Union County College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Modern Language Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Cranford, NJSeptember 8, 2017
IT is a good place to work if you are looking for a few hours extra per week. A lot of adjuct faculty so difficult to get more than two classes per semester
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
confusing workplace with poor compensation
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJSeptember 6, 2017
It was very hard to keep track of the requirements of my position outside of the classroom as they were not streamlined and changes constantly. In addition, the compensation was below average and not near enough for the amount of work required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union County College was a part time adjunct position. I was in and out without much interaction with management and staff
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJ, Cranford NJSeptember 4, 2017
Mine was a part time adjunct position. I was in and out without much interaction with management and staff. I had a pleasant working relationship with all and enjoyed teaching the first-year students. Recommended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EOF program within Union County College
EOF Tutor-Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJAugust 13, 2017
Great working environment
Relaxed - easy going
Student success is the number one priority
So if you like helping students its a good work study job
And the advisors positions are great as well, post-grad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJAugust 11, 2017
Teaching Principals of Accounting to business and accounting majors was fun and rewarding. I was inspired by the fact that a great majority of the students I taught in the evening program worked full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Friendly and Clean Envioroment
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Barbourville, KYAugust 10, 2017
I loved working for Union College. Always great hours, friendly employees, management and working environment. Great for holidays and vacation days. Highly recommenced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think good and hard about this place
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJAugust 8, 2017
Management does not support you, they are just worried about themselves, the upper management is the problem. They do not treat people nicely at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for an adjunct
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Cranford, NJJuly 27, 2017
No complaints as an adjunct. Faculty and staff are nice, management is fair, and students are good. I would recommend UCC to anyone looking to adjunct teach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehh
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJJuly 13, 2017
Having this job in the school that you go to is very convenient. My thing is, a whole bunch of students have this job, so unless you have another job, this job will pretty much do nothing for you. They favor athletes over normal students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to Teach ESL Part-Time
Second Language Instructor (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJJuly 10, 2017
Union County College is a great place to work as a part-time job. The pay is excellent per hour and the student body is eager to learn as most of the them are adults.

The staff is friendly and supportive of your needs. Typically, a class at night runs 3 hours, but the time goes by quickly if you plan it well.

I would definitely recommend this as a good place to work.
Pros
The pay is good and the students are great
Cons
It's only part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Working Experience
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJJune 22, 2017
I worked at UCC as a student worker and the experience there was a phenomenal one. I was only there part time but I was able to learn a lot from customer service in this job. This job was also a very fun one because there was always something to do. It was a very convenient location for me, right at the school.
Pros
convenient location
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Springfield, NJJune 9, 2017
Worked her as a student just to get extra change in my pocket.
Great place to work with other students and to learn from one another.
Very private and quite
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and helpful co-workers
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJJune 1, 2017
It was a really great environment to work at. We had peers who were there to help us and motivate us as tutors. We felt lucky being able to help other students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Social Media Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJMay 24, 2017
I was on a work study program. My responsibilities included sending out emails, creating posters, taking pictures, promoting new brochures.

Most of the time I was by myself, since my supervisor left a few weeks after I started.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced work space, filled with a great successful team
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJMay 21, 2017
*Assisted my supervisor with any day to day request
*Helped first year students with drawings/models
*Maintained a clean facility
*Learned patience between coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employee treatment
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Cranford, NJMay 15, 2017
Just good in a holding pattern to find another job. Not really a good place to stay for a lonmg term career....................,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,..........
Pros
None
Cons
Poor treatment of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJMay 11, 2017
One of the best jobs I've had.
Staff and management are great to work with.
4 campuses to with in.
Pay is competitive and benefits are great.
Tuition is reduced for family immediate family members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy buen grupo de trabajadores
Asistente Administrativa (Current Employee) –  Cranford, NJApril 1, 2017
Valoro trabajar en Union County College porque todos los dias se aprende algo nuevo. Empece a trabajr alli cuando llegue a los Estados Unidos y descubri mi pasion por el ambiente academico. Asisto todos los dias a la Decano y demas directores del departamento. Trabajo bajo mucha confianza, hay mucha informacion confidencia que debo manejar.
pertenezco al comite de Apelaciones Especiales del estudiante y les informo cual es el proceso y para que debe ser aplicado.
Pros
Seguro Medico, dental y vision
Cons
No es facil escalar posiciones
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work.
Student Services Generalist (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJMarch 18, 2017
I enjoyed my time working with the students at UCC to help them to achieve his or her goals in the future. It was fast pace and never a dull moment. I wish there we better communication among staff about different changes being made at UCC.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay if you have a tight schedule
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Plainfield, NJNovember 29, 2016
I worked at the quiestest campus, so nothing ever really happened. I did tutor, but because English isn't popular there, I didn't get to tutor every single time I came in.
Pros
Lots of free time
Cons
Bad if youre someone who always needs to be busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Union County College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8