Find companies:
Union County College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Union County College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union County College
Payroll data entry clerk and office clerk (Current Employee), CranfordMay 19, 2014
I am the office assistand and data entry clerk for our Payroll Dept. I do all the office work; file, organize mail, work the copy machine, scan and fax machine, email, enter and audit timesheets, update employee's data and complete employment's verifications in a professional manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UCC
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Union, NJApril 14, 2014
Great work envirnoment great people to work with I really enjoyed the position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
Manager of Human Resources & Compensation (Former Employee), Cranford, NJSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: free education
Reconcile Benefits, Recruitment, Compensation issues, Talent Management, Performance Reviews, Payroll
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School and Work
Cashier (Former Employee), Cranford, NJAugust 25, 2013
I attended school and worked in the same environment. I enjoyed my time as a student and an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No leadership and no money
Student Services Professional (Current Employee), Cranford, NJAugust 15, 2013
The management team is comprised of a group of young professionals who give young professionals a bad name. They are trying to apply corporate business principles to higher education administration will nilly instead of focusing on what is truly in the best interest of the students. Meanwhile, if student services tries to offer comforts like food at – more... events or essentials like reserve textbooks for students who can't afford them. Yet, they have money for huge bonuses for non-union administrators and pipe and drum bands.

DO NOT WORK HERE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College that promotes character, enthusiasm as well as learning
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee), Cranford, NJJuly 17, 2013
Pros: wide variety of different classes
Cons: not enough time between classes
I teach on a part time basis and i most enjoy inspiring 150 in the areas of social psych, personality, general psych and women's issue. The students' energy is synergistic and provides me with positive vibrations. I treasure each and every student and the opportunity to enrich their lives. My classes are full of dialogue and a lot of give and take. – more... The biggest challenge is to end after the class as I want to keep going. Lecturing and teaching also happens to be the most enjoyable part of the day. My coworkers are friendly, warm and supportive......I really appreciate them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work
Student Services Secretary/Supervisor (Former Employee), ElizabethJuly 8, 2013
Pros: classes are paid for. you get to meet new people
Cons: busy center, worker through lunch on most days, small salary, and not enough employees
* I help large quantities of students English and Spanish speaking, apply for financial aid and for Union County College. Create reports in Excel summarizing the volume of student traffic in the center. Answer general questions about the college. Proctor the Accuplacer placement test
*I learned that caring about others and working hard makes a hard – more... job rewarding.
*I Manage six student workers and their work schedules, delegate duties to each.
*I had one nice co-worker, who was moved to another dept. and my second co-worker would leave the office multiple times a day and then one day he decided to quit after 10 months.
*The hardest part of the job is trying to help every student that came into the center, with only the assistance of a few student workers.
*The most enjoyable part of the job is when a student you have helped comes back to thank you for all that you have done for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers, poor administration
English Comp/Freshman Seminar Adjunct Professor (Current Employee), Cranford, NJJuly 2, 2013
Nice people to work with. Unattentive, narrow minded administration and often supportive department heads- take adjuncts for granted. Lowest pay in state for adjuncts. However, this job works well for my life now with children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as an adjunct
Adjunct Professor, Adult ESL Program (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJMay 14, 2013
I loved working with the ESL department at Union County College. Staff was given a general outline of what to cover, but ultimately, we were able to be creative with our teaching. I was working with adults for the first time and felt the experience positive, since I had worked with elementary-aged school children and had a different experience. If you – more... have skills I teaching, I would recommend trying to work in an academic atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place and management pleasant to work with.
Shipping and receiving (Current Employee), Cranford, NJMay 6, 2013
The work day starts 8:00a.m. to 4:00p.m.Learned the shipping and receiving trade.Management and co-workers very easy to work with.There was not a hard part to this job.As you could see from my resume i have worked in the food service industry most of my life and would liked to go back to it,but however my currant job enjoyable but the salary is not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent faculty and students
physical therapy faculty (Former Employee), Plainfield, NJFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: working with students again
Cons: low salary
When i was working as an Assistant professor ,I used to teach classes ,attend faculty meetings,worked on admission committee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. great work life balance that is offered to its employees
Grant Service Specialist (Current Employee), Plainfield, NJJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: great work life blance
Cons: na
Great place to work. great work life balance that is offered to its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), cranford, NJJanuary 2, 2013
Worked with great counselors on a day to day basis, answered phones, checked emails, etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Adjunct English ofessor (Current Employee), Elizabeth, NJNovember 12, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: n/a
Challenging but rewarding work and working environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Light Office Work, Fun
Student Athletic and Activities Office Assistant (Former Employee), Cranford, NJAugust 31, 2012
Kept very busy
very practical
fun in some points
loved typing letters, photocopying, not having to deal with many people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Adjunct Professor Part time (Current Employee), Cranford, NJAugust 28, 2012
Pros: short class periods
Cons: no increase in pay yet
A typical day at UCC was good. I learned from the different computer classes I taught each child had their own style of learning. Management was ok and I did not have any co-workers that I worked with. The hardest part of this job was getting parents to understand that the class was a kid friendly computer course and not an adult computer class. The – more... most enjoyable part was when the kids created their webpage and see the excitement on their faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved that job!!
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJJuly 13, 2012
Pros: learn a lot about financial aid
Cons: student job so little money
It was a very nice expirence. Love my co-workers. The boss was very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Accounts Department
Student Accounts/FSWP/Admin. Asst. (Former Employee), Cranford, NJJuly 12, 2012
Pros: department parties, dinners, birthdays, interaction with other departments as well.
Cons: fitting my work schedule and class schedule, taught me time management and to prioritize.
I enjoyed working there while in school, it taught me alot about what goes on behind the educational system. I worked with people that really care about the students, their educational needs and desires, keeping their accounts up to date and in good standing with the college. I also learned that keeping up with your finances is as important as the education – more... that you are receiving. It was a very rewarding experience and I regret that it ended when I graduated because of the program restrictions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
computer tech trainee
Student Technical Support (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJJune 14, 2012
helped out students and teachers with the computers, helping them out with any needs of computer skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Peer tutor (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJMay 24, 2012
Cons: part time job
My typical day at work is basically to assist students in academic achievement by meeting them on a regular basis to clarify learning problems. while I was working at Union County College I discovered that every student has a different learning style and it was my duty to find a way to get those information to that particular student. Although it was – more... only a part time job, I enjoyed it a lot – less