Union Gospel Mission Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
homeless shelter for singles and families
Janitorial Swing Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WANovember 9, 2017
The job was temporary and so was my stay after a yr it was time for me to leave but i gained experince and new skills and training in custodial fields and supervisory roles as well and
Pros
basic nesities met
Cons
no pay unless hired on as permenet employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childhood specialist
Intern/ Early Childhood Education (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 8, 2017
A great place to work in a non prophet organization and learn how to make a difference in the community around you and those you care about. Good pay and resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unhealthy work environment
Director (Current Employee) –  Salem, OROctober 31, 2017
they fired several directors in the last 4 years and nobody knows why so it makes work hard to know if the rest a us willl have jobs. the board directors keep changing the ceo
Pros
i like some of the people
Cons
the bosses of the director meet once a month and don't know how to run such a organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the fact that Union Gospel Mission is a Christian based company
Administrative Assistant / Head Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNOctober 28, 2017
I learned a lot working at the Mission. Management was down to earth and helpful. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irate individuals. I loved talking about Jesus with others who were Christians
Pros
Meeting good people
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced yet relaxed and family like atmosphere
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAOctober 17, 2017
Good and bad such as people but overall a good experience i especialy enjoyed the family atmosphere working together as a team and helping each other to reach a common goal
Pros
preparing and or selecting your own meals
Cons
Having to prepare meals for as many as 300 guests, with random supplies, not preordered supplies or having a choice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNOctober 10, 2017
Never put all your eggs in one basket. I got very comfortable with UGM and was really in love with the culture. Non profits can be very shady and I saw a lot of it at the job. The kids in programs and community members and staff were phenomenal!!! The management needs a ton of improvement and aren't that great with communicating properly. We worked with elementary through high school. Most of the high school students worked out at the camp after graduating and other parts of the mission. It was a great place until management started making other plans.
Pros
The community and youth in programs
Cons
Management and support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 27, 2017
I only worked in this place as a volunteer over 10 years ago. At that time I enjoyed the work and felt like I was really making a difference within the community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not at this time
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  spokaneSeptember 14, 2017
the quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dogs back this is a good review hello world one hundred fifty charaxcter min i munm heloo world wold world free jump
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent environment with a touch of Spirituality.
Foodservice Donations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 31, 2017
I have had an excellent experience working for Union Gospel Mission (UGM). The job I have been performing allowed me to develop my organization skills and physical strength.
Pros
Free Meals.
Cons
Short Breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talent and Character
HR Assist/Cap Camp Mngr (Current Employee) –  Salem, ORAugust 30, 2017
I love working for UGM, the collection of talent and character in my co-workers is rewarding and impressive. I thrive in a challenging environment and have been trusted with a heavier workload and more roles in a short period of time. The best part of the job is being able to support my family while being in ministry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Camp
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Shoreview, MNJuly 9, 2017
At Union Gospel mission the job was easy and fun. There I learned
about patience in a workplace and being a team leader. A day at camp would be from 9-4pm. My favorite part of the job was arts and Craft time . At this time you'll have a Group of kids creating a group art piece
Pros
Free Lunch, Long Breaks
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work experience
C.D. Tech Intern (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNJune 14, 2017
My main responsibility was to drive clients to and from required events at an alcohol and drug recovery center. I went through the recovery program myself and applied for and worked as a chemical dependency technician trainee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Youth Counselor (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 31, 2017
I've been working at the union gospel mission for quite sometime now from my own experience it has served a lot of trouble youth very well who were in need.
Pros
Changing lives
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Tigard, ORApril 29, 2017
Management is the best. Fun place to work. Good place to develop your . Work along recovering addicts to develop skills needed for retail. Fast paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work ,but doesn't offer adequate pay for the job required.
VA Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 26, 2017
The UGM program offers its employees an opportunity to work with
veterans who are experiencing homelessness. The work is not hard but it is tedious and requires meticulous details. The management is in transition and the environment is that of a church.
Pros
working with good guys who need help.
Cons
evenings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive establishment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNApril 20, 2017
Union gospel missing as a volunteer is a fun and fast paced learning environment. All staff has donated their expertise and time to this institution to assist the homeless, and the uninsured.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did my college internship with them
Secretarial Aide (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAApril 14, 2017
They were very professional and worked with my crazy school and work schedule to make sure that I could get the required hours needed in order to do my internship for college so that I could graduate on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good work environment with coworkers and job satisfaction in a people serving field.
Mission Support Mentor (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 6, 2017
Overnight hours made family relationships and balance difficult at times. Good sense of teamwork in the trenches, though some "big brother" vibe comes from above. Provided an opportunity to provide support and encouragement to those who have less in life.
Pros
Excellent benefits. Provides numerous opportunities to make a difference in someone else's life.
Cons
Potentially stressful interactions with clients, some potential personal danger exists, though limited with good personal choices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a voluteer
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Yakima, WAMarch 31, 2017
This is a great organization to volunteer for. They are very supportive and friendly. The Mission has allowed me to gain some job experience and perform a variety of tasks to help them accomplish their mission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I believe that the overall rating was okay.
Case Manager for clients on a daily basis (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth TXMarch 17, 2017
Because I didn't work there but for my internship I don't believe that I was able to get as much done as I would have like to have. The things such as case managing, getting resources, helping the clients to get mental as well as physical help was defiantly a plus to learning how to help manage a individual/families way back from homelessness and poverty.
Pros
A good way to learn networking amongst agencies.
Cons
The red tape that everyone has to go through in order to help our clients to be successful in life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Union Gospel Mission. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4