Find companies:
Union Memorial Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
78 reviews

Union Memorial Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My mistake was working nights . Too difficult with a high acuity of very ill patients on the hight shift.
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), 200 E University Pkwy, Baltimore, MDSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: good hospital training, learend much about many nursing protocols / proceedures, earning a reasonable income for my family.
Cons: high patient acuity, very little help on nights, a few difficult codes.
At that time, 1986 there was a nursing shortage and as a new nurse on nights I struggled with my first nursing job. It was short lived and I almost left nursing due to my difficult time there. I still learned a lot and moved on to Keswick, where my career in nursing was saved. I gained more confidence and realized I needed to move on .At Union Memorial – more... I had attended Johnston School of Practical Nursing 1985-1986 and ended with high marks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consulant
Siemens Consultant-Assessment Builder (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INAugust 26, 2014
I was a consultant for this hosptial during a rebuild process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job out of Nursing School - great Med-Surg experience
Staff Nurse/Team Leader (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 16, 2014
I really liked the hard work - it taught me how to multi-task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice hospital, friendly associates.
Cardiovascular Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 10, 2014
UMH is a nice hospital which holds many acolades in several areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ER Greeter
Greeter (Former Employee), Lynn, MAJuly 22, 2014
• Welcomed new patients into Emergency Room
• Assisted all patients’ needs within waiting room
• Used Partners’ Software to track patient flow
• Worked cooperatively with nurses, doctors, patients, visitors, EMT’s, security, and others to ease traffic flow into Emergency Room and ensure a sound, calm environment within hospital Emergency Department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hospital itself was a nice place to work
Multi-Function Tech, CPT, MA (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 22, 2014
I worked in a satellite location. working in the hospital was nice, but at the satellite location the management style was much different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Volunteer Services (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INJuly 3, 2014
I was an intern at Union hospital and I enjoyed my position. It was great to gain some professional experience and to work in such a beautiful building. My experience was great and I learned valuable skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work the years I was there. Advanced as far as I could in this setting.
Registered Nurse/Staff nurse (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INJune 29, 2014
Completely enjoyed all the years I was at the hospital. I gained knowledge and skills during my time. I had the opportunity to care for both wellness and chronic disease states of all ages. I also was involved in committee work. Enjoyed the 12 hour shifts to allow more time at home when my children were young.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Internship (Former Employee), Elkton, MDJune 22, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: n/a
Everyone I worked with were great people. A typical day involved mostly sorting mail and reorganizing files. I learned that I strive for perfection in every task I perform. Management was easy to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work with a professional staff who cared about their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of people
Operating Room RN (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 14, 2014
Enjoyed my work environment and colleagues very much! Was part of a salaried team -- everyone pitched in to "get it all done."
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orthopedic floor, fast past
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 11, 2014
start with 4-5 post-op orthopedic patients
initial assessment
provide daily and pain medications
discharge and admit patients
review charts and orders
work closer with MDs and PAs
interaction with patients and families
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a volunteer I cannot comment specifically on Job Security/Advancement, or Compensation and Benefits
Volunteer IT Specialist (Current Employee), Elkton, MDMay 6, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, great experience, welcoming community.
Cons: not enough hands on.
As a volunteer at Union Hospital I worked in a fairly positive environment with well knowledge IT professionals, and assisted in the migration of out of date Windows xp systems to newer Windows 7 systems. Older Machines were Ghosted with new installations of Windows 7 using Symantec Norton Ghost. General troubleshooting of machines including software – more... update and installation, printer management, and computer/peripheral replacement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and physical
LAUNDRY ATTENDANT (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INMay 2, 2014
Cons: healthcare
The hardest part of the job is pushing and pulling 10-20 400- 500 pound carts of laundry 5 miles 6 times a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place EVER!!!!!
Rad Tech (Former Employee), Elkton, MDApril 17, 2014
This is the best place I have ever worked. Never have I worked someplace where the upper management was so approachable. All the depts. are warm and inviting. I miss it there everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization is lacking
Student Nurse Associate I (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INApril 11, 2014
Small hospital. Organization is lacking and employees are not given much appreciation for their hard work. Current nurses don't care to be bothered with students that are coming in for clinical's which makes for a long and hard clinical day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working with the pts
pca/unit secretary (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INMarch 16, 2014
Pros: i walk alot and really enjoy that
Cons: the dinner break seemed so short
The LPNS and the RNs are awesome. They treated the pts really wonderful. I really enjoyed wokring with all different types of surgeries done on the orthopedic ward. I loved talking to the families of the pts on the floor. I really loved taking the pts to car. The families were waiting to take them home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and remodeled spacious private rooms
med/surg nurse (Former Employee), Elkton, MDMarch 15, 2014
Pros: allowed for learning oppurtunites
Cons: heavy case load
They do 12 hr shifts. When you arrive you received your assignment of up to 8 patients. Receive report and log into computer to pull up info on when meds are due and if any patients are going to testing or OR. Give report to Techs then start assessments. Have mobile computers to do charting. I learned good assessment skills and iv skills. I enjoyed – more... my fellow nursing team. Hardest for me was converting time from day to night shift since I worked both shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Various Temporary Assignments (Former Employee), Elkton, MDFebruary 25, 2014
fun while I was there. I only did volunteer work so I didn't get into the whole operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive comapny great orthopedic unit
Care Associate (Current Employee), baltimore, mdFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: great o workers
Cons: short breaks, alot of on call
typical work day depending omn the day of theek you have to have on roller skates because it can get hectic quickly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring for critically ill patients
Registered Nurse (RN) (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INJanuary 26, 2014
Worked with an exceptional team of nurses and ancillary staff.

1 2 3 4

About Union Memorial Hospital

Not quite for time immemorial, but MedStar Union Memorial Hospital (formerly Union Memorial Hospital) has been caring for patients – Read more

Union Memorial Hospital Photos