training room, along with 40 in a doctors office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEMay 8, 2017
I had a good time working as a tutor/teaching assistant. I had a good connection with my boss and was able to learn a lot more from him then I was able to in the classroom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
neutral place to work.
Mac Operator (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEApril 21, 2017
My mac lab boss is one of the best bosses, I've had in a long time. I start the day with making sure everybody is doing ok, and if they need any help. the workplace culture is good, and I love being at the mac lab. there isn't really a hard day. I love helping people.
Pros
good work ours
Cons
other bosses not as helpful or understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decent place to work
House cleaning (Former Employee) –  Barbourville, KYApril 12, 2017
It has a nice friendly staff. I really enjoyed the women I work for. However we do not get paid enough for the work that we perform. It was long hours.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Computer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMarch 20, 2017
I had a great time working for Union College. I was able to work on a large variety of projects and able to improve many business functions. I was taught more about networking and servers and was able to expand my skill sets. I was given great responsibilities and enjoyed the fact i was able to help so much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grounds
Grounds Crew (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYFebruary 9, 2017
Working with grounds was a good experience. Friendly work environment and enjoyably consistent workload. Professionally run establishment with great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laboratory research experience
Summer Research Fellowship (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYFebruary 9, 2017
Routine days with work intensity that varied depending on success of research studies or what remained to be completed. Worked regularly with a research advisor who directed and assisted with most tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Environmental Health and Safety Compliance Officer (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJanuary 19, 2017
Union College is like working in a small city with a very interesting work load of projects...but if you are looking for excitment with advancement I suggest looking within General Industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a productive and fun place to work at and go to school. It has a very happy environment with friendly people.
Desk Assistant/Clerk (Former Employee) –  Girls DormSeptember 27, 2016
I really loved working at union and being able to be apart of their student body. They treat their students and workers with lots of respect. I enjoyed answering the phone and also assisting the residents in the girls dorm.
Pros
I get to interact with lots of people on the phone and in person.
Cons
Pay, Money goes to school bill
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All things Audio and Video
Electronic Media Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Barbourville, KYJuly 20, 2016
Manage and operate a large scope of technical video and audio equipment in the classroom and off-campus environment including major campus events such as commencements and convocations..
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellet Resources
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJune 26, 2016
Performing research at Union College is great: the campus is beautiful, the facilities are top notch, and there are plenty of very qualified personnel to assist.

If there is space for improvement, I would encourage more funding or support for research efforts. Housing and meal plans would be a great help, because the compensation for research is modest to begin with.
Pros
Scientific Facilities, Professors, and Campus
Cons
Funding and Support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide a good working and school environment
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  Barbourville, KYMay 30, 2016
learned new skills
busy environment
enjoy working with staff, faculty and students
peaceful atmosphere
Clean environment and helpful surrounding
great management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to go back
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMay 25, 2016
Would love to have opportunity to go back to Union College. Left for lack of advancement but staff and community was great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
student (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMarch 21, 2016
Truly and education that has provided the tools needed to succeed in the work place and all other aspects of life. Very good school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Director of Campus Life (Former Employee) –  Barbourville, KYJanuary 15, 2016
They abuse their best workers, and play favorites. I was terminated without any warning right before Christmas 2015. I would not recommend anyone to work there, nor to go to school there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Union College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

85%
14 ratings
Add your rating